Mitsubishi ASX a.k.a. Outlander Sport given a minor facelift in America for model year 2013

Mitsubishi has given its ASX compact crossover a minor facelift in North America, where it’s known as the Outlander Sport. The made-in-USA model year 2013 Outlander Sport features a redesigned front fascia which consists of a new grille, new front bumper and a fancier fog lamp design.

The changes up front are matched by a new rear bumper design. The side sills are now black in colour to match the lower sections of the redesigned front and rear bumpers. Smart looking 18-inch alloy wheels are now standard on all trim levels.

Nothing major inside, just new interior fabrics, chrome accent moulding for the front doors and a new All Wheel Control (AWC) push button switch. The latter might not be familiar to local ASX owners as the SUV is sold here in front-wheel drive form.

The skin change is accompanied by some slight tweaking underneath. 2013 cars get revised rear multi-link suspension for “improved handling and ride comfort” and enhanced CVT calibration for “improved acceleration performance and smoother shift feeling”.

Click here to refresh your memory of the Malaysian market ASX, which starred in our five-fold SUV shootout.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:13 am

Proton suv. I fully support proton. But may not buy proton. Haha.

Thunb me upside down

• mad aly on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:13 am

your name describe you… haha

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:31 am

Don’t get mad at him En.Mad coz an idiot is just an idiot. Dreaming of buying all cars but Proton.

BTW this SUV is facelifted or just got facialed?

• taboogen on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:13 am

front end lool mazda’ish to me

• Proton didn’t take it and make it our local car… Proton inspirasi…. Hahaha

• Lim Kopi on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Is it just me or Mitsu is really trying to look more like an Audi ??

Especially with that grill

• KillBox1Alpha on Aug 08, 2012 at 3:11 pm

Front end looks like it hit a wall

• stvloh on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Quite like the new look of this asx. Any ideal that will be available in Malaysia?

• Jimmy on Aug 08, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Other than height, this ASX is similar in size to the new A-class, with difference in price of RM45OOO.

• sugunthan on Oct 13, 2012 at 5:51 pm

I love the variant of the Mitsubishimotors
    And this asx also

• IVL Leasing on Oct 31, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Look so lovely car.

• Nikita Mirzani on Sep 26, 2013 at 7:42 am

I bought this car last year. It has many good values for the price. And it runs in highways so fast. Never regret my choice