Porsche Cayman – third-gen 981 arrives, from RM500k

DSC_2275a

Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) has officially introduced the new Porsche Cayman and Cayman S in Malaysia. The third-generation 981 arrives here six months after its debut at the Los Angeles Auto Show.

Lower (by 10 mm, or 11 mm in the case of the S) and longer (by 33 mm) than its predecessor, it’s also stiffer and lighter, the mid-engined two-seater being the third model from Porsche – after the 911 Carrera and Boxster – to feature innovative lightweight body design. A standard Cayman S weighs 30 kg less than the previous-gen form.

The Cayman wears a 2.7 litre flat six-cylinder engine, with 275 hp at 7,400 rpm and 290 Nm at 4,500 to 6,500 rpm for output numbers. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 5.4 seconds and a top speed of 264 km/h, with the Porsche Doppelkupplungsgetriebe (PDK) transmission in tow.

As for the Cayman S, the 3.4 litre flat six engine provides 325 hp at 7,400 rpm and 370 Nm at 4,500 to 5,800 rpm. Equipped with the Sports Chrono Package, in conjunction with PDK, it takes 4.7 seconds to get to 100 km/h from standstill, all the way to a top speed of 281 km/h.

DSC_2260a

In Malaysia, standard options for the Cayman models are tire pressure monitoring, bi-Xenon headlights including Porsche Dynamic Lighting system (PDLS), Park Assist for front and rear, Power Steering Plus as well as the Sound Package Plus, which offers nine loudspeakers and 235 watts of total system output.

The Cayman S comes with a Sport Chrono Package Plus, which now also includes the dynamic transmission mount. In combination with the standard option PDK, this offers the “Launch Control” function and motorsport-derived shift strategy.

Optional kit includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) and a specially-developed Burmester high-end surround sound system with 12 speakers and a 12-channel, 821 watt amplifier.

Base pricing for the Porsche Cayman starts from RM500,000, while that for the Cayman S is from RM610,000. The cars come with a four-year factory warranty and a four-year complimentary service maintenance package.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Abdul Khalid T on May 15, 2013 at 9:40 am

Cayman S is the US is US$63,000. This becomes RM500,000 plus? Even worse the 911C2S is US$98,000. But here, its RM1 million. Even with 110% duty and excise tax, how it become RM1 million?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 36
    • RON97 on May 15, 2013 at 10:25 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 182
      • kereta lembu on May 15, 2013 at 11:17 am

RON97, stop being an @sshole.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 32
      • _xXx_ on May 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm

have u guys not tired of asking ppl to leave/shut-up? What’s wrong with making a comparison?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
        • Julian Lee on May 15, 2013 at 3:05 pm

the only germans’ car worths buyed is bmw, because it is better and sporty spitit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • Ukulele on May 15, 2013 at 10:46 am

RM1 = 0.33USD

Thus,
      US$63,000 = RM189,031.45

Excise duty is 300%
      RM189,031.45 x 3 = RM567094.35

U get it? Correct me if im wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
    • theanswer on May 15, 2013 at 11:37 am

have u heard ‘profit’ before? even without tax, i bet the price going to be expensive here. the company will mark up the price to gain more profit.

• MrPoppyplants on May 15, 2013 at 11:42 am

Car manufacturers and distributors in Malaysia have HUGE margins. Especially the luxury segments. The math is not rocket science.

All this means that it’s not just the government that’sscrewing us consumers up.

• Yes is quite expensive here but the USA is a large country and everybody need a car! ‘ positive thinking ‘

• tHe^CuLpRit on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:43 pm

bored already of hearing this. it’s just the way it is and the fact is, there are still a ton of people that can afford these cars judging by its numbers on our roads. Sincerely, BLM owner.

• Gegary on May 15, 2013 at 10:00 am

1) Not only that, RM500K is probably with the barest of options. Porsche is famous for options adding a lot to the base price.

