Lexus LFA – 500th unit ends production run

lfa

That’s all folks – the last of the limited 500-unit run of the Lexus LFA supercar has rolled off the production line, and the books have closed on this one.

The 500th unit was a white LFA, which was completed on December 14 at the Motomachi plant in Japan; it’ll be delivered to the owner after testing. The Motomachi plant builds LFAs at a rate of one per day, with 170 workers involved in the project.

lfa 500th

There’s no doubt TMC/Lexus have learned a lot in the process of designing and building this car. We look forward to some of its technologies trickling down to its other models.

Driving (or even being in the passenger seat is fine!) a Lexus LFA and listening to that 4.8 litre V10 howling up to the redline repeatedly is still something on my bucket list… haven’t yet figured out how to achieve that!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bloody expensive car for something whose performance dose’t live up to It’s price tag. Better go for a GTR.
    BUT….the noise, oh nothing comes close to that V10 spike, I will remember it for that.
    Next up, Acura NSX!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 49
    • Strange coz some stupid moron will say how bad the car is and have yet to drive a real one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • We will most likely never get to drive one in our lifetime, finger cross. That’s why I say performance. Not experience

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • The car is so vicious that it killed one of the test drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Lexus is nothing but an overpriced car in Malaysia. Paying a premium for a mere Toyota. Anyone with half a brain would know, paying RM500,000 for a Toyota does not make sense at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
        • Another moron making baseless claims about Lexus in Msia. Really sick of this idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
        • cosmo on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:28 pm

then obviously u never driven or ride in any Lexus before… an intelligent ppl buy car , is bcoz of the product… not only the brand name. those who can afford a Lexus will know its value… only those who cant afford will keep on telling other all these bullshit… Lexus can shine itself in the premium segment bcoz they delivered what they promised, take a look at all those awards and consumer rating they got… those data will talk, obviously not your mouth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • see & talk on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:41 pm

Are you talking about those Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Porsche or even Audi drivers have no brain because they are driving a Volkswagen? Please use your brain-la. I am sure they have more brain than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • kington on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:32 am

I beg to differ. I’ve driven the GT-R several times, and the only thing that impressed me was its superb traction, how all of its torque and might are transferred to the wheels. In essence, what you get in a GT-R is much like supermarket trolley. Simple and effective.

But let’s not take our minds off the main issue here with supercars and/or hypercars. Posing the fastest century sprint means little. What you want is a fast, fun, evocative and spiritual car move you forward. Here, the Ferrari 599 (which I’ve driven before) blew me into oblivion. It’s huge, fast and accurate but yet, you lose that sense of how big the car is on the road. It felt like an Evo.

• Haha guess I got carried away about saying its overprice.
      Well, It’s still a great looking, great sounding car. And the Interior is among the best for a Supercar. But I still can’t justify the price. It cost as much as 6 GTRs or abit more than a Aventador.
      .But still, there is tha V10 shriek, dan that’s good. Maybe the price is just for that sound.

• JeremyNg on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:36 pm

Did any Malaysian lucky enough to be one of the 500 ??!!

• qwerty on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:03 pm

not that we know of but there is one lucky(rich is a better adjective i guess) in Singapore.

and he is one huge fan of Lexus!

• Kalun on Dec 17, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Good bye sweet sweet LFA! You shall not be forgotten!

• kingston on Dec 18, 2012 at 12:07 am

The most important car for Toyota since the toyota 2000gt & supra,one of the great toyotas!

• Farhan on Dec 18, 2012 at 12:12 am

the price is a little too expensive for what it is.. but Definitely one of the best engine roar i have heard in my life. almost sounds like an F1 car! so first the LFA, then the GT86, now bring back the Supra!

• theanswer on Dec 18, 2012 at 12:50 am

how good is the car compared to nissan gtr, porsche or even f430?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • It’s slower to those cars except the latter in performance term, depends which variant of the 911.
      But 6 times the cost. Funny thing is, Lexus or Toyota dose’t earn a single profit from any LFA they sold.

• skypirate on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:29 am

“Sport Auto cited LFA ran exactly the same lap time with the same driver as other major competitors like the Ferrari 458 Italia, the Corvette ZR1 with Michelin Pilot Sport 2 (PS2) tires and 2 seconds faster than the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG, 2 seconds faster than the Porsche 911 (997.2) GT3, 4 seconds faster than the Lamborghini Murciélago LP-670 SV, 10 seconds faster than the Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4 and 9 seconds faster than the Ferrari 599 GTB Fiorano.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Kalun on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:51 am

Not as fast as the mighty Nissan Godzilla.
        But no worries. Nissan GTR and Lexus LFA always be the legendary super cars.

GTR is heavy and LFA is the lightest among all cars you mention except Lotus.
        I’m waiting for the next legendary NSX coming soon. Toyota ft86 is too early to judge it as legendary. We haven’t see its acheivement just yet.

• what track was this, i find it hard to believe because lp560-4 is supposed to be on par with the 458, unless the latter was using racing tyres.

• blackrythms on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:43 am

very good…

• Heng Lee on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:03 am

RV no good. Better buy Toyota Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • YeapyEvo on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:10 am

Buy Gran Turismo 5 and connect to a good set of speakers

• Modesto.hann on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:58 am

Every Lexus LFA sold will never break even, factoring in the cost of production and the loss of Lexus test driver who died while test driving this car at high speed. LFA is a priceless car.

• Yes, but this is no problem. The LFA is more or less an advertising campaign for Lexus.

