Hyundai Veloster on a transporter – off to Super GT!

The upcoming Hyundai Veloster was spotted on a transporter yesterday by Effie Muzzafar, who snapped a photo of it. The car was likely on its way to Sepang, where it will be on display throughout the Super GT event running this weekend.

Sime Darby Motors Division had earlier said it will be showcasing its entire brand portfolio during the race weekend. On call will be Alfa Romeo, Ford, Hyundai, Land Rover, Porsche, BMW and MINI, the latter two being handled under Auto Bavaria. Aside from the Veloster, displays will include the recently launched Alfa Romeo Giulietta and new Ford Ranger, which is set to arrive very soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Spritz on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:07 pm

they’ve been displaying it some time already but when will it be available?

• slowster

• agree :)
      of coz its slow: 1.6 GDI..
      hyundai design car’s for the look/design..
      not for detail or passion or specific needs ie handling/power..

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jun 09, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Wrong ! Not even GDI is merely MPI iike Forte & Elantra 1.6.

• rear light on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:10 pm

I have been waiting for this baby all this time, got frustrated, now I am getting preve.. You all so slow la Sime Darby.. You have lost 1 potential buyer (& I am sure i am not the only one).. And you might continue losing thousands if you are this slow..

• Masked Ryder on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Sexy as hell.

• u kidding me: u must be dont have passion for car :p

• Masked Ryder on Jun 09, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Well copycat u r right ! Look like Hell !
      Copycat car for copycat like you ! Match in Heaven, opps I mean Hell.

Ps. The Real Masked Ryder

• ProudMalaysian on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:22 pm

how much will it be in malaysia? hmm..

• Hundai De La Junk on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Think Junk is an insult to the prestige All Japan Super GT Championship, the organiser should only ban this cheap copycat of VW Sirocco.

• Rachel on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Y U NO LAUNCH IN MALAYSIA???

• they will launch.. but as usual cant cope with demand..
      many buyer has claim for re-fund for elantra md as they cant deliver the car on time..
      bet the same will happen to this junk :)

• cloudye on Jun 08, 2012 at 8:57 pm

bad… bad english lady.

• mystvearn on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Is this the hyundai with three doors, two on one side, one on the other side?

• Sam Loo on Jun 08, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Aiyoh, another cold door kimchi wjith no resale value

• Lorenzo on Jun 08, 2012 at 7:03 pm

i ve waited this car for a year. used to love it so much. that feeling has long gone. great job sime darby

• why so many kimchi haters in MY?
    curious to know what these haters actually drive

• Surely a conti or american made car. Maybe because kimchi driver berlagak as hell, if not this will not happen I guess.

• racotua on Jun 10, 2012 at 10:30 pm

they’re not so lagak lah. those using the entry level german cars are a bit more lagak.

• haha..
    another piece of junk into malaysian market..
    it can be a cheap copy alternative of “style” vehicle..
    too bad support of hyundai malaysia sucks big time..
    delay and not award warranty claim..
    check out their their “teamhyundai”..
    can see many there complains kaw2 of sime/hyundai malaysia not award their warranty..
    if award also will take 6-12 months for part(s) finally to arrive..

• Still ‘power of dream’ better than kimchi loh!

• Kalun on Jun 08, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Rubbish Korean Sport cars are always rubbish.
    Family cars work great but Sport cars, no! Rubbish handling, rubbish acceleration/fuel consumption, looks fluid and awesome. But still, I don’t like it.

Better off with Honda CR-Z Mugen.

• tanpa nama on Jun 08, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Ish.. ish.. ish..
      this is not a sports car la bro
      thats why the handling/power delivery is not there or to be proud off..
      its a car with “nice” design..

• bring on the turbo model pls!!

• ae101 on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:07 pm

detroit motor show revealed turbo version comes with 183hp and 0-100 is 8.4sec. old skool 1.6 vtec and 4age beat this anytime. uk autocar reviewed this car sucks big time during high speed.

• Jimmy on Jun 08, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Maybe a good car. But once the warranty is over, the dealer may start kacau my car, making minor defect easily rectifiable and ask me to pay big amount because I am a layperson. Some dealers are not interested in entertaining warranty claims; 5 years also no use. So, can you please improve and look after your dealers. If they are not good, get rid of them. Make access for customers to complain directly to you.

• JeremyNg on Jun 09, 2012 at 12:31 am

I read the topgear review, it said that this is not really a driver car even with the turbo engine on it…..

• JASOn on Jun 09, 2012 at 2:55 am

you can preview the car at Media Prima (Sri Pentas) TV3 Bandar Utama. There is one unit (left seat drive) there to promo for EURO2012

here is a few images:

side view
    http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab236/jasonhan03/IMG_2016.jpg

Back view
    http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab236/jasonhan03/IMG_2017.jpg

back
    http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab236/jasonhan03/IMG_2018.jpg

front
    http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab236/jasonhan03/IMG_2020.jpg

brochure
    http://i867.photobucket.com/albums/ab236/jasonhan03/IMG_2019.jpg

• Dr Mamak on Jun 09, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Enough of korean crap already!

• Jamus on Jun 30, 2012 at 3:30 am

Was waiting for this car since last year when it was first “spied” in Paul’s blog … decided to wait wait wait … then finally fed up and got a CrZ instead …

• Sashay on Jul 23, 2012 at 6:48 pm

It’s totally true Jamus, with Hyundai under Sime Darby it is wait, wait, wait…..then it gets wait longer, and longer, and longer…and at no time will you get a delivery timeframe or even a polite acknowledgement from this downright screwed GLC.

• this is a down grade version….