Mazda CX-5 wheels downsized to 17 from 19-inches

CX-5 on 17in wheels. Photo credit: William Leong from Mazda CX-5 Club Malaysia

The Mazda CX-5 SUV was launched here back in May with a pleasing set of features, including the very unusual (for its size) 19-inch alloys with 255/55 rubber. That has been changed to more realistic 17-inch wheels, according to a notice by Bermaz Motor posted on their website and Facebook page.

The notice explains that customers who had placed their booking on or before July 20 will get the 19-inch rims with the original price (RM155,219 for the 2WD, RM165,219 for the AWD, OTR without insurance), but those who placed their names for the CX-5 from July 21 onwards will get the 17-inch rims, at the same price. Word from Mazda CX-5 Club Malaysia is that a RM3,000 top up is required if you still want the 19s.

This spec change may not be that bad a thing, depends on how one looks at it. While the 19s look great on the CX-5, much better than the 17s without a doubt, the smaller wheels will contribute to less unsprung weight and tyre replacement costs will be significantly lower. The latter isn’t so much of an issue with mega-buck Cayennes and X6s, but the CX-5 isn’t aimed at money-no-object customers, and 17s are also par for the course in this segment.

Click here for our review of the Mazda CX-5.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• My SA called me few days ago bout this. Delivery takes quite some time n i’ll be getting downgraded wheels~

• Bernaz should compensate those owners since it was “their” fault of price miscommunication. You should write to Mazda HQ for the sake of other owners.

• Guest on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Having a 17″ inch rim may be a good thing but it’s really unfair for the price to remain the same as those getting 19″ at the same price. Instead of a top-up of RM3,000 for those who wants 19″ rims, they should implement a RM3,000 drop in price for those who are getting 17″ rim instead of 19″.

What Mazda Malaysia is doing now they are definitely taking advantage of potential car buyers. I can tell you this is unethical business practice and this has affected Mazda’s reputation in Malaysia. Penny wise but pound foolish.

Will be boycotting carmakers like Mazda now.

• Mazda is good. The fault lies with Bernaz. Must let Mazda HQ know.

• 1Malaysia on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:25 pm

they should put it with 16″ rim :)

• Janji the 3rd Parti on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:27 pm

I like how they immediately try to switch topic in the next paragraph after mentioning the downgrade of tyres.

Well, this is Vincent Tan’s way of business for you! :)

• They should tell the buyers first b4 downsized to 17…or at least give the extra 1 year warranty for people who bought the car in July without 19 inches wheels !

• Too bad, kena kencing!!

• Hukaka on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:19 pm

sadly.

• orange on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:32 pm

pricing looks so unfair for 17inch rim’s CX-5 owner

• zidane on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:43 pm

So… Long delivery lead time because they change the tyre?

• Malaysian Tycoon, Vincent Tan, screwing the customers.LOL

• ms. lead on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:56 pm

new strategy by mazda.. attract customers with high spec.. brochures say CBU Japan and 19″.. actual will get CKD and 17″.. with backdated price revision.. no wonder T & H continue to get big market shares..

• T & H already overpriced with CKD or CBU from Tomyam Kung. They are a safe choice, but not necessary a good choice.

• i think 17″ are just too small, but it will provide better comfort ride…

• JackZ on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:16 pm

19″ just nice for CX-5! Why want to change to 17″. Just thinking to buy CX-5! Now need to think again…Hmmm

• Sabahman on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:19 pm

I hope this fashion with oversized wheels will end. Wheels should be the right size for the car. Too big for the sake of looks is bad for cost, noise and comfort.

• sleepwalkerz on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:52 pm

In boleh land, consumer doesnt have any power at all….that’s why things like this can happen..if in US, sure kena with the consumer…

• Bermaz Motor sux.

• seancorr on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Funny to see people complain when the rim is too big and now when Mazda bring in smaller rims people complain too small.

Anyhow I’m in for the smaller rims but the price should have been a few thousand Ringgit cheaper. This is daylight robbery!

