Volkswagen Malaysia follows suit with DSG-related recall – exercise to involve 3,962 vehicles

volkswagen-polo-tsi-review-11-950x633

Following the voluntary recall issued in Singapore by Volkswagen for 6,181 cars due to a DSG-related problem, Volkswagen Group Malaysia has said it is also carrying out a similar exercise on a number of cars here, those equipped with a seven-speed dry-clutch Direct Shift Gearbox, to rectify issues identified with the transmission.

No official statement was released, but the company stated that a total of 3,962 cars will be involved in the recall exercise – these are units produced between June 2010 and June 2011, with affected vehicles being Golf, Polo, Scirocco, Cross Touran, Passat and Jetta models equipped with the transmission.

In Singapore, the Straits Times reported that in the affected cars, the gearbox’s mechatronics unit, which hydraulically operates the gearbox and clutch, would be duly replaced. Repair time is expected to be around up to three hours per vehicle, with part replacement carried out free of charge.

The procedure will be similar here, with the mechatronics unit replaced at no cost; all owners of the affected cars have been individually informed through its authorised dealers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• long time coming. should’ve recalled long long time ago. some have already paid to replace their gearbox.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng Kia on May 09, 2013 at 2:28 pm

I thought all the VW fanbois told me black and white no more problem already. They told me I was ‘butthurt’ because I didn’t have money to buy a VW. So why VW simply do this recall and waste money since no more problem liau and I have no money to buy a VW?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 23
      • sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 3:02 pm

and why should WE care whether you have money or not?

the world doesn’t revolve around you. go to that corner and be invisible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 157
        • Really German Engineering? on May 10, 2013 at 11:08 am

Do you know that VW buyers in Malaysia are the most gullible people on earth? Why? 2 Reasons.

Reason 1 – Because they pay about RM200,000 for a car that globally is equivalent or same in status as Proton. VW globally is nothing. They are same status as even Skoda (though same group). But in Malaysia, Malaysian buyers act as if they have made it in life and are the pinnacle of success. They act arrogant and even at traffic lights they rev and rev to show the car beside themselves that they, the VW owners, are happening. But in actual fact, like I said, in global eyes, people regard VW owners as normal people. For heaven’s sake, Volkswagen is the German term for “People’s car”. Its like owning a Proton. But likely Proton does not charge you RM200,000 to own it.

2nd Reason: You pay RM200,000 for problem after problem. Isn’t that so silly? VW Owners claim it is German superior engineering, but if it really superior engineering, why is there so so many complaints? You pay so much of money for problems?

Now VW Owners don’t know what to do. They bought their cars thinking that;
          1) Got Status ie thinking its same level as BMW and Mercedes.
          2) Quality of German Engineering.

But now, both of these points have gone down the drain. The car has zero status. Infact, people laugh at VW owners on the road because they know the reputation of constant breakdowns and DSG scandals and how foolish the owner was to pay RM200,000 for a car that is so problematic in the first place.

Isn’t better you just buy a normal car like Proton, Honda or Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 231 Thumb down 56
          • frenzyaustin on May 10, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Well said dude, well said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 14
          • VW Disgraceful Car on May 10, 2013 at 4:24 pm

VW owners should scroll down to the comment section and read comment by “mr_em”. He post VW’s admission that the DSG cannot handle Malaysian weather. So VW Malaysia must now pay compensation to each and every VW buyer in Malaysia that has DSG. This is because, nobody will buy these VW cars in the 2nd hand market with this kind of news. Nobody even will buy any new DSG. So, don’t you think VW owners should be compensated?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
          • Kia and Hyundai is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 49
          • Wisdom on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:29 pm

If that is the case, means our lowly Proton have better reliability compared to VW. At least proton have robust drivetrain. The issue at most is accesories related.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
      • kentji on May 09, 2013 at 3:09 pm

the company stated that a total of 3,962 cars will be involved in the recall exercise – these are units produced between June 2010 and June 2011

you do know how to read right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 54
        • 2013 DSG is also Faulty on May 10, 2013 at 9:15 am

I have a 2013 Passat. It has broken down 2 times already. My office collegue got a 2012 Golf, it has broken down several times last year and this year. No less than 4 times. This is VW Malaysia modus operandi. Every year, they say the DSG is okey. But every year also, you will see, it breaks down. the next year also, it breaks down. Moral of the story, VW are big liars. They swear 2011 will be okey but still rosak. They swear 2013 will be okey but still rosak. Cannot be trusted. All DSGs are faulty and not year specific.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 4
      • We have to respect and sing praises to Ah Beng Kia. He was one of the few who pushed for this recall. Please don’t think VW Malaysia loves you so much. They are doing this because the online condemnation was so strong that the mk7 sales was so so bad. But the big question is this. Would you dare buy from a company so unethical ie they waited for years before finally admitting to it. In the meantime, how many lives got lost? You know if you are speeding at 110KM and trying to overtake, suddenly the DSG box fails, how? Mati lah! Yes, so many people died because of DSG failures and VW is being sued big time. that is why they are quickly doing this recall. Imagine if VW was making baby milk that was contaminated. How many babies would have died because they decided to keep quiet for years? Personally I would never trust VW now or the future. A company that denied not just months but years about their defective gearbox is a company that has zero regard for your life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 13
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 131
        • The problem won’t cause the car to stall midway. It will only stall when you switch on the ignition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 50
          • fevrier on May 09, 2013 at 5:16 pm

