SPYSHOTS: 2013 Toyota Vios snapped undisguised!

toyota-vios-2013-spyshot-3

Reader Jeff has sent in these spyshots of the 2013 Toyota Vios, taken in an unknown location. Following the third-gen car’s introduction in Indonesia, scheduled for the second half of 2013, the Malaysian launch is expected to happen sometime late this year.

Toyota-Vios-2013-2UPDATE: We now have full details on the 2013 Toyota Vios. Click the link to read our detailed story from the 2013 Bangkok Motor Show where the Vios was launched.

Word on the wire is that the new car could be powered by an improved version of the familiar 1.5 litre VVT-i unit. Rumour has it that a CVT is likely, but according to product planners, a four-speed auto remains a possibility.

The third-gen car wears a bold new face, inspired by the likes of the next-gen Corolla Altis and Auris hatchback. Headlamps and grille are joined in a V shape, and a gaping lower grille adds a touch of sporty presence. Those appear to be projector headlamps, too.

Round the back, the tail lamps are bigger and sharper wrap-around units, now bridged by a chrome bar across the length of the boot lid. A cleaner, more grown-up look all round than the outgoing car, we think. What do you think?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Henry Leong on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 218
    • Sam Looi on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 198
      • sepul on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:37 pm

I’m beginning to think you were just being sarcastic with your rants on RV thingy. :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
        • BMW Fanboi on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:51 am

Sam Loo is still a better car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
          • Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:08 am

So many fakes. Everybody want to use my name. Even got supposedly from my dad. I am proud that I have a following and fan base.

On Toyota, although I believe in its quality, mu customers come first. I hope scum company UMW can now give my customers 5 years warranty. VW, Honda, Ford and even kimchi also now give 5 years warranty. I hide my face when I tell my customers Toyota only give 3 years warranty. Yes RV might be great for Toyota, but malu to have 3 years still when even Koreans give 5 years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 16
          • sager on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:20 pm

It’s just look like saga then don’t bother to buy. Better buy saga, the original design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo's dad on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Will this be the next gen of low spec car, bad nvh, and lacking safety feature,so-so handling, but sold at high price but yet received a lot of love by Malaysian?
        jeng jeng jengggggggggggggg
        time will tell.. do the right thing Son

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 16
        • Love it or hate it, it’s gonna sell in very high numbers. Judging by the looks, it could be the best selling foreign car in Malaysia when it launches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
        • Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:43 am

You are not my dad but I can see you are my fan. Nice to see people worship me. Just to shock my fans, I have to admit pseudo dad, what you say is true. UMW will pull a fast want and take out the safety features like they did on the Camry.

But whatever it is, Toyota in Malaysia has a blind following. No matter what UMW does, people will buy it. If I was neutral and don’t work with Toyota, I would say Malaysians are pretty stupid to buy Toyota. Always being compromised by UMW. Service centre also ketuk you guys with super super super high prices.

But in reality I work for Toyota and I cannot eat and shit in the same plate. You fans of mine will always hear me sing praises for Toyota and its RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Yeah!! Buy! Buy! Buy! then Sell! Sell! Sell! Very high resale value!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • JUNJUN on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:36 pm

I TOT PLOTON SAGA FACELIFT …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 57
      • Myproton on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:10 pm

you and me must be stuck with ploton for the next nine years, forcing to love our awful badge for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
      • VW Polo sedan is more like a Saga compare to this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
      • Leena77 on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:52 am

hahahha…can be shoot by c4 by die hard fan of vios….hahahha

• kak peah nk pancut on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:40 pm

yah nice mcm proton saga hahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 23
      • OMG…Dont try to link this to proton saga.This Vios look nicer than current 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
        • whatevaa on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:26 am

WHATEVAAAA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:56 pm

orly?

vios rip off saga flx headlamp wei!!!!!
          and you go like “this bios look nicer then the current ones?!?!”

my foot…vios never been a nice car..thanks to inferior shallow ass hat like you simply jump to conclusion that the car is nice…you know what nice? SAGA! SAGA FLX! THAT ONE NICE! thats why toyota TIRU!…YES,TIRU SAGA!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
          • calm down calm down… its just a car. Plenty of choices out there. no need to buy if anyone don’t like. chill

