Peugeot 208 on display, specs unveiled via brochures

peugeot-208-glenmarie-0044

The Peugeot 208 is currently making it’s pre-launch promo rounds around Malaysia, with the latest location being the 1 Utama shopping centre in PJ.

The 208 will be there till this Sunday (April 14), but if you want to avoid the jam or don’t live in the Klang Valley, we have some details on the car for you as we managed to get a hold of the official brochure while snapping some photos of both the five-door and three-door hatch on display at Peugeot Glenmarie.

The Peugeot 208 brochure reveals that both the five-door and three-door versions are powered by the same 122 horsepower 1.6 litre VTi engine which makes 160 Nm of torque. There’s no mention of how many gear ratios in the official spec sheet, but we’ve been informed it’s a four-speed Tiptronic unit with Sport mode.

peugeot-208-glenmarie-0011

There are disc brakes on all four wheels, and the five-door has 16-inch Helium design wheels with 195/55 tyres while the three-door has 17-inch Oxygen design wheels with wider 205/45 tyres.

In terms of safety features, the 208 is loaded to the brim with ESP stability control as well as six airbags for all variants. Other standard features include digital dual-zone climate control, a touch screen infotainment system, six-speaker sound system with Arkamys 3D audio processing, USB and Bluetooth support, and six-way driver and passenger seat adjustment. The three-door also adds a panoramic sunroof, which is rare for a B-segment car in Malaysia.

All that remains to be unveiled is the price, which we hear is under RM100k for both models. Listings of the Peugeot 208 for sale on oto.my show a starting price of RM85,888 for the 5-door, so the 3-door might be in the mid-90k range.

More details are available in the spec sheet scan in the gallery below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fork me on Apr 11, 2013 at 12:40 pm

I’M GAY, I LIKE THIS CAR WITH PINK COLOUR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 30
  • The interior look nice. Check out the side bolster of the seat. If compared among the others, eg. rio or fiesta, this interior wins hand down. Rio, too much hard plastics, fiesta interior look too busy and not really my cup of tea. This may bite into fiesta sales as the 208 spec is definately ahead of the thai build fiesta (what, 2 airbags….hilarious).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • Redline on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Fiesta comes with 7 airbags dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
      • koochai on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:17 pm

front & rear disc brake…nice. fiesta using drum for rear. but read somewhere fiesta’s stopping distance is abt 3 meter shorter than kia rio which also using disc all around…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • sepul on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Only the LX sedan and the base 1.4 LX. And the XTR and Beta version.

4 speed only? Might as well bring the manual as well, or the 6 speed auto. Why la…

• Jimmy on Apr 11, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Most people do not need many speeds in small cars. Six airbags is much more important, as is ESP. Good job.
          7 is even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 5:49 pm

People still complain about 4 speed in Vios. So number of speed is important

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • laluan sehala on Apr 12, 2013 at 4:38 pm

but many people still buy the vios despite what it has… or hasn’t. so, number of gears to the target market (people who actually pay money to buy those cars) is not as important as compared to keyboard warriors.

• neutral on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:04 pm

i think now fiesta comes with 7 air bags….previously the S hatchback comes with 2…sedan 7…fiesta is a good car…thai spec plastics also hard though…i drive fiesta S…been 2 years plus totally reliable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • fiesta lx sedan has 6 airbags and when proper skirting is added, it really looks nice.

• Fengshuimaster on Apr 14, 2013 at 6:38 pm

You sure Fiesta got 7 airbags? It feels like a body bag inside the car, so tight. Even the seats are made of low quality fabric. The “so called” dual clutch also not so good quality. Actually all Ford”s also suffer from poor quality build quality, including the Focus and the Mondeo. Because Ford QC is quite bad.

• papaya on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:01 pm

so now the 3 safest b-segment cars to buy is the ford fiesta, kia rio and peugeot 208. the japanese ought to be ashamed of themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • I dont think the thai fiesta HB is considered safe with their 2 airbags spec. Blardy con job by sime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • Lamper on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:20 pm

only fiesta S spec come with 2 airbag(duno why spec like this), while other fiesta beta/sapphire(highest spec) and fiesta lx sedan and hatchback come with 6/7 airbag(-esp).