I just sold my MK6 because it does stall MIDWAY. I was crossing T junction, move forward & found that the pedal does not give any throttle respond. Luckily it happened in residential road for 3 times. If I were crossing fast lane, & incoming bus or lorry approach, I could be dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 9
        • sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 5:12 pm

you’re like those retards forwarding news about blackouts on facebook.

list down your proof of all the:
          1) lives lost due to DSG
          2) lawsuits filed against VW for DSG failures

you always copy paste assignment in school is it? then you don’t get scholarship not because of your race lah, it’s because you’re stoopid.

#towardsmandatoryIQtestandshipthestupidonestonorthkorea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 132
          • fevrier on May 09, 2013 at 5:22 pm

You’re the idiot who thinks dead people can revive as zombie & announce to the media they died due to DSG malfunction.

I just sold my MK6 because it does not function MIDWAY. I was crossing T junction, move forward & found that the pedal does not give any throttle respond. Luckily it happened in residential road for 3 times. If I were crossing fast lane, & incoming bus or lorry approach, I could be dead.

& hey I’m statistically not counted in “life lost due to DSG”.

& VW’s respond from HQ German & Malaysia is basically: “There is no fault code generated from the system. Har Har sucker”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 9
          • sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 6:26 pm

ever heard of post mortem. oh what, all accidents classified as phantom drivers is it?? thank god you’re working at whatever shit job you’re working and not running this country. school is not about passing exams, it’s supposed to teach you CRITICAL THINKING as well. you, critical ICU alreadyu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 102
          • fevrier on May 10, 2013 at 8:12 am

Really? Post motem? they can’t even diagnosis on what happened to my car’s DSG when I AM ALIVE. & you believe they are gonna have better result in autopsy when I’M DEAD?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
          • 2013 DSG is also Faulty on May 10, 2013 at 9:33 am

Mr Sowhat, you are so immature in your comments. Every comment you talk about money and how others cannot afford VW or pay down payment for a VW. Please grow up. I am a VW owner also but I find that you are too immature. All your replies are nonsense. You are either a VW salesman worried about the potential bad sales or are a VW worried about the car’s bad reputation. Just face it and admit it, we bought lemons. I was blinded thinking it is a great German car but even my Proton gives me zero trouble compared to my VW. I myself admit it and want to move forward. I admit I kena con by VW. Hec with my RV. I know nobody will buy my problematic car but at least, I know how to let go and admit that I made a bad decision in life. Should have just bought a good Japanese car, my life would be at peace with no worries about highway breakdowns.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
          • Don't Be Ignorant on May 10, 2013 at 11:50 am

Are you a VW sales man? Already facts that DSG fail BIG TIME. Please google it yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • StopbashingDSG on May 10, 2013 at 12:01 am

Haha Name.. I hope u r joking.. do u really thing an idiot commenting with a name like AH BENG KIA can make VW tremble with fear for a recall .. Hahahahah
          Grow up…. Sour grapes and just shut up …
          DSG will still be around with our without your stupid bashings
          you can have your made in 1980s 4AT Toyota
          For me I will be riding in my high tech DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 85
          • gtmaniac on May 10, 2013 at 9:58 am

Dude.. you will be surprised how many 80s 3AT/4AT Toyotas still on road, today.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
      • Pls read “produced between June 2010 and June 2011″…newer not effected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 49
        • The Sun (Matahari) is Cooler on May 10, 2013 at 4:54 pm

But VW on 8th of May 2013 already admit that their DSG cannot handle hot weather. So, how can it be between 2010 and June 2011. Was the sun hotter during this period and the sun has cooled down in 2012 and now even cooler in 2013? So who is bluffing? VW Global admission on 8th of May 2013 or VW Malaysia? What a cool sun (matahari) we have, it can become cooler over the years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • gynaecologist on May 09, 2013 at 2:58 pm

ini kali lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 16
      • salambangi on May 09, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Thank you DAP red bean army. Ini kali lah repair you car. Lain kalilah repair your dream to repair the govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 48
        • farizY on Jul 20, 2013 at 10:43 am

Wow, you do admit the government needs repairing, just like DSG. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • The Whole Truth about DSG on May 09, 2013 at 3:20 pm

No point doing the recall. why? Because they will just replace it with another new DSG and the problem will re-occur over and over again. It is the DSG that is inherently faulty. The whole DSG box need to be replaced with a 6 speed wet clutch system. Don’t think VW loves you so much. They are doing this after years of stinking complaints that they vehemently denied. All those fanboys and salesmen also came online to spread lies that nothing was wrong. Well, if nothing is or was wrong, why did VW China recall 400,000 cars at a cost of a fortune? So now, we see how unethical the VW salesman are in the comments section. We also see how VW owners also started spreading good news that everything was fine because they were scared their RV would fall like a stone.

