Aston Martin now officially represented in Malaysia, first showroom is along Federal Highway in PJ

There’s a new player in town, and he’s as suave as they come. Aston Martin is now officially represented in Malaysia with the launch of its first showroom at Jalan 219, Petaling Jaya this afternoon. The RM8 million, 480 square metre Aston Martin Kuala Lumpur facility is visible from the Federal Highway (KL bound from Subang), and is right next to the Mazda showroom.

Among the guests present were Ray Kyles, Acting British High Commissioner to Malaysia, Andy Gawthorpe, AM’s Global Sales Director, Dr Matthew Bennett, Regional Director for AM Asia Pacific, Datuk Robin Tan, Chairman and CEO of Berjaya Corp and Nazrul Mohtar, Executive Director of Jelita Seleksi Sdn Bhd, the official importer of Aston Martin in Malaysia. Jelita Seleksi is part of the Berjaya Group.

The facility is said to incorporate all the aspects of Aston’s luxury retail environment with full service capabilities. It houses Aston’s full range of cars, including the V8 Vantage, V12 Vantage, four-door Rapide and DBS. The flagship Vanquish (click here for full details) will be available from the first quarter of 2013.

Prices range from RM1 million of the V8 Vantage to RM2.2 million for the DBS supercar. James Bond fans, take note.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm

so AP king got good enough Kia, and PUG and no worry about this grey imported car anymore?

• Tishaban on Jul 16, 2012 at 6:12 pm

OK another place to empty my 8-figure bank account hahaha. :)

Jelita Seleksi? Can people please not directly translate english words into malay….

• Rachel on Jul 16, 2012 at 6:22 pm

OMG,i want a red Aston Martin DB9 velonte cabrio like the one Eva Longoria used in Desperate Housewives and also Mercedes E500 cabrio that her husband drives.I love Cabrio!!!

• Alpha on Jul 16, 2012 at 6:24 pm

1 mil for a V8 Vantage sounds reasonable enough.

• seriousdude on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:39 am

with more customisation of the car (interior etc) the price will costs more.

• carnoisseur on Jul 16, 2012 at 6:29 pm

I can only see but that is good enough for me

• ‘Jelita Seleksi’. Clearly bought off the shelf company name to house the AP holding entity. At least could have tried to put some effort into registering a proper company name.

• theanswer on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:45 pm

not easy to register a good company name. lots of name already taken.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Looks like Berjaya realized the Mazda showroom was too big so they slap on a divider and put in an Aston Martin showroom next to it. Hehe

• Anti_Fuel_Price on Jul 16, 2012 at 8:29 pm

This shows Malaysians are getting richer + after so many yrs only they appreciate/observe us :( on their radar!

• jamal on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:08 pm

can i enter the premises if wearing pagoda shirt?

• seancorr on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:13 pm

RM1mil starting price is actually not bad at all and u get to customise everything to your liking! I wonder how well they will do here as I figure Malaysians rather be seen in a Lambo or a Ferrari but obviously those cars are much more expensive. Nonetheless their selection still looks good!

• kissmatt on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:35 pm

Power..Beauty..Soul
    Most Beautiful Design

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 16, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Oh… Let me draw some cash from bank for an aston. Hmm… Let see what tools i need for my withdrawal. Knife? Gun?

• GTR 2.0 on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:38 am

Not enuf. Need to use at least 2 powerful laptop. Hire few guys with guns + handgrenade. C4 too. Need to withdraw some money too :)

• jolly_idiot on Jul 17, 2012 at 1:03 am

I’m thinking of Kamikaze style then will get an Aston with Satan.

• koochai on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:44 am

ur 3-ton-towing-capacity truck should be able to pull atm machines rite? haha

• can test drive these cars?? *drool

• danedz on Jul 16, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Next will be Pagani and Koenigseg..

• Hugo Andore on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:02 am

Aiya, better spend the money to buy 2 CR-Zs bros and a condo in Damansara Perdana

• Mario Gomez on Jul 17, 2012 at 8:35 am

Mont Kiara/Desa Park City will be enough..

• I like KFC on Jul 17, 2012 at 9:27 am

talk talk talk and BS only here, i wonder how many of you guys actually have even RM500k cash in your account. For that guy who ask ppl to buy CRZ and buy properties, you might be right in term for investment on properties but on car selection, this is utterly rubbish and way off the target. You ask ppl who can afford an AM to buy CRZ? It is an insult. No rich dude who love cars will drive a CRZ, unless you are some auntie or some sissified man.

• better spend money buy 200 viva?

• BMW BEST on Jul 17, 2012 at 12:08 am

Too bad all the ONE-77 are sold out…damn that is the most beautiful Aston Martin ever!!A piece of art!! <3

• 1 million for a base V8 Vantage is just not worth it. I mean, a quick search through oto.com you can buy a LP560 Gallardo, or a latest Bentley Continental GT, and even a bonkers 620hp Continental Supersports for just 1 million!

That is, if you even have 1 million ringgit to start with :(

• these car are meant for the rich.. here and elsewhere.. same..

• The person that buys the AM will most likely already have the Gallardo and Bentley. They don’t mind the 1M price tag from authorized dealer. Buying greys from Oto for cheaper but then have to fork out time and money for repairs which are likely to be done only half right is not worth the hassle for these guys

• never a v8 vantage for me, unless for freee! (mimicking adam sandler in bedtoime stories haha). dbs volante in watery siver with red leather is my dream.

• When you have the money, you have choice. And I think a buyer that chooses an Aston over a Lamborghini or Bentley is not because whether it’s more worth it or less worth it, but appeals to you on an emotional level. A Porsche is faster than the souped up Vantage, but does it feel as sexy as a Vantage? IMHO, no. But when you have the money to buy either one, you can decide if a faster car, or a sexier car is worth more to you. Aston Martins may not be the fastest sportscar (Lamborghini), the most luxurious (Bentley) or most fans (Ferrari). But it has a raw understated emotional appeal that makes your heart stop when you see one.

• JamesBond on Jul 17, 2012 at 10:08 am

AM has too few enthusiast and too many grey importers in Malaysia. Dont think will last long here. And the James Bond movies destroyed AM’s reputation. Nobody wants to be called James Bond while getting off a AM. Good luck anyway

• I don’t know how you got your market research info to say that James Bond destroyed AM’s image, but if that’s your opinion its fine. And if your opinion is correct, then Tony Stark and Pepper Potts could also destroy Audi’s image, Ethan Hawke did the same for BMW. Luckily Bruce Wayne drives a Batmobile that cannot be bought, otherwise sure kena destroyed too.

• braderG on Jul 18, 2012 at 1:34 am

selling cheap car at ridiculous price so kroni can afford luxury cars- business 101 best practice

• life jacket on Jul 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm

very2 expensive..

• Chong on Oct 20, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Why Jelita Seleksi S/B don’t want to launch the Cygnet in Malaysia???
    It’s affordable for most people in Malaysia

• hoooooo on Mar 23, 2014 at 1:45 am

Cygnet just rebadge from toyora IQ