Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD launched, first hybrid to be assembled in Malaysia – RM89,900

We’re back from Honda Malaysia’s Pegoh facility in Alor Gajah, where the CKD Honda Jazz Hybrid received its launch this morning. In attendance was Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI) Datuk Mukhriz Tun Mahathir. The first hybrid to be assembled in Malaysia wears a price tag of RM89,900 (OTR with insurance), a reduction of RM4,900 over the CBU car that launched last March.

The CKD car omits features such as Hill Start Assist, cruise control, one touch lane change, automatic wipers, audio controls on the steering wheel and shift paddles found on the imported car. The signal stalk has been switched to the right side of the steering wheel, while the Multi-Information Display control buttons (located at the 5 o’clock position on the steering wheel with the CBU car) occupy the spot where the cruise control buttons were on the CBU car; that is, on the right-hand spoke of the steering wheel.

The CKD car has rear drum brakes and dual front airbags as opposed to the CBU car’s all-round discs and six airbags (front, side and curtain). Curiously, the CKD car’s transmission gets an L gear not seen on the imported car, and its fuel gauge ranges from F to E and not 1 to 0. The key is also a conventional one; the CBU’s is a jack-knife type.

Their overall steering ratio and turning radius at body also differ, albeit slightly – 15.3 for CKD versus 16.8 for CBU, and 5.39 metres for CKD versus 5.41 metres for CBU, respectively. Unsurprisingly, the kerb weight of the CKD car is listed as 7 kg less than the 1,166 kg CBU car. For now, we understand that both CKD and CBU cars will be sold alongside each other until supply of the latter runs out.

The CVT gearbox remains the same, as does the powertrain, which involves a 1.3 litre i-VTEC + IMA that produces 88 PS (+14 with both motors active) and 121 Nm (+78) of torque. Features that are carried over from the imported car include the flexible Ultra Seats, Vehicle Stability Assist, ABS with EBD and BA, and 4-Corner Reverse Sensor.

Boot space is 831 litres above floor with the rear seats up and 1,321 litres with them down. Optional extras include alloy pedals and interior foot light, a more aggressive front grille, a tailgate spoiler, illuminated garnish for the door sills and Connex SVR (vehicle tracking system).

The objective of local assembly for the Jazz Hybrid is to push for more localisation in an attempt to reduce overall costs and to further promote hybrid tech in the country. If Honda Malaysia manages to make it more cost competitive, export to other markets in the region will be likely.

According to Honda Malaysia CEO Yoichiro Ueno, 10% of the CKD Jazz Hybrid’s parts are locally sourced. He said the relatively low percentage is because of the fact that the model took only eight months to begin local production from launch (the fastest in Honda Malaysia’s history). The local content is expected to increase gradually in the future. Ueno also revealed that the petrol-powered Jazz is expected to go down the CKD route next year.

“I am proud to announce that 69% of the hybrid cars in Malaysia are from Honda,” Ueno said. “Honda Malaysia targets to sell 4,800 units of the CKD Jazz Hybrid in 2013.”

The company says its local associates have been trained in Japan and Thailand on the intricacies of hybrid vehicle production. The new 2.15 km test track at Pegoh is also where every Honda CKD model is tested before delivery to the customer. By next month, there’ll be a new R&D centre at Pegoh, which aims to develop parts designs that best match local suppliers and increase the local content.

The CKD Jazz Hybrid is offered with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty, six-month or 10,000 km free service and for the IMA battery only, a five-year or 140,000 km warranty. More background information on Honda Malaysia’s production can be had in an earlier story.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• So expensive even for CKD?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 288 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Omits features such as Hill Start Assist, cruise control, one touch lane change, automatic wipers, audio controls and bla bla bla..
      This CKD version really sxxk!!!
      Dont be cheated, this car increase the price in another form!!!
      For those some1 really love the Jazz hybrid, just buy the CBU units while still having the stock, an additional RM4900 is worth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 295 Thumb down 4
      • Don't think M'sian R stupid on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Agree!! Low spec, another cheap tactic to increase price!!!

• chiko on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:51 pm

totally agreed. only in Malaysia a car maker can pull such a dirty trick like this and get away with it. Malaysia boleh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
        • ok025 on Nov 25, 2012 at 10:42 am

Thats the reason why T&H will never on my dictionary ever since i afford to buy my own car. As a buyer – the choice is on your own and just justify whats worth buying.

I’m sure when buying stop, those scamers will price their future reasonably.

Stop commenting on here start action! Words doesn’t help!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • i’m agree with u … we need to use our consumer power,
            boikot jgn beli kereta sekurang-kurangnya dalam tempoh 3 atau 6 bulan … by doing this …. baru govt and car manufacture tau …we r not stupid ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Diamler on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 153
      • Diamler on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 149
        • but it does not justify the omission of specs and gizmos from the CBU version. the price should be WAAAAAAAAAYYY lower than RM89.9k.. RM70k maybe?

such a ripoff!

• Diamler on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:53 pm

What’s in your mind? it just make the CBU more worth! go ahead and buy it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
        • please think on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:30 pm

Plz dun think too far after 2013, let’s think Abt current, if u reduce the same amount of equipment from CUB unit, what price do u think is logical? 2nd question, I thought CKD is to enable price deduction for the exactly same car manufactured?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
          • Black Dog on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:47 pm

‘WE ARE NATURALLY MALAYSIAN’

So we deserve less safety, less equipment…but High Price!

WTF!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 2
          • Diamler on Nov 24, 2012 at 1:13 pm

CKD will not make cost efficient to CBU Hybrid with 10% tax only.

1. Understand that CBU is imported. THe Origin doesnt enjoy as low as 10% tax. 1 other main point of CKD in Malaysia: To make the original cost get lower tax, so, Malaysia will be an Export Hub for Jazz Hybrid.
            a. lowering Jazz Hybrid at Oversea with Malaysian CKD version.
            b. Profit being increased at oversea.

Basically, CKD Jazz Hybrid doesnt aimed at Malaysian. At oversea, Hybrid doesnt enjoy super low taxation. Honda is just sourcing another Cost efficient Assemble Hub.

Clear?
            Which means, Before end of 2013, Honda will make profit of Jazz Hybrid by exporting it to oversea, instead of aimed at selling ti malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 41
        • Power8003 on Nov 24, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Hey Diamler,

Your reasoning a lot flaw la…. pls check the price of Jazz hybrid in other countries which hav no tax or low tax for car….. U can see in UK the price is about RM80k (this is with tax) (CBU). So do you still the pricing is still reasonable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
          • Diamler on Nov 25, 2012 at 2:08 pm

shit..
            conclusion.
            Honda is ripping from Malaysian just like UMW Toyota!