• Diamler on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:31 pm

noob. honda city got VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
  • SEXY Romantic looking little car……. Paris all the way ………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • SamTowTruck on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Oh no, another gay french car. Why so many gay cars coming to malaysia ah ? What happen to all the macho car…eg. toyota

Peugeot 208 tag line “Let the body drive”. It should be “& your wallet cry”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 75
  • JeremyNg on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:25 pm

3 door cost around mid 90k ??!! so it same price with 308 VTI ….. den who the hell will buy the 3 door ?? get 308 better right ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • _xXx_ on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:40 pm

the more door the merrier?? plz laa, not everyone think like you laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
      • I dont think he’s talking about the no of doors.

He was simply saying if the pricing of 208 is in mid 90k – then it’s entering 308 territory.

And people will tend to buy the bigger car…

• _xXx_ on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:03 am

quite sure that 3-door lovers will forever buy 3-door car, no matter how attractive the 5-door cars are.

• intermilan on Apr 12, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Hello..??

308VTi price is RM102,888 OTR. Its a 4-doors.

208 4-doors price is RM85,888 OTR.
      208 2-doors price is RM95,888 OTR.

Which means the 308VTi, if you can calculate proper, is RM17,00 more expensive than 4-doors 208 and RM7,00 more expensive than 2-doors 208.

Since 308VTi is a 4-doors car, it shouldn’t be compare directly to a 2-doors car. There might be differences in tax/duties rate.

But lets not forget that both 208 differs. Different features / specification / accessories. Like someone mentioned before, 2-doors 208 have panoramic roof. That roof could easily resulted in RM7,000 price different.

Moreover, it got bigger rims and tyres. It got semi leather (leather & fabric seat). All of these cost more. Hence the price differ la.

The more ‘proper’ price comparison between the 208 and 308VTi is RM17,000 (4-doors vs. 4-doors). Features might slightly differ but differ much less compared to the 2-doors 208.

Now who want to say RM17,000 difference isn’t big enough a difference that you can’t notice it?
      How can you say “so its same price as 308VTi”?

Why must open mouth so loud but left the brain in longkang one? Duh!

RM17,00 is a fair and good gap between cars in B & C segment from same brand.

And given the current car market scenario in Malaysia, RM85,888 OTR is a fair asking price for the 208. Take a proper look at the real actual car to better judge it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • not everyone goes out and buys the biggest car for the smallest money.

• BloodyArmy on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Mind asking why 3 doors is always more expensive? Based on the brochure, the only difference seems to be the seat (3 door get leather seats) and wheels (3 door get 17″ alloys)… other things seems to be the same, anything that I missed out?

• gynecologist on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:33 pm

nice and bold design , should i buy this 208 or golf mk7?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Don’t. Buy vios or city. You will thank me when the next time you plan to upgrade your lifestyle.

French is never know for reliability. Mk7, DSG DSG DSG. Go google. It is worst than Alfa selespeed. Might as well you buy Alfa also not so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 56
      • kentji on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:01 pm

not all dsg are lemons yo, most of the china’s unit are defected with its mechatronic issues, those reached here are being stabled by the software updates, not to say dsg issues are permanently fixed but its not as worst as china, maybe 1 or 2 out of 10 would be the figure i guess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
        • JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:17 pm

The software update is mainly to degrade the performance of the DSG so that it kaput much later ~

u want to buy a car with good performance, and the dealer will later degrade the performance in order to save the DSG ?

manual !! manual is the answer of being able to enjoy the VW ~ hopefully, as times goes by, the accumulated frustration of VW owners will make the VW msia to consider bawa masuk the manual version ~ Hope. i hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • kentji on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:30 pm

The software update is mainly to degrade the performance of the DSG so that it kaput much later ~

sooo, how do you confirm that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:07 pm

go survey online… and check it yourselves. And also pay a visit to VW FB pages all over the globe.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:14 pm

and… i have also test-drived my colleague Polo & jetta, which one can notice the different at the G1-G2 swifting ( i have tested 2 situation : (1) city drive & (2) fast pick-up ) .

The response were sluggish.

FYI, i have test-drive the polo, beetle, jetta, golf months ago when i was planning to buy a new car. I was impressed, fall in love with VW the moment i behind the wheel.

Then i checked the FB, online, and feedback from some owner which happen to be my friends & colleague… ….

well… needless to say, i dropped the idea of ever buying a VW w/ poor DSG.

• JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:16 pm

(damn laptop…)

i test-drived my colleague car which was after their very much troubled VW went through the so-called “DSG service campaign”.

• Aiya nvm lah…my 2 years old VW also break down lah ‘dsg mechatronic failure’ but still under warranty so that’s ok coz no need to pay mah after warranty,then trade in loh…

• joe slayer on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:31 am

u pay your installment for 1 month and u can only drive for 2 weeks?