Bear one thing in mind, this recall is just a drama. A drama because Singapore had done the recall and just to prove VW Malaysia is doing something, they also officially declare a recall.

Also bear in mind that a recall won’t sort the problem. The problem is inherently a defective product by BorgWarner. The new DSG boxes will give VW owners the same headache, stalling, breakdowns, jerking etc. The tow truck will still be your best friend.

unless and only unless VW changes the whole gear system to the 6 speed wet clutch system, preferably single clutch, this whole show is really Drama minggu Ini (remember in the 80s the show)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 9
      • Dual Clutch DSG got single clutch version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • rocco rocco on May 09, 2013 at 3:47 pm

ooo…really…mmm…i think the BorgWarner only design and supply the turbo for scirocco R K04 only, not the rest of tsi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 5:14 pm

not everyone is poor like you that they have to care about RV. you don’t have money to pay downpayment is it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 60
    • Is too late but still can cover it… yes i agree that DSG fail is almost killing ppl! my DSG fail too but few days later, then i can get my car already so is not that worst but they r too much, repairing my car but still can void some warranty coz they said my car is not original but modification?! haven’t complain the DSG but still want to void ppl warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • From my understanding, a wet-clutch DSG is more reliable and can handle higher torque than a dry-clutch. The downsides being its heavier and of course, more expensive. So wet-clutch is usually used for higher-end and more powerful models rather than the bread and butter variants.
    Teutonic engineering and quality must means very little for those unlucky souls who suffers transmission failure in their VWs. My point is why can’t VW install wet-clutch DSG in their entry level models to ensure better reliability?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • My guess is they didn’t take into account how these dsg box will be punished in heat and traffic jam. But more importantly, have they found out what is the cause of the breakdown and if they have taken precaution to mend it.

• kentji on May 09, 2013 at 3:20 pm

in fact, the 7 dry clutch has better operating temperature range, the reasons that burn those dsg are mechatronic error and unproper use from the owner (such as putting on D for a long long time during traffic jam or in stationery with a minimal pedal input that keep the cluth engaging for crawling)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 64
        • Kentji, please don’t make it so obvious that you are a VW Salesman who is worried about the bad mk7 sales. Btw, everybody puts D in traffic jams. That is why we buy Auto. Otherwise might as well buy manual. So illogical your comment. Really a true VW salesman!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 9
          • noname on May 09, 2013 at 4:45 pm

DSG is not fully auto like slushbox. DSG is actually automated manual. Since I’m VW owner and worried about the DSG failure, I read a lot from forum how to drive DSG properly. Most of the forumer suggest to change to Sport/Manual mode while driving during traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
          • sepul on May 09, 2013 at 5:10 pm

I am partially agree with noname. Basically it is like a robot controlling the clutches instead of man. And since it is computer controlled, some miscalculation may cause the clutch to disengage while the gears is still in use. In theory, same as one who lift off the clutch pedal while in gear during idle, in manual the jerking will turn off the engine, but not in DSG or other dual clutch system. Ford used to have similar issue, but since their Powershift gearbox has tolerance for slow driving, it is not as big a problem as DSG ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
          • hello….dsg is not an auto, if its in the a long traffic jam/stationery and u put in “D”, its akin to a manual and you put ur feet on clutch for a very loongg time…sure ur clutch will Kaput.

Again…DSG is a manual box where a computer do the clutch for u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • noname, if DSG is so particular on how we drive it, it makes me wonder if it is even worth it to pay so much for the price only to be told how to drive!

There are tons of talented engineers in VW. Don’t tell me they can’t make the DSG less susceptible to how we drive it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 6:29 pm

yeah, and you so obviously a toyota salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
        • ABTguy on May 09, 2013 at 4:21 pm

I don’t believe you, if that dry DSG has better operating range why is it having so much more problem than the 6 speed unit ?

Mechatronic is part of the gearbox, if it fails, it counts as gearbox failure !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 6:31 pm

right, vw never thought about because wild temperature variation between seasons in europe right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • waters on May 20, 2013 at 4:54 pm

You answered your own question.

• Is the warranty for the gearbox gonna start all over again on the date the faulty part are replaced like what been practiced in china?

• VW have to do damage control…..VW mk 7 is not selling well I guess & sales have drop dramatically….so….many complains ….Saw Cit DS 5 is nice to look at very luxury like a mini Cayane …

• Johnny on May 09, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Errr….finally?

• start-a-figt on May 09, 2013 at 2:38 pm

grey import VW biting their nail now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • mystvearn on May 09, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Hopefully this fix solves the problem of being stuck in a traffic jam. DSG gearboxes hate that a lot.

• Mazlan mohamed din on May 09, 2013 at 2:41 pm

I bought VW passat in Dis. 2012 from wearnes jln ampang , KL. Am I affected by the recall?