I am sorry for all.
            Just realize thai selling Jazz Non hyrbid at RM60k, Hybrid Jazz at RM80k.

Both version still well below Malaysia price.

Honda sucks like UMW Toyota! Who’s the CEO! Step forward explain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • So many important features gone, 5k to buy coffin not enough!

• opinion please.
      this jazz and ford fiesta. which is better value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
      • completely unrelevant questions,2 very different kind of vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 38
      • diesel on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Seriously, Fiesta 1.6.

Go for testdrive and look at the specs sheet.
        Drive it hard and see.
        6 speed dry clutch.
        Consumption is very good.
        Solidly built.

Not so good :the seats vs this jazz.

Do you need yhe flexi seats of tis jazz and hybrid.
        Do you need to drive fast at times?
        Family?

Then search all car reviews between fiesta and this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
        • if he search for car review esp those in uk/europe/aust…will definitely all off those review in favor of the fiesta, all supermini are being benchmark to the fiesta in uk/europe for best to drive supermini while the best/greenest supermini will be the polo diesel bluemotion which is more frugal than the jazz hybrid, nxt greenest will be the fiesta tdci econetic…but in Bolehland “T&H” reign due to our japs obsess RV. Blum beli dah pikir nak jual…hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
          • Kalun on Nov 24, 2012 at 7:42 am

Because they have Ford Fiesta Diesel. That’s why they love it.

• ThePolygon on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:30 pm

city I love your comment…
            “Blum beli dah pikir nak jual…” very true over here in bolehland.

• Gianny on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:13 pm

TO ME FORD fiesta is better , hatchback 1.4 L Or Sedan 1.6 L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysian are not stupid on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:33 pm

To quote Jackie Chan, “When the buying stops, the killing can too”

How long more must we be taken advantage by our government, AP Kings and car manufacturers who thinks Malaysian are fools?

I’m voting PR in even for one term to make sure cars prices are reduced for the benefit of the rakyat and not to fatten cronies’ profit margin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
      • polo saga on Nov 25, 2012 at 1:13 am

agree!!

• i dont agree with u , i think what we need to do is just boicot and dont buy any car for about 3-6 month .. changing the govt will not solved the problem..

• What a scam !! 89k and omits so much features. Honda CBU unit has a huge difference with Honda Malaysia CKD . Quality is very much worst for CKD. You will regret getting CKD. Go for prius c then only consider insight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Everyone should just stick to the CBU model…let’s show Honda that there is no place for botak spec CKD car that is just slightly cheaper from the full spec CBU.

• inderaloka on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:46 am

Selagi BN memerintah, jangan mimpi harga kereta murah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 33
      • Jilbaber on Nov 25, 2012 at 4:40 pm

do you think if opposition got the putrajaya car price reduce ? go dream on lah kid…that RM7 billion car tax do you think they gonna let go just like that ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 26
      • MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:35 pm

dream on inderaloka.. dream on boy.

• OMG…CBU beat CKD……in term of features link to pricing

• the CKD unit should maintain the same spec of the CBU unit, while the price should be lower because of local assembly & localization parts.
      this what honda malaysia should do if they really sincere & honest in doing business.
      if not, honda malaysia just want to ripped of malaysian people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Kidding ? 5k cheaper but u get only dual airbags and drum discs ? come on lah at least 30k cheaper lah ! garbage !

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:31 pm

honda untung kaw kaw punya!

• Power8003 on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:20 pm

I am shock with the new CKD pricing. It is only cheaper by RM4,900 for CKD….. Unbelievable…..If this kind of pricing, i will take CBU anytime…. I think this can only happen in Malaysia. Malaysia Boleh!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 6
    • cruzer on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 224
      • theanswer on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:05 pm

when got prob..solve it..dont run.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
      • u talk like some politician.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Davinnci on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Why should we migrate? For the sack of those bad policies done on us??

You should insist the G to move out from our sight immediately!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • rickyll on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:16 pm

People are entitle to their opinions. I fully agreed with Mr.Power8003. Someone in this boleh land really thinks that we(Mr. Cruzer included) are stupid and should be treated like dirt. A CDK unit with exactly the same specifications should at least be 10K cheaper than a CBU unit. BY omitting so many features including some very important safety ones. Honda Malaysia must be out of their mind or they have no say over final pricing of the car.

• Anti CO2 on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Migrate? Why? So that all who remain in Malaysia will shut up and continue to support the NAP like you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • you Sir, is why Malaysia can’t progress, you don’t like progress? Go live in Somalia or something

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
        • Power8003 on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:45 am

Pls forgive Cruzer which is a bit retarded. He does not know the meaning of value for money term and only know how to tell ppl to migrate. What is it got to do with car price and ppl migrate. The main reason is that this honda jazz ckd is overprice because the price only went down by 4.9k but a lot function and safety measurement are taken out. It is consider as price reduction due to spec being taken out and not due to from CBU to CKD. Pls do not get CON on this deal. It is a very bad deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • polo saga on Nov 25, 2012 at 1:22 am

dun need to migrate la, just change the government lo, so simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • bonbon on Nov 26, 2012 at 12:03 am

wah,,tegur kerajaan terus kena migrate. kerajaan suruh makan taik, so makan je laa…tegur for improvement pun takboleh ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • no need to migrate and no need to change govt to solve this issue,

Guna sajalah our puchasing power utk ajar govt & car manufacturer ni (honda,toyota,proton,perodua dll) , aku cadangkan rakyat malaysia boikot jgn beli kereta baru untuk tempoh 3-6 bulan .. lepas tu kita tgk ape action diorg … aku gerenti diorg akan panik dan akan ambil tindakan sepatutnya .. kalau kita dok bebel ajer mmg diorg x ambik kisah pun , kena kurang bercakap dan mula bertindak ….

• jamie on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm

after some godd news of pricing from mirage and almera, this jazz hybrid really spoil the mood.

• This is their marketing strategy … if CKD spec same as CBU…then the remaining CBU won’t sell…So i guess Honda Malaysia won’t expect more sell for CKD at this stage…when wait until no more CBU then the consumer have no choice but to buy CKD ….

• Black Dog on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Strategy my Foot! They can provide the same equipment but less a few grand for CKD. Then those that want imported car won’t mind paying the few thousand more.

They can even price it the same since hybrid cars are tax free but don’t ever omit so many equipment and think malaysian lives are cheap!

