Hyundai Veloster on oto.my – ad hints at pricing

It hasn’t officially been launched here yet, but here’s an ad for the Hyundai Veloster that’s just popped up on oto.my which offers a suggestion as to its pricing. The ad, posted by Advant Speed of Petaling Jaya, states a price of RM119k for the unique 2+1 coupe, and that it is open for booking, but divulges little else.

We can expect the Malaysian-market Veloster to be powered by a 1.6 litre Gamma II unit that produces 132 hp, and be available with manual and automatic transmissions. Of course, we’ll have to wait for the launch proper before we get more details and a confirmed price, which isn’t very far away now.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Anonymous on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:06 am

RM119k is a good buy considering its distinctive looks and design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 96
    • Preve on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:30 am

But still not as powerful as Proton Preve’s turbo charge engine offering 138hp! Which comes with LED lights! 4 airbags! 7 speed protonic with paddle shifters! YES 4G in car wi-fi! Engine push-start! With a whole lot cheaper price tag! FUYOH! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 133
      • Veloster Cheap Car in US on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:20 am

The Hyundai Veloster Turbo in the US, with a more powerful engine churning out 201 bhp, is sold for US$21,000. That is about RM60,000. Why is it double the price? Isn’t Korea part of ASEAN and situated closer to Malaysia to benefit from cheaper taxation?

Somemore this Veloster in the US is CBU.

What is happening to pricing? The Hyundai Tucson in the US is about $18,000 but here, it shoots up to RM145,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 29
        • Veloster Cheap Car in US on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:29 am

The non turbo Veloster in the US is priced at US17,250 = RM51,000. But we pay RM120,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 12
        • Korea is not part of Asean
          The States is Hyundai’s top market, of course they will built a factory there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
        • Dude asean would refer to south east asia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
        • Henry on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:39 pm

Korea is part of ASEAN? You better go and improve your general knowledge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
        • An Hwa Lee what? on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Please, get your facts right. Korea is not part of ASEAN, be it institutionally and geographically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
        • Crap… Korea part of ASEAN… exam geografi ambik ke tidak, bro???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
        • Consumer Bodoh on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:40 pm

Ha Ha Ha. Typical Malaysians. All so concerned about correcting another person’s geography mistake but not concerned about the high car prices in the country or whether they are getting value for money. This is why everyone is faced with super duper high car prices. Stupid consumers that will pay double or triple the amount for a product pada hal, the true value is so minimal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 22
        • Please get ypur geographical facts right. I think you failed your Geography during secondary school. South Korea is NOT part of ASEAN; South Korea is part of ASIA. Honda CR-Z is much nicer and slightly cheaper than this Kimchiland car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
        • Malaysia Most Expensive Cars on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:20 am

Malaysians are the most stupid consumers in the world. If Singaporeans pay high prices, they don’t mind because they know their land is limited and the government is curbing more cars on the road. But Malaysia has ample land. But our car prices have been so high since 1985. For 27 years, it is stupid people like the above (who are more concerned about Korea’s location) who accept anything thrown to them. That is why our cars, our LED TV’s, our handphones etc are so much cheaper in overseas but we pay double in pricing. And these stupid people go on consoling themselves that food and fuel are cheap in Malaysia and that everyone has to be grateful. But in actual fact, food and fuel are also much more expensive than most countries in the world for our GDP per Capita is one of the lowest in the world. We earn so little. Infact, car prices in Malaysia are the highest in the world, even higher than Singapore. In actual fact, in Singapore, the BMW or Honda is much cheaper to the Singaporean cause he earns 6x what the Malaysian earns. The same with fuel. Fuel is actually cheaper in Singapore for the Singaporean than fuel in Malaysia for the Malaysian. But our goernment will tell Malaysians that fuel in Singapore is RM5 per litre after converting to RM.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 9
          • Just a question… where do you live now??? are u malaysian??? If one of your answers is related to Malaysia, then get the FUCK OUT of here… if you dont have any relationship with Malaysia, also get the FUCK OUT of here… dont you realised? anyone in this world cant get every damn thing that we all want… give and take le bro… dont refer us as stupid consumer… we know certain things are expensive here, but certain are not… make a good living, buy things that u can afford, not other people’s wish list, be happy about your life… as simple as that… now, what’s your answer? Dumb arse!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 82
          • Well, Have you considered the other advantages that we have in Malaysia?

