Nissan Serena S-Hybrid previewed, CBU Japan MPV open for booking with early bird promo

Serena S-Hybrid-07

Edaran Tan Chong Motor gave the media a sneak preview of the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid over the weekend in Kajang, where the MPV starred in the promotional “Meet The Hybrids” video. The Serena S-Hybrid is now open for booking and will be officially launched in the third quarter of 2013. We’re entering Q3 today, so it could be anytime soon.

UPDATE: The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid is now officially launched – click here for the launch report and gallery

Readers of this website won’t be surprised at this development, as we first saw the hybrid C26 Serena in Malaysia back in January, before the MPV appeared on our sister classifieds site oto.my last month, where it was advertised for RM14X,XXX.

Prices haven’t been revealed yet, but we now have official specs and details of the Serena S-Hybrid, which will be imported CBU from Japan to take advantage of duty exemptions on hybrid vehicles with engine capacities below 2,000 cc. This incentive will end on December 31, 2013.

Serena S-Hybrid-12

The Serena S-Hybrid is powered by a MR20DD 2.0 litre engine with 147 PS and 210 Nm. This direct injection twin-CVTC unit is paired to Nissan’s smooth Xtronic CVT gearbox. But it’s a different kind of hybrid than the ones from Toyota and Honda.

The S in S-Hybrid stands for ‘simple’ and this Serena is actually a ‘micro-hybrid’. What Nissan did was beef up what it calls the ‘ECO Motor’, the Serena’s starter motor that controls auto start/stop and functions as an alternator during deceleration.

The starter motor uses a belt pulley type cranking system instead of a normal gear type unit. Even the normal Serena has this, but in the Serena S-Hybrid, the capacity of this motor is increased from 1.0kW/150A to 1.8kW/200A, and the engine bay has an extra 12V 27Ah battery for increased storage capacity. Stored power is deployed when needed, such as during acceleration.

To keep things simple, basically the bigger starter motor and battery system allows the engine to be freed from having to move the car and power the car’s electrical needs at the same time, resulting in fuel savings.

Serena S-Hybrid-05

The resulting fuel economy gains are not as big as those from motor assist (Honda) or full hybrid (Toyota) systems, but there are gains nonetheless, because the engine doesn’t have to power the alternator as often. In Japan, the Serena S-Hybrid is the only vehicle in its class to be exempted from the country’s automobile acquisition and weight taxes, because its fuel efficiency outperforms class standards.

The boxy MPV comes with three rows of seats, accessible via twin electric sliding doors with one touch closing and i-key keyless entry. They are calling it an eight-seater with 14 possible seat configurations. The second row has a “Smart Multi Center Seat” that can double up as a centre console. Up front, there’s a futuristic looking Eco Drive Navigator instrument panel with digital speedo.

Available in four colours – Dark Purple, Super Black, Pearl White, Brilliant Silver – the Serena S-Hybrid comes with an early bird promo that throws in low hire-purchase interest rates (from 2.38% per annum up to five years), a free service package (first 1,000 km, 5,000 km and 10,000 km for parts, engine oil and labour) and free PA insurance.

The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid is the first “hybrid” MPV to be sold in Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:00 am

Lots of nice feature stripped by TC again, no GPS nav. panel, no on wheel audio control, sun roof…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Hmm i love the design, simple and clean… hope toyota improve the Innova!

• Wisdom on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Why on earth TC remove the steering wheel audio control.
        TC always found ways to turn down my interest. This one have to pass.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 141
    • agreed! vios is most beautiful n powerful car ever built in this real world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 86
    • Sinar Bintang on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:09 pm

stupid this is mpv and vios is sedan compare aple to apple not pineapple.Can you like take your brain from you ass n put it at proper place.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 8
      • chill dude..obviously they’re just being sarcastic..cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • skchiew on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Agree. Elephant and tiny winky dog, hard to compare. Which one is more useful depend on your need. Please don,t just criticize blinly.

• violet on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Please compare an apple to an apple, please.

• David on Jul 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Quite difficult to compare apple to apple. Cos apple only has one phone at any one time. One to compare?!

• So u think ur Vios is pretty? let me tell u, u just want ppl to thumbs down ur comment and get popular! hello there pls don’t waste ur time to write something stupid and siau sendiri!

