Renault Megane RS 265 Cup launched – RM235k

DSC_0132b

TC Euro Cars has launched the updated version of the Megane RS 250 Cup, one of yours truly’s personal favourites. Called the Renault Megane RS 265 Cup, the new car looks largely similar to the original except for a few details, but boasts more power and more torque.

If you’re wondering, the few details include headlamps with a “smoked” look, more prominent DRLs (six LEDs compared to three), and 18-inch “Tibor” wheels in matte black. The latter sports curved spokes and an RS logo, quite different from the diamond-badged star-spoke wheels of the RS 250.

Inside, it’s a familiar environment save for the addition of gloss black trim (AC vent surrounds, steering spoke, door grips, centre console), carbon-effect finish for the door cards and a shiny top for the gear knob. The yellow face of the rev counter is out, replaced by a grey background.

DSC_0136b

Also, the edges of the fabric Recaro bucket seats are now in leather, making it more resistant to wear. The audio head unit is a newer item that integrates USB and AUX-in.

On to more substantial stuff. The familiar 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine now makes 265 hp and 360 Nm, which is 15 hp and 20 Nm up on the RS 250. Peak torque is also available across a broader rev-range, from 3,000 to 5,000 rpm, as opposed to the previous fixed point of 3,000 rpm.

To achieve this, Renault Sport upped turbo pressure by 0.2 bar to 2.5 bar, while the air intake design has been revised to take the higher pressure and higher running temperatures into account. Specific power is now 132.5 hp/litre, up from 125.

DSC_0134b

Performance figures have been bumped up in the process – the 0-100 km/h time is shaved by a tenth to make 6.0 seconds flat, while top speed is 250 km/h. As is usually the case with upgrades like this, the extra drivability is not reflected in the bare figures.

Renault is keen to remind us that the Megane RS 265 Cup is the fastest front-wheel drive car that has ever lapped the Nurburgring at 8:07.97. Closer to home, the 265 betters the RS 250’s Sepang lap time by two seconds – 2:41 vs 2:43 – driven by experienced racer Denis Lian. Stock car, stock tyres.

“Like the Megane RS 250, the way the 265 chassis rotates feels like a RWD, but in a more progressive fashion. It helps you turn into bends quicker and get on the power earlier. Overall the car just felt more resolved,” Lian said via video.

Note that the full 265 hp/360 Nm is available in Sport mode and ESP Off modes. In the former, ESP and ASR are still active, although they intervene at a later point and allow some slide. In ESP On mode, one gets to use 250 hp/340 Nm. In other words, the 265 is a 250 until you enter Sport mode.

Goodies like the mechanical limited slip differential (LSD), Renault Sport’s “Perfohub” independent steering axis front suspension and RS Monitor are carried over.

The black car you see in the pics is the limited edition Megane RS Red Bull Racing RB7. Painted in Etoile Black with yellow accents and sporting RBR stickers and a chequered flag design roof, only five examples have been brought in.

DSC_0149b

TC Euro Cars have gone the extra mile by getting F1 triple world champion Sebastian Vettel to sign a plaque for the five Malaysian-bound cars. At the launch, we heard that four of the five cars have already been accounted for.

The Megane RS 265 Cup is priced at RM234,526.80 OTR without insurance, which is just around RM5,000 more than RS 250’s November 2010 launch price. If you’re interested in the last unit of the RB7, it’s going for RM243,292.80 OTR without insurance.

At the launch event yesterday evening, TC Euro Cars also announced the 2013 RS Track Day dates, and the RS Collectif Owners Club was officially launched. RS Collectif membership is open to all Renault Sport owners regardless of make and model.

DSC_0138b

Click here to read our first review of the Megane RS 250 Cup, done back in October 2010. Since then, we’ve tried the same yellow car on track and in “mundane mode” as a daily driver. We hope to sample this one in the near future, of course, so stay tuned.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• My neighbor has one, and boy does it feel good when it drives by. I really respect this people, buying a car that sacrifice features for speed. Love to have one if not for the lack of financial backing and the Focus ST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:19 am

In the UK, Renault is such a top brand. I hope the local distributor does not become like Fiat, Audi or Citroen, where, given a good brand but don’t know how to handle the brand. If the brand is properly nurtured, it can even overtake Toyota and Honda. This is because the younger generation have realised that they have been conned with cars by the Japanese with very low safety features. You see, even the Toyota Camry, priced at RM180,000, does not even have the most basic safety feature of ESC (electronic Stability Control).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • true but unfortunately as much as i would love to own a french car, these french cars can be pretty expensive thanks to taxes…

• younger generation have realised that they have been conned with cars by the Japanese with very low safety features? All my friends that are have in ‘P’ in their licence likes Honda, KIA and Ford. Ask them Hyundai, and they say is too fat. Honda is their overall favorite, the CRZ and the Jazz hybrids, so not sure which Young generation you are saying about.