Cheaper healthcare, ample land to buy landed property, cheap insurance etc.

Have you ever been overseas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
          • Calling people stupid makes me wonder how clever are you. Or maybe you are not clever enough to earn enough money to buy a car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
          • dugong on Nov 25, 2012 at 12:05 am

just a wish owner but act so grand and smart ask ppl to get lost, i think u should get lost yourself!! go back in the jungle where your brain belong.
            You mean ppl got no right to complain about expensive cars? Are you communist or what? stupid kampung boy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • _xXx_ on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:30 am

i like ur last 2 sentences…

Fuel is actually cheaper in Singapore for the Singaporean than fuel in Malaysia for the Malaysian. But our goernment will tell Malaysians that fuel in Singapore is RM5 per litre after converting to RM.

• Cosmo Artemis on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:44 am

Why always blame the government only? Who sets the price in Malaysia, anyway? Besides the goods that have ceiling price?

I bought a pair of snickers in UK for GBP 50. But in Malaysia, I must fork out at least RM300 for a decent pair. Is it government still to be blamed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • you sure bro led tv handphone are much cheaper in other country…
            get your fact right before some other fellas cop you as “BODOH”…
            Air Asia is selling cheap fare ticket.go buy one and travel to other countries then you will know.jangan jadi KATAK bawah tempurung la.
            Cars..yes expensive in malaysia.not just in malaysia almost 90% countries in the world implement high car tax.only several countries can sell car cheap.most of middle east countries selling cars cheap becoz they stupid.their citizen only spend so much money for cars.they dont spend neither for education nor self development.

• Malaysian on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:21 pm

I think most of us missed out the point here. ASEAN or not is not the point but so much more for a car is the main point. I hope this clears the air.

• Power of Dream on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:06 am

this Veloster is 1 slowpoke, yet lousy drivetrain. Reviews have been done all over the world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
      • This version is more show than go….they have a more powerful Turbo version for that. NOt sure will come to Msia or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Seem like they think that some Malaysian could be fooled by the look of some so called innovative design of Korean cars.

Let’s wait and see, how many are they…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • The Koreans may built the better family cars
          But japs still make the better fun-to-drive car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
          • kambinganas on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:59 pm

If you actually drive the crap CKD jap cars sold here, you will know they are no better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
          • I actually drive a “crap” CKD car, and aside for the NVH, I have no complains and compliments it’s break. From reviews(even locals) ,everybody will agree that the Japs(conti are ahead though)still edge out in its driving dynamics. I have’t driven a K, but I sat on one, the breaks are not as good as my “crap”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
          • I think I spelled brake wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • RejimKejamGanas on Nov 23, 2012 at 1:09 am

AVH, breaks in Hondas can be equally bad. Try searching in AW forum on skimming issues with Accord and Jazz.

From my own personal experience, I would state that I find them both to be on par. With the exception of CBU models, I would rather go for german marques.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
          • no one can deny German marques are superior
            Anyway, the “crap” i am refering to is indeed an Honda, NVH is bad and so the air cond(the rear gets very hot) but the breaks works very well so far. Even had couple of close call(sadly), saved by the breaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Sam Loo on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:03 pm

I have used a Beemer before, and I must say that if you want trouble free driving, avoid European Cars at all cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • VW Scirocco wannabe .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 39
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:23 am

CBU or CKD price?
    119K I feel a bit expensive for CKD since Honda, Toyota, Mitsu offering 2.0 in this price range but if CBU then of course alright, coz VW already increase their POLO price, therefore this is a good bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • Roger Tan on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:23 am

Don’t think there will be a CKD for this model as it should be a low volume model

• Tall Pan on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Agreed. Anyone know how to say ‘Shoot oneself in the foot with this absurd pricing’ in korean? ^_^

• 1 Malaysia on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:49 am

siapa la yang nak beli kereta yang design cacat.
    ada ke 2+1 door.
    buat la 2+2 door baru kemas.
    also ride dah lah macam ….
    apa tah lagi braking system..
    power sluggish..
    indah kabar dari rupa..

haish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 76
    • Vader on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:16 am

your comment really cacat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
    • start-a-fight on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:15 am

that configuration, is it for doors or seats? or maybe a tools like u.. perhaps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • 2+1, two door plus butt la chaa.. ayooo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
      • 1 Malaysia on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:31 pm

apa daaa.. one of the side got two doors.
        go check.
        hence its so the cacat..
        suppose 2+1+1 (front both side door, rear 1 side door and buntut if u consider as door)a

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • ramun on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:27 pm

dah test drive ke?