• Ini semua BN punya salah..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 22
    • kentji on May 09, 2013 at 3:27 pm

yes, if those damn taxes wasn’t sky high people can already buy a gti with similar price range like jetta or golf tsi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
      • frenzyaustin on May 09, 2013 at 5:42 pm

And also UMW, I can buy a GT86 which supposed to be cheaper than a GTi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • pirlo on Oct 31, 2013 at 10:26 am

even in japan itself, not everyone could buy gt86. it is also considered pricey in japan.

• koochai on May 09, 2013 at 3:38 pm

apa lagi vw owner mau?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 4
  • fooyc on May 09, 2013 at 3:39 pm

@Mazlan mohamed din,
    FYI, I am a VW owner with DSG-7 gearbox equipped. You can either wait for the call/letters OR, call VGM toll-free directly to enquire. I tried, mine was not part of this recall exercise.

In my opinion, just bear in mind, this would not eliminate the DSG-7 issues completely. Much care still requires on this rather ‘defective’ gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • _xXx_ on May 09, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Agree. I would have been a least an Italia 458 owner instead of owning this sh!t if the price was right.

• alldisc on May 10, 2013 at 11:35 am

if the price is right, i could buy this car with only 4 years loan instead of 9 years.

after which, a new model will be introduced just on time as i was shopping for a replacement car.

• RON97 on May 09, 2013 at 4:03 pm

My f10 still ok what? No need recall..
    Vote for Bm…Tukar VW..
    Ini Kali Kalah la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • v-power on May 09, 2013 at 4:28 pm

I can just imagine this worst-case scenario; people will avoid VW cars (DSG or not), their brand/image will suffer & sales will plummet…so I’m very surprised VW seems pretty relaxed & tight-lipped about this whole DSG affair…oh well…

• DonkeyKong on May 09, 2013 at 4:51 pm

What do we expect. VW was never a luxury brand to begin with. It’s like Europe’s Proton. Only the image-conscious nitwits in third world countries treat it like a premium brand just because it is German.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on May 09, 2013 at 5:44 pm

VW fanboy still think they drove a expensive premium car, but they just overpaid a car. VW = poor mans BMW in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • VW = German made but cheaper! love yea VW and proud of u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
        • frenzyaustin on May 09, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Still a peoples car though. German made doesn’t mean it’s premium. If it’s premium, Does it mean VW Polo Sedan is more high class than a Rolls Royce because German > Brits

• Yea yea BMW is so premium and luxury, tomorrow i should go to the used car to buy a few thousand k BM and then tell everybody i am driving a luxury pig oh yea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • daMystery1 on Jul 07, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Rolls Royce IS German – BMW owned and BMW designed Engine & Transmission – Just assembled in UK.

• BMW is premium but the front grill is like a pig yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • StopbashingDSG on May 10, 2013 at 12:26 am

It’s better than you idiots who thinks your 4AT drives like a DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • still the 4AT’s are better since they didnt break down like a DSG

• sowhat on May 09, 2013 at 6:33 pm

some ppl don’t buy vw because they want to buy a luxury brand. what, you think ppl don’t know how to google car price is it? it’s people like you lah buy car because want to action. how’s your 4 speed gearbox toyota? not talking about the 1980s one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • DonkeyKong on May 09, 2013 at 8:37 pm

My 4 speeder serve me well for these years without giving me any headache. Then how about your Volkswagen? How many times you’ve visited the service center?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • StopbashingDSG on May 10, 2013 at 12:18 am

How many times have u gone above 4th gear? Oh right u only have 4 gears….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
          • Whats the point of having more than 4 but unusable? Its like having a Gun with no bullets, How big your gun is doesn’t mean shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • DonkeyKong on May 10, 2013 at 2:16 pm

How many time have you gone to 6th gear? Oh right ur gearbox has problem and can’t shift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • DSG vs SST on May 10, 2013 at 4:03 pm

is it worth it to have lets say 10 gear if stranded beside the hway n waiting for the tow truck to come..

yet the answer from VW is..”doesnt know the climate at Asean” WTF…Japanese Anytime!

• blacktop on May 11, 2013 at 2:34 pm

How many time have you gone to 6th gear?

im using toyota with engine old tech called blacktop w 6 speed.. many times d shift to 6th gear.. + the engine never give trouble to me for thelast 3 years.. just ned to do normal services.. engine oil.. filter.. etc.. ur dsg so called HIGH TECH + NEW TECH gives u troubles?

• StopbashingDSG on May 10, 2013 at 6:15 pm

7th gear everyday without fail… Troll…. Yours?? Oh right 4AT Hahahah.. and befits your name – donkeykong – still living in the 80s huh? This fact speaks for itself…what an idiot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
          • I wonder who’s trolling… what are you trying to proof with a 7-speeder? Really dont see a point past 6th anyway. well be happy with the more gears you have then… seems like u need to compensate for something…

• aiyoGG on Jun 18, 2013 at 7:06 pm

lorry got 12 gears, go drive lorry then…

• StopbashingDSG on May 10, 2013 at 12:32 am

Hey Name… So that makes Toyota is Proton and Honda is Perodua in Japan, if in accordance with your idiotic equation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
      • Actually you got it right, StopbashingDSG. Toyota is like Proton in Japan in terms of class. The luxury version is Lexus which is a class above. In Germany, VW is a just a standard class vehicle. The luxury version is Audi. Accept the fact please. Don’t try to be too hard on yourself to accept this plain simple fact. VW overcharged us big time on their cars.

