Dany Bahar’s expenditure not favoured by new bosses

Here’s some light shed on the reason of Dany Bahar’s suspension. The Mail Online has reported that parent company DRB-Hicom did not like the way the Lotus’ suspended top man used company’s money. This comes after an investigation done by Ernst & Young and a team Rothschild Group.

Dany Bahar was found to have spent hundreds of thousands of pounds to spruce up his rented home. He was also said to have spent more than one million pounds on private aircraft to fly him to Formula 1 races and other global events.

His friends came to his defense, saying that Bahar insists that the spending was part of his employment contract, which was agreed with Proton. This means that his ‘extravagant’ lifestyle was done within the limits of his employment.

At the moment, neither the respective companies nor Bahar himself have officially commented on the matter. We’ll continue to keep tabs on any developments. In the meantime, click the link to read the full story.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Dany sure knows the way of msia crowny life..

• Cedyy on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:09 pm

if what is reported is true, then i would say that Proton under the previous management has mismanaged Lotus. already in the red and still allow more than a million pound spent on air travel. they have no sense of cost cutting and cost control.

• maverick on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:29 pm

did anybody knows when the Inspira 2.0P facelift 2012 will be available..?

• Unforgiven on Jun 08, 2012 at 12:36 am

I guess his spending is nothing much (still little) if compare with other G related, Khazanah senior management, cronies, etc…

• Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:11 pm

If that’s part of the pay package, fine!!! But what about the other side of the coin, ie turning the co. around as expected of him? Stop taking people for a ride!!!

• see, more reasons to hate this douchebag.

• Obviously different business culture. But why not? It’s for the image for lotus sake. Give him freedom n see if bahar can truly deliver. If not, ditch him.

• ignoramus on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:01 pm

It’s not about culture difference. No corporation be it in a developing nation or developed nation would justify this ridiculous lifestyle expense if they’re not comfortably in the black.. unless the board members are simply IMCOMPETENT

• Do u think that Mr Bahar, Mr Coco and Mr Zimmermann would join Lotus by paying peanuts?

• F.N.H. on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:21 pm

If you pay peanuts, you get monkeys; if you pay diamonds, you get thieves?

• Jimmy on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Who is this incompetent guy called Bahar?

A lot of expressions on face, contributed virtually nothing but asked for sky-high salary/renumeration.

Now I know that 1st class seats in MAS are not good, no wonder keep losing money, just like Lotus.

If you are good & competent in earning money, you don’t have to makan suap. Wearing Rolex, driving RR, but evading taxes and MAKAN SUAP, shame one you! Pitiful you still smile PROUDLY in front of everybody.

• anti-first on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:38 pm

looks like somebody done their due diligence, albeit belatedly.

better late than never.

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:39 pm

and this style of lifestyle started even before DRB came into the picture? hmm

• b sensible on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:26 pm

yup…..sth amiss why the previous management didn’t pick up the case……until now…..so the downfall of lotus is not entirely operations but more on cash management……..the board needs to hv sth white & black on the types and limits of expenditure…..the board is caught off guard….

• I guess the gravy train had to stop some where..

• KS Chee on Jun 07, 2012 at 12:57 pm

What a wanker!! He should be judged by the poor assembly line workers trying to make ends meet. Why did Proton hire him? Guess have to ask DSZ…sorry he’s gone too…

• DSZ was part of Executive Committee of Lotus Group International Limited that include Dany Bahar so he wasn’t responsible of the appointing Dany Bahar and certainly wasn’t responsible of his suspension.

• KS Chee on Jun 08, 2012 at 1:07 am

Why so defensive? DSZ your boyfriend? Since you know so much about DSZ, tell us why he resigned if he was doing such a good job? Did Colin Chapman fly in his own private jet? I reckon he would be turning in his grave if he sees his legacy being run by this bimbo of a CEO.

• kamaji on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:09 pm

Ditch him for good & sell off Lotus.No wonder P1 cars are getting more expensive these days.Thanks to all these over-paid goons.

• icecube on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:58 pm

A lot of tears from a lot of people who read an e-mail by DSSZ posted previously in this blog.Would glad to hear what will they say for this post.I’m not saying it’s a one-man fault nor a fault of the BOD , but I still stick to what I wrote before ,”not everybody knows DSSZ…”

• Naz@AE111 on Jun 07, 2012 at 1:59 pm

no wonder DSZ resign..

• seancorr on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Hmm if its within his contractual limits then DRB Hicom will have less to say about him but any CEO who truly loves his company will try to save any penny. His lifestyle certainly does not reflect his love for Lotus…

• kuncisudu on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:08 pm

maybe things like this that make DSZ resign.

• Josh Ling on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:10 pm

at the end of the day, it all comes down to money issue. i think if lotus can make super huge profit for proton, DRB-Hicom won’t make this move. but again, things are always more complicated, and not necessarily the things that appear to us, in corporate world.

• angryman on Jun 07, 2012 at 2:16 pm

all the ass holes like him should die in poverty…he is using the company money, which by right they atleast should consider for labour welfare atleast will boost them to more sustainable developement of company.1st they should start dig out from the man who hired this sob.

• helmi on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:16 pm

Bloody hell to this mat saleh.

• Henry on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:17 pm

A third world company which sells a miserable 200,000 cars a year can pay for such extravagance of one person? Back home there are people without water and electricity supply. This is very sinful.

• keluangman on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:24 pm

UNTONGGLAAAAAAA….DANNY BAHAR!

Spend company money for private gain, reno own house, private jet….UNTONGLAA!