• Calvin on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:15 am

May the 170 workers still got a job to do after this project ends….

• azrai on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:21 am

So Toyota can send those mould and machine for this LFA making to Rawang’s Perodua plant to make a new Perodua, Bezza maybe.

• Jaybond on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:24 am

Toyota/Lexus definitely missed out the opportunity to make this car a huge seller by embarking on the complicated and expensive carbon fibre chassis design. Toyota/Lexus could have opted for the less expensive alluminium alloy/steel chassis design and still maintain that impressive V10 engine, and the end result, the price tag could certainly be more reasonable and commercially could compete with the likes of Ferrari, Mercedes, Lambo , Porsche and Nissan..

• hurm..an LFA or aventador. pls advise :P

• killvern on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:29 am

what,for your pc wallpaper?.. i think viva picture is just nice for you

• now LFA gone, time for supra replacement

• Sam Loo on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:42 am

this bloody beast is gonna cost all my limbs. I think it’s better to stick my Camry with good RV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Kalun on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:07 pm

So funny Sam Loo. You and your camry terminology.
      Camry is a rubbish car and they are not driven by their owners mostly but by their driver.

LFA is a limited production car. The price would be skyrocket. Plus, it’s a toyota and RV is double the price of the original LFA.

• I thought you are driving your FATHER’s camry. So technically, its not yours.

• Megane on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:48 am

For sheer visual feast and overall performance , Aventador for sure and cheaper too

• sayonara LFA.. =(

• remember LFA appear at Fast & Furious 5, that pretty lady sit on driver leg with high speed…..

• dugong on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm

this car is great but seriously overpriced as is every car fr lexus. u can buy 2 lambos or 2 ferrari or 4 GTR with the money for 1 LFA.

• dugong on Dec 18, 2012 at 1:23 pm

all of which can smoke this LFA.

• ramun on Dec 18, 2012 at 11:49 pm

… and none of it is limited edition right? No RV? Did a limited edition car have same value as mass production car? If the answer is yes= Good job Mr Accountant!

• dreaming of maserati on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:13 am

big deal..even viva also got limited edition. so can sell for $100k?

• Julian Lee on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:38 pm

I didn’t even know it started production. Anyway, it is a sucks car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Juli@n sucks on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:07 pm

1. you didn’t know the production started – that’s because you don’t pay attention to the automative news.

2. your english sucks even more.

• kemal on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Jeremy Clarkson review the LFA recerntly.

http://www.topgear.com/uk/jeremy-clarkson/Jeremy-on-the-Lexus-LFA-2012-12-05

“It’s a very long time since I drove something so highbrow, so magnificent, so detailed, so perfect. After driving an LFA, everything else feels as squidgy as one of Arsène Wenger’s coats. There’s only one comparable car I can think of. The Ferrari 599 GTO. Kato, if you follow the show closely. Obviously, this has bags more personality than the LFA and feels so much more human as a result. It’s fallible and confused, and when it rains it goes all to pieces. It’s hard to master, but deeply rewarding when you do. The LFA doesn’t show any of those traits at all. It’s more like a Terminator. You tell it what to do, and it will keep on doing it. It absolutely will not stop. Can you ever love a machine? Of course you can. John Connor did. And I love the LFA.

• cosmo on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:55 pm

The funny thing is, everybody was saying how the 458 italia or aventador are faster than this LFA, and i dont know where u all got the info… here the link… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_N%C3%BCrburgring_Nordschleife_lap_times#Production.2C_street-legal_vehicles
    in fact LFA nurburgring edition is 1 of the fastest car around the circuit( with only street tire)… with official time of 7mins 14sec , while the 458italia recorded 7mins 32sec… that is 18sec faster per round… that make me wonder , let say they both race for 50rounds, means after the LFA driver finished the race, he still has 15 mins to sit down slowly having coffee while waiting for the 458 italia to finish the race??? how bout that… and that 2or3 times higher price of LFA really dont feel that expensive after all…. see, at least i talk with proof :)

• The funny thing is, that according to your source the much cheaper Dodge Viper was faster on the Nurnburgring… ;)

Viper: 7:12:13
      LFA: 7:14.64

• cosmo on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:58 pm

my dear friend.. open your ‘blind’ eye and see clearly… the viper in on Michelin Pilot Sport Cup R compound track DOT competition tires… (its a track tires, which u actually cant use on the road) while LFA is on street tires( which u actually can buy from tires shop and use on the road, thats means ‘normal tires’) u seem like know nothing bout car but still acting clever… if u put those track tires on the LFA, definitely it will shave another 5-10 sec frm the laptime… #ps: if u put those track tires on your Proton , i think u wan to enter 10mins around nurburgring also no problem… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • So I only have to pay US$200,000 more for a LFA to be able to use cheap “street tires( which u actually can buy from tires shop and use on the road, thats means ‘normal tires’)”? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • dugong on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:57 pm

that is the nurburgring package LFA which is more like a track car and has roll cage etc.. cost another unit of Nissan GTR ( US85k )more than the stock LFA.

The stock LFA is slower than the stock ferrari 458, Nissan GTR or murcielago LP 670 around the track, acceleration or top speed.

• ipohzai on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:05 pm

super dream car… I like this design more than GTR35… Btw, why u all wan to argue… Got money geh then buy la… Diff ppl got diff thinking…. Pls dun act like a pro or rich guy talking sumthing u will buy it… Ppl do review also say sum beh song geh thing… tiu nia sing…

• I wonder if Orido Manabu gets one of this. Good upgrade for his legendary Ridox Supra.