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:10 am

Interesting car. The Nissan Cube of the hot hatch market. I’m really curious about how it will sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • jayjay on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:24 am

With this kind of pricing, honda crz is a better buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 13
  • jayjay on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:26 am

This car price at RM 88 k maybe can sell la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 15
    • Car Enthusiast on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:08 am

exactly!

it ain’t worth more than that…

the whole point of getting a kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:39 pm

This car RV will depreciate 75% per annum, anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
      • Turboman on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:40 am

Spewing shit again Sam?

Go back to school and learn maths. 75 percent per annum after 3 years is how much?

What a twat!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
        • Cari fasal on Nov 23, 2012 at 2:47 pm

its true … check out MUDAH.. OTO etc..
          can see all Hyundai/Kia for make and register @ 2011 all now drop drop drop..
          Can see 2.4L sonata buy RM170k now just almost 1 year selling RM120K..
          not 1 but many 2.4L…
          same with Santafe… under 1 year now sell RM120K..

haha.. see for your self :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
          • dugong on Nov 25, 2012 at 12:34 am

mr faisal,

using a 2.4l sonata is not a good example…unless you compare with something similar. If you look around mudah and oto you can see a 2011 2.4 camry going for 140k too….dropping 42k from 182k new price in 1 year. So an underspec camry drops 42k compared to high spec sonata drop 50k. no big deal if you ask me. so toyota got poor RV too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
          • Turboman on Nov 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm

Drop drop drop?

What you expect? Your camry punya price is up up up?

Another noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
        • Sam Loo on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Faisal Bro is spot on.

Troubledman is just like what chinese say “dead chicken with rigger feet”

Mati Mato oso want to justify and jack up the low RV kimchi.

But I will be a happy man buying 1 year old kimchi at less than 50% of ori price for current model and less than 35% of ori price for precious model ones.

Goooood bizness. Buy more new kimchis please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
        • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:56 am

Faisal, what we see on the used car web is just the asking price. The actual done deal will be much lower.

So, just imagine what the trade in price would be like.

I believe that 50% depreciation within is year is too optimistic. In reality, its now more like 60%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
        • I want to support you Turboman. But after checking Motor Trader, Hyundai prices does drop quite fast. Although what Sam Loo said is hugely exaggerated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
          • TurboMan on Nov 25, 2012 at 2:34 am

Nobody is saying korean car has fantastic RV, but is it as bad as what Sam Loo parrots everyday?

What about toyota Camry? One year old left 140k but that is the asking price. Trade in price will be much less.

So 180k empty box Camry after one year asking for 140k.

170k sonata loaded to the max with safety features after one year asking for RM120k.

So let me ask the more reasonable readers of pt.com, is it a day and night difference? 40k depreciation over 1 year for a rather empty car vs 50k depreciation over a car with many airbags, safety features and other features.

And don’t forget, cars depreciate the most during the first year. Subsequent years will have less depreciation percentage wise.

If u want to be penny wise and want to get the car with the best RV, then no one will stop you. I place a lot of importance on safety for my kids, wife, family. But if u r penny wise, by all means buy the car with the best RV. Its not my money nor my family.

