Toyota 86 officially launched in Malaysia – manual going for RM243k, auto RM249k – we try it!

UMW Toyota has officially launched in Malaysia one of the most anticipated sports cars in recent times, the Toyota 86. Known simply as the 86 here, as opposed to “GT86” for Europe and “FT86” for the concept, the car is a spiritual successor to the original AE86 hachi roku, the rear-wheel drive Corolla coupe of the 80s, made popular by drifting and Initial D.

Toyota says that two other iconic sports cars influenced the 86’s DNA – the tiny Sports 800 (FR layout, boxer engine) and the curvy 2000GT, which served as a starting point for the stylists. If you don’t already know, the 86 was co-developed with Subaru, which sells its twin sister the BRZ.

As mentioned in our BRZ test drive report, Toyota was in charge of the car’s styling and product planning, while Subaru handled engineering and production. The 2.0 litre four-cylinder boxer engine is Subaru’s trademark, enhanced with Toyota’s D-4S direct fuel injection system and VVT. The boxer engine is relatively compact and flat, with a low centre of gravity, which makes it very suitable for a sports car.

With a high 12.5:1 compression ratio, the 16-valve DOHC flat-four engine makes 200 PS at 7,000 rpm and 205 Nm of torque available between 6,400 and 6,600 rpm. Redline is 7,450 rpm. Two gearboxes are available, a six-speed manual or a torque converter automatic with the same amount of forward ratios. The self shifter comes with steering paddles, sequential shift and Sport Mode.

Power is sent to the rear wheels via a Torsen limited slip differential (LSD) and front-rear weight distribution is 53:47. The VSC system has a Sport mode that is less restraining, but the electronic nannies can be completely switched off for some sideways fun, an essential part of the 86 experience.

Should things go wrong, seven airbags are standard (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee), as are ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, and VSC. ISOFIX mounts are included in the rear. With today’s crash and safety requirements, the 86 won’t be sub-1000 kg, but a kerb weight of 1,275 kg (1,298 kg for auto) is light for today’s standards. An aluminum bonnet and resin fuel tank, help the cause, among other things.

The suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and double wishbones for the rear. The steering is of the electric (EPS) variety with a “sporty” 13:1 ratio. Ventilated disc brakes can be found at all corners, along with 17-inch alloys and 215/45 Michelin Primacy HP tyres.

Eagle eyes out there will notice the smaller centre cap on the wheels – 49 mm vs the usual 60 mm. Apparently, this saves weight without any loss of rigidity, and makes the spokes appear longer, giving the illusion of bigger wheels.

The cabin features semi-bucket seats and a small diameter three-spoke wheel – at 365 mm, the 86 wheel is the smallest in any Toyota. There’s also a programmable shift indicator – 100 rpm increments from 2,000 to 7,400 rpm. Standard kit includes smart entry/start, a 2DIN audio system with six speakers (CD, AUX, USB) and auto air con.

We were given a very limited and brief sample of the 86 at Sepang (South Track, automatic version only, VSC on) and the 86 shows plenty of promise as a car that will delight the enthusiast.

The seating position is very low and all controls are perfectly placed, including the auto shift stick that mimics the design of a manual. The engine is enthusiastic and smooth revving, and although there’s no turbo style kick in the back, one gets the joy of a pushing a high-revving naturally aspirated engine to the max – an extremely rare pleasure these days.

There’s a relatively loud tone when the engine is extended, which is welcome, although I can’t quite extract “boxer notes” from the overall tune. The weight and feel of the steering and brakes are spot on, and the lightweight, agile feel of the 86 is apparent throughout.

Push hard and the tail will ease out, but with the VSC on standby, we couldn’t get the 86 to do what it’s famous for. Just a bit of rear end slip before we were brought in line again. Whatever drifting you see here was done by no other than Tetsuya Tada, chief engineer of the 86. It was quite painful to see the “demo session” done on a manual 86 and hear the tyres howl away – classic example of can see, cannot touch!

For more, read our first impressions of the Subaru BRZ. Not being lazy here, because both cars feel exactly the same in the limited wheel time I had.

Six colours are available, and they are Satin White Pearl, Crystal Black Silica, Sterling Silver Metallic, Lightning Red, Galaxy Blue Silica and Orange Metallic. The latter is an 86 exclusive colour, much like what WR Blue Mica is to the Subaru BRZ. Satin White Pearl is an RM800 premium.