• tokmoh on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:08 pm

The way I see it, 19″ wheels is kinda like early bird freebie worth RM3,000.

If ever, I don’t like how they simply change things without early warnings. They wanna change wheel specs, tell in advance la. This one, after book then only change specs. Abuse consumers kawkaw.

• I guess it is indeed funny to see people complaining. Even funnier when people post statements which sounds like they are complaining themselves!

• ms. lead on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:27 pm

it’s not funny when u placed a booking to find out later that you’ll get lower specs.. for the same price.. what funny is Mazda Assist will be on standby during raya eve.. will this be of any help to those affected by the change of specs?

• skypirate on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm

well, if you care to read the blog post about the launching of the CX-5, you would realize that the 19″ rims are provided to early birds as freebies, but i guess like most malaysians, the most you do is just read the header and skip the rest.

• Kat97 on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Good for fuel consumption. Smaller tyre, lower fuel consumption, better conservation of resources and subsidize less by others. Could have taken the initiative to improve PR by reducing the price. Even a RM1500 reduction will see customers much happier. Poor customer management by Bermaz on this issue. Putting in the statement that they are there for HRP holidays seems like a desperate attempt in customer service recovery. Anyways, they are not really customer focused in the first place. Constantly causing traffic jam at their HQ in Padang Jawa when unloading vehicles by the roadside!

• CKD Master on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm

after sales stupid compliment …what the new owner want at least free service or discount to change the rims…..

• ernie on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

WOW THAT IS CHEATING MAN!!!!!!can we take them to court?

• Zero Emissions on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:24 pm

When give 19” say too big la,expensive to change la,not comfortable la.
    When decide to give 17” say why downgrade la,i prefer 19” la,Mazda rip off la.
    Really there is no way to satisfy Malaysians,they want everything

• kenot on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:27 pm

The price should be lower for CX5 with 17″ rims. And the price for 19″ remains. Nobody will complaint.

• those who has booked need to gather and fight for this ‘daycheat’…. unless….

• bailmeout on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Can buy 5 acres of palm oil land with the money…..and at current prices, earn 30k per year selling the fruit bunch.

• opaixx on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm

so boley anggap those yg komen ni bukan ada intention pun nk beli.. cerita bergegar konon nk beli la ape la, tukar tayar cancella kononnya.. bullshit la.. haaha

• wonder how much those 19s tyres cost to replace? With all the potholes on our roads..17s b better

• 17″ tires costs from 450 onward and 19″ costs 1k onward for one, in terms of practicality 17″ wins hands down

• But they should deduct 3k as downgrading to 17″ instead of hiking 3k to remain 19″…

• carnoisseur on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:39 pm

well , if you do not agree with it , just dont buy it !

• Again this goes to show the severe lack of consumer protection when it comes to pricing and communications. This incident is not isolated and many would agree it happens even in hypermarkets and shops where one would find the advertised price is actually wrong. Without any proper regulation(s), many dealers can go scott free with just an apology after their boo boo. Vote with your wallet and feet I would say if you are not satisfied. These corporations need to have some lesson for a start.

• eagleeye on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:00 pm

17 inch look so ugly on the car.
    what could be the real reason? increase in tax? to compensate it they reduce the rim size? hmm…
    seems lately malaysia car market has lots of price revision, and it only goes upwards.

• Barang Naik, Barang Naik.
    All you money go to Barang Naik.

• Unethical, Ugly… and I bet none of the buyers would make a noise..

• LeongWK on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Since delivery takes so long and the downgrading of the wheel size…… those has placed the booking should cancel the booking and send a BIG message to BERMAZ. But this has to be from the whole lot of customer cancelling the booking, not only 1 or 2 customer.

• warlock on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:37 pm

When was the announcement made? If it was on 1st August 2012, then those who had booked before that date should be entitled to 19″ without price increase!

• DArkerMarker on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:52 pm

this sorta marketing can only happen in Mesia.

