Team Sime Darby Auto Performance to make race debut at Porsche Carrera Cup Asia with VIP driver

Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) has announced that it will participate in Rounds 7 and 8 of Porsche Carrera Cup Asia (PCCA) 2012, from August 30 to September 2, making its racing debut. In a tribute to the golden days of gentlemen racers, the 911 GT3 Cup you see above will be piloted by Tan Sri Azman Yahya, chairman of the Motorsports Association of Malaysia.

Introduced in 2010 and based on the already-flyweight flyer, the GT3 RS, the Cup retains the 3.8 litre flat-six that churns out 450 hp and is ready to race straight out of the box. Mind you, that box would rid you of nearly €150k (RM600k). Tan Sri Azman will be shifting through a sequential six-speed dog-type gearbox that works in tandem with a ZF Friedrichshafen AG race clutch.

A Porsche owner and motorsport fan himself, Tan Sri Azman, 48, has considerable experience in racing in Malaysia, having won in the Supercars category in the 2004 Malaysian Super Series and in the same year, Open Class Champion in the Malaysian Merdeka Endurance race. Although he hasn’t raced for eight years now, Tan Sri Azman said he was “excited” and “ready to endure the challenges ahead,” citing the high temperatures in the cockpit during the race as one of the biggest challenges for him.

Now in its 10th season, Porsche Carrera Cup Asia is a one-make series that has grown in popularity to become the region’s premier racing series. The race is held at the Sepang International Circuit.

Through the formation of Team SDAP, the company hopes to reinforce Porsche’s strong motorsports heritage in the country.

Gallery after the jump.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Drebar on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Just how the oil palm farmers related to Porsche motorsports anyway..??

Even the richest farmer still prefer old trusted Land Rover defender lah

• never got a chance on Aug 12, 2012 at 3:26 am

VIP driver.. thats always the case isnt it? considering how motorsports is a rich man’s game, those like me, who just wanted a chance to see whether i could hold my own on the track, never got to see that dream come true due to the lack of connections and funds.

i may not be talented at all in motorsports, but since i’ve no car and no money, i’ll never find out. how about those untapped potentials who are extremely talented, but are in the same predicament? if these fellas could be found, it could boost our country’s motorsports presence immensely.

unlike lets say football, where all u need is a pair of boots and a ball and some space, and then hope someone sees you playing well in the padang or futsal court, motorsports is not as accessible.

even if easier access to motorsports does not ‘mengharumkan nama negara’, it would still take all the road racing and fellas tekan-ing on the road off the public streets.

• Audi Owner on Aug 12, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Have to sell of my Sime darby shares ASAP.Use investor’s money for their hobby WTF!!!!

• bailmeout on Aug 12, 2012 at 5:57 pm

This guy got appointed Danaharta boss at 32, dishing out billions. Nor Mohamed’s son is also heading a team.
    In malaysia , u gotta be “connected”, otherwise u can’t even get to smell the exhaust smoke of a porsche.
    If Michael Schumacher was born a malaysian,…he’ll probably be nothing more than mat rempit.

• Firdaus Asri on Aug 13, 2012 at 8:38 am

Guys,
    We all have to get both of our feet on the ground. Whether we like it or not, motorsport has and always been expensive sport. Hence naturally, besides talent he/she has to buy-in with his/her own money into it. Of course raw talent will be the deciding factor when you’re in it but I’ve seen lots of whiners came real short when you put them in competitive karts let alone race cars.

• mohan on Aug 13, 2012 at 8:56 am

this is malaysian culture!! WTF

• brader on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:50 am

Man oh mann.. very daft comments in here.

Firstly, Sime Darby is in the automotive business and they own the Porsche dealership here and so this endeavour is part of their marketing exercise to sell more Porsches. Comprende? Nothing to do with Palm Oil . If you think Sime Darby is all about Palm you must be living in the dark ages. They diversified for several decades now!

And then on the ‘VIP’ driver. If you have to choose one VIP gentleman driver from Malaysia, Azman Yahya is definitely the right choice. Yes he is a corporate figure and all that but this fella can really drive. At one time he was a regular face in the local racing circuit and he won the MSS championship.. guess in what car? It was something German with its engine in the back :)

This guy EARNED his place in the local racing scene

So don’t be all sour grapes and know your facts before writing