• mencuba membuangkannya lambang toyota dan meletakkanlah lambang proton,ianya akan menampak seperti proton saga baru..ada botoi ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 72
      • Cuba membuang lambang toyota dan meletakkan lambang proton, everybody will avoid this car like plaque. In fact any car with lambang proton is a disgrace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 40
        • teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:58 pm

YEAH! very true..malaysia inferior…anything locals is bad…a disgrace…just like you…a disgrace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
          • Trying to play patriotic card? Don’t be silly. It won’t bring you anywhere.
            It’s not Malaysian product, it’s Proton brand only that is inferior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • Cosmo Artemis on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:31 am

What a disgrace to Malaysia to have a jumud and shallow mentality like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • I think this car need a new name so can get more thumps up for this car! previous one is really ugly and looks dull ‘ with bodykit or without kit is still looks like a dugong but this one is better looking and improve a lot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 32
    • Alahai on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm

New name, Toyota Vios FLX TRD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
    • Wisdom on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:38 am

That black rims really eyesore…
      Until they finalize on safety features, engine and equipment, i reserve my comment…

• Expatriate VN on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:35 pm

No more “dugong” face! See what the blind supporters to say about this new sporty Vios with high sales volume and RV!

• youbodok on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:03 am

i wanna say that it resembles saga flx which comes from company you hate most – proton

• OMG…no more dugong looks…much more nicer, the front a bit look like Arowana fish head…

• Disappointed on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Looks better now. But what price and what spec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
  • Dugong evolved!

4 speed tranny invincible!

Sam Loo RV no.1.

Let the troll fest begin!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 64
  • spekies on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:39 pm

better than current ..still kinda boring though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
  • pooi toyota on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 240
    • You better buy another few then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • potter on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:21 pm

make sense la why this guy so negative-minded. he probably just bought a previous version TRD vios n feel so down that the upcoming version is soo much good-looking.. haha pity him.. i understand bro, if i were you i would be disappointed too, bought a car i thought is good only to find out that the car soon will be refreshed with a better looking version…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 3
    • Seriously? or this is a sarcastic comment?

• ingres on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:08 pm

why so butthurt with proton, being smoked by preve kah? lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
      • pooi toyota on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:59 pm

LOL? dont joke y i wan butthurt to a tin kosong hahaha proton fanboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 52
        • koray on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:36 am

preve got 5 stars ancap mah, only blind people say it’s tin kosong

inb4 diff specs
          inb4 vios 4 stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
          • Expatriate VN on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:45 pm

5 Star ANCAP rating cheap car for Australian only because their life is expensive.

You stay at Bolehland! Dream on ……. your life so cheap get 1 star Sage BLM for you to pay expensive price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
          • bongok on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:15 pm

if you want 30k car with 7 airbags, you will live forever in dream

• truman6 on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:37 pm

your dugong TRD (The Racing Dugong) version really dat nice? which part? the “tayar” or the door handle”?

LOL!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • pooi toyota on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:16 am

i sad for u cant afford buy toyota den hate it LOL go buy ur proton lah work more one day maybe u no nid buy proton already hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
        • teamsleepine on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:55 pm

dude…it’s a toyota,lulz..a toyotaA TOYOTA..not a audi or alfa or mercedes or bmw or even a renault..lol..typical inferior malaysian that think he is superior because he drive a fcuk up hideous degrading toyota

• teamsleepine on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:56 pm

lol…and look at the head lamp..you so “superior” toyota designers copy protong worrrrr!!!!!!

• Chris on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Looks mean! But if it’s still a Vios and targeted at a wide range of drivers, it’s still probably gonna steer like pudding. But at least you’ll now get some nods around town =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • OMG…ugly – boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 60
  • Fagly on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Even Toyota also copy Saga FLX…what the world become now… :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 52
  • Will this be the next gen of low spec car, bad nvh, and lacking safety feature,so-so handling, but sold at high price but yet received a lot of love by Malaysian?
    jeng jeng jengggggggggggggg

time will tell..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
  • Matchy on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:51 pm

The infamous Almera backside!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 16
  • 868686 on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:51 pm

sooo serious looking….common Toyota, u can do better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • seancorr on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Front looks good especially the HID lights but the rear could have been better but nonetheless it looks way better than the current Vios.

