2013 Nissan Teana launched – now with Blind Spot Warning System and black interior; RM173k for 2.5 V6

2013NissanTeana_liveshots_012

As speculated yesterday, ETCM’s Facebook teasers were indeed of the new 2013 Nissan Teana, but instead of mid-life facelift, it’s just a minor product update. The introduction of Blind Spot Warning System (BSW) on the 2.5 litre V6 variant takes centre stage, and with the RVM-equipped new Mazda6 still a month away, the Nissan Teana becomes the first D-segment vehicle to offer such a feature. Just.

Nissan’s BSW uses two 24GHz radar sensors mounted inside the rear bumper to detect moving objects within the driver’s blind spots. The driver will then be alerted of potential threats within the alert zone – first via the LED indicators mounted next to the wing mirrors and, should the driver fail to notice the visual warning and uses the turn indicators to signal a lane change manoeuvre anyway, an audible buzzer comes on. The secondary warning – the buzzer – only comes into play if the turn signals are used when changing lanes.

2013NissanTeana_liveshots_020

The most visible change is the black interior on the 2.5 litre V6 model (the base 2.0 litre soldiers on with the older beige cabin). The dark-brown wood trim is new as well, as are the full-leather steering wheel (previously part wood/leather combination). Unique for a Japanese car is the new on-roof console illumination.

It’s not a full-fledged facelift so exterior changes are limited to the front grille (the inner blades are now highlighted with smoked chrome elements), standard all-around bodykit and rear lip spoiler. The body add-ons are all new, and are visually different compared to the old aerokit (below right) offered as a cost option before.

There are no changes under the hood, so you still get the same 2.5 litre V6 engine with 182 hp and 228 Nm of torque. The four-cylinder 2.0 litre variant is still available of course, but misses out on the new black interior and BSW.

The mildly updated Nissan Teana 2.5 V6 is priced at RM173,100 (on the road with insurance), which is a slight increase from the older model’s RM173,017.10 (it was launched in 2010 with an introductory price of RM168,000). Book one by March 31, and you’ll enjoy 0% hire purchase interest rate for the first 12 months of ownership. That’s a saving of up to RM8,888.

2013NissanTeana_liveshots_017

Nissan has sold over 8,000 units of the Teana since its initial launch, and is currently the second best selling D-segment sedan in Malaysia with a 16.3% market share. No prizes for guessing who’s on top.

So what do you think of the new 2013 Teana? Is it fresh enough to take on its fast-improving class rivals?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• vee-oh on Feb 21, 2013 at 3:46 pm

i’ll go for Teana 2.5 or Mazda6 2.5 over Camry 2.5

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 12
    • AVH® on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:29 pm

I would go for anything other than a 2.5V Camry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 12
    • Mazda 6 better than Teana

Waiting for Nissan salesman to downvote this. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 23
      • Jimmy on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Good move, no price increase, welcome, hope everybody follows, esp Mr U (routinely huge price hike with minor items).
        Everyone of course wish huge improvement overnight. Like semua orang harap jadi kaya overnight.
        ETCM, next move is 6 airbags ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • omg forget about the hideous Camry! maybe u can try this or Mazda 6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • e30ygc on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:03 pm

if you are not yet an ‘uncle’…buying this will definitely make u one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 80
    • Agree with u. My friend at 35 is driving this car, suddenly he looks like 45.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 104
      • Drive this compare with you who drive a vios or civic (lower class for example)..
        this still win =)
        So what.. ppl will call you a rich ‘uncle’ =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • matte on Feb 22, 2013 at 7:45 am

But at 25 when you drive this, suddenly you looks like a ‘limo driver’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Dr Cooper on Feb 23, 2013 at 7:52 am

People will say u just a spoiled son/daughter driving papa or mama’s car to show off friends at party..

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 139
    • Jimmy on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:22 pm

What about looking the car from exactly side view? I mean compare with Mazda 6, Accord and Camry.
      Good move, please puji sikit le.

• oilworker on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:07 pm

I wish BSW stands for Bulls**t wiper..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Shaun on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:09 pm

the interior is nice. i would like to hv one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I wonder which has better RV, nissan teana or preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 95
    • zamer on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:27 pm

your totoya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Philip on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:42 pm

@Sam Loo, if you have studied basic Economics 101, there’s Residual Value (RV) for any and all assets, even for your stinking unwashed underwear.

Talk of Resale Value is totally pointless, useless and senseless.

Other than being a court jester, u r a bigger joker than JOKER. Not only you make buyers confused for nothing, you make owners regret.

What’s your point, idiotic moron?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 17
      • What’s wrong with mentioning rv in car topic? Even European measure it as part of car evaluation, somemore got comparison chart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
        • Philip on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:54 pm

@zack, it’s prudent to talk about residual value NOT resale value. It’s economic.

The Europeans and Americans or what have you are talk about about Residual Value but used the word Resale Value interchangeably,

Besides, unlike this silly oxymoron @Sam Loo, proper car enthusiasts talk about their passion NOT SPREAD FEAR AND CONFUSION. Worse, he semed to be delighted in his fear mongering.