The selling price is RM243,000 for the manual and RM249,000 for the automatic, as per initial estimates. 30 orders have been placed. As with all cars sold by UMW Toyota Motor, the 86 comes with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty, something one will never get from grey importers. The full spec sheet by UMWT has been online for quite some time – click here to see it.

Speaking of them, we won’t be expecting to see many grey units around – Toyota and Subaru can’t make enough of the 86/BRZ twins despite full throttle production and demand is clearly outstripping supply.

Ready, get set, go ahead and feast on the gallery below!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• luqmAN on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:15 pm

purely for driving enthusiast…250k calls for a lot of other reasonable options..

• Kevin Lee on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:19 pm

Danny, one of my friends who tested the BRZ and GT86 in Japan on long term claims that they are different by terms of handling and chassis setup. Maybe you need a long term test to compare them both, just saying.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:25 pm

That would be great, but the only way to do “long term test” here is to buy the car! And that’s out of the question, sadly :)

I have been told that the suspension tuning is slightly different on both cars, but it won’t be day and night

• auto-enthusiast-but-not-quite on Jun 01, 2012 at 6:12 pm

google is your friend..as usual…
        American reports suggest the BRZ has softer setting compared to the T-brand setting. and it seems due to this softer setup, BRZ might under more than T-brand…

this topic has been highly discussed in american motor sites, as they have the market to both variants, and we can read it in english. :)

http://www.caranddriver.com/features/2013-subaru-brz-and-2013-scion-fr-s-a-study-in-comparison-and-contrast-feature-fun-all-around-page-2

• ss427 on Jun 01, 2012 at 1:52 pm

Sigh….sadly this is the ONLY Toyota in SE Asia these days that’s worth the look and purchase.

But before we give Toyota too much credit than they deserve, one must not forget that this is largely still a Subaru BRZ. All mech are Subaru parts… boxer engine, rear double wishbones suspension etc… all these are way beyond Toyota’s engineering capability… LOL :)

I understand Toyota’s job in the BRZ/86 project was to design the bodyshell and part of the interior… It’s hardly the last word in visual excitment, but at least it is quite appealing, and certainly won’t lead customers to curse and swear at it unlike the new Camry LOL :D

It is selling for ard SGD$170k these days for the 6MT model, no thanks to the $90k COE that is added onto the car price… :(

• I don’t particularly fancy the design. Very old style, outdated.

• Takeri on Jun 05, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Ugly car, remind me of gen2 proton. Finally someone proton…….
        imitate

• Kok Chi on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:13 pm

I would rather buy a Scirocco with that price if I want a sports car. Or a BMW 320d if I want something more luxurious…

• sorry, scirocco is not considered a sports car. It’s a hot hatch..

• victor lee on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Nice car but the dashboard really plastic and normal. The steering like blm saga steering LOL

• Is it only me or u guys also feel that the dashboard looks kinda ugly and outdated?

• Bentley on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:25 pm

No worth to buy with 250k price tag, lack of power 200ps, 205Nm, high compp ratio, if u add entra 10k will get New subaru impereza not recond its brand new , with 300hp, 407nm all wheels, 3 years warranty.

• James on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:34 am

Subaru’s attracts guys.. 86 attracts girls.. lol.. u know why. was in my friends scooby, no girls will take notice but all the guys will .. hahhaha.

• carnoisseur on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Honestly, I will get a 2nd hand 911(993) instead .

• Megane on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:31 pm

Tyre 215 mm ? Looks skinny from behind . Overpriced as well …where to skid this 250k car ?

• tunguuu on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:35 pm

when u guys review a car…how come there is no opinion bout the pricing? like how it compares with other sports hatchbacks like a GTI for instance? isnt 250k very expensive?

• GTR 2.0 on Jun 01, 2012 at 2:50 pm

Wish they have it in white & black as AE86 in Initial D :)
    Anyone?

• 86 or Megane RS250. Which would you rather have?

• Kia and German on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Peugeot RCZ,its very cool!!

• RadzLee on Jun 01, 2012 at 9:29 pm

RS Megane anyday… 86 seems to be a brilliant car but poorly price tagged. i would rather throw the extra money for something else that matters rather than UMW

• JeremyNg on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:11 pm

The orange colour look damn sexy !!!!

• Looks like Proton Pesona…

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-l6Kk5GSwh8s/T5E7mOMelHI/AAAAAAAACsE/bNUX1zy6050/s1600/Proton-Persona-2.jpg

• tokmoh on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:18 pm

Very nice car, but greedy UMW asking too much.