• Alpha on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:20 pm

What the??I’m a Honda boy,but this is outrageous. RM5k difference doesn’t even make any difference for monthly payments!!And also,the CKD’s spec is lower than the CBU. Rear drum brakes? 2 front airbags? I’d rather pay the 5000 more for those!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 2
    • Alpha on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Oops,I meant I’d rather pay 5000 to get the 6 airbags and all around disc brakes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 2
    • Same here…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysian on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Yeah…RM5K cannot buy the remaining 4 airbags and the other goodies from CBU. What is Honda Malaysia thinking???…

• those cbu model wt 6 airbags and extra safety equipmnet are for uk/europe ie developed nation wt their euroncap rating, those airbags, esp,..etc..are compulsory to get 5 stars rating which wtout it will compromise sales (developed countries ppl are concern wt safety & their wellbeing hence wont buy those wtout 5 stars rating…here msian more concern wt RV, thats why loads of ppl buying the new camry wtout ESP ; ) ), msian / asean countries life are cheap….no need those safety equipmnt….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • arcana on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:05 pm

i totally agree with u, certain items that were omitted are still fine…..but safety features of all things? seriously wtf honda? i’m so disappointed with the mentality of car companies that think our lives are cheap.

• sudonano on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:38 pm

I agree! Walaoeh. 5k can get HSA, Cruise control, 4 more airbags and 2 extra discs brakes! THAT IS CHEAP! Makes more sense to get the CBU!

• Anti CO2 on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:45 pm

The AES system will cut down the number of accident. So Honda Msia thinks that we Malaysian don’t need so many airbags loh… Kudos Honda Msia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • those developed nation have tons of AES’s type speed camera but they still make it compulsory for automaker to have max airbag/abs/esp to get full 5 stars safety rating….even though most cannot ppl there cannot drive fast, but even speed below 90kph can be fatal (eg…try running straght to the wall,that below 10kph…still hurts right)

btw, from 2014 onwards…EU is making ABS compulsory on bikes too…see how advance/concern abt safety they are…even motorcycle need ABS too

• start-a-fight on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:20 pm

sadly to say Mr. Ueno. your hybrid sales might reduce slightly with this… I mean CVT with no HSA? be aware of back rolling hybrid jazz CKD..

truly disappointed with HM now!

• I think it does have HSA. Read this

The CKD car omits features such as Hill Start Assist, cruise control, one touch lane change, automatic wipers, audio controls on the steering wheel and shift paddles found on the imported car. The signal stalk has been switched to the right side of the steering wheel, while the Multi-Information Display control buttons (located at the 5 o’clock position on the steering wheel with the CBU car) occupy the spot where the cruise control buttons were on the CBU car; that is, on the right-hand spoke of the steering wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 91
      • “The CKD omits” means removed edi la brother

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • you are really having pathetically poor command of english… cant even understand what is the meaning of “omit” … i bet you are the 1st one ran to Honda showroom and place a booking thinking they added all the feature for you…. lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
        • Apologize for that. Have to brush up my English sometimes haha

• Zapruder on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Muahahahaha!

• johnny on Nov 24, 2012 at 3:55 pm

oh my english….

• Jimmy on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:22 pm

The CKD is much more super expensive than the CBU. Be wise ya buyers around, choose CBU. Anyway, I am not a potential buyers at all, too cheap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 1
    • be wiser! boycott honda totally! they are supporters of rejim jahat proton! kebanggaan zionis msia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • CARtoon on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:23 pm

is it just me to find the CKD version such a rip off?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 1
  • Power8003 on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:24 pm

2nd part,

Beside that, a lot the gadgets and function are take out…..I think Honda is making a huge profit for this car :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 1
    • Aston Martin on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:07 pm

that guy standing next to the car his father is a mamak makes a lot of money from this CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • i_swear on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Following the link here for CBU:-
    http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/honda-jazz-hybrid-launched-insight-powertrain-rm94800/

And the passage here:-
    “The objective of local assembly for the Jazz Hybrid is to push for more localisation in an attempt to reduce overall costs……”

Only cheaper around 5K? Please change back CBU lar as i rather paid other 5K for a CBU. If i go for 7 years loan, 5K not that much difference.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • go diesel on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Cheaper by abt rm5k for ckd but only 2 airbags vs 6 for cbu. Etc etc. Strange.

They really know Honda fans dont mind becos of stupidity.

Ugly too. Cant they make it nicer. Uglier than myvi.

Its just diff to fall in love with T and H. Its a marvel that they sell well here even the design n features are nothing to marvel abt.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
  • I always kinda like the little jazz hybrid, it’s has rather decently kitted and looks nice. so RM 5k to sacrifice 4 airbags and rear discs……nah I better book the CBU ver

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Looking at all the features omitted in the CKD model, the car is expensive as compare with CBU.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Kent Lim on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Looks like a no brainer to me – price reduced by $4900, but a lot of features also omitted. Might as well continue buying the CBU version? Man, another tactic by Honda to cheat customer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • scalabu on Nov 26, 2012 at 12:57 am

because they also need pay cost for omitting all that thing. lol

• 1btgnaik on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm

To quote my old man ” Looks like the car has been broken into and stripped of all its valuables”. CKD means more profit and less value for consumers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Turboman on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:43 pm

“The objective of local assembly for the Jazz Hybrid is to push for more localisation in an attempt to reduce overall costs and to further promote hybrid tech in the country.”

Where are the consumer in this exercise? It seems that everything that is done in the Malaysian auto industry is to benefit the industry and not to the benefit of the consumer.

The number of airbags is reduced from 6 to 2, Consumers are screwed again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • Roger Tan on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:45 pm

It’s a raw deal if you ask me

How are we going to support our local industry when it seems that the end product of CBU seems to be short-changing the end users

As this is a hybrid car and are exempt from the bulk of the taxes, does this mean that our local assembly costs are higher than Japan? So much so that even after reducing shipping costs (90% components vs a CBU car), so much kit still has to be removed to make a meagre RM4,900 reduction in prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Wei Kiat on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:46 pm

Some more , year end sale of CBU Jazz Hybrid got discount of around RM5000 ….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • bystander on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Save 5k and skimp on features as well? Total ripoff – makes the CBU look like an absolute bargain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • bystander on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Naturally Malaysian – how apt in terms of the rip-off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • If given CBU unit and omit all those mentioned things, i think is cheaper than CKD unit. CKD unit of this car is totally ripoff. I think they should have lower 10k from the CBU at least!

• tunggguuu on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:52 pm

hahahha…comedy HONDA…how can justify the CKD part when so much parts/specs taken out n only reduce 5k??

but still, many mangkuks who has no brains but c honda logo only will buy these….sales will be super good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:38 pm

honda untung gila punya. their big bosses all got big big big salary maaa..

