Next-gen Corolla renderings based on Furia Concept

Corolla_Furia_Theo_front

Our Toyota Corolla Furia Concept post from last week received plenty of attention on both paultan.org and our Facebook page, and we’re guessing it’s because no one expected such a look from a Toyota Corolla, even if it’s just a concept. In the face of flashy rivals, Toyota knows it needs to take a bolder approach for the Corolla, the epitome of safe (and staid) design.

“This exciting compact sedan concept hints at the styling cues consumers can expect to see on the next-generation Corolla. The concept represents an exterior styling study by Toyota designers, and it builds on the brand’s product development priority to develop more dramatic, expressively designed vehicles,” the press release reads.

Toyota wanted a “more stable, athletic stance” and so the Furia Concept is 45 mm wider than the current Corolla Altis, while sitting 40 mm closer to the ground. Given the release of detailed dimensions and the tone of the press release, we figured that the Furia Concept is close to production, minus flashy showcar details, so we commissioned top automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin to come up with a toned-down Furia.

Here’s what Theo thinks the next-generation Toyota Corolla will look like, based on the Furia Concept. The pic with the white background is his pre-Furia Corolla rendering, based on the front-end of the Auris hatchback that debut in August 2012. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:12 pm

I like the design, look simple and conservative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
    • Vader on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:18 pm

the previous furia concept look more origin than this, this renderings front look like forte..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
      • jun jun on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:53 pm

YEA RIGHT,HEADLAMP LOOK LIKE 2010 KIA FORTE…WOWHOOOOOO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 33
      • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Toyota copy Kia Design? I vote this as the joke of the century

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 50
        • toyoda on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:12 pm

nobody here say toyota copy kia design..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
        • Vader on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Muahahahaaa… hey hilux enthusiasm, don’t be so sensitive.
          My comment just try to say the furia is better looking and the rendering by Theophilus one is more alike Forte. Please don’t twist my statement to say that Toyota copy Kia.
          Besides, not easy to be the joke of the century, since someone statement is far ahead this..
          “Korean car price drop >50% just after 1 year.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:45 am

Reality hurts. Try getting a Forte and trade in within 6 month.

You will see 2 Hilux instead of 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Hola next gen of new Taxi in Thailand,Taiwan and Indo! and it’s just looks like a year 2008 Kia Forte lolx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • mark forever on Jan 21, 2013 at 6:50 pm

I never like theophilus chin design. simply copy and paste. and is so arrogant to call himself automative manipulator.

Toyota has it’s own design. Theophilus chin pls dun simply copy Forte desgin and slap on it. Theophilush SHOUD HAVE use the CORROLA AURIUS for the front and rear!

Truly dissapointed with theophilus chin and paultan.. since paultan also put it’s trademark there.. omg..sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 32
  • observer on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:27 pm

If the next altis this good, civic better go for major cosmetic surgery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • The wheelbase needs to be shorten. Other than its an excellent looking car, conservative and simpler design. I like how Theophilus kept some of the side skirt flick and that aggressive bumper design. Though I still wish that the headlights blending into the honeycomb grill to be retain. It’ll be amazing if the Next Altis to look anything that resembles this design.

• Paul Tan on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:55 pm

These renderings were developed based on the Corolla Furia concept, which had a long wheelbase look. The next gen Corolla will have a longer wheelbase.

http://paultan.org/2013/01/16/toyota-corolla-furia-concept-previews-next-gen-corolla-altis-bigger-body-edgier-design/

• Yeah I know it is based on the Furia concept, I also find the Furia wheelbase just a bit too long for that car, I think theophilus is capable of shortening the rear doors just a little. The rear doors proportion looks like it’s from a Conti LWB car, not a Japanese C-segment car. Well it’s my opinions anyways.

• the between-lower-middle-income people on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:03 pm

wow..does it come with 1.6 basic?

• Mackaroni on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:07 pm

if toyota hired theo as their designer, i think their sales will hike up like hell..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • it cant be that good…..toyota will always find ways to give u the uncle-lish look cars, no matter what we said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Uncle Looks better that the Hailat Looks when you try to sell a kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • So-hai Sam loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:27 pm

I don’t have the hailat look when im selling my Z4. It seems the 2.4 camry owner have the so-hai look when they buying one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • you think toyota will ended up like that….dream on bro!
          Theopilus Chin design may look good here…but at the end of the day! u will find the Toyota people will cut everything out and leave you with smallest wheels(the most is 16inch rims), donut tyres….and a lot of gaps between the tyre and the body panel!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:26 pm

U mean your Z4 is a kimchi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Sam lu on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:48 pm

Kia Forte better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Sohai-Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2013 at 2:19 am