Let’s see if they offer VSC, Bluetooth handsfree, more airbags and maybe a 5 year warranty package?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Xefron on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:53 pm

RV must be good.Gonna buy once it out.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
  • Look better now but Toyota please equipped the vehicle will more value added features likes Hyundai, Kia and Ford did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • KarthikM on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Say all u want people.. Malaysian’s will still buy it, and yes it will still remain at the top sales list..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
  • C~two on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:00 pm

the dugong now looks like a grouper fish with it’s mouth wide open.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • gOOsh on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:01 pm

habis la proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 44
  • pak jabit on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:03 pm

vios still no 1…pilihan cikgu2 di malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
    • You better check again, I remember is Myvi no. 1. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
    • pomen on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:39 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!good one bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Soon we will be seeing all streets flooded by this new Vios with all the antie-antie, college students, young ladies inside the cars.
      Ah beng will put all kind of skirting, big bumper and etc treating Vios like a super car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
  • Sorry … no more big hole facia image!

• taboogen on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:04 pm

its too bizarre for a small sedan… if the curve is more less sharper then it is i think would be much nicer… i think this car will be racer wannabe but with uncle/auntie car

• Everyone!! Give a round of applause to the great Sam Loo, the RV man…hoorayy. Err..where’s that fella. Can’t wait for his famous comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:50 pm

I’m here. Super nice! Super high RV! Book yours now through me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
      • count me in on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Ok..where is your showroom? I’m sure a lot of people here want to meet you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
      • Expatriate VN on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:49 pm

When the car come here, what is the price and when open for booking. what is your comment about the RV, even before it is open for selling!

• hang tuah on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:09 pm

If still remain same spec like previous, it will be boring….lol. Btw malaysian care rv rather than specs. It will launch on Oct 2013, believe it or not?(news from Toyota Management)

• As far as looks goes, this is a major improvement over the current Dugong, I can almost say good looking if not for the side profile being as bland as the current model. It’s all about specs now, Although it’s highly likely that the 1.5 + 4 tranny to remain, hopefully there will be a VSC and 4-airbags. The projector lamps in what looks like a base spec(no fog lights + steel rims?) is a good sign.

• With their top range car like Camry not having VSC, I doubt they would put 4 airbags nor VSC into this Vios as well unless they upgrade the specs for their camry 1st lol

• Well, the mid-spec The corolla Altis still has VSC and TRC, so I’m not going to let one model deter my hope. Though power plant most likely still remained 1.5 mated to a 4-speed.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:14 pm

sweet and sour steam garoupa?

wtf?

oh wait…it’s a toyota…they never made any attractive car!
    and tbh,i don’t think the designers have to put and effort in designing!people still buy the car…the fan will insist it’s reliable even if its not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Merc = Real Conti on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:16 pm

As usual will be no 1 seller….

• Alahai on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Say after me:
    SAGA FLX
    SAGA FLX
    SAGA FLX
    SAGA FLX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 31
  • teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:21 pm

i can’t get over ….how can people buy this little piece of shit and be proud with design like this….look at the preve for example…and look at this car….my god!!!toyota …wtf man!just because you’re toyata doesnt mean you don’t have to put an effort god damm!!!!!!
    garoupa!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
  • mercedes benz lover on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:21 pm

the herd will always follow, typical ignorant and arrogant malaysian consumers who doesnt know better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Slenderman on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:54 am

The herd mentality can be applied on the supporters and the haters.

• Farghmee on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:24 pm

too bad the shallow people will still pick this over preve or hideous almera or even that pug bontot sambung! because it’s a toyota…dumbdumb….
    this car make that hideous almera look beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • sonyman on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:35 pm

wah lau weh, new vios ohhh,,, dont play play. Sure kana si beh kui, only for the rich and young niah. I think UMW better naik berpuluh puluh ribu for the G spec and reduce 1 Airbag for the J spec call K spec. new spec in line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • heard it will sell from 55k !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
    • toyofan on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:13 pm

yes, in your dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
      • teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:02 pm

unshallow people dont even dream about vios…only those inferior,shallow malaysian will….and they will lansi like it’s bmw!