• 5k dont justify the stuff that been eliminated and its a ckd…better go for the cbu…

• Fishy on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:54 pm

I can see what went wrong….
    For a start, That MITI guy is there…. … Something fishy

• unforgiven on Nov 23, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Low stupid ckd spec vs the cbu. Why are we treating the own rakyat like shit? Change g pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Kena Lagi on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Why is Honda treating us like FOOOOOLS? Is there enough uneducated consumers to fall for the miserable RM5K reduction? It will cost many more to have the extras CBU specs.

• AnonymousMark on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm

This only happens in Malaysia. Sacrificing lots on safety and reliability by not reducing much on the price. Guess our lives are quite worthless to them after all.

• Ugly, underpowered and low tech hybrid. Overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Ugly(depending on people)
      Under powered(agreed)
      low tech hybrid(go buy Porsche or Lexus)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Aston Martin on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:05 pm

I’d pay 5k more and take the CBU anytime. This CKD is a complete rip-off! Taking away the features easily cost more than 5k, and what happen to the lower cost of local assembly???

• Stupid marketing…who want to buy this ckd…dont treat malaysian as fool

• Sirim on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:17 pm

This is an absolute outrage. With all the security options and vanities they took away from the CBU, the CKD is actually MORE expensive! This is an outrage and a shame on behalf of the Malaysian Government, NAP. The Malaysian consumer is consistently made fun of and played with.

Only in Malaysia can a CKD be MORE expensive than a Japanses CBU with extra options included. Shame! Shame! Shame!

• unforgiven on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:54 am

Correct, just like how Proton Inspira is more expensive than original Mitsubishi Lancer (with newer technology) in Langkawi.

• meemihun on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:19 pm

what the nonsense??? let ME get this straight,,,5 k less only for a ckd n also some important features removed? malaysians it’s time to teach them a lesson,,,boycott. this is bullshit. I’m furious right now,,,,,,.

• i’m totally agree with u, boycot all the car manufactures and govt by not buying any new car for at least about 3-6 month period ….

• magpie on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:20 pm

What about the price of those hybrid batteries? Is it ‘CKD or CBU’? :)

• 5K saving but let go for 6 airbags, rear disc brakes, Hill Start Assist, cruise control, one touch lane change, automatic wipers, audio controls on the steering wheel and shift paddles.

nah, I’ll take CBU anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • confused on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:26 pm

Hahahhahaaha Honda Malaysia sama bodoh mcm UMW.

• Wow basically they are killing their own sales by doing that . Removing so much features with only 5k reduction is soooooo not worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Mulyadir Fitri on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Can we still book the CBU version?

• Simon on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:37 pm

WHAT THE!!!!! price reduced less than 5k but lost so many other goodies… Honda Malaysia, I think you have been too greedy

• Peter on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Another case of “Malasyia’s client dispensable”. … and our minister’s laughing idiotically in the open ceremony with such under-spec treatment. Sigh ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Aaron on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:44 pm

I am so disappointed in you Honda.. I think I’ll go with the Prius C this time..

Now Toyota giving 5k discount some more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • helmi on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:18 am

Toyota pun tak laku because of design, wrong pricing /expensive & less features, thats why they give discount. UMW Toyota & Honda Malaysia is same species & have one in common, they are greedy as ever.

• jens lehman on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Damn HM! Treat M’sian consumers as if in 3rd world country. Hope that Honda fans will be wiser by choosing the CBU unit. HM is so profit oriented.

• drewn123 on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:46 pm

As wat predicted, Jazz Hybrid is the 1st CKD from Honda… Next gonna be insight?

Anyways, as Honda fan. HM is a letdown with such an lousy pricing. RM5k can get so much more, why bother with CKD jazz anyways since most will choose the CBU Jazz

• _xXx_ on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:52 pm

im sitting back to watch this naturally malaysian hybrid to perform. Malaysians ARE not stupid.

• It seems Honda is getting lesser and lesser love from malaysian these days..

• auress on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:55 pm

Still in the 1st phase.. Not many localize parts.. Next phase will be cheaper…perhaps..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
  • Again Honda Malaysia is pulling a fast one with this CKD Hybrid.. Malaysian buyers are dumb??

*Still offering 3 years warranty where as others are offering 5 years, even HM themself offer 5 years for certain of their model BUT why the double standard?
    *Remember service interval is still 5,000km OR 3 months which ever come first! Whether you like it or not you MUST visit their service centre every 3 months. Not a cheap car to maintain whereas most other offer 10,000 to 15,000km service interval!
    *This Hybrid is suppose to be GREEN but Honda Malaysia is only interested in making more money for themself and not care about the
    ENVIRONMENT & their CUSTOMERS.
    (Even using HONDA best fully synthetic oil you still need to change the engine oil at 5,000km!?)

What a waste of time & resources?

**Potential buyer should take note**

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
  • Buat Bodoh on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Why is Honda treating us like FOOOOOLS? Is there enough uneducated consumers to fall for the miserable RM5K reduction? It will cost many more to have the extras CBU specs.

• _xXx_ on Nov 24, 2012 at 7:54 am

No need to be educated. If ones’ mind is sound, can compare then for sure he won’t buy…

• Buat Bodoh on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:18 pm

It also proved that the CKD is not cost efficient.

• Current CBU are tax free untill end 2013. Should compare the price after that time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • c14man on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Booo to Honda. Rm4900 discount for so much compromise!! Even if rm10k cheaper also so-so deal only. Better grab the CBU before sold out. And potential civic hybrid buyer, better buy now before it become CKD-ed (read ripped off).

• eh no body blast them for using rear drum brake ah?

i thought all like to complain what Nissan using rear drum brake ah, Toyota ah etc.

Come to Honda, all diam diam saja?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • arcana on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:26 pm

didnt u read above comments? there are plenty of ppl including myself that blasted them for the reduced specs, drum brakes issue included too.
      be it honda fanboys or not, we are sick of HM’s attitude to us customers.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:49 pm

I’m disappointed with Honda. Removing the safety features to save a few bucks is just immoral. Shame on you, Honda.

• Rennie A Ghani on Nov 23, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Seriously Honda Malaysia decision for CKD jazz is commendable in theory BUT with the ridiculous specification compared to the CBU is shameful and profit oriented to the maximum. The loss on features and airbags not to mention the disc brakes for the rear omission for this pseudo hybrid mini is deplorable. I would advise those really interested to get a hybrid to go for the prius C instead

• alleebaba on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Power of dreams, dream on Honda, dream to increase sales with this piece of ckd junk.

• Alfa156 on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Wow a Honda fitted with rear drum brakes! Haven’t heard that for quite a long time!

• Insight has rear drum brakes

• aha honda san on Nov 24, 2012 at 11:25 am

Drum brakes are good enough for acr this size (although yes cbu has disc all around).

City previous gen has drums too.

