Honda teases “Urban SUV Concept”: Jazz-based SUV

Honda Urban SUV Concept

Here’s a first teaser sketch of the upcoming Honda Urban SUV Concept which will make its world debut at the 2013 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) on 14 January 2013. The Honda Urban SUV Concept will preview a B-segment SUV based on the centre-tank layout Honda Jazz platform.

This is not the first time a concept B-segment SUV based on the Honda Jazz has been put forward. But it’s the first time it’s going to have a Honda badge. Previously, Honda and its Chinese partner showcased the Li Nian SUV concept at Beijing 2008, powered by a 1.8 litre engine. Comparing the sketch above and the Li Nian concept, it doesn’t seem to be the same design as the character line on the side is different.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pray hard not another dugong in the making.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • I can assure you that from the initial lines, this will not be a Dugong
      But will it be ugly that I cannot gurantee

• like that u win liao lo~ semua pun u cakap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Sam Loo on Dec 12, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Honda got no standard. The same with Toyota. People still cannot forget the recent slap on our faces with the CKD Jazz Hybrid prices. The Japanese cannot be trusted anymore. Give them a bit of face, they will re-colonise Malaysia back again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
          • Of all the Sam Loo variation, you appear to be most biased .
            I rather hear RVs than that crap , the Honda Jazz CKD was chiefly the Malaysian part fault for the price so high. And Japanese cars overseas , Price and specs are on par with the competition. No standard? Japanese cannot be trusted? their cars still have the best customer support and customer satifactory records. And is not like they produce shxx like some early Chinese cars.
            Colonization? are you still lamenting about the war?I’ve talk to many veterans of the world war in my military forums, they all says they are all soldiers fighting on the orders of their tyrant generals. Times have change……FACE IT

• Of all the Sam Loo variation, you appear to be most biased .
            I rather hear RVs than that crap , the Honda Jazz CKD was chiefly the Malaysian part fault for the price so high. And Japanese cars overseas , Price and specs are on par with the competition. No standard? Japanese cannot be trusted? their cars still have the best customer support and customer satifactory records. And is not like they produce shxx like some early Chinese cars.
            Colonization? are you still lamenting about the war?I’ve talk to many veterans of the world war in my military forums, they all says they are all mindless soldiers fighting on the orders of their tyrant generals, a soldiers doing their duty, all sides. Times have change……FACE IT

• Sam, sell your camry and get a Kimchi car… haha..

• Aiya Ai give my own opinion ma, I always cakap in new car launches and teasers.
        Me bored ma, you car read it or ignore it there are so many comments

• Naice on Dec 12, 2012 at 3:37 am

At first I thought it was Mazda CX-3 coming soon. It’s really reassembled CX-5’s unique body profile.

• Nothing much to see yet, but from the sharp body lines, it looks like Honda finally have some real answer to the ever improving Koreans design.
    Hope the production variant will share those side profile…..if it comes.

• Power of Dreams on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:37 am

Thank God is not a Li Nian, cause the Li Nian just looks like another cut and paste bulked up version of the Fiesta

• Power of Dreams on Dec 12, 2012 at 2:39 am

The Li Nian just looks like another cut and paste bulked up version of the Fiesta

• shawal on Dec 12, 2012 at 7:02 am

urban SUV ….
    in KL we just call them flood runners ….

• SUV wannabe on Dec 12, 2012 at 9:01 am

Hehehe. ..SUV wannabe…
    SUV styling minus the functional of one.

• Jimmy on Dec 12, 2012 at 12:54 pm

It will be shameful if anyone copies the designs of Mazdas or Sportage.

• ooL maS on Dec 13, 2012 at 8:28 am

Lousy piece of junk with no RV buy a vw, audi or merc is better.