That reasoning is meant for the reasonable ppl in pt.com. Sam loo will continue to post annoyingly on every pt.com as predictable as the sun rises from the east. But for the rest, I hope u guys see the light. No doubt their RV is not yet on par with japs due to ppl like Sam Loo, but its not 50-75 percent /year. I still have my RM 5k and that is a proof that Sam Loo is spewing shit everyday on this forum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
        • Iniesta Leong on Nov 25, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Turboman, I think it will be better that you stop replying to Sam loo, cause you are talking to an idiot , the more you replying him, it will make you more stupid , by the way I don’t own a car , cant afford to buy. I am riding a bike Honda ex 5 with high resell value. I heard Sam Loo is riding a horse from point A to point B cause horse got high resell value as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
          • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:53 am

I am sorry, I apologise to everyone. Its true, Honda and Toyota are losing marketshare so much and I am starting to panic. Turboman is right, Honda and Toyota also drop a lot. I know that. I am sorry for all my comments. I know they are insincere and often meant to hurt people’s feelings. Hyundai is a far better car than Toyota anytime cause the Koreans have come up to the level of the Japanese and yet, we all cannot see it. I myself cannot see this, or don’t want to. I have been spreading false rumours about the RV of Hyundai in the hope that my Toyota sales will do well but it has not. I am so sorry to everyone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
          • Sam Loo on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Fake loser at work up there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm

The car will be 1/3 the price in a years time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
      • TurboMan on Nov 25, 2012 at 2:39 am

Sudah turun ah? I thought u used to say 50-75 percent a year? Now 33.3 percent depreciation only? Change so fast ah?

U have no more credibility la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
        • suckered_by_samloo on Nov 26, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Don’t waste your time arguing with this sam loo. hes a lying 2 headed crack smoking snake. he said toyota got high trade in value but when i bring my 50k km 2 yr altis 2.0v to him he give me RM65k trade in only. Half my new car price
          And say condition is no good la, high mileage la..bla bla bla…but my car got full service record in UMW and still looks and smell like new.

He will buy your car for low price and later sell for high price. beware of the con-artist…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:47 am

This car will be traded in at less than RM50k comes 12 months later. Buy pre-owned, real value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
  • So is either this or the CRZ:
    CRZ is a hybrid, but this properly seats 5 and haz rear door.
    Veloster (guessed)would be better kitted but the CRZ interior design is so awesome.
    Both this and CRZ are criticized to be slow and(the Hyundai esp)lack of driving dynamics, and to me personally, CRZ edge out in looks department, The mouth and eyes on this thing is too big for me. So lets confirm price and spec first before any further comment. This will be a close call…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
  • sam loo junior on Nov 22, 2012 at 4:22 am

Kimchi cars… just wait in 1 years, drop 50% in resale value, and prepare to hear the word Hilux from the used car dealers….

BTW, KIA is short for k*lled in Acc*dent……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 50
    • Vader on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:40 am

Please show me 1 year second hand Sportage sell at RM69k, 1 year second hand Sorento sell at RM80k.
      Or else, don’t bull shit again..

BTW, your comment on “KIA is short for k*lled in Acc*dent” show how childish you are!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:57 am

Some people is just born in bodohland.

Selling price is not trade in price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • dugong on Nov 25, 2012 at 12:26 am

I am used car dealer too and i accept 1 yr old trade in camry 2.5v for 80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • Sam Loo on Nov 25, 2012 at 9:57 am

Please come up with something more original than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo on Nov 25, 2012 at 9:59 am

And obviously, you have not done your homework and your statements have not passed thru the little brain cells left behind.

There is no 1 year old 2.5V Camry in the market. It was only available 3 months back. Busted a liar today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • dugong on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:40 am

hahaha…2nd hand is 2nd hand la. you can sell as new car price or near new price?
          whether 6 mths, 10mths also considered 1 year old to used car. what a noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • dugong on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:41 am

so you think a dec 2010 car and a jan 2010 car will have a big 2nd hand price diff? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Back seat Driver on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:18 am

I just found that it is not sporty enough, with the bulbous hood, especially when compared with a BRZ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Painter on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:49 am

All these cars look so beautiful when their photo captured by professional photographers. But when you take a candid one, they look so old and dated. Just like looking at Lady Gaga without make-up. Oh well, look can be deceiving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Maserati on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:09 am

As usual, nice design with rubbish drivetrain and engine.. And to add that its blardy exp for a lousy 1.6, wonder why they bother bringing this in!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
  • vee-oh on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:42 am

if buy this car, dont have to think about power la, racing la, stylish only..ok what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • CARtoon on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:54 am

yawnn..just a passing fad imho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • start-a-fight on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:18 am

i like the look of i30 and this might be much more nicer..
    this veloster might not be fast.. but it is beautiful car.

what makes u think u want to drive fast in Malaysia with AES implementation? give up your dream of a fast car and get a beautiful car instead. Unless, RM300 worth a penny to you, then u can buy a fast car. If not, dream on!