What kind of power this car has..only fools will run at 120kmh and beyond in city, vios and jazz. Regardless ah beng mod done or not. But still alot of ppl do tats why our accident rates are high.

Some ppl want to Drive a hybrid but want it to be sporty is just plain stupid. Get a polo or turbo diesel instead. Consumption is almost the same but you get a better package.

Out of topic: i test drove lexus hybrid ch200 sometime ago. Everythg was superb, finishing looks etc. But the car is just asthmatic, really weak. Even the sales lady agreed it is meant to cruise at 80-100kmh, alot of ppl also test drove and said the same thg. You hv to be careful if u want to overtake.

You love alfa so you should know.

• slimershine on Nov 24, 2012 at 10:09 pm

disc brake should be a bonus no a rip-off

• TurboMan on Nov 25, 2012 at 3:02 am

I disagree with this. Drum brakes are more prone to brake fade and although the front disc brakes supplies 60-70 percent of braking effort, the rear still supplies 30-40 percent.

Try coming down from genting with a car equipped with drum rear brakes vs disc rear brakes and u can feel the difference even for a light car. Plus drum brakes are not as effective as disc in ABS modulation. The levers holding the shoe have more inertia, reducing the modulation freq of the ABS system.

For light cars, it won’t make a day and night difference, but in an emergency situation, it could mean a difference between living to tell the story or, well u get the idea.

PLus, its only 4.9k and u lose so many other things.

• NISSpengAN on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:25 pm

if price it at 79K i will get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Yeah, I wish there is a huge misunderstanding with the price, but knowing Paultan, that would not happen.
      Kinda sad, though I had hiigh expectation for the CKD car, could have been my next car

• Alfa156 on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:31 pm

I don’t understand. Why is that most ckd assembled cars in Malaysia is low spec compared to the imported cbu? No traction control, less airbags, drum brakes, some manual aircond, and a lot of other things. Just look at Nissan, Toyota, and etc. why waste money setting up a plant? Just import all high spec model, cheap no need investments and customer happy.

• auress on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Chillex malaysian….! They know better than us… If Honda sell the car at 50k, do govt will allow them? Proton will bungkus maaa… Slow2 la… But steady..

• what is happen to our MALAYSIA?!! honda should reduce not just rm 4900, should be rm 20,000!!! but for me life is price less, DRB IS MONEY SUCKER PLUS IMMORAL,please dont ever support for this or what ever CKD from Malaysia……..boleh LAND

• Kesian-Malaysian!!

• HAHA !!! AS I SAID EARLIER.. HONDA MALAYSIA IS FULL OF BULLSHIT.. AFTER SOOO MANY YEARS OF SUFFERING AND WASTED HARD EARNED CASH ON STUPID HONDA CARS.. I HAVE STOPPED RECOMMENDING HONDA CARS TO PPL.. I DO NOT WANT THEM TO SUFFER THE SAME FATE AS ME.. BULLSHIT HONDA MALAYSIA.. TOTAL BULL !! EVEN MYVI HAS LESS PROBLEM THAN HONDA.. BULLSHIT..

SINCERELY,
    USER OF HONDA ACCORD AND HONDA CIVIC MALAYSIA

• DewaSemut on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Dear Honda,
    By going for these shitty offerings… Your tagline ‘We are naturally Malaysians’ does sounds very, very insulting…

• hondajazz on Nov 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm

if price it 75k, who will buy forte,preve dan lain lain?

• Carl Wong on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:05 pm

At Least it’s the cheapest and first locally assembled Hybrid in our country….. Great start Honda..!!

• Carl Wong on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:36 pm

And I wonder why the turning radius is slightly different between the two versions? It’s the same car…?? CKD version have a better turning radius and is lighter (more fuel efficient?) lol….

• xiper on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:18 pm

other manufacturers are making CKD with either equal spec or more with reduced price in order to promote more sales, this is the other way round

better name it Jazz Hybrid S and Jazz Hybrid E instead of CKD/CBU in this case

• Insight42 on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Buat penat komen je…….org tetap beli jugak sbb H

• Travis on Nov 23, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Oh…rupanya Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar punya company..patutle…
    http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2012/06/20/rm34-5b-debts-another-crisis-in-the-making/

• thebugbud on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:06 pm

for rm4.9k, can you get it back after market?

looks like another skinning rakyat scheme.

• f***.. damn xpensive.. how come cbu & ckd only 5k different? thats mean no tax excemption for ckd hybrid.. damn it..

• what people see is the car price but donno the car parts sell by locals are expensive…

• Wei Honda! It’s 10k more than it’s suppose to be!

• mr_em on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Wht on earth is honda malaysia thinking? Take out so many features inc. Airbags, rear disc brakes and only saves RM5k?

Is honda malaysia on a kamikaze mission? From being competitive to being incompetitive… Is this the aftereffect of partnering with Proton recently??

• OrangBesar on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Honda malaysia should have just removed the battery for this CKD version…

• dugong on Nov 23, 2012 at 10:52 pm

To all potential jazz buyers,

Honda is getting greedy like UMW toyota by making such a heavy cost cutting model which is not balanced with the puny price reduction. Pls pay 4.9k more for the CBU hybrid jazz, which is easily worth 15k more. Let all the ckd hybrid jazz rot in the yard and see if honda will price it appropriately later on.

• _xXx_ on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:47 am

“Pls pay 4.9k more for the CBU hybrid jazz,”
      haha this is the objective of the launch….

• oomph on Nov 25, 2012 at 10:49 pm

i disagree. they would not INVEST if they want rakyat to buy CBU.

• Bryan on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm

To all potential Jazz buyers,

How about don’t buy Honda.

So many other options in the market now and coming out soon from brands that actually wants to give a decent product to the market…..

• Honda Malaysia tipu rakyat, they dont care about our safety, they reap our hard earn money with pathetic strip down product… boycott CKD hybrid jazz

• Kamarul on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Expensive cos mamak’s son is smiling thinking bout the profit he is going to rake

• Lower spec, some more CKD (Alor gajah plant),quality cannot be trust.
    Price reduce around 5K, still consider over price.
    Prefer CBU.

• Gianny on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:25 pm

CKD Jazz hygrid nearly 9ok , must well buy CITY. Rememberthe cost of battery is not cheap , should be more than 10k. max. 5 year must replaced, so, calculate the petrol in 5 years, =60 months. one month rm200@ 60= 1.2k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • unforgiven on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:40 pm

We/ current g is trying to create more and more dumb ass, so that we are = Indo/Viet/India/etc. Profit/ pocket must be full first. Damn!

• miskin on Nov 23, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Honda mau untung lebeh woo….

• A stripe down Jazz Hybrid selling 4.9k cheaper.. so call CKD…Funny.