He is entitled to his opinion BUT NOT IN INSTILLING FEAR OR CONFUSION unless he has a darn good reason to do so that do help prospective buyers or owners.

Lastly, this scumbag @Sam Loo should sell more cars if he’s a car salesman or spread his passion for Toyota cars if I were to believed him in the poper way. NOT WASTE HIS TIME OR OUR BANDWIDTH RUNNING DOWN OWNERS OR CONFUSING BUYERS.

@Sam Loo, you go do your job you are employed to do, ie sell more Toyota cars for your BOSS, not Toyota Malaysia.

Tell us who you are, o that if buyers wants to buy Toyota they will buy from you …. NOT ANOTHER TOYOTA DEALER.

Now you understand why I insist calling you an idiotic moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
        • Fahmi on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:22 pm

In Europe, high resale value usually means that the car is a good car.. Trusted, easy got spare parts, reliable, etc…. But in Malaysia?? Not necessarily a good car has a good resale value… And vice versa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • hmm..u must be new here..

although it’s not wrong to mention RV..it just getting so annoying coming from that sad toyolta salestroll SAM LOO over and over again..like a fly on a stinking toilet (loo)..

that’s what’s wrong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • i_swear on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:42 am

Nothing wrong in mentioning RV in car topic.
          But it can quite get on people’s nerve on every topic and each post in this site that only mentioning RV. Just like a broken radio, just have only buzzing sounds.

• Medic on Feb 26, 2013 at 12:38 pm

There’s nothing wrong in mentioning RV generally,but this idiotic moron mentions RV only in relation to his Totoya…Only Totoya got RV,rest bad RV.Sam Loo,u sniff ladies underware for too long..’ku ku liao’

• More or less the same with Camry…

• Carlover on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Nice car, nice spec..Better than Toyota Camry with old design and old engine…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
  • RON97 on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:14 pm

No offence but only blind people will buy this car w/ blind spot warning system.
    Everything about the car & the dealer is suck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 62
    • Pitts on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm

True, just 1 BSW feature added in they make one hoohah. So that those uncles and Ah Pek can brag about it in the coffee shop. Mazda 6 have RVM, LDW, AFS, HBC, SCBS plus loads of Skyactiv technologies and of course the stunning look, just make this Teana ‘launching’ looks silly.

• Jimmy on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Very judgemental, no?
      Everything, hmmm …
      Smooth V6 VQ series, less chance get stolen, VSC (as compared to …..) etc, and if you like, Nissan car models are sold for longer period and spare parts easier to find.
      Baik cakap baik, no telescopic steering cakap tiada, greedy sure kutuk.

• dugong on Feb 22, 2013 at 2:08 pm

actually camry need this feature more than teana. those arrogant camry bas**rds like to sverve in and out without signaling or looking 1st like they own the bloody road.

• Akulah on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Boring..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
  • Interior definitely looks more premium now. Black > cream/beige

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • I would go for mazda6…beauty in n out…plus skyactiv seems to receive much praises all.around the globe…but i just cant wait for the earth dream to be available in malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • _xXx_ on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:48 pm

wow! the car fits the old man well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
  • Carl Wong on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:57 pm

“However, the system will only work if the driver uses the indicators when trying to change lanes.”

LOL………This is a great feature BUT wouldn’t work for a lot of Malaysian drivers……………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 22, 2013 at 12:59 am

A little amendment: the BSW works with or without indicating; the LED light will visually warn the driver of any vehicles within the blind spot regardless of whether the turn signals are used or not. It is the buzzer that’s only operational when the indicators are used.

So whenever there’s a vehicle in the alert zone, the LED light turns on to warn you of the obstruction. If you fail to notice the signal and indicate to change lane anyway, the buzzer comes in as a second warning. If you don’t indicate, well, no buzzer.

Apologies for the confusion.

• Not Ah Beng on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:59 pm

“The driver will then be alerted via the LED indicator mounted next to the wing mirrors or audible buzzer if potential threats are within the alert zone. However, the system will only work if the driver uses the indicators when trying to change lanes.”

Hiya,, Malaysian Ah Beng’s where got use signal one? Sure fail!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 22, 2013 at 1:05 am

Please read the my reply above. BSW works without the turn signals, as the LED indicator is always active. Only the buzzer requires the use of turn signals to come into play.

• gOOsh on Feb 21, 2013 at 5:13 pm

i’ve test drive the 2.5L mazda6 last weekend… personally, this teana cannot match the mazda6 inside out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Because one for the father, Teana and one for the son, Mazda 6. That’s why cannot match…

• honda_fd2r on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:27 pm

why it same lol? just a small fog light?
    who think hes uncle… buy this or camry
    who think hes young executives buy accord or mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • pak long on Feb 21, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Expensive & boring, but lot better than Sam Loo’s Camry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • seriously for me nissan teanna is a big car and good. But i didn’t like its rear design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
  • Teana 2.5 even with BSWS is still rank no. 4 in my buying list which is after
    1. Mondeo 240ps
    2. Pug 508 GT diesel
    3. Mazda 6 2.5
    As normal Camry 2.5 would be still the last one in my buying list.
    The below statement is for Sam Loo.
    Sam Loo,
    If u had a chance to drive Camry 2.5, remember not to follow any of the above mentioned marques too closely during the raining day, bcos we drive real fast, Camry 2.5 does not have VSC, it will skid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:29 pm