THE POWER OF DREAM and KEYBOARD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Nah we don’t want a fast car, we want a car that’s powerful and fun to drive.
      Powerful so you can confidently overtake and move into the other lanes with confidence. Fun to drive so it actually putts a smile on your face while driving. I personally don’t want to attract too much attention ,so why get a good looking car that’s just good looking. It’s just another untalented celebrity.

• ada aku kesah on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:11 am

fast car is not about reaching 200km/h..it’s about 0-100km/h..u need it when overtaking and climb the hills.dont be stupid basher.

• http://www.themotorreport.com.au/content/image/h/y/hyundai_veloster_australia_03c-0211.jpg The rear looks awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Jenson on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:58 am

If I choose this Hyundai Veloster , better use Renault Megane RS 250 because the car also two door coupe ,Megane have 250HP ,Recaro sport seat and 6 Speed with LSD gear .MEGANE 0-100 only 6.0 second .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • 1 Malaysia on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:32 pm

wow macam as per advertise in brochure.
      so u from euro TC?

• Car Enthusiast on Nov 22, 2012 at 10:07 am

120k for this shit?
    buying just for its looks?

good luck to those buying then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • ae101 on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:00 am

watched korean top gear. they bashed this car design like shit. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • RM119k? on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:14 am

For this price tag, Peugeot 308 Turbo is a much much better buy! Korean cars are getting expensive these days!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:04 pm

Veloster is cantiq. But at this price, yes Pug 308 Turbo is definitely a much better buy.
      Toyotish, or rather UM-Wish greed, I guess this Veloster will come with maximum 2 airbags, with no ESP and no moonroof like Pug 308.
      When Hyundai becomes Samsung, Sonata will have driver airbag only, with no ESP and the price is RM190k. One day Samsung is going to be more expensive than Apple.
      We general Malaysians usually easily get bullied.
      One way to reduce car prices across the range is to lower the price of Mercedes by whatever means. Imagine a new Euro-spec C-class at RM150k, who will buy other empty-spec Jap/Korean cars.
      If we think again, MBM is still the best car company in Malaysia after all.
      ( Another more practical way is to reduce taxes but impose certificate of vehicle ownership according to cc. New vehicles above 2500cc: each cc is charge RM200. )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Jimmy on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Well, there is no harm talking about RV in this price bracket if we stand in the position of most potential buyers of this price bracket. If SL is a smart guy, he will not post commnets on RV in any cars in luxury brand price brackets because RV is irrelevant at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • Sam Loo on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm

This car is a luxury?

You must have just been released from Ching San

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • As cars progress, they get pricier…..look at the Japs today, they were once upon a time affordable car that were high tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • Sam Loo on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:00 am

It’s OK to increase price is consumers see value in it.

For Korean makes, most Malaysia see less value in it, after using for less than a year and felt cheated,

That’s why there is very little demand for pre-owned kimchi, thus poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • suckered_by_samloo on Nov 26, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Don’t waste your time arguing with this sam loo. hes a lying 2 headed crack smoking snake. he said toyota got high trade in value but when i bring my 50k km 2 yr altis 2.0v to him he give me RM65k trade in only. Half my new car price
          And say condition is no good la, high mileage la..bla bla bla…but my car got full service record in UMW and still looks and smell like new.

He will buy your car for low price and later sell for high price. beware…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Shiok Sendilli on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:15 am

On the positive side, we are getting more choices and variety of cars compared to many moons ago. Wouldn’t it be boring if you keep seeing high RV cars like Toyota on the roads..;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • umnokakipitnah on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:20 am

paid 119k juz for the looks and eksyen only?..WTH?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • _xXx_ on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:25 pm

like i30, elantra, they claimed they do have MT version but actually non-existing. I anticipated that they BS again this time…

• Drive Your Way on Nov 22, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Bro, I drive a stick shift i30, purchased from Hyundai Malaysia. It’s a rare spices, but it does exist ;)