• Even million of Hybrid Vehicle still wont help our enviroment and our pocket, 1 lynas will *mampui* all our enviroment and our money, (money to see doctor), am i right?

• Toplevel on Nov 24, 2012 at 1:24 am

The L gear is available in CBU too; activate by pulling both paddle shifter together for few seconds. With that price for CKD I believe the remaining discounted CBU will be way more value for money. CBU unit also come with leather wrap steering wheel. Many are cursing about the high price of CKD, well Malaysian are not stupid neither Honda. Selling price is controlled so that the apa Nama to prove car can continue to survive.
    Cheers…

• unforgiven on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:20 am

The basic requirement like leather wrap, audio control, etc on the steering wheel, why are we doing this to the own people? Please remove the protectionism asap, hate the double standard where we are being treated badly in our own country.

• tunggguuu on Nov 24, 2012 at 5:03 pm

hahaha..thats immature speak. HONDA TOYOTA Malaysia are all GLCs… so in effect the gov earns more from the stupidity of the people who is so brand conscious or shall i say kena “RAPE” by them blindly?

if gov control..then how come a civic made in malaysia or camry made in msia is still more expensive than some imported cars in the same range? y isnt the imported CBU cars made to be priced cheaper? this is what the dealers like Honda n toyota is hoping..the people blame the gov…the dealers say “your gov tax is high, our price is low, and our margin is low” if u care to calculate all the cars in the market and compare u will realize just because of brand the dealer mark up n reduce spec..nothing caused by the gov.

• Obviously HM has a high faith on their Fan Boys….
    And the man behind this Jazz CKD proposal most likely still have the 90’s mind set where he tok Japan car conquer the market after P1.

Stupid & brainless

• Megane on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:10 am

Aiyaaaa simple strategy la , HM knew that virtually all potential buyers will take the CBU units in a heartbeat .Only numbskulls will choose CKD over CBU as this time . In a short time , their CBU units will all find customers soon . No need to crack their skull to clear the CBU units . Then it’s time for the CKD versions sales to take off . Then slowly over time extra features will reappear back on those CKD units as part of periodical facelift dunno with price jacked up or not . It depends on their market mood later . Kachingggggggg !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • sudonano on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:00 am

you got a point there.

• error on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:33 am

Buyer choosing over CKD and CBU may not know if they never been told or never read through auto blog…

• sudonano on Nov 24, 2012 at 11:45 pm

knowing the SA’s some are good, some gila commison. Actually not only Honda. I can tell you one premium brand, German brand in fact, behind Honda’s place in Glenmarie, that does the same thing. SA don’t even know the features and want to sell car -_- For that, I respect the SA’s at Ford and Naza Kia. Even Hyundai also ok. Proton also not bad. But these German brands are just as bad as the Jap brands :(

• nyawere on Nov 24, 2012 at 6:05 am

This is crap…!!! i was expecting the price to go down at least RM15k…!!!! with all the ommision and shit..!! I thought Toyota was bad, it seems that Honda is followings its footsteps. And all you Japanese car makers are wondering why people are starting to buy Korean cars…!!!! go figure..! My support for Honda cars will end as soon as the Koreans introduce their Hybrid cars….!!!! Adios Honda…!!!

• slimershine on Nov 24, 2012 at 6:08 am

where is sam ‘rv’ loo? how about this stupid ckd ‘rv’? cbu will get better ‘rv’?

• sudonano on Nov 24, 2012 at 3:33 pm

OMG that fella. Hahahahahahha makes me laugh la. Baseless comments. Nice middle name too. lol

• miskin on Nov 24, 2012 at 7:44 am

Honda mau untung lebeh woo….

• helmi on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:07 am

Another blood sucking attempt by Honda. Hell you Honda!

• Superman on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:19 am

Where is Proton then? What their so called high tech partner Frazer Nash doing? Taking Rakyat money to UK? Cronies never give up

• luckily got my insight early..

• wey stupid la Honda wey! ouh buyer lagi la tertipu lepas ni.

• DArkerMarker on Nov 24, 2012 at 10:46 am

as long as got “H” logo, malaysian are suckered buying this car….

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Nov 24, 2012 at 11:34 am

That MITI guy is Apa Nama’s son ler…he looks to be brimming with joy, I wonder why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • unforgiven on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:15 am

So that he’s able to enjoy the most expensive super car in the World, someone up there should be watching!

• 10% local inputs should go to tires and fluids, nothing more!

• Shaekey on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:55 pm

Unfortunately there are still so many out there that never really know the difference between this version and the previous CBU version. And they may never know what they’re missing compared to the CBU when they drop by Honda showroom… I’m pretty sure the salesman will just shout on price reduction without disclosing on features that were taken out.

This is exactly why Honda and Toyota thrive in Malaysia… there are so many uninformed customers buying cars purely on brand basis.

• tikus on Nov 24, 2012 at 12:59 pm

Honda Malaysia…Please dont treat us like a fool.You sucks big time this time.

• Frankly, 89K should be the price for high-spec Jazz V launched many years ago (Oops, pardon me, can’t recall which year, perhaps the model is too old to be recalled and must be kept in your granny’s old junk)!

Excitingly, I am always anticipating for the third generation of Jazz which is scheduled to be launched next year, ever since this not-so-eye-pleasing-worst-than-first-generation-Jazz had been making our way way back 2008.

• umnokakipitnah on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:20 pm

still with 5k km service interval?..blood sucker Honda!

• NISSpengAN on Nov 24, 2012 at 2:57 pm

look like honda malaysia is under BN crony syed mokhtar.let us together boycott honda cars haha…

• shawal on Nov 24, 2012 at 4:06 pm

no steering audio control ???? in 90k car ????

• John F.Kennedy on Nov 24, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Come on lah.malaysian drivers deserve more than this!rather than this jazzy buatan malaysia, better opt for ford fiesta.much better.why fiesta?because we malaysian dont have any choice!!plis la next goverment tolong lah bagi harga kereta cantik sikit.peace.bagi rakyat happy sikit la.

• lynaskid on Nov 24, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Poor Malaysians, being suck dry here and there.

• paparadzi on Nov 24, 2012 at 8:26 pm

For the same spec, I don’t mind paying the same price, CBU or CKD. But with so much essential items taken out, the CKD is just so not worth buying.

Let’s just admit it, image is part of the reason people buy the Jazz, otherwise a Myvi will be adequate. Next year when I see a Jazz Hybrid I will first look at the rear wheel; if I see a drum brake I will know that it is the inferior version. I’m sure driving the inferior version will not be good for one’s image. Put up more cosmetic add-ons such as door visors, skirts and spoilers and you’ll go further down in my respect scale.