And yeah we get the point, Camry has no VSC, how long will this rent continue? And I don’t get why Honda is dragged down, they still have 2 airbags throughout the range and ABS /EBD and VSC. The CRZ and CBU Jazz comes with 6 airbags, so until they launch the next gen CRV or Accord with lesser features, I don’t see why Honda is bad. Oh okay, the Jazz CKD is a HUUGE LET DOWN.

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:30 pm

PT should set the comments so that everyone can reserve their name…

However I do agree with fake Sam Loo. What is needed are reasonable models at reasonable prices (which Renault most certainly has). TCEAS only brings in the performance models though :(

• even porsche gt2 rs and cayman r have a hard time getting away from this car in the nurburgring

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Only when the Stig drives the Megane and James May drives the Porsche. On valium. I mean come on, the Megane is brilliant, but isn’t that a bit unrealistic?

• dont take my word for it look at youtube there are plenty of videos showing these megane rs’s tailgaiting gt2 rs and cayman r and other higher lvl cars. in the end they give way to the megane cause they are afraid they might get overzealous and crash

• Yes the Megane RS is the fastest ever FF production car ever lapped the Nurburgring. But from the video you’ve watched, there are many similar cases where a much faster car is driven by not-so-capable driver, but a very talented driver drives a moderate-performance car.
          Take a look at Nurburgring’s official lap times to see the actual time margin for these cars.

• lets forget about the records because even the most talented drivers find it dificult to match these times, lets not forget that the ring has 147 corners and even on small tracks such as sepang an average drivers like you and me usually go around a corner 3 seconds + slower than professionals with experience.

• joanna on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:05 am

If you ask Proton die-hard fans which are many in this website, they will tell you that Preve and Neo can beat this RS265 like a hero.
    Haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 39
    • samkoo on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:17 am

If you ask … die-hard fans which are many in this website, they will tell you that … can beat this RS265 like a hero.

~feel free to fill in~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Honda lover on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:57 am

Compare this French monster to the potong junk??Gilaa betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • crzSupercharger on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Dun worry honda lover, we ll eat this french fries for lunch n dinner.

• im off with Audi TT

• This is it! The RB7 looks stunning. A driver’s car with superb handling. Would love to have this baby in my garage and only use it during the weekends.

• kancil turbo on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:08 am

i think better buy lotus evora or exige @proton car than this for the same amount of the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Gavin on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:34 am

i get the impression if i see one, it’s either going to tailgating somebody in a jam, left overtaking, basically just being an annoying driver because i’ve got a powerful car

• wow, smoking hot.. and can even smoke GTI for lunch. tats awesome.. RM235k is a good deal for this car.

• Kalun on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:33 am

I want one! 265 is pretty decent compare to Focus RS500.

• gOOsh on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:06 am

superb… IF have extra money, this car will be mine…

• tokmoh on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:39 am

RM250k can get you:

1. A super hothatch with the GODDAMN TRIPLE WORLD CHAMPION’S signature

2. Feel raped by UMW for the GT86

Amazing that Vettel’s signature only cost RM15,000. Proton charged more I believe for Tun’s for their 25 year anniversary edition, which didn’t sell too well hahahaha

• NISSAN on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:46 am

this one or the 86 is better?

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:02 pm

Different. This one is bloody fast, and even a bit practical. The 86 is not practical, at all, and it is not terribly fast. But it seems like it will make you look like an imbecile, smiling all the way. So basically you want to win, or you want to have the time of your life?

As much as I like Renault (3rd Renault in the family now…), and dislike Toyota, I think I’d pick the Toyota. Maybe can change badge to Renault.

• The 86 is RWD, and is a Toyota. in other words, it really puts a smile in yer face, both fun wise and cost-of ownership wise. So long you opt the 3 -pedals version.

• Pelar on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:31 pm

I test drove a megane in pj before I bought a manual 86. Megane’s gearbox is slick while 86’s is notchy. The former felt a lot faster & powerful than 86. The interior finishing is a class above 86… BUT I can driftpark in my 86 which I suspect cannot be done in the megane. Also 86 has quite a bit of squeaky sound in the boot after drifting too much, it has character. The ergonomics in 86 is perfect.

• Megane RS and GT86 are like apple and orange. Totally different; chassis, handling etc. Their similarity is that they offer pure, raw driving experiences.

• intermilan on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:18 am

The best of the breed.

The major drawback is that it is handled by Tan Chong (via TC Euro).

