SPYSHOTS: 2014 Nissan Teana testing in Malaysia

teana-spy-04

Here are some good hi-res spyshots from reader Daniel Tay, who spotted this mystery car clad in black tape in Melaka. It’s a big sedan, which he thought was the new Honda Accord, but upon closer inspection, we can reveal that it’s the new Nissan Teana testing in Malaysia. Here’s why.

In July 2012, Nissan unveiled the 2013 Nissan Altima for the North American market, before the L33 appeared as the new Nissan Teana in China earlier this year. This means that Nissan is streamlining its D-segment offerings into one “world car,” but with different trim and powertrains for different markets.

Paul then got up close and personal with the Altima/Teana at the 2013 Seoul Motor Show, and you can see the live gallery here.

teana-spy-05

Compared to the showcar from Seoul, this test mule wears the same wheel design, and the general shape of the disguised car, including the outline of the rear lamp cluster and boot, are similar too.

Another clue is from the sole interior shot here – it shows the top part of the centre stack, which has a “tiered” surface. Conveniently, there’s a current Teana “clearing the way” for the car in black.

Besides the design, which is more dynamic now with cues from the new Sylphy, the new Teana is powered by a QR25DE 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine, not the VQ series V6 in today’s car. It’s Nissan, so expect a smooth CVT doing transmission duties.

This sighting comes very soon after the Teana’s launch in China. Is Tan Chong already preparing the groundwork for local assembly of the D-segment sedan? Click here to see a live gallery of the new Teana and here for official videos and studio shots.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• frenzyaustin on May 16, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Finally, ETCM launched a car in 1 year! Should be included in Malaysia Books Of Record!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
    • Camry and this r pretty ugly. only Mazda 6 and Accord look ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 58
      • juz admit that u can’t afford to buy this one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 15
        • cvt-L on May 17, 2013 at 8:36 am

He can onlny afford a Honda………wave, haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Honda and Nissan r the same level isn’t it?! so if i can afford a Honda, that’s mean i can afford a Nissan right?! since Nissan is not premium brand that u expected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
        • I can afford it or not, u don’t know so pls, this is not a Benz so i believe that so many ppl can afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
          • i think he meant Honda Wave. The moped. he’s funny.

• Abg Long on May 17, 2013 at 2:43 pm

previous teana i must say very the ugly one. this one better :) when is it harga kereta mau turun? 5% pun ok la.

• What car? on May 18, 2013 at 12:49 am

Danny, are u sure this is not the new Sylphy instead??

Since it should be replaced before the Teana??

• ericmaxman on May 16, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Now, I dont usually comment here, but after digging the front Teana’s plate.. It’s owned by Tan Chong alright. So that strengthened the fact that it’s together with the MY2014 Teana, not just by coincidence.

• gangully on May 16, 2013 at 6:57 pm

most other companies spent money trying to camouflage their cars… ETCM just covers it in black rubbish bags… nice…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • No choice. It’s too ugly to be shown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • altimatess on May 17, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Exactly.. typical of ETCM – cheapskates.
      I wish one day there will be Nissan Malaysia running the show here.
      Msians deserve fresh new models not those sudah basi.. i saw new sylphy in bangkok quite some time back.. where is it, ETCM ?? !!

• well done Tan Chong. Launch Slyphy pls

• Tan Chong on May 16, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Don’t get fooled by all these spyshots. Remember the new Nissan March? Now how many years already still not yet launch.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • Nissan is very aggressively launching new models lately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • dzulx on May 16, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Could it be the all new perdana replacement??

hehe just joking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Sharu on May 16, 2013 at 7:40 pm

It looks like the new Nissan Altima.
    Selling price : MYR 155k (2.5L)
    FYI:-
    The previous Altima had some electronic issue (not sure) but feedback from my colleague

• I hope when this new Teana is launched, the price will be lower when BN fulfills its manifesto in PRU13.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Interior looks nicer compare to current model especially the centre HU area. Exterior wise, the head/tail lamp are 370z lightning style, which is not so nice.

• sepul on May 16, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Looks better than the current Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Katak on May 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Finally with HID headlight already. That’s more like it.

• Jimmy on May 16, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Oh no, they ditch the largest selling point, not sensitive to market demand? So now, it must come with 6 airbags to replace the other missing ‘6’.

• Fahmi on May 17, 2013 at 1:06 am

Why Nissan remove the only V6 in its class??? why?? T.T Same fate as Honda Civic’s K20 DOHC engine replaced with R20 SOHC engine…

• 4G63T DSM on May 17, 2013 at 7:45 am

Why? er… Cost.

I would rather have 6 airbags than 6 cylinders. But I agree, it dropped the only thing that made the Teanna unique in its class.