Is Honda Malaysia going the same route as the previous Kah Motor?

• haha ahbeng on Nov 24, 2012 at 10:28 pm

OMG.. Are you born with black hair but you mod to blond?

You drive a jazz and bcos you add sport rims, skirting, put some stickers ppl will respect you?!

You are really a honda type of buyer. L show off without brains.

Lets say a GTi or Megane or normal jazz is at the traffic lights but without any modifications you direspect them?, you are a fool. Disgrace. Who is your gf ah lian?

• First the CRV, now Jazz Hybrid….. lolz… People nowadays too idolize overseas car though those are the cheapest they offer to SEA~ what a shame…

• yoyoan on Nov 24, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Wow, “We Are Naturally Malaysians”..what crap is this? you cut down RM 4,900 AND lots of useful features and you call it CKD?

Damn Honda!!

• Hadi75 on Nov 24, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Only in bolehland……sam loo will be happy with this car….resale value very high…..

• Honestly my few cents worth!!!! NEVER buy a Jazz Hybrid even fully imported ones…..One simple reason. It does not have the fundamental basic of a car which is a ….spare tyre!!! Salesman said because Honda need to put the battery in the spare tyre compartment thus Honda drop the idea of spare tyre…..really sucks!!!

• Hey Proton! Stay away of Honda and other car maker better. Should me ashamed of yourself!!

• Proton = The Power Of Dreams?

• polo saga on Nov 25, 2012 at 1:06 am

all the key safety features are removed? paddle shift, auto cruise, rear solid discs, etc., i rather get the CBU Jazz Hybrid as those safety features cost more than RM 5k indeed!!!!

• junaidi on Nov 25, 2012 at 9:37 am

you should note the target audience of this car first. Do they know or even use, paddle shift, auto cruise, rear solid discs?

Products are born from the market.

• malaysians know how to use them, if not why preve turbo has paddle shift and auto cruise?

• Better get the CBU!! due to CKD many feature omitted. only RM4.9k, they omitted such as many feature..Stupid step by Honda

• Simple, be wise and don’t go for honda cars – Honda Malaysia….has been very arrogant and taking us like fools. It’s never to late, check out the Korean – value for money.

• TurboMan on Nov 25, 2012 at 2:48 am

What to do? They have die hard fans like Sam Loo who will support them 100 percent no matter how many times they get screwed and shafted.

• Hongda on Nov 25, 2012 at 3:20 am

This is a car for stingy uncle or auntie who just buy the brand; they don’t know the spec and safety features. And they will proudly tell neighbour: hey I bought a honda high tech battery car which is 5k cheaper than last time, hw lucky I am!

• this car got no spare tyre one. is normal car modified to hybrid only, the spare tyre space use to install the hybrid battery :{

• fuel cell phone on Nov 25, 2012 at 8:11 am

Imho, with so much features omitted compared to CBU, the CKD model should be priced 10k to 15k lower than CBU model, and should be named Jazz Hybrid SR (Smart Ride) ahaks :-P

• I used to own hondas when it was managed by “Boon Siew OR Kah Motor” but stopped when it’s under HM.
    Not only that their current models are overpriced but their after-sales service sucks too. HM senior management staffs in HQ (PJ-Sec17) does not have the guts to attend to customers complaints /defects and always referring you to their dealers instead.

Should you require a hybrid for RM90k, get the PRIUS c with the current cash rebate offer.
    Not only that it’s CBU-Japan and you are actually getting a “FULL HYBRID”. Whereas Honda is HALF HYBRID.

• toyota lad on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:54 am

i just went to Honda showroom 1st week of Nov, they just give away rebate rm4000 for Jazz CBU. clearly they just want to finish out their CBU unit, thats why CKD with low spec just rm4900 less price. no body will buy CKD and their CBU will sell fast as their wish.. WTF bolehland..

• Honestly, if it’s a CKD with lesser features, it should be priced around RM 65K to RM 75K.

• “good” job honda! CKD the jazz hybrid and REMOVE safety features such as the airbags. so, malaysian lifes aren’t important? Come on, 90k car with just two airbags? Why must Honda and Toyota cut cost on safety features? Even the new camry dont have a simple traction control..

Both T&H are overcharging Malaysians!

• PONTIAC on Nov 25, 2012 at 1:17 pm

Shut the hell up u guys. No matter what u blast no matter how bad ur negative comments are, in reality outside there, they will be a lot of buyer. Tak gune menyalak kat dlm kampung bile org luar tak dengar. See how honda civic and toyota camry did perform in their sales. We need action! Boycott honda by telling people outside! Similar to PRU. Tak gune menyalak di web tapi tindakan takda. We will still having similar gov next pru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Pst pst, guys… do you all notice the sticker on their test drive units written greenly “Naturally Driven”. What on earth is natural about the car??? It’s just a hybrid, FULL STOP!

• Jilbaber on Nov 25, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Obviously this is a tactic by Honda to boost up CBU unit sales. Like it or not..there’s nothing wrong with that, just way of doing business…it depend on ur choice now as a consumer..

• Believe It or Not on Nov 25, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Guys, CBU Jazz Hybrid receive 100% tax exemption…Thus have been priced RM95k..if without the incentive the car should be around RM120-130k. CKD models produced in malaysia do not enjoy tax incentive thus its tend to be pricer. By 2014 without the tax benefit .. Jazz will be the cheapest hybrid in malaysia…:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • i'm a malaysian on Nov 25, 2012 at 8:25 pm

you are one in a million that think using the brain. congrats i totally agreed with you. others only know to talk without thinking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Well, let’s look at the price for Langkawi.

Jazz Hybrid CBU: RM86,007
      Jazz Hybrid CKD: RM81.287

While the CKD reduced to only 2 airbags, rear brake drum, no auto wiper, no Halogen Headlight (Manual Leveling), no glovebox cooler, no One Touch Lane Change, no Power Door Lock, no Power Retractable Door Mirrors, no Seatbelt Reminder for both passenger seat, no Hill Start Assist, no High-Mount Brake Light, no 3-point ELR with shoulder anchor adjuster for front seatbelt, no steering wheel auto audio control, no leather-wrapped steering;

and yet the price is only RM5k cheaper? We are not talking about year 2014. We are talking about current price. Are the workers in Melaka plant being paid in Japanese yen? Soooooo ripped-off

• i dont know how cowbrain like you can drive a car.
      if there is no incentive then why HM want to do CKD?
      so by 2014, all the hybrids will as expensive as before but with less equipment, and that is not what we the consumer wants!
      if i wanted less equipment and still be green i would get an e-bike! and it would be CBU!

• MrPoppyplants on Nov 25, 2012 at 6:49 pm

WTF?