Rakyat jelata malaysia, sekali lagi lagi kena conned left, right, up and down….kesian…

• 19″ wheel will make CX5 a bumpy ride, not suitable in Bolehland.
    Nice looking but not practical.
    17″ too ugry; 18″ OK.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:11 pm

In the past, the early adopters would be the first to have their vehicles, while subsequent buyers would end up paying a higher price but with some added accessories thrown in.

The trend now it seems that early adopters get better pricing while subsequent buyers get shortchanged with higher pricing at the same or lower specs.

Yet, we see many people are still flocking to buy when they are taken for a ride. Maybe the car loan restrictions have not affected most people or there are many rich people to throw money these days? Why bother complain about higher prices when people still allow themselves to be slaughtered?

• HONpengDA on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

lets us boycott nissan n mazda screw people 1.

• SaveTheEARTH on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Bermaz you gain sales, you gain higher margin, you make more profit. Mazdo not like T&H, young and energetic. You do not strengthen your brand in people heart. A bad move.

• CBU, imported cars, especially this CX-5, for the sake of pricing, specs, i believe there are many anxious waiting for 1, demand for the car are overwhelm by the supply, so so much limited from the land of rising sun.
    19″ – kinda bumpy, for those who has drive the car, i agreed.
    17″ – smooth n soft.higher torque~!

• Everyone is taking advantage of the people.
    Dear People, for once lets reject this nonsense by Bermas.
    They like to play-play, lets play-play with them instead :)

• go-all-the-way on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm

big thumb down

• Donohue on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:55 pm

Come on…! I just planning to get one with the 19-inch wheel. Now need to fork extra money just to “upgrade” from 17-inch. This has made CX-5 less attractive.

• retard on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:57 pm

they retarded the 19 in to 17 in wheels must go along with the retard of price to less than 3k then will be fair ok…..other than that can consider to take a kia sportage :)

• Bolehlander on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Many people generalised without checking the facts. True, 17″ may be better, cheaper, etc. And true, early birds may be offered better price / specs. But any revision should be made known at least at the point of placing an order. Not weeks later.

• another trend in malaysia ppl complaint alot online.. but in actual reality, ppl still buy and buy.. bermaz make money, banks make money, gov make money, salesman make money, paultan make money…

• The 17 inch wheels sure look disproportionate to the overall size & height of the CX-5. I think this move will surely backfire on Bermaz later on & it will definitely lose many newly-won fans. For those cheated CX-5 depositors, maybe u should consider the next gen. of CR-V due to arrive by mid next year.

• Donohue on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:03 pm

The problem is the money deposited is not fully reimbursed even though it surely the dealer’s fault. Depositors should be fully refunded their deposits when this kind of thing happened. The logic is if the dealers are allowed to change the spec all they want, then the customer are also allowed to do the same. In this case, cancel the order.

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 15, 2012 at 10:30 am

Few years ago… Bermaz during their tenure with Hyundai also made some policy of their own, among them are…..closing their own service centre and let others handle the repairing headache, removing the 50000km warranty without further notice

• ahmadfaris93 on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:55 am

Ya ya ya I know it’s all about having a realistic rims but then again it also sound that they are going slightly cheaper. I think they should revise the A BIT. Well, I assume that they are a big company they have amazing accountants/or whatever, find a fair way for the customers then ! Smaller rims, less material cost right ? Isnt it suppose to be cheaper ? Just saying

• Bell&Ross on Aug 15, 2012 at 8:42 pm

typical berjaya

• kenakencing on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:51 am

after this they will downgrade the engine….

• Danangme on Aug 18, 2012 at 9:34 am

I just bought a CX-5 Touring because I didn’t want the 19″ tires.Here in America they cost over $300.00/tire to replace and because of the low profile can be damages easily if you hit a pothole.The 17″ tires ride nice and can be bought for around $150.00ea.
    Most dealers here can’t get the GT model because of a manufacturing problem with the 19″ wheels.
    I may have bought the GT and it’s added features if it came with 17″ tires,but I’m very happy with the one I got.