• sepul on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm

The back design is, well…. I don’t like it.

The front is nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • better buy preve on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:43 pm

preve is better than this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 20
  • Ugly interior as last generation,adding chrome?will it last if wash too much by bangkala,replace proton,try out inspira sure whack its ass

• ricky on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:49 pm

forte??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • The new upcoming Kia K3 will beat this car in every aspect..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • Except fuel economy. The K3 drinks.

• korean fanboy on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:31 am

Until the actual figures are out don’t simply kutuk korean cars drink fuel. K3 has improved dramatically and it has better specs than this “dugong-with-sunglasses”

• ToyoyatoVos on Mar 20, 2013 at 5:49 pm

I must buy this car, put ultra racing bar and gt wing, then smoke my neighbor’s Golf GTi mk6. He will go back to his mama and cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 19
    • U can smoke em anytime when his car parking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
      • ToyoyatoVos on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:34 pm

I must smoke him on highway. New VIOS can fly higher and faster than Golf GTi mk6. With new GT WING I can fly faster and with Ultra Racing bars I can to barrel roll on top of Golf GTi mk6.

mark my words

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
        • Don’t forget the TRD badge. Adds 2 more ponies to your vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • I hope u win when u pass ur car lesen…u should proud of it with ur GT WING and ur Ultra Racing of coz u can only enjoy the show in a few minutes…Kancil Turbo tailgating the Golf GTI,after that they’r gone.

• ToyoyatoVos on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I only need private pilot license. Why drive a lousy Golf GTi mk6 when you can fly with VIOS GT F Spec? You no read Airasia meh? Now everyone can fly with VIOS GT F Spec.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:00 pm

ya bro!toyota is the best!

• Annoynimouse on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:29 pm

Hahaha!

• amirad on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:07 pm

This is compliment to the GTi. Its the car to beat. Everyone want to take a shot at the GTi. The GTi has no quarrel with the Vios just as an ant has no quarrel with a boot. Sorry, cilok some lines here. The guy is just being sarcastic and funny.

• Wa Jib on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:35 am

Haha.. perhaps u cannot afford a GTI and just syiok sendiri with a cheap vios..

• If u don’t look at its big mounth, then still acceptable. But when u look at it again with its gigantic mounth which is an overkill, then very ugly & very ah-beng. I wonder why Toyota needs to enter into a big mouth race with Mazda !?

• Lamper on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:00 pm

next ah beng’s top favourite cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Carlover on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Nice car…wanted to buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Fact & Figure:
    1) Evolved transformation of Dugong
    2) Comes with eternally reliable 4-speed auto
    3) Sam Loo’s pride and joy
    4) More fuel saving than Hybrids,Fuel Cell,Diesel electric dan sebagainya
    5) Faster than Lexus LFA around Nurburgring track
    6) Drive by college student, feel proud as supercar
    8) Highest RV car in the world, more than Ferrari 250 GTO
    9) Comes with Spec G, E, J, TRD Sportivo, limited edition etc..

*sarcastic mode ON*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Correction.

My pride and joy is watching the faces of kimchi car owners after showing them the Hilux

• yeong on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Wow.toyota also copy n paste.SAGA FLX hahahahajahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
  • toyo suck on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:21 pm

should be next ah guah top favourite cars..