Renault spare part price in Malaysia, which is control by them, are known to be super crazy expensive among Conti car users. Ask around.

By the way, how about the warranty coverage?
    5 years unlimited mileage? or…
    just 2 years / 60,000km whichever come first? or
    3 years / 60,000km whichever come first? or
    3 years / 100,000km whichever come first?

Do the warranty coverage extend to usage of car at track days that they arranged?

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:04 pm

TC has great service and the SC aren’t overcharging IMHO. Spare parts may be a bit on the expensive side, but then I’ll simply buy the parts from Singapore. Can cut the price at least into half, usually more. The SC is so nice to install the parts for me (yes, installation won’t be FoC then, but you still save a ton).

• Look at all theses cars i cannot afford….

• SUPERBBB….If I got money I want to buy this, Focus ST, Scirocco R and Golf R…hahaha. Their power, speed and handling is enough for me. Doesn’t need that expensive Ferrari and Lamborghini…

• crzSupercharger on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:25 pm

U forgot to mention CRZ the power of dream that’s it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • got a pic on the signed plaque? only the 5 units in msia was signed? were overseas RB7 signed as well?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:40 pm

We couldn’t find it on the display car. As mentioned, the signed plaque is a “Malaysian exclusive”

• David D on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Mmm, a monster of a hatchback, which has gone from being a dissappointing hot hatch, straight up to being one of the best drivers cars. And the one thing i liked driving this car? The bloody slick gearbox and the sharp agility of the chassis. Oh, and the superbly fantastic body-gripping Recaro seats.

With that, the Golf GTI could be looking at a hard time trying to scoop back the title of best drivers hot hatch.

• Kumar san on Feb 04, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Hi David,how are you doing?just got back from overseas helping my buddy doing development work on a new model i’m helping him with for a manufacturer.

I own the previous RS250 CUP,it’s the best front wheel drive driver’s car i have ever owned,not excluding the legendary Peugeot 205 GTI 1.9 which i owned while i was in the States for more than 25 years-This i purchased it from France and shipped it to Detroit.The french somehow make very focused and driver orientated front wheel drive hot hatches.For those of you who have pelted a 205 GTI hard you will know exactly what i’m talking about.

Nevertheless,this latest RS265 is a pretty good deal if you ask me,my RS 250 has been tuned by myself to put out just under 345 bhp at front wheels,with this power,it hits the ultimate sweet spot in it’s chassis’s limitations,i tweaked the chassis further and it’s absolutely sublime to drive now.I’m done fettling with it and despite that power increase it’s suprisingly very reliable,it has never given me a problem thus far,and it has been more than a year and i drive it really hard.

I’m absolutely smitten by it and i am very happy with my purchase.Since my eldest daughter drives a manual here too(i got her a Clio RS200 Cup for her 21st birthday and we both love Renaults),so she had a whale of a time driving my Megane while i was away.

Cheers.

• carnoisseur on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:49 pm

certainly a drivers car !

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Dear TCEAS: It’s nice that you are having a laugh, but maybe, just maybe, you might consider actually SELLING cars? Renault looks like it becomes more exclusive than Porsche in Malaysia. Renault is known as a maker of sensible, affordable cars. Yet those are completely missing from the line up.

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:10 pm

I mean, look how gaga people are going over the new Rio. The new Clio makes that Rio look like a boring, outdated, ugly car.

Don’t you think that at 70-85k (depending on the spec) there wouldn’t be buyers for it? Very low FC, very good looks, very low road tax, and a nice, modern and customizable interior (looks like you can easily change the design, like with old Nokia phones).

• Le Croissant on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:31 pm

I think the issue is the CBU pricing. TCEC won’t be able to sell the basic Renaults at a competitive enough pricing in a field with lots of other cheaper options. The basic Clio would probably cost closer to RM100k which would make it harder to sell. Take the Laguna Coupe for example. They had to sell it at RM200k+ due to import duties etc, which positioned it squarely against the premium brands. Needless to say, it didn’t do very well.

• kadajawi on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:26 pm

You have a point there. Then screw the government and produce it in Thailand or Indonesia. Also low taxes. They can also try to bring in the hybrid, once it is ready.

• kiah pro-pa on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:13 pm

i thought it’s the new rio..wrong page

• Jimmy on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Sports cars have the target customers. Without sunroof, it is as stingy as 1986.

• darker marker on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:06 pm

good looking car….powderful engine….i like

• NIEKO on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Renualt I love you

• JeremyNg on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:49 am

Danny,

Just wonder, willy you do a comparison test between this Renault Megane RS265 with Ford Focus ST ??!!

• wow…i love the price. thought it would be higher