• That’s true. If you have been to Germany or even US, you’ll realize that VW is just an ordinary class car. It’s like Germany’s Proton in terms of class. Only in Malaysia they try to boost it as a luxury image to justify for their super overpriced models.

• motorhead on May 09, 2013 at 5:19 pm

VW? Lain kalilah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • isuzuki on May 09, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Well, the news 1st broke out in China, at least that was how I found out. So it is the same everywhere.

• frenzyaustin on May 09, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Not sure if it’s really only weared “never failed German Engineering”, or it’s the first “never failed German Engineering” that failed?

• retard on May 09, 2013 at 8:16 pm

naahh!!! those who bash me earlier, kia/hyundai 6 speed gbox is better naaa…..
    gaya tapi losak apa guna…haaa…haaa..
    only polo sedan gbox almost same like kia 6speed.

• dsg problem=previously famous proton power window

for sure.vw fanboi butthurt..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • pwrwin on May 09, 2013 at 11:21 pm

At least you can break the glass in emergency. If you stop suddenly on the of the highway because of gearbox breakdown, you go to die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • StopbashingDSG on May 10, 2013 at 12:22 am

Why am I butt hurting? I am thanking VW for this recall to shut you idiots up once and for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 36
  • chaos on May 09, 2013 at 11:11 pm

I tot a last year they announce a new software update for this? Still not resolved?

So many recalls and VW Malaysia react so slow? Fast sales on discount and “German technology”?

A friend of mine demands a buy back from one of their dealers because of DSG and got it. Other owners should do the same.

• alldisc on May 10, 2013 at 11:40 am

if a problem is repeatedly occuring and dealer could not rectify it, only then the court will order for a buy back. if it happens 1 time, then forget about it.

• CryVWFanboi on May 10, 2013 at 12:22 am

Vtec is better than DSG

Dislike my post butthurted vw fanboi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • frenzyaustin on May 10, 2013 at 2:20 pm

VTEC is ass kicking! 250hp from a 2 litre F20C engine, GTi need a turbo to do this several years after the Honda S2000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Medic on May 13, 2013 at 8:57 am

Yaya,your VTEC will be left smoked by even a normal vw golf at traffic heavy msian roads due to inadequate torque.Where & when can your VTEC scream?every Sunday morning perhaps?

• Please don’t go full retard. Vtec is not a gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Seriously just give up on VW! My 2010 Touareg is in the workshop since 1st week of FEB 2013 till now still waiting for spare part! I cannot imagine a company this size need MONTHS to diagnose the problem and wait for spare part supposedly from Germany! Calls made, letters wrote, to both VW Malaysia AND Germany all to deaf ears! Way to go VW! Way worse than the infamous Audi service you actually make them look good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • kambinganas on May 11, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Just in case you have not realized yet, Audi and VW are the same bunch of lanuns.

• Of course I know that. I’m referring to VW and Audi as individual companies and not as companies under the same umbrella. I’m merely comparing their level of customer service and quality of their service workshop both known for being appalling in both respects!

• luckily i opted for the e90 325i instead of the lousy vw after looking at my friends problematic dsg

• power window > dsg

• mr_em on May 10, 2013 at 9:47 am

Everybody here no need to quarrel about DSG lah…. here is a news extract from a VW spokesperson on 8th MAY 2013 in Wolfsburg, Germany where there is an admission about the weakness of DSG in Asia’s traffic jam (hot & humid).

In German:
    (dpa/sb) Nach seiner großen Rückrufaktion in China holt Volkswagen jetzt auch in Japan rund 91.000 Autos wegen möglicher Defekte im Direktschaltgetriebe DSG zurück in die Werkstätten. Die Probleme würden in ganz Asien auftreten, sagte ein Sprecher am 8. Mai 2013 in Wolfsburg der Nachrichtenagentur dpa. Die Technik verträgt sich offenbar nicht mit der Mischung aus dem feucht-heißen Klima und dem Verkehrschaos in den Metropolen Asiens. Ohne Kühlung durch den Fahrtwind könne es gerade bei vielen Staus zu Problemen kommen, hieß es. Mit den 384.000 zurückgerufenen Autos in China und den 91.000 in Japan solle das Problem aber im Griff sein.
    Alle News und Tests zu VW
    Im März 2013 hatte sich VW auf seinem größten Einzelmarkt China zu dem groß angelegten Rückruf entschieden, um die Getriebemechatronik auszuwechseln. Das Problem in Japan sei identisch, und auch die Reparatur in der Werkstatt laufe ebenfalls so ab wie beim Rückruf in China, sagte der Sprecher. Es seien auch die gleichen Modelle betroffen wie in China. Dort wurden Fahrzeuge vom Typ Passat, Touran, New Bora, Sagitar, Magotan, Lavida und Skoda Octavia, Superb sowie importierte Golf Variant, Scirocco, Cross Golf und Audi A3 zurückgerufen. In Deutschland geht VW ebenfalls Hinweisen auf Probleme mit dem Direktschaltgetriebe nach. Wer Schwierigkeiten hat, dem solle für die Reparatur Kulanz gewährt werden, hatte ein Sprecher Anfang Mai gesagt. Das Angebot gilt neben der Kernmarke VW auch für Autos der Schwestermarken Audi, Seat und Skoda mit dem betroffenen Getriebe.