• _xXx_ on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:47 am

really?? 2 distributors here in JB said no such cars….wth

• Drive Your Way on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Yes they do sell MT i30 and I’ve been owning it almost two years. The gearbox and clutch combo is still not matchable with CRZ but still manage to deliver slick snack and precise engagement experience, far better than rubbery feel on most other stick shift found on the road. The rev requires to stay in mid/high band to maintain sufficient torque, and the stick shift really helps in this matter. Fuel economy is acceptable too – measuring 7.0L/100KM cruising at constant 120km/h on NKVE, and best record ever set is 5.7L/100KM cruising at 100km/h. I don’t think all Korean cars are that bad, it all depends on how you drive and how to take good care of it. Enjoy your drive ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • _xXx_ on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:20 am

Called tat hyundai bugger last nite. According to him there was only 1 demo unit during launch time. U could be the owner…and it’s super unique coz only 1 (ONE) unit in Bolehland AND u owned it!!!

• Drive Your Way on Nov 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm

Bro, there are altogether 5 units of MT i30 on top of other 75 auto units brought into Malaysia according to the sales person and I was lucky enough to be almost the last person to secure a MT unit. Since they don’t bring in more units unless it’s a hot runner item so I suppose they told you the MT unit is no longer exist. You’re right that they do have a red demo MT unit and I overheard it’s still with Hyundai Malaysia. It’s red in color and comes with 6 airbags ;) I wish I’m the owner of it but I just joined the other 5 persons who owned the 5 local spec MT units. You could target the 2nd gen i30 MT but you gotta be real quick the moment they launch. Though the 1st gen i30 is still lacking of some essentials here and there, but it’s overall a good package that will change the perception of many other who has a chance to spend time with it. You won’t regret. Btw, the price is < 90K and it's a CBU unit from Korea ;)

• _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2012 at 3:41 am

Apparently Hyundai SAs here all know nuts. Anyway, thx, bro for the recommendation. i30 is no longer in my wishlist. Im targetting FL CR-Z 6MT, new Swift Sport 6MT (ZC32) or Veloster MT…hehe

• Drive Your Way on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:50 pm

I sampled the stick shift in CR-Z and Swift Sports and they’re really very addictive.. almost wanna sell off my i30 after furiously playing them in the showroom… lol… they’re stationery though… can’t imagine if I give it a real test drive… really! Probably one day I may drop by the showroom and find out the Veloster MT! I’ll let you know what I think if happened to test drive a MT unit! Good luck and cheers ;)

• Henry on Nov 22, 2012 at 12:34 pm

Arrived too late. I’ve bought two other cars while waiting. So, no Hyundai Veloster for me afterall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • dugong on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:17 pm

they should bring in the i20 and not this low volume seller!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • TurboLiao on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:55 pm

OVER-PRICED !!!!
    – its not a Mini cooper that has history
    – its not turbo-turbo charged like the Polo Tsi 1.2
    – its not even nice and sleak than VW Scirocco

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • trucker on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Seems like it undergoing the VTA process (JPJ car park), maybe can try luck in JPJ Putrajaya if still there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • better wait for new corrola altis coming in..saw photo over the net and better from this korean

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Fuck you guys la talking about price, tax la, Go live somewhere else please. On the other hand, Hyundai salesman told me that it’d be launch on 23rd November(tomorrow). I hope the price would be slightly cheaper because the engine is just slightly more powerful than a Fiesta(which is a lot cheaper). Anyhow, this car has style. Beauty wins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 28
    • 1 Malaysia on Nov 22, 2012 at 5:34 pm

beauty je? hahaha such a lozer with no passion/$
      whats the purpose of having nice car but rides like shit..
      dont kidding urself :)
      once buy stuck with it; NO VALUE to sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
      • Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 22, 2012 at 6:17 pm

different people, different taste, different perception la bro.