My list:
      1. Citroen C5 (very comfortable)
      2. Skoda Superb (comfortable, well built and massive)
      3. Ford Mondeo (good alrounder)
      4. Mazda 6 wagon (wagon, ’nuff said)
      5. VW Passat (because not available as a wagon)
      6. Peugeot 508 wagon diesel
      7. Kia K5
      8. Hyundai Sonata
      9. Nissan Teana
      10. Proton Preve
      11. Honda Accord
      (a ton of other cars)
      100. Toyota Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • Lol… u r real funny~
      Agree to you…. but i personally think that the Blind Spot System is useless… drive carefully can avoid this.. i guess those very experienced driver will agree with me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Jeffwhlim on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Well said GS! EPIC Sarcasm detected! Camry is the WORST D-segment on sale today!

Mazda 6 2.5 Skyactiv ALL THE WAY though it’s priced RM14k, RM 14k and RM13k higher than Sonata 2.4 facelift, Teana 2.5 V6 and lastly, Accord 2.4 respectively!

• albag on Feb 21, 2013 at 8:05 pm

somehow i feel that the photo of the Teana with that old uncle fit very well together…

• i rather wait more longer till the launch of new honda accord and new mazda 6, teana and camry is for old-school ah pek only.

• kadajawi on Feb 21, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Wait, so they chose to add an expensive feature that is useless in Malaysia, cause no one uses their indicators (and it is discouraged by other motorists… give signal, and they will speed up!), rather than to give it ESP (entry level Teana doesn’t have it) or more airbags (again, entry level only has 2)?! Admittedly the 2.0 doesn’t get BSWS either… still, better upgrade the 2.0 rather than to give the 2.5 a not very important feature.

• hondafan on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:36 am

I always give way when ppl use indicator, unless its a large fugly junk eg. hailux/ alfart ( tai gau sui) coz it blocks my whole view of the front road. So i have to speed up.

• DISAPPOINTED except for the black interior

• VW Fanboi on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 109
  • Wake Up guy on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:15 pm

RM173k, if this was in GBP, i could already buy a 458 maa…

• atuk_kau on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Ini kereta baru tapi rupa tua, memang sesuai untuk orang tua, heheheh

• Dennis on Feb 21, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Was hoping for the new Altima 2013. That would beat everyone hands down. When r they launching it? Or will they ever?

• secondary BLIS only works when signal is activated?? I hope this means more of these teana drivers will use their signals now.

• Better buy VW Passat, Pug 508… tis Ah Choong better close shop la. New Accord oso comming. Still selling dated models. Bring in new model la.. ooppss already brought in – the flowerhorn Almera! hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • So this is a car for Manager post. :)

• Marvin on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:11 am

So Hafriz Shah has clarified.
    You don’t need indicators for the BLIS to be activated. It is on all the time and whenever something get into the blind spot, lights will turn on. (except the buzzer)
    Just like the C segment Ford Focus.

• sandeeb on Feb 22, 2013 at 1:49 pm

wow…first time im seeing “old male model”on car launch…ha ha ha…its directly ensure that teana for old people lor

• I owned a Nissan’s B-segment car 10 years ago, but never on any C-segments. I was pretty surprised with Nissan’s technology: reliable and quite engine. Its lower entry new car price also makes Nissan affordable. But, Nissan is always lacking in C-segment market, at least for this Teana. Camry dominates the market and outshines any other rivals.

• Carl Wong on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:42 am

Hi I think Nissan Teana is actually in the D Segment competing with Honda Accord and Toyota Camry. Nissan Sylphy is in the C Segment competing with Honda Civic and Toyota Altis.

• actually those accessories are very common and popular in foreign countries but rare in malaysia. have you seen a car with auto seat belt fasterner? i used it 20 years ago in the States. i have ever asked for rear view camera 10 years ago but no way could i find it. now the device is quite common. these device sometimes are quite useful for passive security but dont know the reason no spare part or accessories shop are selling hot in this region. they ONLY selling tinted film, LED lights, spoiler, woofer … and not related to life safety. how about those imported cars with those devices. where to get fix or replace if they got problems. China got many these things in lower price.

• altimatesss on Feb 22, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Black interior only for the 2.5 ??

What a bummer for this exciting news… Was considering to bring this car back into my potential “to buy” list, but too bad … *putting the money back in my pocket*

• modelle on Feb 23, 2013 at 5:30 am

who is that man? model?

• Ah Beng on Feb 24, 2013 at 3:33 am

Why so expensive?

• Dr inder jeer kaur on Jul 24, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Ever since I bought the 2.5 Teana on 12 of July it has been in the Nissan workshop every day except say and sun because workshop closed .
    Bad choice of car!

• Julian Tiong on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Just to check with you all, Nissan Discontinued the Teana with the 3.5L engine? Or no changes at all on the 3.5L model?