• Every car in Msia should have this feature to mess with the NAP policy.. *Trollface

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • yea, its not really a hybrid, but they put something in it and call it a hybrid….buyers without proper hybrid knowledge will hv impression they are gettng something similar to toyota or honda hybrids…but it does have ample space though….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Shhhh! Don’t say out, later government say this car is not valid for duty exemptions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • lepat on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:24 am

ugly… i prefer exora than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 73
    • Proton on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:42 pm

But does your exora achieve better fc and build quality compare to this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
    • Go enjoy the Exora! no one bother u… u know what, Top Gear Jeremy Clarkson love Potong.

• rdgear on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Oh yes the auto clown!He makes stupid jokes everytime, very entertaining, haha!

• koochai on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:30 am

does the air-cond works during idling auto-stop?

• Good question. Danny can give an answer?

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:27 am

As I understand, the engine will remain off when idling even air blower is on. But engine will kicks in when the temp raise in the cabin and there is a need for compressor to work.

• they got electric aircond compressor.

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:05 pm

As specified in nissan japanese web site, no electric compressor for Serena Hybrid. It only available in some T and H brand full hybrid car.

• When auto-stop engaged, I think all the AC, radio, electronics stuffs should still function as normal. I think it’s just the common scenes for engineers when doing the design, right?

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Yes all electronic device will still functioning by extracting the juice from batteries.

• Most jap aircon compressor design runs on engine power. That’s their “common design”. That’s why this is an interesting question.

• Suzuki on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:54 pm

I used to drive Mazda MPV in Japan.

My Mazda MPV has auto-idle function, when the function starts my air-condition system and other electronic is still working.

I guess only stupid designer will design a system which auto-idle will turn off the air-cond ?

• koochai on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:35 am

3 years/100k km warranty? big booooooooo etcm!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • A brand new full-size 7-seater MPV CBU from Japan at that price is very interesting indeed especially when compared to other models in the market ie: Grandis, Odyssey, Mazda8.

Definitely will have it shortlisted if I am in the market for a comfortable family ride. After a proper test drive, of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Lawrence Ng on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:38 pm

It’s not a full size MPV la, otherwise ppl buying alphard/elysion will look very silly. What more at rm140k
      it will cannibalise its big brother sales, the elgrand too!!

• I stand corrected, this is a mid-size MPV. But it still got the advantage over the other brands’ offerings (mid-sizer like Odyssey and Grandis) , at least price wise.

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Well my family owns both odyssey and grandis, they are 2.4 litters big, powerful and much lower C.G cars which will having very different driving experience if compare to “mid size MPV” like Serena.

• Lawrence Ng on Jul 01, 2013 at 2:50 pm

I consider Odyssey as full size MPV, simply because it can seat 7 person comfortably. What u looking for is Hinda Stream, and for comparison’s sake it really friends on the preferences, comfort wise when push comes to shove then serena might sit better because of its boxy shape, but certainly the drive suffers

• shane on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:48 pm

I thought this is compact mpv like livina and avanza. It’s size is not close Exora

• syeoh1 on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:58 am

Yes, Air-con will continue operating thru “ECO Motor”

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:07 pm

As I know ECO motor drives the engine only, no air cond compressor. Please don get confused…

• hahahah… apalah,used vios compare with this mpv serena! if serena price is rm 140k++,reasonable! got push start,power doors…..previous highway star sold rm150k already… Proton exora not the same range la, wish,streamz….

• Makubex on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:17 am

Better wait for Freed Hybrid. Honda are you listening?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Jon DOE on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:38 am

This one is for all the MILF’s out here…

• Hope it rides well…. Really looks like a box. Maybe will be used in taxi line of service…

• _xXx_ on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:51 am

alamak, so many big big window glasses…mcm ahem itu apename vehicle laa…

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 11:53 am

The leather seat looks really ugly…Original fabric could be better…

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:12 pm

With new ECO motor introduced, we got one extra item for service/replacement after the infamous timing belt , which is the “ECO motor belt”. No figure on the replacement schedule yet and also the cost of replacement..
    Posted the question to ETCM site already, no reeponse yet….

• shawal on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:32 pm

a normal serena costs about the same RM140k
    why is this vehicle is not exempted from excise tax ?
    If it does… then edaran is trying to pull all our legs ere

• Why UMW didn’t bring in Prius Alpha or V ??? since such “hybrid” getting exemption??