• 32diyad on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:28 pm

the contender of almari (almera) is back! let’s the duel begins

• peyno on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:21 pm

yeas.. agree with u.. but perodua ah beng keep talking preve vs vios.. never mentioned vios vs almera/city or even his perodua alza

hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • KarthikM on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:31 pm

K3 is better spec-ed than the Toyota, but when it comes to resale value Toyota wins.. It’s not something that I’m saying on my own, it’s for a fact.. Dun believe me, ask the used car dealers.. The first thing that they will say ” haiyaa KIA ahhh.. Takda harga oo..!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Vincent on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Don’t be fooled by used car dealer. Hahahah.. When you bring in a Toyota or Honda, they will tell you how bad is their biz, tell you how hard to sell a used car, so they can only offer you this much. When you bring a KIA, they will tell you KIA tak ada harga, this is just their trick to make more money. At the end, resell value difference is not much, don’t forget you pay more for the less spec and more crappy Toyota. Lol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
      • pls do some research pls vincent…those kia buyer ady regret to buy after their resale value is so low n depreciate so much…not even kia buyer,i ady ask a few car dealer they also say d same thing on kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • rickyll on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:22 am

I agreed. RV of Kia is low. I bought a Forte in 2009, it serves me good and I don’t intend to sell it. When I was in Korea attending a seminar, the locals told me that Kia was considered as lower class than Hyundai. Technology wise, the Koreans are still inferior when compare to their Japanese or German counterparts. But one undeniable fact is that they are very hardworking, innovative and learning fast, that’s what I respect most. As for the new Vios, I think it’s a nice looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Vincent on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:01 am

…: My neighbor is a used car dealer, I have friends that bought Civic, Camry, the offer for their respective car is surprising low even though it is just 2-3 yrs, mind you, there are all low mileage and good condition car. The low resale of KIA apply to those older models, Yes, I agree on it, but not the newer version. And if RV is everything for you but safety, please stick with Jap if you think this kind of crap worth your hard earn money. Lol!

• korean fanboy on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:37 am

hello …

I know u are speechless after seeing how kia/hyundai can make cars much better than toyol-ta but the fact is there is good demand for 2nd hand korean cars and their RV is increasing daily.

Used car dealers are playing with the notion that it has lower value / harder to sell just to make more profit.

P2/T cars are overwhelming the used car market so what makes u think u can get better RV?

• Sam Loo on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:04 pm

I trade only used kimchis.

I drive a Camry 2.4V ACV40 and display a Hilux at the most visible place in my yard

What does that tell you about kimchis?

• orang on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:38 pm

new vios = avanza….. think vios and don’t forget avanza
    so cheap looking…..haiya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Polo Saga on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Boring!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • WeDeserveBetter! on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:53 pm

If the specs for this car is the old 1.5L engine with 4-speed automatic, Toyota is really treating their customers as retard. Is this Vios just another pretty face without any technological advancement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • ong chin aun on Mar 20, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Only hope the price is right. follow the current trend look, Yes, like FORTE ,KIA. Spec.?

• brian on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:00 pm

Is it time for Japanese B-segment (at least the high specs) to cost 100k ???!!!!

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:07 pm

and people that drive this bios will be darn proud like it’s a legit mw ///m cars…….ugly ugly ugly!!!!!

so many toyata fanboy!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:08 pm

IT’S A FREAKING TOYOTA!!!!!!!!!!

good at designing ugly cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • This is like a 7-year-old girl tries so hard to be a sweet 17-year-old lady. She tries so hard until nothing is left to be showed. It’s just not right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • wakeupUMW on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:31 pm

I’ve got a feeling UMW is gonna “surprised” the rakyat by putting the ever-lasting 1.5l VVT-i engine together with the almost longest serving 4-speeder transmission to the car. All die hard fans shall be awed and excited on the levels of reliability the car can bring. With the dramatic improvement on the aesthetic of the car, next gen vios will be the best B-segment car, Toyota can offer. Who cares about the specs! As long as it’s a Toyota and a better design, 100k ++ ppl also buy :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • WeDeserveBetter! on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Utter rubbish! We are the new generation of consumer who appreciates value for money. Sell to us such sub-standard quality product will only bring shame to your brand. Worse still, the buyers are nothing more than retards to buy Vios.

• wakeupUMW on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:56 pm

I am being sarcastic here. Let’s hope 1.5l VVT-i will not be used till the 5th gen of vios in Malaysia. This is exactly what happen to Camry in Malaysia.

• I remember I comment about how car manufacturer transfer the futuristic concept car to production car. I remember I said that not many car manufacturer can do this very well. I let you judge for yourself.