Typical Malaysian, it’s always about the second hand value. the car is new, how do you know it will drop really bad for the Veloster ? Show the clear evidence. Dont want depreciation, go buy a house then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
        • creative on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:24 pm

That’s why Malaysia got many Viosssss, as lousy as their taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
        • 1 Malaysia on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:30 pm

dude u got no money of coz buy this crap
          who buy?
          no passion car.
          hahaha..
          people buy classy item not crap :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
          • Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:46 am

People who have money doesnt mean that they’ll get something more expensive. i even see people with big bungalows in Damansara Heights, Taman Tun, etc with normal Proton, Nissan, etc cars . Why ? Most probably they want more quality of life and enjoy some other things such as health, food, stc. Not by committing themselves into more debts.

You dont like , say you dont like it. Settle. Calling people loser what for ? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • Ahmadfaris93 is right , different people, different taste, different perception.
      How do you define beauty? I for one (and judging from international site, not the only one) says this car is not that good looking .hyundai cars design are overrated ,the fluidic design dose’t suit my eyes. Altough it’s distinctive and stylish is just over design to me(aside from the elantra). I don’t like the big headlamps and grill , they look too big on the hetch like this(the turbo ver with its one piece chrome is even worse). Nah I prefer CRZ design .Not bcuz of it wears an upright H on the grill and all those RV bullxxxx. But to me ,it looks simple and minimalistic(like the K5), and that’s how I like it and to hell with what others think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • polo saga on Nov 22, 2012 at 7:09 pm

overpriced, again.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 22, 2012 at 8:30 pm

honda cr-z still better than this crap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Allready dissapointed with crz..gonna wait for this veloster..dont care bout money,as long as u happy la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • In Brunei, manual costs 65k MYR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • reason why US price is so cheap is because they have volume, their consumption of cars is all the asia put together

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Henry on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:15 am

Don’t simply tembak. China is now the world’s biggest car market. It has overtaken the USA in car sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • with that kind of price, Polo 1.2 tsi smoke this little kimchi, eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner.. i reckon Polo is more fun and engaging, plus more practical..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • oi.
      u have one polo tsi that can smoke this little kimchi or u just thrashtalking?want to eat go to kedai or whtseverlah ask your wife to cook real food.u just own kancil ex wanna talk about polo har mr?…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • correct.. fyi, I do own a Polo Tsi as 2nd car, already 6 month old, nice low rev torque, great handling n build qualiy.. I also own a Kimchi sedan as 1st car… the German do know how to build a better car than the Koreans..VW Wearnes now having year end promo, can get a Polo around 100k+.. dont missed it..

on 2nd thought, Fiesta also a better alternative with much lower price..

• but i wish the price tag below 100k.no doubt polo is good looking&fun to drive.tested few month ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • mentari-o-korea on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:27 pm

More like a hatchback, why they called it coupe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • i will choose ford focus hb over this for 120k price. Or even wait for facelift ford fiesta with ecoboost. But malaysian will still buy because of its 1 of the cheapest for 2 door hot hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • matomato on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:48 pm

talk about prices of overall car sold in malaysia was much expensive because present governmebt umno bn haram jadah suck the rakyat money for their luxury.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • gmorque on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:54 am

for me, the design is quite unique. when it comes to pricing, Sime Darby always sucks in this.. 120k for 1.6 n/a car? WTH!!!.. although the car is unique doesnt mean that you can put ridiculous price on it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Hahahahah. If it was a honda & the price tag was the same you will say wow so nice one aah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • gmorque on Nov 25, 2012 at 1:52 am

nah.. never been a honda fan, except for their ex5.. hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • We waiting Malaysia Cars with high competative quality still very far. Dreaming Good quality branded carz with standard international price still no sign. No other choices we continues pay for good car but sometime good adv car only. If the goverment do not keen to reduce the price, we hope at least manufacturer give good acessories and safety features and offer roadtax free for 3-5 yeras or insurance subsidy its can be done with insurance company.
    Keep on dreaming branded car with reduction prices….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • amalee77 on Nov 28, 2012 at 11:30 pm

For those people who like to condemn n complaint about this car..u all can join the crowd launching on this FRIDAY..30th of November 2012..at Setia Alam shopping Mall..Pls make sure u all come and see it by yourself..No need so much talk..before u seen it clearly and directly..then after that u can become a kepoh people..

• Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2012 at 12:55 am

Please place your down payment immediately.

You will be selling it off 2 months after using this cabbage. Let me have your phone no. I can buy from you at 45% of selling price, which would be your highest offer