Translate by Google:
    “(AP / sb) After his great recall in China Volkswagen now fetches about 91,000 cars in Japan due to possible defects in the DSG direct shift back to the workshops. The problems would occur in Asia, a spokesman said on the 8th May 2013 in Wolfsburg, the news agency dpa. The technique apparently is not compatible with the mixture of the hot and humid climate and the traffic chaos in the cities of Asia. Without cooling by the wind, it could cause problems especially with many traffic jams, it said. The recalled 384,000 cars in China and 91,000 in Japan, but the problem should be in control.
    All news and tests for VW
    In March 2013, Volkswagen decided on its largest single market, China, to the large-scale recall to replace the gearbox mechatronics. The problem in Japan is the same, and also the repair in the workshop as well as run off like the recall in China, said the spokesman. There would be affected, as in China, the same models. There type vehicles Passat, Touran, New Bora, Sagitar, Magotan, Lavida and Skoda Octavia, Superb and imported Golf Variant, VW Scirocco, Cross Golf and Audi A3 have been recalled. In Germany, VW is also evidence of problems with the direct shift after. Who difficulties, which should be granted for the repair Grace, a spokesman had said in early May. The offer is in addition to the core VW brand cars for the sister brands Audi, Seat and Skoda concerned with the transmission.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on May 10, 2013 at 11:46 am

VW shoulc have conducted R&D reliability testings in Malaysia for the extreme high and humid temperature and the traffic jams.

instead of only nurbugring, sweden/norway and arizona for that extreme cold/high temp and high speed handling.

• frenzyaustin on May 10, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Malaysia don’t want any fun to drive or fast car, they want a comfort, less headache car. Who can drive a car for fun when traffic jam for few kilometers, we have terrible headache when buying a car and now cause another headache for customers?

• VW Disgraceful Car on May 10, 2013 at 4:17 pm

With this admission in mind, VW Asia Pacific must pay compensation to each and every buyer of VWs with DSG in Asia Pacific countries. VW buyers now cannot drive their cars safely. It is a time bomb ready to blow up. VW Malaysia, please have some balls and compensate all your Malaysian buyers who are stuck with this DSG. Now RV also will drop like mad. Nobody will want to buy the cars in the 2nd hand market with this admission of fault. If this admission is true, VW Malaysia MUST pay compensation. Don’t treat your buyers like dirt!

• alldisc on May 11, 2013 at 10:52 am

no frills Vios??

• amirad on May 13, 2013 at 10:53 am

Then every VW with 7 speed dsg should come with the instructions:
      Only drive when weather is cool
      Do not drive in traffic jam
      and the reply would be when and where to drive? KLIA highway at 3am.
      So if want to drive to KL, take a 4 speeder toyota. Which is what I’ve been doing. How ironic…

• mr_em on May 10, 2013 at 9:54 am

So I hope that clarifies, coming from VW themselves… anyone can re-verify this piece of news. It was taken from autobild.de website.

We are all civilised Malaysian so no need to defend the defend or bash anymore.

The failures will not affect all cars but there is a high possibility of failures when the cars are used mostly in those stated conditions above.

• Das auto? Oh wai…

• DSG vs SST on May 10, 2013 at 10:33 am

it clearly shows dat the RnD Drpartment didnt work so well…after a few model of Golf and all the variant in VW dat use DSG..still old story and failure!!!

Really cant accept it..dats y i sold my MK5 (even still under loan and have to top up some k’s to get brand new Evo10..until now no problem n less headache..japanese anytime!!!!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on May 10, 2013 at 11:48 am

in european countries where the population still prefer stick shift, DSG is not VW’s best selling model as mostly are manual.

• mr_em on May 10, 2013 at 12:51 pm

You are spot on… In Europe, DSG is an option and represent a lesser proportions of cars sold compared to manual version.
        Hence not surprising their lack of reliability testing in traffic and climate conditions typical of Asian countries.

But VW is surely learning things the hard way, isnt it? And now it is also beginning to understand that it ain’t that sweet to aim to be the largest car manufacturer in the world anymore right?

The bigger you become, the more problems will come your way… hehehe…

• DSG vs SST on May 10, 2013 at 4:00 pm

doesnt study the climate at Asean??