Better wait for grey imports, hopefully priced right

• BalanceD on Jun 01, 2012 at 3:25 pm

Nice car!! But in Malaysia, cant be considered as a cheap, affordable sports car for the masses … too bad. There is just so many other options with that price …

• Varia on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:08 pm

the problem is, interior look crap for a 240k sport car.

• david on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:19 pm

It costs US$24k, that explains why.

• Keith on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:43 am

Just below $30k in AU. The Malaysian Govt and UMW are taking the poor Malaysians for a ride..

• Wait for recond cars. Haha

• gtmaniac on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Wonder do one really need auto-cruise in a proper sport car like this (especially in manual version!), or UMW just tick all the boxes to jack up the price?

• You will find Cruise Control to be useful on Malaysia highway. No, you don’t need to drift on the highway at 220km/hr.

• tok-kok on Jun 01, 2012 at 4:49 pm

12.5:1 compression ratio.. means it only drinks from RON97 and above .. :(

• lonelyobserve on Jun 02, 2012 at 7:42 pm

Yes, unless you want to fuel with RON95 with one bottle of octane booster to make the fuel becomes RON98.

• Buy this car then better be prepared to afford RON97 to get the best performance lah.

• Any more pics of the orange TRD 86?

• Posche boxster rip off dashboard lolz

• My mistake. Porsche 911.

• LightningZ on Jun 01, 2012 at 5:25 pm

I think I would buy Re-cond Nissan 370z at this price

• buying re-cond 370z is cheap.. owning and maintaining is the opposite… road-tax high, fuel consumption high, resell value low, spare parts high.. looks expensive..

• You can wait for the recond Toyota 86 or Subaru BRZ later. I’m sure that will cost around 150k or lower and it’ll be common around the streets as recond RX-8 now.

• 205nm torque… enuff ka?
    Same as preve cfe? huh?

• maaajeeedaaa on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:36 pm

better wait for rx 9 ……

• mystvearn on Jun 01, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Toyota Celica replacement :)?

• Fair Price on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:25 pm

At this kind of price, they should have at least include in the sat-nav! the current ICE just spoil the overall ambience.

• Rags1968 on Jun 01, 2012 at 8:55 pm

the day this car is introduced in this country is a sad day indeed. Out goes the notion of affordable sport car as intended by Toyota chairman when the idea was first mooted, seriously at 243K is nowhere affordable and the ridiculous bordering insane tax the gov’t is slapping on it makes it a joke to buy

The 30 people who placed orders for the car are indeed rich or just plain nuts. I am sad as I can’t see myself to pay the price as I have had enough of this protectionist measure carried by our gov’t

• I am still happy that I chose the rcz, no regret.

• pugly! lol

• Napanwat on Jun 11, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Weird looking from back. Looks like a mini Volks Beetle. In the category of a cute car. Not a sports car.

• Cute or sport…how do you categoried sport? Race? If so, then I agreed as I don’t race.

Buy a rm200k car and then race with those ah beng satria, wira, or even perdana? No thanks.

RCZ is a real head turning car. People just wow and put attention to it wherever I drive.

• Yes, RCZ is only for head turning car.. haha u only buy a car cost u 200k for that reason?!

• Miata_Man on Jun 01, 2012 at 10:22 pm

An over-priced, over-hyped boy racer.. My humble 2003 MX-5 (also rear-drive, 6-speed) costs next to nothing now but has loads and loads of fun… I have full respect of the original AE-86, but this….nah…

• James on Jun 02, 2012 at 12:24 am

I personally drove the car! and it rocks.. pls try it before you comment its good or bad.. cause this car is all about handling..

• tunguuu on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:10 am

yeap it is good…really good handler..but is it worth 250k? when at that price a megane rs250 is even faster n handles even better n frankly even more power? or for a mere 200k..u can get a hugely practical GTI…also fully specced and with 2.0 turbo power (200bhp)?
      no one say its a bad car…its just god damn overpriced!

• Dude, the Megane RS250 and GTi are all fwd, the handling compared to this rwd 86 is totally different. Though i got your point that those hot hatch has more power and affordable too. But this 86 is all about handling balance.

• driver on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:00 am

nope.. scirocco rocks harder (or better)!!

• driver on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:03 am

ce korg tengok pakcik yg pakai spek & cap putih tu.. aku rasa dia syiok tengok “benda” lain tuh.. sengih semacam jk..
    LOL!!