• This is Toyota!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • armandd on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:39 pm

I think they’ll use the ancient 4-speed autobox’ until year 2099.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • dugong on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:01 am

no la its not powderful enough to last till 2099. maybe 2029 more realistic.

• The C-pillar heavily borrow from Mazda2 sedan.

• Carlover on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:46 pm

I think depan punyer bumper design macam mitsubishi lancer sudaaa. Hahaha. Toyota copy mitsubishi sudaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • siazshuakme on Mar 20, 2013 at 7:47 pm

seriously copy paste proton saga flx.
    at first, i thought admin wrongly uploaded saga flx pics.huhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • better design…perhaps better specs and quality also

• Ouch…..my eyes

• dugong J no1 on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:27 pm

The butt has etting bigger, to fight with biggest ever butt of almeera.
    Front look, not evolve from dugong, exactly follow city/forte/preve shape with corolla grill. Good they realised the current design is eye pollution on the road.
    Anyway still hold no 1 for non national contribute by Vios J.

• Chikadongdong on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Definitely improved compared to the current one, but I’d rather wait for the new Kia K3. Meh..

• Fahmi on Mar 20, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Looks a bit better, but is that enough?

• nones on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Design was very good. Hopefully UMW change their vision “for the needy-not the greedy”

• peyno on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:24 pm

still using 4AT, old tech timing chain engine and 2 airbags???
    sorry.. rakyat smart oredi

prrrtfhhh

• Maserati on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Super nice car. Will sell well!! Better than korean junk anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
  • Anonymous on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Nice but overpriced car.

• kelvin on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:46 pm

front view definitely looks good compared to the older version.
    I believe toyota will equipped some new technology to this Vios since already more than 5 years they did not improve anything under the hood.

• skatax on Mar 20, 2013 at 9:49 pm

No reverse sensor? What lah…

Big issue now since the 2013 malaysian crv didn’t had them

• I think Nissan Almera better. Spacious and better design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Retard on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Ahaa..tis toyota vehicle no need servis, enjin very reliable no wonder high rv.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:12 pm

the car still use same chassis…or even same body as you can see the silhouette exactly the same as the previous gen…put new camry tail lamp…..headlamp tiru….yes TIRU PROTON FLX…done!
    then the designers go for sake!

true story bro!

• OH! Yeah!!! Toyota is the best car in the world! VW = ah beng car.
    BMW = ah seng car.
    Mercedes = tao ke car.

• Mat Global on Mar 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Front view 5/10
    Side view 6/10
    Rear view 4/10

• Carl Wong on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:14 am

No comment..

• itchybutt on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:15 am

front design has estima DNA

• godlike on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:30 am

nice…finally the speedometer not at center,lasttime not buying vios becos mid speedometer
    will trade in my almera impul for this…when will it available in malaysia?
    hopefully 1st bacth will have vios TRD,best la…

• teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:11 pm

you got to be kidding right?
      how many ponies you get from the trd sticker?

• 2 ponies.

TRD fuel cap adds 1 pony. Racing strips adds 5. GT Wing adds over 9000 ponies and that’s why it can fly after you add on.

• toyota FLX Lancer GT 1.5

• ong GH on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:32 am

still 1nz-fe ?? 4 spped auto or cvt ?? when u gonna change tat engine ??? give us 1zr-fe lar !!!

• azrai on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:19 am

Look like Dugong’s VIOS is finally extinctioned. The front fascia somewhere resembled current City’s and those chrome lining look like from Preve/Exora. The rear taken some cues from Almera.

• better design than current vios

• tokyota on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:31 am

sure umw will price it above 90k, they already know people will still buy it.

• Mean Machine on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:45 am

As long as it is a Toyota, everyone will buy…the Toyota badge is what matters…not anything else…so no point arguing!

• shuk rocco on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:46 am

all new vios VS nissan almera?
    what you choice?:D
    for me lepas nie leh la tapau kereta almera bermuscle..hahaharam

• Mocoshoco on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:06 am

No more dugong looks… looks like upgraded copy version of Proton SAGA…

• Is this brand new? The chassis looks like the current gen one which is based on the first gen version. In other words, severe facelift only?