• xFang on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Go for mk7 with no regret.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • Abg Long on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:07 pm

aiyooo.. this 208 is rm86k while golf mk7 is rm158k la bro.. so much different, cannot compare. got money go n buy that golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Another day, another 4-speeder. I’ll ditch the touch screen infotainment and dual-zone climate (and save a couple of thousand) for a Ford Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • beatnik on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm

A lot of people talk so much on 4-speeders.. For heaven’s sake, it’s an auto, and most driver will likely notice the gear changes on the road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • I noticed the gear changes in City and Vios though….Real obvious…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • beatnik on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Ya, but those are still autoboxes.. even it has 18 gears you will still notice the gear changes because it’s a conventional slushbox..

Better pay atttention on the road rather than the gear changes lol.

• MasakRoti on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Yawn. And become road kill with 2 airbags. Briliiant smart alex.

• The Fiesta has 6 airbags across the range and If I’am not mistaken including the baseline model.
        BTW, could you happen to be someone I know, FB me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • smokey on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:43 pm

is every new generation of car getting price increase?

• azhar on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:51 pm

a semi bucket seat in a hatch..great!

• HakimR on Apr 11, 2013 at 1:56 pm

check out the seats! sporty look

• Confused on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Four speed auto!!!! legendary. Mimic the vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 5:54 pm

When the Toyota using 4 speed, people keep complain non stop. When peugeot using 4 speed, aiya, 4 speed enough aldi, so many speed 4 wad, gear change wun notice….etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • This started with the comments of the Kia Rio and shows some prejudice among some commentors that anything Toyota is shit. Actually I’m fine with the current power train of the Vios, it is still adequate enough for the daily user, not the boy racer or the highway cruiser. I know it is decade old and used in 3 generation but so is the RB26DETT and Chevy small block V8, It is still good, not great. But what is not is the safety specs….2 bags, no VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Your move Fiesta.

But the one thing why a Fiesta may still sell is cause of the dynamics. And it seems the FL is coming soon, should be la. And most likely it will be standard 7 airbags. And one thing, this 208 looks like it had a bigger rear glass than the Rio. Rio’s back is rather high so visibility is so-so only.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:34 pm

What?! 4 speed? This isn’t dinosaur age dude! Charge for such a high price and still get 4 speed. Rather get a Fiesta or a City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • ex308 on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:43 pm

nice looking car with lotta features & improvement compared to previous 308. My only hope is the aftersales service by bluebox also improved. I divorced my 308 after 2.5years after getting fed-up with my frequent trip to pug workshop…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • farghmee on Apr 11, 2013 at 2:49 pm

err..glove box that small ah?

• MasakRoti on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Coz the gay french are so lazy and always main belakang, they forgot to do a proper RHD conversion.

That’s the reason why the glove box is so small as half of it taken by fuse box. Smart….nah, Lazy…YES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • sepul on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:25 pm

I will wait for Fiesta Ecoboost. Hopefully Auto Connexion will do justice to the car’s image with the same spec as the European model.

I don’t hate auto tranny but for the Fiesta, it just doesn’t feel right. Fun cars should be driven with manual tranny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • koochai on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:17 pm

no prob with auto fiesta. behave unlike other same class autos out there. during spirited driving, u can see the rpm holding at 6k long enough to let u pick up the speed and it allow u to dive into red zone…abt 6500 rpm…0 – 160 kmh is peanuts…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • fiesta on Apr 11, 2013 at 5:12 pm

omg is it true? now i got even more inspired to get a Fiesta .. really cant wait

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • koochai on Apr 11, 2013 at 11:02 pm

don’t simply take my word for it…go & test it…make sure u lenjan the test car kaw2 ya :) the only downside is rear drum brake…when other car suddenly cut in front of u while u’re cruising at the fast lane @ >110 kmh (ehem), the brake might struggle a bit to slow the car…1.6 liter + dual dry clutch 6 speed powershift gearbox is one hell of a combo!!! or if turbo is ur cup of tea u may wait for the upcoming model with 1.0 liter ecoboost…

• A5476DFJGH34 on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:54 am

Invest in some lightweight wheels, stopping problems all solved. Preferably < 5 kg for 16". Nowadays SSR forged abt 2.9K to 3K only :)

• sudonano on Apr 11, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Fiesta uses PowerShift DCT. Dual clutch so it is responsive. And DTC is better than manual cause it changes gear faster than a manual. Even GT-R uses it. M5 F10 also.