• Johann on Jun 20, 2012 at 11:11 am

That pakcik dreaming about something else…will looks better if cabriolette@topless; hahaha ;)

• Hachiroku on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:33 am

This car handles way better than preve. The so called “lotus handling” by proton is misleading.

• Just bcoz you have never try what is the real Lotus!!haha, but so sad!!to you

• Hachiroku on Jun 03, 2012 at 2:22 am

No, i’m happy that i do not have to try the fake “lotus handling” of proton. The real lotus does not handle like proton. If you think proton handles like a lotus, you probably cannot afford the real one? So sad to you.

• Proton stated that their cars are handling tuned by Lotus, doesn’t necessarily need to have handling feel like Lotus. Overall, Lotus helped in tuning the chassis and suspension setup for Proton.

• James on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:18 am

Well all cars in Malaysia are overpriced. whats new?

• James on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:29 am

BTW GTI’s need turbo’s to reach 210bhp.. this is Naturally aspirated 200bhp… loads of room ahead.. but essentially turbo’s are not recommended for this car. cause of the weigh distribution of 57:43.. its tuned and balanced for 200bhp.. basically the more hp u add the more ur going to screw up the handling.

In terms of tuning differences with the BRZ handles more like AWD or FF, the 86 = FR handling. anyway its a sweet ride and i think we can get our hands on some grey imports after 2 years down the road. so there is still hope in owning one.

• What do you mean by loads of room ahead? Are you going to pump up the hp yourself? How?

A turbo 200hp with this na 200hp, what’s the different?

I read US forum review, this 86 is fast only when speed above 60km/h and rpm above 5000.

On my car, turbo kicks in at above 2000rpm, which is fast and happened all the time.

• Sarbath on Jun 29, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Oh why you comparing with turbo car then ? you want the same handling and power league go compare with Civic Type R bro.. 220Bhp and price within 210-240k :-) .. this 86 car is full of s***.. 100% all day for type-r handling/NA 2.0 car :-) ..

• From the front I might mistaken it for a Hyundai Coupe

• DArkerMarker on Jun 02, 2012 at 10:06 am

there are better and cheaper cars out there…

enough said…..

• Spend 250k to own this car, its really superb!! Superb in Gen2 steering wheel design, superb in the engine which VW will easily,simply Vroom it!! superb in a normal Toyota car’s design,nothing special then Vios, Altis,or Rush!!Bored!! Superb in Toyota highly overestimated it’s product!!

• proton fan on Jun 02, 2012 at 2:57 pm

thumbs up on the gen2 steering wheel… but hey… proton has something to be proud of now! :p

• Austin on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:27 pm

It’s UMW fault. Well, this car sold at 24k USD, means it less than RM75k. which near 3 times higher than the US. With RM75k it will blow off a lot of car with the same price.

• James on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:10 pm

have you forgotten about the 3 layers of taxes our govt imposes.. obviously everybody sells cars for a profit. yes i do agree it maybe overprices at 250k but i dont think it all goes to UMW. more than half goes to the govt.

• proton fan on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:13 pm

wayyy to expensive for what you are getting… were the bookings from the same people who book those Ducati?? :p

• canaanite on Jun 02, 2012 at 1:46 pm

reminiscene of T. Supra heyday…

• Wilson on Jun 02, 2012 at 5:52 pm

I read from Taiwan magazine, it is estimated to sell at around RM150k over there.. It is difficult to owe a cheap sport car here. Boring~

• alltalkpandai on Jun 03, 2012 at 12:18 am

all talk damn smart,go for a drive and feel the car 1st then talk lah….so solid and lively…very malaysian…talk talk talk………

• nighttrain on Jun 03, 2012 at 11:36 am

Again, this is a pretty good car. But not worth RM240k. Doesn’t have enough ‘refinement’ for that price. A very, very good boyracer car, RM180k maybe, if your target market is under 35 years old professionals(engineers, doctors, plumbers).

• teelim on Jun 03, 2012 at 2:38 am

UMW sure knows how to make the Civic Type-R look like a bargain.

*Point to note, the launch price for both cars in Japan is the same. The RM vs Yen exchange rate in 2008 is almost the same as now. But, the 86 cost 20% more than the Civic Type-R.

• Paul & team need some real seat time in this car with TC/VSC OFF to do justice to this car.

• GetTheWholePicture on Jun 04, 2012 at 4:40 am

Cons
    1) at about RM250k, it is pretty expensive.
    2) the finishing looks outdated at first sight, although I understand that they are actually giving the public a feel of the interior based on the iconic AE86 and other classic cars in the 1980s.
    3) HP is sufficent at 197hp. Not over the top. At about RM250k, could have been more. However, it is sold at only US25k in the U.S. And therefore, it is actually built to focus on a complete package sports car at affordable price. It was never an expensive car in the first place.