• this dugong had plastic surgery aa? whatever it is i think the 4 speed gearbox is okay as long the new engine can produce more power and better fuel mileage

• No 1.6 dual vvti ar.

• Long life VVTi engine with 4 speed Auto with ECT. How many more generations of Vios will be using the same engine and gearbox?

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:36 am

Agreed w u. The 4 speed is rev noise when high speed, unlike city more quite.Even new camry is sucked too. everything same but exterior changs.

• vee-oh on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:29 am

should i go for this new Vios, or the upcoming Mirage sedan?i dare to bet that i will get full spec Mirage sedan with the price of the lowest spec of the Vios..but this new design quite tempting…test drove Preve recently, powerfull engine but the interior quality looks like gonna fall apart after few years..so stick to Japan car for my new purchase

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:34 am

Honestly, current Vios isn’t a quite cabin car, especially the bad sound proof. Engine rev noise and many unwanted annoying sound.Space for interior doesn’t as big as city. Internal gadget is moderate, and i must say the 4 speed gear box is even suck. Noise when after 110km/h. Hope this 3rd gen vios eliminate these bad exp, or many “city”zen will alive.

• KKU et.al on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:35 am

Quite nice. The best part is my Saga FLX can fit the toyota bodykit by Plug n Play haha..Thanks toyota!

• gOOsh on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:43 am

OK la… at least cantik la skit banding dgn current “dugong” vios…
    kira boleh beli arr… period.. :)

• Toyota is trying to build a consistency look to all their cars. Is nice looking i have to admitted but in terms of spec have to wait for more info.

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:48 am

Honda will reveal their ACE card soon. “5th Gen City”

• interesting on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:52 am

Extremely Ugly…strange but true it will still sell very well….bcos of the Toyota Badge…with big price tag but small on features

• azrul on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:28 am

garang n cun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Abuya on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:33 am

Design? Better than current vios
    Price? Maybe remain same to absorb afta impact
    NVH and cornering? Please, you all know. Dulu, kini dan selamanya
    4 automatic trans? For sure bebeh.
    Different engine? What do you expect from UMW? They concern their money only, not your lovely car, you and your family life at your own risk.

Prompt reminder: This is entry level car a.k.a, asal rupa nampak cam keta, dah boleh jual. Dont expect something spectacular. Dont say too much good about this car because we all know you are liar.

• teamsleepnine on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:16 pm

preve is entry level too!price should be around the same region as the toyota…but look at it….the design,the interior,the engine,the uninspiring 7 speed semi,the handling….and it’s from proton!!!
      toyota should do better!..a lot better..but they were like “nahhh!!!!
      shallow people still going to buy our car…because we make toyota!…let’s go drink sake and eat sushi!”

• slimershine on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:48 am

overpriced and cheap looking car..

• slimershine on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:51 am

why la rear lamp like that. sumbat camry punya pun dah okey. toyota really cannot design car better than this eh?

• Giggs on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:14 pm

The famous “DUGONG” now have full mouth opened muahahahaha….

• Bongcs on Mar 21, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Estima head lamp look alike

• Sam Loo's Hilux on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:26 pm

not nice..

• kadajawi on Mar 21, 2013 at 1:36 pm

I don’t think this will be so bad in terms of safety, Toyota can’t risk the disaster that hit the Proton Saga FLX hard. Before side impacts are done it should get at least 4 airbags, and perhaps ESP, to get at least 4 stars. Less than that it could hurt sales.

• Design-wise, better.
    Spec-wise, we are yet to know.
    Let’s pray that guys in UMW akan dilembutkan hatinya,
    untuk tambahkan ciri keselamatan pada Vios barunya,
    Just add in ESP, coz Vios already got ABS, EBD, BA and dual airbags.

• Ferlari on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Looks like Saga. The most cap ayam model released in this year thus far. Confirm makan asap by Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Ferlari on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Seeing the design, it is better don’t launch it.

• can`t wait for interior picture, should be nice

• Abang angkat Saga FL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • supersona on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:31 pm

bye-bye dugong, welcome garoupa/grouper..

• gigganet on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:16 pm

The designers should be fired.