CKD, Hybrid Tax exemption, less accessories and you sell it for a MERE 5% less??

Honda Malaysia should be ASHAMED of themselves.

PS. Also stop with the cliched RM XXX,990 and RM XX,880 at the back of car prices. You’re not McDonalds and it’s not cute.

• To Let everyone know, the 3 digits behind RM XXX,990 and RM XX,880 are used to pay bonuses of top management every year end. So its definately not cute, they just want to reward their staff. Lol.

• Kipidap Honda Malaysia!!!

• lipanz on Nov 25, 2012 at 8:42 pm

what a rip-off… if u noticed on the steering itself they removed the leather.

• Kelvin on Nov 25, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Not much different the price from CBU to CKD, there is no purpose to make it CKD!

• Xefron on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:00 pm

haihhh this is not even a full hybrid.pfff

• Soyacincau on Nov 25, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Everytime u see a Mahathir name means milking the rakyat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • domainicus on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:44 am

This is called positioning in marketing IMHO. They omit the features because of City 1.5E so that the SA can say Jazz same price but no leather steering wheel and paddle shift. Other than that HM should have retain the unique selling point of 6 airbag. These are the things I can think of so far.

• OilChange on Nov 26, 2012 at 7:24 am

that is why educated person like us, who read paultan.org, will not buy this type of craps.

but if, any of paultan.org reader out there, read this, and buy 1… u seriously need a doctor check up my fren… few bolts in your brain getting loose.

• TurboMan on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:41 am

That is why ppl who know their cars and actually do research about cars ( ie: ppl who visit pt.org ) are less inclined to buy featureless japs and more likely to get a modern korean cars.

Pppl who doesnt know much abt cars stick to the T & H brand names expecting those “branded” goods to be better so they don’t have to crunch the numbers to make that decision. A shortcut to the thinking process.

As an analogy, if u travel to an unknown country and u see a KFC and an unknown local outfit selling fried chicken. Which one will u hv for lunch? Chances are its the KFC as the brand name promises a familiar and known experience whereby the local outfit is something yet to be known to u.

That is why McD is doing so well. However that line of thinking means u are not likely to try something else as that local outfit might be better than the KFC, or the quality of KFC might have dropped over the years ( just an example, but i do feel KFC is ripping off its customers lately with their mini burgers that look much smaller than the pics ).

• wow…rm4900 discount for locally assembly? the operation costs of the local factory must be really high…

if i buy i rather buy the CBU :)

• blurryd on Nov 26, 2012 at 9:47 am

Dear me it is so expensive… 89K!!! I cannot believe it Hybrids are as expensive as petrol cars…oh noo!!

• ben yap on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:13 am

japanese car manufacturers are crooks. they take their customers for granted.

• gmorque on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:34 am

omitting a lot of features, CKD and price only rm4900 reduction from full spec CBU? ‘nice job’ H…

• MatLimMutu on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:42 am

waaaahhhhh.. honda manyak untung la ini mcm.. i hate honda malaysia.

• pak jabit on Nov 26, 2012 at 11:47 am

why not maintain all the features and lower the price to show the CKD benefit? i bet this ‘naturally malaysian jazz’ will be the top choice for hybrid user after 2014 if honda maintain the spec and let the price below 90k

• bro_G on Nov 26, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Mr.MITI:”Honda you want our market share and Malaysia cheap manufacturing policy and cost?”
    Mr.Honda:”yes Mr.MITI”
    Mr.MITI:”First turn your car into coffin, you cannot compete with our local made coffin.
    Mr.Honda:”but but but but paultan forum will bashed me kow kow?
    Mr.MITI:”who the boss here? MITI or paultan forum?”
    Mr.Honda:”you are boss”
    Mr.MITI:”good dog..i mean good nippon, good nippon. now i give you 5% reduction price and permit to manufacture.”

• AH CAI on Nov 26, 2012 at 3:07 pm

cibai kroni BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Whynot on Nov 26, 2012 at 4:11 pm

The cheapest and most cost effective car that technology can offers now is an extended plug-in EV and not a Hybird. There won’t be huge heavy gearbox and it uses a tiny generator motor to charge the batteries and not driving the car. It could even be a 2 pistons motor needed at most! Imagine the cost effect and the total reduction of massive engine and gear box weight meaning – less on fuel and less polluting!

• 1 of the best car ever made & sold in malaysia.
    Wow…

• WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?!?

• paparazi on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:13 pm

personally, all small(cc) car should price below 70K,
    no matter what brand. You think money can drop from the sky?

• paparazi on Nov 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm

What a brainless CKD launched!!!

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:39 pm

don’t buy honda la if like this.

• MatLimMutu on Nov 27, 2012 at 5:43 pm

for me H shud just maintain the CBU features n reduce the price bcoz of CKD.. if like this then people r like kena tipu lorr. H is so teruk..

• Maybe the whole thing is a set up to make the CBU looks good ???
    conspiracy… so that we will forget that technically the PRIUSc is act a full hybrid and a slightly better buy ?

• Hi Breed on Nov 28, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Bought the PriusC for my missus 2 months ago. But I find myself driving it every time I have a chance to.

It’s not a hot rod but pedal to metal is pretty good and it does go comfortably to 160-170km/h and stays there with good stability.

My point is – I’m glad I made this right choice – if I was a Honda customer, I’d be seriously p*ssed off now.

• Kevin on Nov 29, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Hmmmm, nobody rate this car on the road n practical use…..mostly compare CBU n CKD…..anybody know whether any CBU left in the market in the first place. The CBU maybe only to test waters..now success….time to go for the mass profit version.Those who bought the CBU…sudah untung.

• If 1 airbag = RM1500, removing 4 airbag itself should less atleast RM6K, not counting other omitted features. And now, CBU to CKD, 10% more to reduce. The actual reduction to be atleast RM10000-15000 cheaper!!!
    If you know who is the boss behind Honda Malaysia, then you should know why. You can imagine how much the those cronies suck our hard earned money???
    Bottom line, mau kerata murah dan harga berpatutan? TUKAR!!! Support PR!

• zahir on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:28 am

im really interested to buy jazz hybrid since they have some promotion now. hows the battery performance so far for the current jazz owner? any other thing that i should know before buying in comparison to the normal jazz?
    should i go ahead with hybrid or just the normal jazz?

• Hi, Jonathan, My friend had bought a Jazz Hybrid recently. The brochure is stating the engine type which is 1.3L i-vtec. But the engine code on the car registration card is LDA3xxxxxx. When i search from the website, LDA3 is mean for i-DSI + i-VTEC (8 valves SOHC). Can you help to further explain the function of this engine? is i-DSI can work together with i-VTEC? Thank you.