I think the local distributor/dealer may want to adjust the price again to gain acceptance over here for buyers to own it.

Things are pretty transparent ESPECIALLY prices of cars worldwide on the internet.

4) Could have done better with the finishing on the two front seats.

5) No special deals with the purchase of the car. I mean REALLY special deals, not just rm1000 petrol or some intangible services.
    Could have done group purchase/ crowd deals to save buyers money. Why? Most of the buyers will eventually gather together. If have they deals, for example where 100 buyers agree to purchase, with the price RM30k lower, people will surely consider to purchase.

Pros
    1) Ultra-low 460mm center of gravity and low inertia for excellent handling and stability. Lower than most sports cars. 10.1-inch center of gravity is lower than that of the Porsche Cayman (19.0 inches) and Nissan GT-R (19.5 inches)

2) Go-Kart feeling in the car

3) Coefficient of drag is 0.27. Which means fuel efficient. The lower, the better. Same as Nissan GT-R and Hyundai Genesis.
    Reference -> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automobile_drag_coefficient
    Nissan 370Z Coupe is at 0.30
    Ferrari F50 is at 0.372
    Subaru Impreza WRX (2010) is at 0.36

3) Low weight.
    Toyota 86 = Kerb Weight (kg) 1,275 (A)
    Malaysian Specs at
    http://www.toyota.com.my/toyota-86/#price_details
    Different sites state different weight.
    http://toyota.jp/86/001_p_001/spec/spec/index.html
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_86

Other 2 door cars
    Golf GTI Mk6 = Curb Weight: Approximately 1376 kg (man) / 1401 kg (auto)
    Nissan 370Z = Approximately (1,466 kg) (base)

4) The design of the dashboard is reminiscence of the historical AE86 and other classic cars in the 80s. That is why you get the o’feel when you see the photos of the dashboard. Why o’feel or design? I think it is VERY clear. The name of the car is Toyota 86, to commemorate the original AE86, design and body panels.

5) This is a rear wheel drive. Design and manufactured for on track and off track.

6) Ability to change driving mode with VSC Off, Stability and Traction control off and in sports mode.

7) Fuel efficient sports car. Compare and research.

8) Clever design.
    I think one of the clever design of the Toyota 86 is that the rear seat design was made to seat VERY much lower, so that the leg space of the car can be saved and there is extra head room and space for passengers behind.

I have seen lower rear seats before, but this design was the lowest I have seen.
    Try squatting and sitting. You get what I mean about leg space. When you squat, your butt sits lower below your knee, and therefore the length of leg-space in the car is reduced because your thigh is facing slightly upwards.
    You can see how low the rear seats are at http://i937.photobucket.com/albums/ad215/Vic_Tan/2013_Scion-FR-S_car-desktop-wallpaper-9.jpg

In addition to that benefit, the low rear seats design gives extra room and head space for passenger behind. From the outside, it clearly looks like there is virtually no place to seat at the back, but from the inside, it is a different story. Surely it is not at comfortable as a 4 door car, but the design is brilliant, especially for a compact car like this. The Japanese are very good at space and storage management. Condos & apartments in Tokyo are the most expensive in the world and yet they are extremely small. Because of this problem, they somehow manage to work out how to save space and manage it. We should learn a few things from them in this case.

9) Equipped with most of the sports equipment & accessories without paying extra upgrade.

10) For those who loves car, driving GTI, Subaru WRX or Evo, or Mercedes won’t you the magnetic attraction that you want from ladies ( most of the ladies don’t even bother to look at you ) . However if you were to drive Toyota MRS, Nissan Fair Lady, Audi TT, Celica, s2000, Ferarri or any cars with lotsa curves, you will get the second look ALWAYS. For ladies, power is NOT what they always are looking for. Virtually most of them love cars with lotsa curves and how sexy the car is. Therefore, it DOESN’T matter how powerful the car is when comes to perspective of most ladies.

Toyota 86 / Subaru BRZ is certainly in this category of an attractive and a sexy sports car.

If you are looking for BIG HORSEPOWER, this car is certainly not for you.

People always try to compare things differently. If you compare a GOLF GTI or a recond Subaru WRX with Toyota 86, the Golf GTI and Subaru WRX are definitely faster and more powerful. However GOLF GTI and Subaru WRX are not sexy looking and doesn’t have the curves that most ladies are attracted to.