He can be good friends with u know who la….DANNY BAHAR pls join POLITICS!

• Wazzup on Jun 07, 2012 at 3:29 pm

just release the Esprit….. lotus cars need no flashy CEO, you just need new product line up…quick!

The current line up of lightweight sportcars are OK…but enough is enough! We need super power cars in the same rank as lambo or ferrari!

• Let DMZ run Lotus. He’ll do it better than any monkeys or thief even without payroll. It’s too bad P1 was rotten to the core that he can only do what he could…

• he may spend within his contract but yet to see his performance likewise… sigh

• kerelbort on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:20 pm

is Proton the one appointed Dany? or is it Khazanah? As Khazanah is the owner of Proton previously. Will they allow any Tom, Dick and Harry to run its company?

• Probably it is good to sack him.

• Anti mat salleh on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Kurang ajar punye org. Spending company’s money like nobody business. Who do you think you are? No wonder lotus not making profit if this kind of clown still around. Of course the friends of this clown defended him because they also got their shares.
    DRB-HICOM please sack this clown as we dont need a blood sucker parasite in the company.
    Cukuplah tanah air kita dijajah zaman dahulu, jgn biarkan org putih ni buat sesuka hati dengan duit rakyat.

• angryman on Jun 07, 2012 at 4:45 pm

cukuplh…orang tanah air kita pun apa kurangnya?
      sama sama cari untung shj…
      semua sama je…

• BanyakMasyukWang on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:01 pm

All in all, it’s up to DRB. Now it’s their money. But as far as my opinion, that’s what he (Bahar)should do for the utmost objective of his appointment – to create a car and brand status like lambo and ferrari. Folk, do you think people with image such as DSSZ could head these kind of companies? Being holy rather than jolly! (Don’t get me wrong, DSSZ is good as what he’s at). As we all know engineering wise, Lotus has all the formula to make best R&H sport cars. Most professionals agreed that Evora and latest Exige are the best at that? But why still less people buying? Because it’s too focus! For track people rather than rich/super rich people. Ferrari, Porsche and Lambo made sport/super cars loaded with gadgets appropriate with the cars’ image + EMOTION. Then to please their niche group of customers such as track people, they started stripping the luxuries, add more wings, beef-up the engine etc. Current Lotus car? Its totally vice-versa. Therefore, their default customers are too niche. These are what from my understanding Bahar was trying to solve. And he just did what it’s taken to win those ever increasing ‘jolly’ people. Anybody from current DRB’s stable able to live ‘jolly’ and keeps to a job objective like Bahar? Yes it’s always easier said than done. And I’m not totally behind Bahar anyway.

• optimus on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:18 pm

wa danny boy…not yet earn money for lotus co already spent money…shame on u!!

• optimus on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:19 pm

dany boy should go back to ferrari ^^

• amirad on Jun 07, 2012 at 5:36 pm

So what’s the fuss about. Every big gun does that. The moment they enter new office, change everything. Its their entitlement. New furniture, new car, new whatever…. Heck the guy is trying to sell Lotus to high end customers. You need to be seen wearing Armani suits, Patek Philipe watches, Bally shoes and arrive at the scene in private jets. Takkan nak jumpa those multi millionaire customers naik saga blm kot?

• policeman on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Double standards. Suspend the white guy but perempuan puaka and her husband songlap millions if not billions.

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Dirty white bastard

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 07, 2012 at 7:58 pm

I hope when he dies, together with dssz, both will get buried in shit

• NasUrudin aidid on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Bastard

• bahar samdol on Jun 07, 2012 at 8:34 pm

the best decision for DRB HICOM is to sell lotus to china automobile company while still can. dont be like mv augusta that being sold euro 1 only.
    kalau setakat handling jer bagus nak buat aper? setakat nak promote handling je dlm kete proton nak buat apa? kete lain pun handling bagus jugak mcm bmw etc. lotus tu mmg dah tak bole buat duit and pergi jauh pun baik jual je sebelum terlambat. dany bahar jgn nak perasan la ko bole promote lotus mcm ferrari. service standard pun mcm org kampung nak lawan ferrari konon. balik negeri ko la!

• Joseph Tiong on Jun 07, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Danny is doing this in Malaysia ways. Malaysia Boleh….

• they shoudl hire someone from vw or audi to do such job. ferrari has never been very well managed before, in fact…

• Dr Tago on Jun 07, 2012 at 10:12 pm

DRB should hire me to manage their business. I can show the way to produce a very good quality cars with reasonable cost. I was graduated from Oxford with first class honour. Don’t be hesitate to contact me.

• lovesCARS on Jun 07, 2012 at 11:15 pm

Oxford grad … 1st Class ‘Honour’ BUT 3rd Class English … no wonder Proton did not headhunt you …

Its called HONOURS, no HONOUR. I was graduated? I graduated ok. Don’t be hesitate? Sheeesh … go back for English classes ok.

• 1000horses on Jun 08, 2012 at 7:50 am

Haha his England veli the powderfull u know dun pray pray ah

• maggimee on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:20 am

oxford standard of english so terrible now ah?

• I always says that Lotus is a dead weight company with no viable money making prospect. This news is nothing new to me.

• Henry on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:29 am

Latest news: He got the sack.

• Danny dah kena sack – according to NST today

• Tengku Rex on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:14 am

Dany Bahar sacked from Lotus Group’s CEO role. Bad karma for this guy. From Sauber to Red Bull then Ferrari and now Lotus. I’ve got bad feeling about him before and it turned out to true. http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/100172