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Maybe waiting for new NAP announcement kua, since the duty exemption for hybrid car under 2000cc will due by end of the year, T brand may wait and observe first the new tax policy..

• nighttrain on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Previous Serena is RM150 incl excise duty. This new hybrid one is RM14xK minus 70%. So actual price is RM25xK? seriously?

• Saw this car once at Miri with Brunei plate. Look nicer in real life. The downside is windows too big and wheels too small.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Owh yeah! Mini Elgrand! Does it share platform with NV200?

• ben yap on Jul 01, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Nissan Serena S-Hybrid = Nissan Serena Sucky-Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • violet on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:09 pm

How much will it cost for battery replacement? I’m driving the present Serena and since this is a hybrid I need some info about it.

• It is just a small size standard car battery, won’t cost you an arm and a leg.

http://www.noby.no/Media/Multicase/Documents/Datablader/Str%C3%B8mforsyninger/Batterier/B12270%20datablad%20%28engelsk%29.pdf

• shawn on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Only “stored power is deployed when needed, such as during acceleration.”? How does it really work..?

• Abg Long on Jul 01, 2013 at 5:04 pm

hmm.. the shape is so boxy.. just ok ok design only. for me, exora bold is a better buy.. or maybe get a recond toyota wish/ honda stream.

• thedarkside on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:06 pm

yeahhh…ive just booked exora bold CFE….hope to get before raya.woohoo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • thedarkside on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:03 pm

i saw this MPV in indon.overall it looks OK..if i would rate it…its better looking than alphard..but not as pretty as the vellfire(by comparing its boxy shape)..how much will it cost without the excise duty exemption?
    rm 200K? paul/danny…please do a test drive on this mpv…thanks

• sianglee on Jul 01, 2013 at 8:21 pm

The engine will kicks in when the compressor is needed for cooling purpose even in idling stop mode, really doubtfull how much fuel the S-hybrid can save under hot sun.

• jeff wong on Jul 01, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Launching july 23?!

• Krasher on Jul 02, 2013 at 1:23 am

Nice hearse!!

• syeoh1 on Jul 02, 2013 at 7:04 am

Tan Chong sale agent told me launching on July 23.

• ah beng on Jul 02, 2013 at 11:07 pm

don’t understand why there are people so bad mouth about the comment of new car… if you don’t like the car, just keep silent. no body force you to buy or even ask you to pay a visit on the launching… please mind the language…

• tishaban on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:59 am

I did some digging up. Based on JC08 testing, this MPV gets around 15.2km/l which is supposedly best in class. JC08 is if I understand it correctly mostly urban/city driving with lots of start/stops.

By comparison the Insight does 26km/l and the Prius does 29.4km/l under JC08. The not yet in Malaysia Skyactiv Mazda 5 does 16km/l.

Sources:
    http://www.jama-english.jp/europe/news/2009/no_2/peternunn.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_Premacy

• syeoh1 on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:27 am

Agreed with Ah Beng and respect others as different people have different flavour and taste.

• Epalhead on Jul 03, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Looks like more an aquarium to me. Duty exempted 140k… With duty what? 220k?…

• Jeff Wong on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:09 pm

In Malaysia, generally any CKD car is marked up at least 60% of the international pricing (except proton & perodua)

International pricing for this MPV is around RM90K

Therefore, RM90K X 1.6 = RM144K++

All this is bcos one old man wanted to make himself and this cronies KAYA!

• Jeff Wong on Jul 04, 2013 at 10:13 pm

C26 is selling at CKD price perhaps is bcos the import tax is replaced by AP $$$

• syeoh1 on Jul 05, 2013 at 7:45 am

Jeff Wong, Clarification: I thought C26 sell as CBU, it’s not?

• Jeff Wong on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:14 pm

syeoh1 : It is CBU unit. Bcos it is so-called “hyrid” it is sold sightly cheaper ( therefore it matches the price of CKD vechicles

• syeoh1 on Jul 06, 2013 at 9:16 pm

FYI: being informed ETCM sales agent, there will have type of Highway Star spec, Standard and High End Spec which have additional stuff like GPS, Leather Seats and SunRoof.
    I’m start to imagine the offer price going to be.