Hence, you need to buy a car based on what you are looking for. You can’t just use a price line to judge or make calculated assumption.

Analogy.
    For RM250k, you can buy a bunglow in a estate or Kampung. But RM250k, you can only get an apartment in Klang Valley. However, staying in the RM250k apartment in Klang Valley gives you more opportunity to meet more people, customers and do more businesses, while staying at the RM250k-bunglow gives lotsa peaceful kampung life.

Which you prefer? All are just preferences and the buying criteria must based on your needs. If you buy a bunglow at RM250k in a kampung, you can’t say those who buy a RM250k apartment in Kla g Vally are stupid. They are different geographically with different needs.

• Goodma on Jun 05, 2012 at 2:10 am

“People always try to compare things differently. If you compare a GOLF GTI or a recond Subaru WRX with Toyota 86, the Golf GTI and Subaru WRX are definitely faster and more powerful. However GOLF GTI and Subaru WRX are not sexy looking and doesn’t have the curves that most ladies are attracted to.”

about ur “curve” theory, I do not agree with you on how the girls look at, or at least the girls/ girl friends i know of have different point of view..
      they drive GTI and BMW and Mercs… so ?

• James on Jun 05, 2012 at 1:15 pm

how many ? 10 max give u .. 100 girl friends? lol.. vs the rest of the population of girls.

• lovesCARS on Jun 04, 2012 at 5:38 am

Had a good look at the car today. Frankly, its really low quality for its price. I am sure the driving will be amazing BUT for 240+K its not delivering the goods in terms of the quality.

Interior styling is very meager. I would say better than a Myvi. Knobs are most amateurish, even if you want to be simple this goes beyond simple. Seats are not that low slung, its about as low as a CRZ but not lower. The fabric quality is nothing to shout about. Again, feels low quality.

The panels feel like a Kancil when you knock it. I know they want to save weight but can’t it be built a bit more solid and not feel like a Kancil?

But the engine bay is spacious and looks neat. The boxer engine does keep it all nice and slim.

I guess, if you want this car, you just have to take the word of reviews online and then buy it for its so called drive.

Looks like another over priced car by Toyota. Yeah … only 100 units for Malaysia but 240+K each? This price range will be pitting it against the Scirocco, Megane, Golf GTI etc.

This car makes the FD2R feel luxurious.

• kevinaux on Jun 04, 2012 at 11:25 am

Let me see the car is priced at US$ 24 930 which is (according to google at 11.28am, 4th June 12) 79 838.3378 Malaysian ringgits.
    Double that to enrich the gomen pockets =
    79 838.3378 * 2 = 159 676.676 (or 160k).
    Now take that out off the 243000 price tag you get RM 83 000 for UMW and the AP holder.
    Pardon me for any ignorant calculation and assumption but am I the only one who licked on the “Exited” & “Angry” button at the same time?
    Wasn’t this car announced as the starter sports car that Toyota described as “.. priced so that a fresh graduate in Japan could afford”?

• Austin on Jun 04, 2012 at 10:34 pm

I hope there’s are another company sells Toyota and sell the 86 at the price it should be and watch the greedy UMW burn down to ashes. Besides, it can sell Alphard, Vellfire, Mark X, Land Cruiser, USA Camry (not the ugly one that ASEAN get), Yaris etc.

• Fresh graduate in Japan earns 250,000 yen a month. That’s rm10k a month.

• triplerotor on Jun 04, 2012 at 6:06 pm

this car was produce as a entry level sports car at japan. but in msia there are no entry level sports car. bcos of all the tax.it is clearly our G fault that this car is too expensive.

this car is also a driver oriented car. is not a car that has hi horsepower. but really good traction and handling. if u looking for cars to attract girls or monster,better buy gtr or wide bodykit waja. LOL. this car is for real driver,who enjoy driving n tackling corner. all the comments above shows many of us alrdy hav distortd view on how car should be. HI horsepower, bling2, n pussy magnet. This is TOYOTA trying to correct us. Bring back the old memory where man enjoys driving not just to attract chicks with cars.