WTF kind of statement is dat..1 year old company setup or what..90’s Japanese Sport Car is the best i think..untill now no uther can defeat or set on par with them (Supras, Skyline, RX7 etc)

• momok5900 on May 10, 2013 at 2:43 pm

what is the merit of DSG compare to standard gearbox? i wonder why VW didnt know the climate of Asians country? Maybe Germany think Asian people can be cheated with a bit technical bluffing,R&D bla bla bla. Well, it slucky we got internet access nowdays and finally realized the problem.

• aiyoGG on Jun 18, 2013 at 7:19 pm

lesson learned:
      drive euro car when you are in europe
      drive asia made if you are in asia
      globalisation still not workin…accept it…

• daMystery1 on Jul 07, 2013 at 9:36 pm

The Merit of DSG you ask… It was designed as an alternative to a so called “Slush box automatic” ie a Planetary gear Automatic with Torque Converter. The main objective being to eliminate the slippage of the conventional Auto Box. I am sure that arguably everybody, would rather have the well proven and reliable Slush Box, slight slippage or not, or even CVT, rather than constant problems and failure – Not to mention the huge expense for out of warranty failures.

• Noname on May 11, 2013 at 2:51 pm

Another re-call. In Japan.

“The spokesman said that the problems were due to the hot and wet climate, the extreme stop-and-go traffic as well as pollution typical of some Asian cities.”

Source – http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/05/09/volkswagen-japan-idUSL6N0DQ14M20130509

• kambinganas on May 11, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Pollution pun boleh affect the car ke? Did not know that VWs are equivalent to a kereta lembu. Make sure to give your VWs lots of clean fresh air, mineral water and organically grown grass to keep it healthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 11:47 pm

problems were due to the hot and wet climate at Japan (recall 91,000 cars) and China (recall 384,181 vehicles)..?? Malaysia even hotter…

• sctin on May 13, 2013 at 11:22 pm

DSG = Design stupidly gearbox.

i had mechatronic changed twice in 3 days and car stalled at 110km/hour

clutch pack changed two times and gear bearing changed as well. Car being sent to service center after 8 months for numerous times.

• hondaboy on May 15, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Wow..this remind me of the infamous previous version Honda City dugong problematic CVT gearbox….hmm, but ppl still bought it by the truck load…same goes wt vw here, lots of golf/passat..etc on the roads nowadays.

• Wisdom on Jul 04, 2013 at 4:30 pm

I believe the Honda City CVT issue was due to the lack of awareness and training at service centers.

They pour in normal ATF rather than CVTF. Affected models were City in early 2003 and 2004. Expensive learning curve for foreman, paid by the owners!!

• maybach on May 30, 2013 at 4:46 pm

No wonder Merc didn’t have any dual clutch vehicle on the road yet except for the SLS that is meant for racing…

Btw, heard that dual clutch will be available in new A-class … lets see how is Benz technology …

• too hot on Jun 02, 2013 at 11:48 pm

just read on the related stories on the rigth side of this page, VW recall (DSG), Nissan (airbag), Camry and Altis (airbag), Mitsubishi Mirage(what’s the problem?), Mazda…., some years ago Honday also recalled (window electronics?)…Ford?

• too hot on Jun 02, 2013 at 11:52 pm

now I miss the Mitshubishi Sigma (Galant) of my family. it was still running when I sold it when it was about 20 yrs old. can I get the Sigma back instead of the VW?

• Great cars but goofed up big time. Japanese cars may not drive so well, but they are more reliable. Less headaches and expensive trips to SC. Ownership experience matters most. Reliability, SC, maintenance costs, and RV are most important to the majority.

• S Liew on Jul 08, 2013 at 4:26 pm

I read DSG problem isn’t just gear disengagement while driving. It also accelerates (sudden surge of power) without stepping the pedal for acceleration.
    I have experienced in 2 occasions of sudden acceleration when stationary at traffic light with DSG in drive position in Malaysia. Luckily the brake held it back. Bought this Passat in May 2013 was 1 month old at that time. What’s wrong???

• Sparcov on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:27 am

Can anyone help me?

I saw 2010 Polo 1.2 TSI selling at RM 75K, Is this a good buy? or also being affected by DSG problem?

I know certain DSG wet clutch 6 speed is the best to have. But I’m not sure which year and which model using this type of clutch.

thank you

• Hi VW

2 things that i disappointed with Volkswagen product, I purchased your Cross Touran 1 year ago, my clutch had problem early this year and had to leave my car there for few days, no replacement car at that time so I had to rent car for few days with my own money.

Last week, my car’s EPC light on and showed on my dashboard, I sent my car to Wearnes VW Sungai Besi, your customer service Paul didn’t even able to tell me what’s wrong with my car, just told me I had to leave my car there for more that 1 week or 2, no exact date when i can get my car. Long waiting list for replacement car. This is the Second problem happen in few months time but your customer service just took my case for granted and make me felt like I’m an unlucky customer to choose the wrong product, no solution for me.