• Bermaz is backdating their decision from 1st of Aug. That’s not a good business ethic and a cowboy attitude. I’m gonna write them. Who’s with me?

• Simply reason for this “delay”: Mazda has chosen Toyo as their official supplier – nothing wrong with that. However Mazda itself made an utter mistake having 19x7J wheel side! It’s way too narrow for 19″ wheels, that why OEM tire is 225/55/R19 instead of normal 235/55/R19.

No one but Toyo is making this specific tire size, and Mazda can’t change it for 235 profile as 225 is already at the upper limit for 7J width. In Europe you CAN’T find 225/55/R19 as no premium tire manufacturer produce it. Good like if you have flat tire…

This decision is rather strange, as my CX-7 came with extra high quality Bridgestone Dueller H/P Sport on 19″ rims with 235/55/R19 size – why not simply keep good things?

Cheers,
    Miki

• This letter is pure con job and not true. I got a txt msg today from PJ (219) branch and the branch mgr and salesman tells me that my car is ready but i must take the 17″ rims or the order will be canceled. There will not be any 19″ rims. Its take it or leave it attitude. Mind you i booked the car on 15 May and have a 19″ rims specs. I hv patiently waited and this is what i get from Bermaz. I told them if you cannot give me 19″ rims then give me rebate of RM3K. They have remained silent. Totally lost respect for Bermaz for their high handed and arrogant approach. Please don’t con your buyers anymore with this letter!! There is no more 19″ rims.

• warlock on Sep 26, 2012 at 11:39 am

Paid full amount deposit & only to be told at last minute that the car comes with 17″. The salesman was about to do tinted glass, do plate no. etc, and only now being told now! Booked the bloody car in May 2012. Is it fair?

• It so sad, non ethical Bermaz.I booked early of June,and promise to entitled what there promise. A few days ago the salesman called and inform the cx5 is almost ready to be delivered but in 17′ Rims. There arejust rebate/refund 1K for “Gula-Gula”. Now I rethink to have it CX-5. BAD DAY DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY.

• Angry Bird on Nov 01, 2012 at 11:38 pm

I will go to the PJ showroom and make noise tomolo. Have been waiting for half a year, I booked my CX5 on 1st May. But still they said this batch is 17″ rim, if I insist 19″, then I have to wait for next month end.. how i know how many batch I need to wait to get the 19″ rim?
    While the rest booked later than me but get the car two months earlier than me…
    I must place my complaints.

So you all already give in and get the 17″ finally?

• I also book cx5 and will be getting the 17″ wheels. Very disapointed. I dun mind paying the extra rm3k for the 19 but the salesman say cannot get. He say if u really want have to pay rm4k for 1 wheel. Wtf!!!

• Why not drive your new cx 5 to klang area. Hanggling with the rim shop. I guarantty u can get best deal… but u may lost a day for that…cheers…

• Franky on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:52 pm

If you don’t mine you can exchange with me. I own CX 5 with 19″ rim.

• Bermaz Boleh on Nov 07, 2012 at 10:19 am

only 17″ available……even booked before 20th July.
    Broken promise from Bermaz….so dissappointed with this….Dare not hope much on the FREE warranty promised as well…..who knows it will not just change like the RIM case

• PetRuCCi on Nov 16, 2012 at 4:36 pm

yep…got the info this morning as well from my SA..most probably will get the 17″ eventhough booked in May12. Kinda sickening to hear this after that long wait. Now contemplating whether to cancel or not? OR might as well wait for 2013 model? BTW, anybody knows about the CKD price?

• I dont see the prob bro… why not just drive to klang and exchange the tyres and rims as your choice just need to add around (RM1,500 +-). It all depend on how good is your comunication skill….

• Franky on Dec 06, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Does anyone would like to exchange with me.

I wish to down size to 17″.

My rim size is 19″ and I got my CX 5 at the end of July.

• @Franky I thinking of exchange my 17″ to 19″ how can I contact you? You cn email me at [email protected]