One more thing ppl comment on the build quality, cars these days have different style of building. not like the 80’s-90’s days. if u comment on the door trim being so plastic,why u x complain why this car not having steel bumper like the old ke70? hahahahha

• Australia (AUD)
    Golf GTi : $38990
    Megane RS 250 Cup : $41990
    Mazda 3 MPS : $39490
    Toyota 86 : $29990

Malaysia (MYR)
    Golf GTi : RM210000
    Megane RS 250 Cup : RM230000
    Mazda 3 Mps : RM180000
    Toyota 86 : RM243000

Source http://www.carsales.com.au/news/2012/sports/toyota/86/new-toyota-86-coupe-priced-below-30k-30635

insert dafuq meme here.

• GetTheWholePicture on Jun 04, 2012 at 11:22 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tPoZ1SC8uwk
    Carlos Lago finds out if the 2013 Scion FR-S blazes a new trail for affordable, real-wheel drive enthusiast cars. Pro racer Randy Pobst also gets in on the action, pushing the FR-S to its performance limits with hot laps around Streets of Willow racetrack.

• Wombat on Jun 05, 2012 at 11:10 am

sigh~ over priced car. Its only target rich people. sad sad sad

• Rich people won’t buy this ugly looking car, while street racer won’t be able to afford this car in Malaysia.

So, I don’t see UMW Toyota able to sell that 100 units that they were allocated so soon…

Below RM180k, possible.

• henry on Jun 05, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Honestly.. its one ugly looking car. For 250k, they can’t even give a real steering?? haha. what a joke

• MeBAD on Jun 05, 2012 at 7:44 pm

This is Scion FR-S It’s gonna cost you RM 83K for Auto and RM 77K for manual … and this is how malaysians price the cars: Let’s say if a car in US costs $25K they sell it for RM 250K … add a zero to the US price and change the USD to RM!

• Jimmy on Jun 05, 2012 at 8:30 pm

F30 320d, 184hp, 350nm, rear wheel driven, 50:50 weight distribution, a beemer tag. New ckd unit priced at rm248,800. Toyota, where is the logic?

• polo saga on Jun 06, 2012 at 12:46 am

nice design, but with the price of RM243,000 i rather goto BMW!!!!

• Look front, back, up, down, left, right, inside, outside…

No way I can see a RM250k value on this car.

Drive / drift like Initial-D in real street in Malaysia? Stop Dreaming! Wake up!

• Boleh on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:05 am

You ppl must be nuts to pay RM250k for an 86 when you can buy a 320 for the same price in Malaysia.

In Australia, BMW 320 costs 2X Toyota 86..

In USA, the 86 is marketed under the SCION brand (basically CHEAP Toyota models targeted at TEENAGERS/STUDENT).. just like how LEXUS are expensive Toyota models targeted at the rich people.

• wkhin on Jun 07, 2012 at 6:44 pm

it look like Gen 2 facelifted by kampung boy

• The 86 in the first picture looks different. It has different wheels, slightly different front bumper and TRD brake calipers unlike other 86 units found in this gallery. Danny Tan, is this the TRD version of the 86 and will it be available here too? Do hope that someone can answer this, thank you.

• Yes that is the TRD parts being added on. TRD parts will be available in Malaysia via Wing Hin. Some pics of a white 86 with TRD here
      https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.421612517870319.97538.383444661687105&type=1

• Thanks for the information, Nick. Appreciate that =). But the 86 you showed does not have the TRD calipers. I guess that is another optional add on ? Anyway, TRD 86 looks a lot better than the normal version.

• There are a bunch of TRD parts(rims, exhaust, Bodykit, strut bars, coilovers, even oil caps) which can be purchased separately. The brake kit is one of the most expensive part and apparently highly sought after. There will be a white TRD 86 during super gt and i hope to snap some pics of it then :)

• Toyota 86 on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:12 am

the concept design is nicer than the actual ..
    this one is like an upgrade version of Gen2

• haha…the price is a bloody joke!

• SubaruBRZ on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:36 am

Looking at the response from the majority on how expensive it is in Malaysia , Subaru should use this opportunity to sell at RM50k to RM70k cheaper.

It is the same car under Subaru BRZ with few minor changes.

Subaru, please use your brain to sell. Don’t screw up the price again in Malaysia.

• I doubt Subaru will sell at such low price. Toyota will not allow that.

• ExcellentStrategyandPlanning on Jun 09, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Toyota Japan knows the right strategy. Unfortunately, it is sold very expensively here.

There are thousand of people buying this car worldwide at this early stage. We can foresee a lot people owning this car outside Malaysia, especially in the U.S, Australia, New Zealand and other prominent Europe countries.

Toyota keeps the main technological engine, components and exterior design ingredients of the car at superior level, but keep the interior design as simple as possible.