2) Same price range as “home ground” Lotus Evora then. Why is Proton-funded Lotus still so expensive? We have been supporting Proton directly and indirectly through taxes, duties and APs for so long, why not they make Lotus cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • abcde on May 15, 2013 at 1:21 pm

lol..u must be joking saying to low down lotus when they cant even lower proton.

if ppl in US can buy cayenne hybrid for US70k
      while we with 70k can only buy Preve. Make sense?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Abdul Khalid T on May 15, 2013 at 10:03 am

SDAC, can you please bring in the Porsche Cayenne Hybrid and sell it to us cheaply. The car is only US$70,000. Since we have Hybrid tax exemptions, the car would only cost RM200,000 as you all don’t have to pay excise and duty.

Ooops, I just noticed, you all do bring in the car. Its priced nearly RM800,000. But how come? Isn’t the car benefitting from Malaysian government hybrid tax exemption?

So, this means you are making clean profit of over RM600,000 on this car? Betul kah?

One car alone can make clean profit that much?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • frenzyaustin on May 15, 2013 at 10:35 am

<=2.o litre hybrid only lah bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • koochai on May 15, 2013 at 1:59 pm

i beg to differ frenzyaustin.

couple months ago bmw have reduce price of 2 models that are ‘certified’ as EEV ie energy efficient vehicles.

i guess porsche cayenne hybrid should be in the same category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Jimmy on May 15, 2013 at 4:13 pm

But basic Cayenne sold in Malaysia is RM580k. But in US, it is USD50k. We all know tax max out at 110%.

You do the math. SDAC make about RM200k a pop. Easy money. They just blame the gomen. But in actual fact, SDAC is jacking up the price. But SDAC is GLC.

• Jimmy on May 15, 2013 at 5:11 pm

I think Porsche Boxer and Cayman both are not expensive, Lambo maybe. Panamera is ok, affordable.
          Guys, you can, no need help from BN. Do not vote against any party purely because of car prices; policies especially education & economy are much more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • You are right in some ways, politic aside, ppl should focus on how to maximize ther income and not just pray for lower car price. I bet with lower car price ppl will still go for bread-and-butter car. While luxury and supercar categories will increase, but speculated mainly from those already in high income bracket group. lower income dont think of buying such a nice car even with ) tax as our overall cost of living is already freaking high in KL.

• jerry on May 15, 2013 at 10:06 am

Only Ppl with less money will ask that kinda question. Ppl with money will still buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
  • ABTguy on May 15, 2013 at 12:11 pm

You see you see, now only complain.

Have you voted for Ubah one week plus ago, if you didn’t blame it to yourself for not being able to afford one !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
  • Rich ppl dont care the price. Because they can afford it. Why ppl rich ? Bcos they smart. Curi curi duit also need to be smart.

• Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on May 15, 2013 at 12:56 pm

No matter comes with tax or no tax,i still cannot afford to have one. But for that girl i think i might afford…. Can I pick one?

• Guys, still wanna compare price? I guess we should be talking about how to increase salary rather than lower car price. CaymanS is expensive but luckily with sport chrono pack as standard. Otherwise, a base Cayman S with rm610k is a ripped off.

• Jimmy on May 15, 2013 at 5:18 pm

No, if the aftersales is very good; for example if you have a problem that need senior technician, they will arrange for you, suiting your time, not his.

Come on la, if you only have just a handful of cars to service per day, you should be paying much more attention to the cars and the customers themselves. I am saying all luxurious brands, not Porsche.

• perodua on May 15, 2013 at 2:44 pm

There are many Porsche get burnt without any known reason. Better don’t buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Joe Radzif on May 15, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Shorter butt…
    nice!

• What a handsome looking car that is…wish i could afford one. This is one of the cars that i wish was in my garage and i would fondle it every weekend.

• Why did SDAP increase the price from it’s previous model! But luckily there is still the gray importers =)

• powerleakin on Jun 14, 2013 at 12:48 am

hi, can anyone share with me here the full spec/trim of these cars in malaysia?

• syaksthun on May 04, 2014 at 11:07 pm

If not choose the pdk package the tramission will be manual or auto