Up to 37.5% highway toll discounts to be had this CNY

kuang-toll1

Toll rebates and discounts of between five and 37.5% are to be had on 24 expressways during this Chinese New Year, reports Bernama.

Expressways under PLUS would be giving a 20% rebate this Thursday and February 15, and a 30% rebate this Sunday, according to Works Minister Datuk Seri Shaziman Abu Mansor. He added that other highways are giving between 15 and 37.5% discounts from or on Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

Shaziman asked contractors to stop construction tasks along highways except for critical works to avoid congestion and in support of Ops Selamat, which began yesterday and will go on until February 17.

He also asked concessionaires to increase the frequency of patrols along expressways and to alert users on congestion, amongst other information.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ben yap on Feb 05, 2013 at 5:04 pm

take away the shut down the AES too to avoid congestion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • BMW Fanboi on Feb 05, 2013 at 5:06 pm

YES!!!!!!!!!! Now this is helping the rakyat. I am voting wisely this time round. Not for janji janji kosong Penipu Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • polo saga on Feb 05, 2013 at 5:07 pm

election is around the corner, now BN try to put up a show? kiss my ass!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Hahahaha on Feb 06, 2013 at 12:03 pm

the toll discount has been around for years la, better still just abolish it

• MYFOOT on Feb 05, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Looking forward to 100% discount after the 13th General Election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • infinity on Feb 05, 2013 at 5:16 pm

is the discount direct from the toll booth or do we need to claim it back from their respective office?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Pontiac on Feb 05, 2013 at 6:30 pm

U new in malaysia? Just came back from australia? Its a rebate directly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • infinity on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:28 pm

as a matter of fact, i did…LOL..how did you know?

• infinity on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:48 am

Hey, Pontiac (the Malaysian who laughs at Australian who doesn’t know about toll rebate), check this out:

http://www.plus.com.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=180%3Aplus-offers-toll-rebate-this-chinese-new-year-holidays&catid=1%3Apress-releases&Itemid=173&lang=en

You have to claim the toll rebate at PLUS’ office.

Always remember, the one who laughs last, laugh best! Happy Chinese New Year! LOL!!!

• Idham on Feb 13, 2013 at 1:34 pm

For the last rebate (Hari Raya Puasa), I was told to go to their office. But every time, they say, the rebate not in yet :(

• Lane tamer on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Yeah, rite. Valid from 12 in the midnite up til 6 in the morning not? Come on!!!

• is our money to build it! you call it discount?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
  • Mooncake on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:53 pm

If you’re sincere in giving a rebate for the rakyat, give it on Fri and Sat. Why give it on Thu and Sun which has the least traffic? This is another example of Duit Didahulukan, Keuntungan Diutamakan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Why do it on the day with least traffic?

To encourage people to go back on the day with lesser traffic rather than together gather jam jam balik kampung lo.

• then they should rebate more on Thurs, rebate less on Fri, and Sat… and not giving any rebate at all on Fri and Sat. Really not sincere in giving rebate at all.

• “The toll rebate will be given to users paying toll electronically using the PLUSMiles card, Touch ‘n Go card and SmartTAG at PLUS-operated highways. ”

http://www.plus.com.my/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=180%3Aplus-offers-toll-rebate-this-chinese-new-year-holidays&catid=1%3Apress-releases&Itemid=173&lang=en

So, pay cash wont get rebate.

• kamal on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:58 am

In Thailand, it is free for one week for every festive season.
    It is also free when natural disaster occur such as during flooding last year.
    We could learn from them.

• Black Dog on Feb 06, 2013 at 1:46 pm

And many ‘sohai’ still wasting their time queuing to pay cash thus causing congestion at the toll booths. Touch n Go cards only cause Rm10 (cost of a meal). Stop wasting your bloody time and causing inconvenience to others!

• Seriously, we deeply need the gantry system like ERP Singapore. Sometimes smart tag lane also jammed lor..