This bring in third party communities and developers to develop more improvement/replacement for the current design and other handling upgrades.

It can be a change of dashboard, dvd players, knob, leather upgrades, springs, suspension and etc. You can see that this is a driver’s car. They want to feel unique and special.

This is where the third party manufacturers comes in. This is to keep the community, interest and improvement of the car alive.

The interior looks really simple. It meant for further improvement by the driver themselves. The DVD design is in a flat rectangle outfit and meant for further improvement and replacement with other stuff if the driver request it. Unlike most of the other new cars, the design of the dashboard doesn’t allow further “smooth” incorporation of the third party stuff.

Excellent strategy and planning from Toyota.

If other non reputable car manufacturer does it this way, we can see at lot of criticism. But this is from Toyota.

Toyota has manufactured millions of car worldwide that exceed customer’s expectation in design and reliability, but keeping the interior of Toyota 86 at the simplest possible is one astonishing move and strategy. They knew the outcome and they have the experience.

You can actually see the US community at www.ft86club.com. It is alive and kicking.

Again, unfortunately, it is sold very expensively here in Malaysia. Worldwide, it is so affordable to purchase and maintain.

• Flannel on Jun 09, 2012 at 10:15 pm

honestly its ugly, outdated shape and expensive, u only proud with their MPVs, else fail.

• Anne Yong on Jun 10, 2012 at 4:06 am

The design is sexy. Love it. Reminds me of Toyota Supra.

Better than the current Peugeot RCZ. Peugeot RCZ is a cute and roundish car. From the back, it looks like the front.

Audi TT is classy & stylish. Love that car too!! But tis car, Toyota 86 brings back the ooozzz feeling of a sexy & masculine appeal. A rugged-looking car with substance.

• Peter lee on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Prefer 370z !!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Napanwat on Jun 15, 2012 at 2:55 am

Haha.

1) How many cc for the road tax every year?
      2) One time press first gear, pay RM2? Go to work how many first gear have to use? 10 times?
      3) Resell value? Drop RM50k every year?

Joke.

• Annaeh on Jun 13, 2012 at 11:29 pm

In the 1st pic I see 3 uncles. So its not only Camry they like eh.

• soon-to-be-86owner on Jul 06, 2012 at 4:06 pm

The external look of a sport car is key more important than interior look…different countries are having difference pricing of a same car especially come to sport car. Various brand of Sport cars are very common in USA and Australia and very competitive there compare with Malaysia. 100 units is a very little number for Malaysia so toyota 86 owners are having some ‘exclusive’ ownership so this sport 86 is not common on road….may be the said price tag include some “exclusivity” price…..i would prefer less people to own this sport 86 on road…..

• Napanwat on Jul 15, 2012 at 3:46 am

100 from UMW? It maybe UMW’s policies, but not people’s policies. You can’t control the policies in a borderless world.

The people of Japan have their own policies of selling off and exporting their old cars after 3 to 5 years so that they can buy new cars just like all the recond cars we have purchased so far over the years.

I don’t see any exclusivity. It is just UMW’s own stupid policy to increase the price of the car and gain as much profit.

UMW is not thinking globally. We are in a very competitive world. If Toyota is not treating people well and selling expensive cars, people will go to Hyundai for better and more affordable cars. And this already happening.

Look at Sony and Sharp. Just like how Sony is selling expensive TV, majority of the people are no longer looking for SONY. Their TV business is losing profits for many years and the company lost billions last year. People are able to access information easily and go for more affordable brand like LG, Samsung and Pensonic with the same technology.

• Elton Kobbe on Nov 09, 2012 at 5:58 pm

This new Toyota 86 launched as a successor to the original AE86 of the 80’s is gonna be a great success with its drifting.

• A farmer from Bau, Sarawak bought one of this and he paid cash. Know why? He hit toto jackpot. Heheh..

• Eric Lee on Mar 03, 2013 at 5:59 am

243K for the 86s way too much for a car. over it is selling about MSRP no discount. I am trying to get one but my wife said I am too old for that. stick to your lexus ls400. Buying a car is easy over here if you will to pay monthly payment and have a steady job. most of the BMW here are lease. turn it in every 4 years you have a brand one.There is nothing to compare over here. right now I am only interested in used. new cars are too expensive. I stay away from german car too.

• Hello everybody..
    Is this car limited edition? I will buy this at 2015, during that time, do this car still available then?

• GinGa on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:02 am

I want the legend of all toyota car. Trueno 86. Can smoke all car in this universe.