• sianglee on Jul 06, 2013 at 10:51 pm

wah the rear view really funny without any spoiler fitted, look like botak ..

• i will still buy an Alphard. My Alphard will take my children to a SJK school without fail. I will wait in front of the SJK school every day from 10 am onwards….The children dismiss at 2.30 pm after extra class. Just to make sure i get the front spot in front of the school gate. In front of the school there are about 15 Alphard or more waiting for their kids. Either their kiasu mother or Ahmad… The driver will wait for the children at the front gate.I I will use RON 95 where i believe i am entitled to these subsidies although i can afford an Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • jeff wong on Jul 09, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Buy aphard will make both government and cronies (AP) kaya. Buy c26 will only make goverment kaya!

• syeoh1 on Jul 12, 2013 at 10:30 am

FYI: one of ETCM branch where I make booking for a unit of Serena S-Hybrid asking from me my financial documents for loan processing. I’m totally not comfortable with this request, my feedback to the agent are 1) I’m not even know the selling pricing 2) I’m not even see the final product 3) how can bank processing my loan without knowing the pricing.
    I guess ETCM going crazy with this model launching.

• nighttrain on Jul 12, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Oi! Where’s all the buttons on the steering? And did you remove the safety features too, mate? That’ll get you killed on the internet..

• jeff wong on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Syeoh1: if I were u, just tell them I will buy cash !

• jeff wong on Jul 12, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Etcm has 500 serena in stock, want to delivery the mpv to u upon launching end of this month

• syeoh1 on Jul 13, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Hi Jeff, that is exactly my friends ask tell the ETCM agent. ETCM agent are going crazy.

• Does the double din comes with built in gps and rear camera? Wondering these 2 items will remove by tc for the car price almost 150k.

• jeff wong on Jul 16, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Launching nation wide on 26.07.2013

• Got invitation from one of the showroom in kl… the launching on 23rd. Dunno which 1 is truth.

• jeff wong on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Correct! Kl said 23rd n PJ said 26th

• jeff wong on Jul 21, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Tested the mpv at pj nissan. The car looks better than the picture. Also made a booki ng today n delivery shall be within a month.

• hi jeff. r u sure this mpv already avail in pj showroom. fyi i have made a booking on last month, and according to the saleman should get this b4 raya.

• jeff wong on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:04 am

C26 got no spare tyre ? How ?!

• jeff wong on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:08 am

Hsm: yes, test drive yesterday. Only at pj branch. Launching on wed!

• so how ur experience driving this mpv? how the offer? do u have idea on the price?

• jeff wong on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:21 am

Hsm, power wise, it is just enuf to move the car around. I guess if u dun speed, will will enjoy the drive. Early bird booking ie bfore launching will get multimedia navigation with rear view camera, dvd player , ipod conn. Usb n bluetooth worth rm3300.

• jeff wong on Jul 22, 2013 at 10:25 am

Price I was told below rm150k. Optional items are Lcd panel rm 700 leather seat n door panel rm2800. Door visor rm400

• i book already but if u want gps,dvd,reverse cam add
    RM3300,screensRM700 i think this two cannot skip in mpv

• jeff wong on Jul 22, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Ray, The rm3k3 option is free if u hv booked the car

• oo ok.. so in my case since i have booked this car early last month.. should be getting these extra gadgets.

• Jeff, which PJ showroom you talking about? Can I have the address?

• jeff wong on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Lot 9 jln kemajuan 12/18 ,46200 pj
    03-79575888/5940/2740

• jeff wong on Jul 23, 2013 at 7:23 am

The tyre size 195/60/16 looks small to me. Perhaps it needs to change to 215/60/16 or 215/50/17.

• can anyone with expertise advise for me?

am looking for trade in my old honda city car.

should trade in with this hybrid serena?
    or should i settle the outstanding balance of my old car before send for trade in?

any difference actually? am newbie noob.

• Wahahaha, order one Serena oredi ,,for those say bad thing will regret one ,,.hahaha

• expert@@ on Aug 01, 2013 at 8:46 am

Accessories is second choice. More important is engine come with twin cvtv engine and 100% new (no recond).

• Aida chik on Sep 01, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Hi Jeff, did not hear kind of loud sound when you accelerate. Am not too happy with the performance but love the space.