Having a small displacement V6 is arguable, 2.0L no, 2.5L maybe….generally they would like to keep each cylinder at around 500cc. once you get past 3L displacement, the V6 will help cancel out vibrations as the rotating mass increases.
        For a smaller displacement engine, there are cheaper ways to do it, like balance shafts and active mounts.

Both Mazda (1.8 K8-DE)and Mitsubishi (1.6 6A12 and 2.0L 6A12) had small V6s… in the end, cost didn’t make it feasible.

• hondafan on May 17, 2013 at 8:39 am

To reduce production cost and to milk more money la.
        This is the trend now, only preve has turbocharged engine. If you want a Honda you wait until 2015 or 2016

• Johnny on May 17, 2013 at 5:03 am

HEY! it’s my new TEANA! YAY!!! TIME TO SMOKE EURO CAR BMW,MERCEDES AND OF COURSE VW.

• Should be cheaper if direct cbu from japan.

• Musalmah Endut on May 17, 2013 at 8:43 am

Other car disguise in nice black-and-white wrap. Tan Chong use plastik sampah and black tape only. very effective!!

• Hadi75 on May 17, 2013 at 9:55 am

TC want to cut cost so more money for them….plastik sampah much cheaper ….

• I looks good actually..nice lights and the interior is not as uncle as camry

• C Segment:

Civic: Has Stability Control
    Altis: Has Stability Control
    Sylphy: NO Stability Control

D Segment:

Accord 2.0VTi: NO Stability Control
    Camry 2.0G: WITH Stability Control
    Teana 2.0L: NO Stability Control

The cheapest Nissan car with stability control is Teana 2.5L at RM173K. Nissan sucks.

• bonbon on May 17, 2013 at 11:41 am

Nissan TC will not put Stability COntrol in their product,,no way at alll

• yellow on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:30 am

Honda Accord has Vehicle stability control in all 3 variants..

• Cant stop laughing the latest invention camouflage technique in Malaysia. Really scared public see & copy the design. Listen all major car manufacturer: This is the most effective way to do it.

• _xXx_ on May 17, 2013 at 12:56 pm

why dun use coconut leaves??? FOC! Garbage bags are not free and not enviro-friendly!!

• though the car seems to be new teana but would it be slyphy model as well since this model has been in the market for sometimes an only with minor touch up instead of the new replacement that launch in china / jpn early this yr…from the size it similar too

• Abg Long on May 17, 2013 at 2:47 pm

i prefer pug 508. heard naza give rm6k discount :)

• What happened to the C26 Serena, bring that on.
    Not another sedan in the already crowded segment, LOL.

• pls wait until it is facelifted/ phase out in overseas then u will see the launching here

• leonardo on May 21, 2013 at 8:02 am

What is the message with the garbage bag camou? Nissan cars are all rubbish?!

• perdana v6 replacement…..

• Jack Philip Yong on May 28, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Hope this car will be called as Nissan Altima in Malaysia, return nameplate after 15 years.

• chris yee on Jul 20, 2013 at 12:43 pm

i’m currently own a 2.5 teana and i can only say that its the WORST car i’ve ever owned. The engine knocks during pick up and during speed below 50 km.this happened when i took deliverd the car for only two weeks !! I’ve visited the service center not less than 50 times! They dont even know what went wrong with my car. They even sent two technical support from HQ to check my car and my car’s engine was OVERHAULED in the 8th months .the cpu has being replaced twice as well. Everyone at nissan service centre in kxxxxxg knows about it and now i think its time to let everyone knows ! So this is the last nissan car i owned.i will not buy
    any nissan car in the future no matter how good the car is.

• baloney on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:42 pm

toyota promoter huh? i own 2.5 a teana. 3years with 150km mileage still running tiptop. no doubt one of the most comfortable car i’ve been in (definitely better than accord&sonata) the only thing i’d like to complain is bit pricy on the maintenance. TC should throw in 5yrs free services

• Teana on Jan 03, 2014 at 3:23 pm

hei chris yee…i have a nissan teana 2.5l v6 too but its fine no problem at all no engine or the cvt problems at…can beat the new bmw 5 series as well..its fast…its super comfortable with no vibrations….its the longest car in its class…why hate the current one….look at this new one….its rims are so of the class…doesnt look luxurios at all….i love the current teana…more luxurious especialy the black edition teana….nissan should make a more luxurios teana…this looks like 100k car….

• yellow on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:43 am

I think the look of this new Teana is not bad. at least it has more curve and look sleeker than the boxy Camry.

congrat Camry.. you have finally regain the title of “most uncle-ish D-segment car”.. bravo.