Your customer service Paul agreed to call me and give solution but didn’t call yesterday, he told my wife that his manager Alex Chan didn’t give him solution for my case after my wife called him.

2 things I felt disappointed to your product:

– Product – my Cross Touran was imported from Germany. What kind of German engineered?

Service – Keep ignoring and wait for the time to pass is the way you handle customer especially the car facing 2nd product’s problem in few months time.

I serviced my car on time in your VW Wearnes Sungai Besi with full service record.

Cheers,

• VGM Malaysia Never Solve Problems on Mar 04, 2015 at 9:05 am

Mechatronic failure for 2013 DSG.
      It’s dead after 15K km after change the synthetic oil to Mineral Oil.

Keep long waiting a month, no courtesy car, no answer when mechatronics come.

Well known mechatronics failure, no stock keeping in Malaysia?

Mechatronics failure is extrememly dangerous.
      Your car sudden no acceleration while you driving on highway right lane. Engine will off if the speed becomes low.

Now I believe Australian lady’s dead in Golf 7speed. Car stall on highway. Crashed by a massive truck!

VW! make your CSR!

• I’m driving a SMG. And from my knowing through out the years of owning the car, these type of transmission weren’t meant for daily drive in malaysia.

At least, skip traffic jam/idling without moving the car.

• VWOwnersAreKindAndCourteous on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:48 pm

To “Really German Engineering ?” comments,

I drive my MyVi around town, and I’ve never noticed any VW revving next to me. VW engines are quiet, please don’t compare if its a modded one (I believe you stuck your face to all VW car bonnets at traffic light). Instead, I see lots of Protons fart as loud as thunder because they bought Proton thinking they bought a VW at a fraction of the price.

All comments on VW owners thinking their owning a BMW:
    Please do not stereotype! Many people bought a VW because it would gives them the same joy in driving as a BMW would at a lower price. Most VW drivers fall in love with their ride due to the DSG’s performance. Yes, it has its problems because its a dry-clutch (that means its actually a manual gearbox, handled by a computerized mechanism to function like auto) – How cool is that ? Its performance is sweet as hell.

The reason I bought my VW was because I enjoyed the ride, not because it gives me a status that I’m successful in life or a notch higher than the rest. Believe me when I say I had my clutch replaced 2 times within the first year. But it’s all solved now. I don’t know about others, but the handling and comfort in driving my Passat really takes my stress away after work and sometimes I really don’t mind being in a jam (KL’s famous trait).

Buy a Proton instead of VW ? Here’s what you should try out:
    1. close the door of a Proton and a VW
    2. rev and listen to the sound of Proton and VW engine
    3. play with the paddle shift / manual gearshift (can Proton fanboi confirm this ?)
    4. sprint from 0 to 100

It’s a matter of preference..why would you spend money to buy gifts for your GF ? Simply because getting what you love matters. If you love a Proton so much, go buy it. Likewise for VW.

*I’m not a VW fanboi, I just love how german engineered engines sound. I’d love a BMW but its > 200k a waste to spend on it when you can get the comfort at a lower price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Mr Mac on Jan 18, 2014 at 1:12 am

confirm macai ini orang….Already proven piece of crap still want to say otherwise. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Mr Mac Dies on Mar 07, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Piece of crap so what, I like to speed. I’ve been changing my VW every 1.5 – 2 years. Can you ? Please shut up if you don’t know what a VW feels like.

• owner on Feb 26, 2014 at 12:04 pm

very well said. matured and constructive feedback and opinion. I echo your opinions and I would have said exactly the same, but you said it all!

• VWOwnersAreKindAndCourteous on Oct 03, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Sparcov, go test drive. If its a 6-speed its a wet clutch. If its a 7-speed, its a dry-clutch. During your test drive, you can shift the gears up and see it move from D1-D6 / D7. Its fun watching it shift, your display doesn’t just show a plain “D” like most cars. It tells you what gear you’re on.

• DamonLee on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:33 pm

within my family, we have a golf, polo tsi and a jetta. all these are using 7 speed DSG. For us, the cars really have more problem as compared to the Japanese cars that we have earlier. However, once we start driving vw, it tell us that we are no way to go back to the Japanese brand that we have been using all these while although so much problem occurs. Well, is time to save more and go for the 2.0 engine, which mated with the 6 spd wet cluth…

• MrFatJimTights on Feb 17, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Sad,sad,sad. But sadder still is that people who have experienced problems i.e. loss of drive, willingly, knowingly selling their cars on. Blood on your hands. Oh… for a while I forgot where we were. Never mind…

• GermanAvatar on Jan 19, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Now its already 2015,, VW offer for Pre reg Touran 2013 is RM120k..is it worth the money? Ive read all the above comments…I’m so confused to buy or not to buy now… The salesman says the problems have been rectified..pls help..need advise esp to the ones who is now using the 2013 model.

• VGM Malaysia Never Solve Problems on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:56 am

Wait until VGM and VW malaysia improve their service center techniques, quality, and their parts reliability!