• ben yap on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:27 pm

wow! attractive price.

the letdown is the 4 speed auto. at least a 5 speeder isn’t too bad.

for the brand name Peugeot, I would rather wait a year or 2 to get a slightly used unit to soften the depreciation value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • JackeyDeck on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:25 pm

most people who bought a peugeot is bcoz they truly in love with the car regardless of whatever negativity there is. They bought the car with the mind that they won’t sell it.

But when they do… that’s mean there are certain frustration with the car. And most of the time, is the poor reliability with the car.

so…… i won’t even dare to consider getting a 2nd hand peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Bongcs on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:31 pm

This is a car which you might want to……..for

• 4speed on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Seems like same engine and transmission spec with 308 vti.

Test drove the 308vti before, really tak boleh pakai punya 4 speed…

Dunno if its the same with this 208…

Anyhow, my advise is to test drive first. But the specs given is above par for this segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • SamTowTruck on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:49 pm

Peugeot, french, citroen all their gearbox tak boleh pakai. To says it’s worst than DSG, i think both of them are abang adik.

For those frenchies owner, please call 1-800-SamTowTruck ya. Don’t worry, i give you braders all special price. Just says, you are Paul Tan readers. Tow 4 times free one Towing. Reasonable rate. Tada Tipu punya….gerenti servis bagus. Lama-lama jadi bukit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
  • _xXx_ on Apr 11, 2013 at 3:56 pm

take a look at SG 208 spec:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11312

• stanley on Apr 14, 2013 at 9:32 pm

why the 1.6 turbo charged is only 92hp? Malaysian is non turbo but 122hp. doesn’t really make sense even though 6sp in sg.

• Singapore does not get the petrol version. Theirs is the turbo diesel version. The 6-speed is the automated manual. Not a real automatic.

• Abg Long on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

must test drive 1st. then decide.

• BMW M POWER on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Where is the 208 1.6 thp. The 1.6 vti is under powered. But the pricing is quite attractive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • ahmad loy on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:04 pm

..I second you,bro! The original one is “thp” not “vti”..that’s why the pricing is quite reasonable..same story as KIA Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • kentji on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:16 pm

ironic that i can simply get a 2nd hand 2 year old 308turbo with 85k, and i will definitely choose 308 turbo over this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • matrxe on Apr 11, 2013 at 4:58 pm

bank in 2006 toyota yaris will set you back 96K.. 2013 toyota prius C 97K. Fully loaded 208 85K-100K..
    hmm…

• 3 door version priced from 95,888
    only adds 17 inch wheels,panoramic roof and leather seats for extra 10k

• _xXx_ on Apr 13, 2013 at 9:58 am

I think tats reasonable…do you know buyers of a particular make were forced to buy ugly door sticker at RM400+ some year ago?

• nabill on Apr 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm

how on earth u gonna see the binnacle clearly..its obstructed by the steering wheel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Cosmos on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:45 pm

you’e supposed to look over the steering wheel to see the instruments in this new concept. not through the steering wheel as what people normally do in every other car. just need some getting used to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Bongcs on Apr 11, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Bring in the coupe GTi !

• 3 door same weight as 5 door?

• A5476DFJGH34 on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:57 am

Yeah, what’s the kerb weight of the car? Hiding something negative, peugeot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Espresso! Quick! on Apr 12, 2013 at 5:18 pm

test drive it tomorrow then to feel how it runs:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151333207045146&set=a.421152390145.202382.180703620145&type=1&theater

• Beautiful car, but less than rm100k ? A bit hard to imagine.

• Retro on Apr 14, 2013 at 10:14 am

Has anyone tested driven it yet? It is at 1 Utama today for test drives and also at showrooms already for drive.

• lamanblog on Apr 14, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Have done test drive just now. Quality and driving experience is surprisingly fun with less 90k price. exterior and interior both looks more luxurios than other models at the same price. afforable.

I am thinking to get one but will wait another 3,4 months after first batch review considering this french built quality.

• KakiPanjang on Apr 15, 2013 at 10:44 am

Sit belakang, kecil loooo… why no photo of sit belakang?

• laluan sehala on Apr 15, 2013 at 3:09 pm

for you since you are kaki panjang, go get the 408. sure you will have tons of space for your long legs!

• joe slayer on Apr 17, 2013 at 11:36 am

what is happening to NASIM? why are they don’t pick the 6 speeder gearbox….. cutting cost or make more money???

• If Peugeot HAD one for the VTi in the first place, it would surely be selected. The simple fact is they DON’T.