My Z4 rv suppose to be lower than the toyota camry. Explained why is higher than toyota? So don’t just judge the KIMCHI and conti that is lower rv than the japs. You just the unlucky one! So pls don’t just said all the car has lower rv than the japs pls!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Lemme have the tow truck operator you use to call when your Z4 sui kwan and kwai tai. I have many requests coming in for good operators nowadays, from conti car owners

• gomotech.com on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:23 pm

nampak jahat la design ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • if this concept really come true..the next thing i’ll be looking for is the safety…………airbags and all that

• gOOsh on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm

i like…

• lembu jinni on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:32 pm

don’t forget to swap the emblem logo to SCION

• theothebuatpalataw on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Theo strikes again dengan buat kepala taw dia. i hate theo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • veedub on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:24 pm

nice…looks like a sedan version European Auris…

anyway, why are most Euro version have better looking/qualities compared to North Amnerican/rest of the world version (not limited to Toyotas, even Honda’s (civic/accord euro version looks bttr & bttr quality)and even Hyundai’s/kia’s (i40 is much bttr than the Sonata that the rest of the world gets…interior(nice soft touch interior) & handling)

• vios. on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:56 pm

i will buy this. sure…

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 21, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Front looks too much like an Acura stablemate.

With HID and LED headlights filtering down to lower models, perhaps we might see something truly unique like the original Furia headlamps. ( which at first I had thought Toyota nicked the name off the Mazda race concept – Furai

• Celicazz on Jan 21, 2013 at 6:31 pm

theo’s 1st rendering, plus the furia concept’s kink is the most likely, toyota wont go too far for side profilings, it’s their engineering checksheets wont allow much.

at least, its going somewhere rather than thr civic.

• Davinnci on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Ada traction control Bo?

• Loubna on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:22 pm

While the Furia Concept is cool hardly we can expect it emerged into production.

Sedan variant of Auris Estate/Hatchback is mire possible.

• So-hai Sam loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:30 pm

If this design, civic, forte can RIP.

• Looks good ^^

• c14man on Jan 21, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Nice. Not unexpected considering the drastic design shift as evidenced by the current lexus design language and not to forget the nice looking Toyota Avalon. Doesn’t like how the C-pillar looks like latio sedan though. Prefer a more slopping coupe like finishing.

• Bullshittin Utama on Jan 21, 2013 at 8:30 pm

theophilus for president! if the production version looks anything like this, it will sell like hot cake in malaysia…

• HONpengDA on Jan 21, 2013 at 8:35 pm

the front look like acura rlx. toyota copy from honda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 1:25 am

Toyota can copy Honda and vice versa.

But sushi never need to copy kimchi, coz kimchis a 2 grades below

• looks exactly like honda accord euro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Grant on Jan 21, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Very good effort Theophilus!!

• HONpengDA on Jan 21, 2013 at 10:44 pm

look like exactly acura ilx,toyota copy from honda!

• civic on Jan 22, 2013 at 1:51 am

if the design cues been maintain, or at least look like this, i’m sure the upcoming forte n current elantra will ‘bungkus’ the current altis also got Dual vvti, hoping the safety features wise.

• Sam Loo on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:53 pm

When it comes the time to sell the kimchi, the used car fella will bungkus the owner with ultra low rv, with industry rule of 50% depreciation in 1 year

• viossshhh on Jan 22, 2013 at 2:06 am

It will not be like that

• Joe Radzif on Jan 22, 2013 at 8:29 am

this one quite hensem…

• civicEK on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:08 am

it wont happen la, in d end d design will be back to uncle-ish style.

• Abg Long on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:42 pm

theo, IMHO the position of the fog lamp is awkward. not nice at all, proton design is a lot better.

• Car Lover on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:12 pm

I will buy this toyota.

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:47 am

Kimchi Forte and Elantra sales rep need to get diapers nowaday because they will keep peeing in their pants with this news

• strangerr on Jan 24, 2013 at 3:19 pm

Not Bad even though look little bit forte, still better than current altis..

• Jerry Tan on Jan 25, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Preve & Preve hatchback better….. yay, everyone happy now

• blaze on Jan 26, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I love reading sam loos Comebacks. Theyre really funny.. I dont Own a Kimchi nor a toyota tho..

• Sam Loo on Feb 03, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Used kimchi dealers now equip their premise with acoustic rooms for them to shout Hai Lat…

• Ong chin aun on May 22, 2013 at 10:18 am

Since the car is larger and longer, 1.6 liter with improvement is wonderful. Also should be given option of trasmission either Auto or Manual. Hope also the BN govt , promised to lower car price soon. Action speak louder than words.