VIDEO: Proton P3-22A cruising on the highway

This short video shows a Proton Preve Hatchback (codenamed P3-22A) cruising on the fast lane on what’s described as the Elite Highway, with a Volkswagen Polo Sedan trailing behind it.

In the second half of the short video, the Polo Sedan starts to tailgate the P3-22A for a brief moment, but the P3-22A went on about its business.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• downsys on Jan 12, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Is he driving while recording? Seems dangerous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • jolly_idiot on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Seems it’s being chasing by the Polo Sedan and can’t escape from it.

Aiyo… Polo Sedan is 1.6 MPI only. Preve Hatch no power? or no balls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 114
    • jun jun on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:31 pm

LOL JALAN RAYA BUKAN TEMPAT LUMBA….manyak mengong lu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
    • pirlo on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:30 pm

a kancil driver who overtake a slower buggati veyron, doesnt show that kancil is powerful than buggati

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 3
    • doomsday Robot on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:19 pm

the POLO is a benchmark car for it. this is a standard practice everywhere to get the closest rival drive along with the prototype car. I assume the POLO belomgs to PROTON team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • sleman on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:14 am

me thinks the polo wants to go fast, but the poton blocking his way. talk about hogging the right lane, duhh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
        • tompok-tompok on Jan 20, 2013 at 10:44 pm

I believe that polo sedan is escorting that preve hatchback.

• Julian Lee on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:20 pm

hahaha proton too slow, even polo sedan tailgating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 90
    • Sharon on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:34 pm

It is all depends whether u push hard or not. Or follow the road speed limits or not. Always makes nonsense statement when it’s about Proton.

So sorry to you, one named already idiot in it and one JL always a blind basher

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
  • hamiton on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:28 pm

maybe he was driving a left hand drive car, so that could be his passenger :D

• protonkualitimcmbontotkuali on Jan 12, 2013 at 3:46 pm

second!!! LOL

• Preve cafe 205nm of torque vs polo sedan na 1.6 130++nam torque….a polo hatch tsi or a 1.4tsi golf will be more appropriate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • Kerala on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:35 pm

This car is do or die for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • mirsy on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:36 pm

mmmm…….somehow i believe that the polo is the P3-22A escort. Preventing other car from coming behind. See how fast he close the gap when the other car approach fast from behind to take a closer look… Just my opinion

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
    • pirlo on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:33 pm

normally, proton staffs will have an escort during prototype car driving-session. it is to prevent public from viewing it closer.

my friend told that even the management request the driving session to be done in the night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Road test only at night? It should be day or night, rain or shine, hot or cold, bla bla bla.

• Superman on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I agree with you Bro…

• exJAVANESE on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:22 am

hmmm…make sense.. :D

• NIEKO on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:41 pm

ohmy this looks like taken straight out of a chase seen in an spy triller

• NIEKO on Jan 12, 2013 at 4:48 pm

the Preve HB driver dose not even think that a Polo sedan is worth scofing

• Absolute Rider on Jan 12, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Protonian, please read my previous comments. Thank you very much. Hahaha….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • why the preve hatchback’s rim didn’t move at all? seem like it’s a fake video =.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
    • how about this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y3VsPURtVR8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • its me on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:42 pm

haha..

• Kalun on Jan 12, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Have you heard about video camera frame per second?
      It’s obvious the rotation of the wheel is faster than the frame per second of a camera.
      Actually, our eyes have the maximum of 30 fps. So, if you observe a moving propeller in a light aircraft, it looks stagnant or slow moving. It is due to our eye refresh rate.

• Gonzague on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Watch a 60 fps video and a 30 fps one. You’ll clearly see the difference.

• exJAVANESE on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:24 am

mann…you’re so retarded! get life! :D

• _xXx_ on Jan 12, 2013 at 6:36 pm

stupid proton road hogger, get the hell outta my way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
  • Xefron on Jan 12, 2013 at 6:59 pm

the polo is protecting the preve hatchback :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…Why they use non proton car as escort? I dont think that is escort.

• Tune man on Jan 12, 2013 at 7:01 pm

After the quick video clip, I think the Polo is just an escort for the Preve where testing and performance are be to recorded.

PS: If the Polo is to drive so near to the Preve to avoid others to take pictures, I will just squeeze into the small gap afterall, Malaysia what also Boleh

• The Polo Sedan was tailgating the preve because he dont want cameraman car to overtake him..

• Let me guess, the guy who recorded this must be from Proton also. Marketing business only la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • pirlo on Jan 12, 2013 at 8:37 pm

your assumption is wrong.

all automakers prefer to have a driving session for the prototype car in public road without attracting any attention. they dont want other competitors know what is their next product coming up. it also can affect their current product in the market. if not, why in the hell they need all the camouflage?

• Never heard of intentional product leak? Well, you’ve learned something new today. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • You mean you actually guessing this? They have been doing these quite some time already.

• Ah Zai on Jan 12, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Road hoggers detected!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Prebet on Jan 12, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Lol the rims doesnt move..fake tyre!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • exJAVANESE on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:28 am

Again……you’re so retarded! did you know video camera frame per 2nd?

• SUV lover on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:52 am

agree~the polo sedan is the escort for the preve hatchback…to prevent ppl fr taking closer look, recording, and so on..but it seems that he failed..lol~

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 13, 2013 at 8:44 am

Whats so exciting about this car? This is just a waste of bandwith….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • Jilbaber on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:34 am

I will call the police to find this Izarul guy..stupid people like him doing something irresponsible act while driving cause road accident all this while

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Expatriate VN on Jan 13, 2013 at 12:00 pm

This butt-less Preve sibling is doom to fail, as in bygone time, many comments Savvy failed because it is butt-less until come out with Saga!!!!!! Nevertheless, what choice do this Jaguh Kampung No. 2 have?

Just “transformer-here-transformer-there” for the sake of syiok sendiri to create more models!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
  • sudonano on Jan 13, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Didn’t get caught by AES? :O

• niceone on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:39 pm

AES is not yet available in that stretch of road on ELITE. just police’s mobile speed trap camera sometimes is placed there.

• Costwise on Jan 13, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Taking risk to get onto Paultan webpage…should not encourage the public!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • unnon on Jan 13, 2013 at 7:00 pm

from side view, it does have the lexus ct200 kind-of-look. this preve HB looks great! juz hope the rear lights are awesome enough.

• Peter on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:00 am

Why the wheels of the proton car seems didn’t rotate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • gOOsh on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:34 pm

buah cempedak di luar pagar,
      ambil galah tolong jolokkan,
      Peter budak baru belajar,
      kalau salah korang tolonglah tunjukkan.. :)