• gojeng on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Toyota better rebadge saga flx to new vios since its design is look alike. Just add some chrome finished bar between headlamps and change bumpers and tail lights. Tada, new vios is coming

• No more toyotas in Malaysia on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm

1.5 vvti engine ‘tweaked’ for extra 2bhp
    4 speed auto
    Wow…new model, I’m so impressed.
    Must definitely buy this ‘new’ car

• Simon on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Can buy for my mum

• mamat on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:57 pm

its a TOYOTA after all

• Cheung on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:41 pm

The best looking 3rd generation Vios !
    So , Will Toyota put to newer NR series engine ?
    Coz have been using NZ series engine for the past 2 generations already .

• Lye Hwee Zern on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Wow, a significant improvement Toyota! Though I hope Toyota can well equipped new Vios with goodies to challenge likes of Honda, Kia, Ford which are currently way better than any Vios in terms of specifications. A dual-VVTI engine, VSC, 6 airbags and Active Parking Sensor with rear camera would just make it best in its class! I own a Toyota Vios S 2008 model, guess I am gonna be so jealous when this comes out! :)

• put all the chrome finishing around the vios body people still say it’s a cheap looking car

don’t put any of that on preve people still say it’s derived from expensive looking Tuah

• KingPin on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:59 am

The dugong transformed to manatee. tow-your-car fans why do they even exist? There’s nothing about this car or any other model that brings driving excitement. Just as poor as perodua, proton slightly better but both P1 and P2 should be discontinued for the sanity of this country. Simply put it this way most toyota owners live in a bubble

• looks like the tachometer is not in the middle anymore

• hippo on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Well most of you will say people will buy Toyota blindly, same as me previously. However since i’ve driven my Corolla Altis Dual Vvti for more than 1 year, I feel no regrets. Till date the car has no problem at all, smooth and quiet driving. Abit boring I agreed but it’s comfortable and meets my need. Therefore I strongly believe this Vios will sell well also. People talks about VW or other Euro marque, but at the end of the day people still buy Toyota or other Jap car. If you want reliability, go for Toyota. I’m not Toyota salesman, just a happy Toyota owner.

• haiya … mcm tak solid jee

• Toyota produce very basic car. But emphasize on reliability and durability. Toyota car will only show it ‘shine’ after 7-8 years or 160k mileage above. By then other makes keep on changing worn parts, while most Toyota cars still doing only basic service eg engine oil, atf, etc.
    If you are looking for good specs and technologies, and change car in 5years and below, look elsewhere.
    If you are looking for a workhorse with mininum maintenance, keep the car for long time, or accept old 2nd car. It is Toyota.

• Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Now Toyota design is proved superb. Honda is nothing, nissan almera better rename to assmera, those stupid money cheating rubbish VW can now go for recycle bin.

• Peyno on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:46 pm

I support u sam loo.. U r truly toyota person.. Unlike ah beng toyota wanabe perodua salesman.. Trying hard to be toyota like u .. But only can affird bashing proton… Unlike u… U bash all except toyota…

• You call talk until the cow comes home. Ownership experience from toyota speaks for itself. Forget Forte, forget Preve, forget all..

• Peyno on Mar 23, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Rakyat smart oredi.. Time has changed.. Ur type if thinking remind me of older 80s generation.. New gen ppl minded changed..

• SAM LOO UNCLE on Mar 23, 2013 at 9:59 am

KERETA YANG MEMPUNYAI RESALE VALUE SANGAT TINGGI.. SILALAH BELI

• I thought I’m the only one thinking that this is a new saga facelift.. ayoo.. what happened to toyota designer.. mau cut cost ka..? tiru proton punya design..heheehe

• edgehogr on Mar 26, 2013 at 3:47 am

First vios so beautiful, second gen dugong, ok ok ler, now the third?!! omg, what the heck is going on?
    looks like crap

• unicorn on Apr 18, 2013 at 2:30 pm

i’m reminded of saga flx for some reason.

is it just me or are Hyundai’s Elantra and Kia’s K3 more exciting than the current Jap cars on offer?

too bad due to budget constraints, I may have to settle for an almera, city or old vios in the end.