Michelin Primacy 3 ST tyre launched in Malaysia – 16-inch to 19-inch sizes, from RM480 per piece

Primacy 3 ST Malaysia-1

The new Michelin Primacy 3 ST tyre was officially launched today by Michelin Malaysia in KL. In our market, the Primacy 3 ST replaces the Primacy LC that has been around since 2009. This is a tyre that was specially designed for the needs and priorities of Asia Pacific, and is unique to our region. In fact, Michelin conducted a six-month trial in Malaysia with a limo fleet company to gain data.

The new tyre carries the Primacy middle name, which means it’s a touring tyre, and not in the ultra high performance category, which is catered for by the Pilot Sport 3 and Pilot Super Sport. It sits above the brand’s entry level Michelin Energy XM2 model. Michelin counts the Goodyear Efficient Grip, Bridgestone Turanza range and ContiMaxContact MC5 as rivals to its new product.

The Primacy 3 ST features Michelin Total Performance, which consists of four technologies – EvenPeak, CushionGuard, Stabiligrip and FlexMax. We have already detailed these technologies and explained how they work in our recent review of the Primacy 3 ST – click here to read the full story.

Primacy 3 ST Malaysia-2

We gathered some additional info from today’s launch that wasn’t highligted at the regional launch in Thailand. The French tyre maker says that the Primacy 3 ST’s wet braking distance is 1.6 metres shorter than the Primacy LC (2.9 metres shorter when compared to the average score of competitors) and it’s 25% longer lasting than the outgoing model.

Basically, the Primacy 3 ST builds on the silence and comfort the Primacy LC was known for, but adds on better dry and wet weather performance, plus longevity.

In Malaysia, the Primacy 3 ST is available in 16- to 19-inch sizes. 15s are available in certain markets, but that size is taken care of by the Energy XM2 here. 85% of the sizes will come from Michelin’s Thai factory, with certain sizes brought in from China. Priced from RM480 (RRP) per piece, it is available at all Tyreplus and Michelin authorised dealers.

Click here to read our review of the Michelin Primacy 3 ST from Khao Yai, Thailand. A high-res gallery for an all-round view of the tyre is there, too.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just bought a set of this a wk ago for my big momma Elysion mpv. Very comfortable n grippy. Slightly noisier than LC. Strongly recommend for mpvs.

• Sam Loo on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 125
  • vodka on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Are the new Primacy ST also classified as a green Low Rolling Resistance (LRR) tyre like the outgoing Primacy LC? The Primacy HP wasn’t an LRR tyre and this new ST is supposed to replace both the LC and the HP. Hybrids are well matched with LRR tyres.

• gOOsh on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:04 pm

all this while, using bridgestone… quite & good grip…
    never try michelin before…

• Sam Loo Bitch on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Made in franch tyre sucks. It’s only for gay cars.

For Toyota, better use Yokohama and Falken. Better grip, better resale value and sam loo kondom won’t bocor like durex.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 35
    • Wait a minute…need to know R u sam loo’s bitch or calling sam loo is a bitch…anyway tyre also got RV?

• puterakupang84 on Jul 03, 2013 at 5:27 pm

which 1 is better for sedan ? Pilot sport 3 or this tyre? How bout the price difference?

• Sam Loo Bitch…french tyre sucks?. It’s only for gay cars?..So gay drove bugatti veyron on the streets at 400++km/h? or maybe gay too having fun with 599 GTO at 350++km/h?….haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • aiyah, just put some now contis Comfort contact my Livina, maybe next round. but price a bit steep no?

• Maaajeeedaaa on Jul 03, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Oh…seems like someone is considering tyres resale value when buying one…that’s not nice. Please, do not promote used tyres….

• julian lee on Jul 03, 2013 at 9:31 pm

tyre resale value? wtf where got ppl buy used tires? gila ke

• Tyre for MPV on Jul 03, 2013 at 10:23 pm

There are still many malaysians don’t know the existence of minivan/mpv tyres. Less to know the differences between this tyre to a normal passenger/sedan tyre. In japan, they have many options for these type of tyres. Unfortunately, Bridgestone and Yokohama don’t sell those tyres for malaysian market. I’m not sure about other brands.

Fortunately, Toyotires does offer the minivan/mpv tyre with the Transpath mpF model. Can check here:

http://www.toyotires.com.my/tire/category/mpv

I will definitely choose mpv tyre, instead of passenger/sedan car tyre if I own a mpv in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • jinjangman on Jul 04, 2013 at 1:32 am

toyo tyre salesman detected…lol..

• Tyre for MPV on Jul 04, 2013 at 11:30 am

I’m not a salesman. Maybe you can share some infos here regarding MPV/minivan tire for Malaysian market. And, with fact and proof (url link would be good enough).

• Yes you are a toyo salesman…we can smell

• Tyre for MPV on Jul 04, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Why dont you give some facts. Don’t be a keyboard warrior.

• fighting on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:41 am

wah… it seen like there is a fight within Michelin salesman and Toya Salesman…
            Tyre for MPV – you come in to Michelin story page and share about Toyo tayar sure kena back fire la…
            my Nissan X-trail 2.0 been using Toyo tires.. it makes my car damn bumpy…at first I tot is my suspension problem… then i sent to repair.. but the car still bumpy, then the technician told me it cause by the tires… aiya since the tires just change, i have to stick with my bumpy car for the next few month

• Janet on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:24 am

Consider also Ecopia EP200

• choosetires on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:33 am

Bridgestone Ecopia EP200 claimed that used this tires can help to save petrol alot, previously i been using it.. true enuff you can feel it. i am statisfied with that tires
      Just recently I used Michelin Primacy 3ST for my car.. you will be surprise it, I can even drive longer mileage…

• kw chong on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Purchased 4 pcs of Michelin Energy XM2 205/70/15 from your dealer ” Pusat Servis tayar & Bateri Wanga Utama” Ulu Tiram, Johor on 06 July 2013. What’s a slut by your dealer. My car was installed with 2 pcs of Michelin tyres manufactured on 01/13 in front and 2 pcs Michelin tyres manufactured on 13/12. Dissatisfaction of such treatment by your dealer and insisted to change the rear tyre to 01/13. What a liar from this great appointed dealer of Michelin Malaysia. Thank you. Rgds

• kw chong on Jul 11, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Purchased 4 pcs of Michelin Energy XM2 205/70/15 from your dealer ” Pusat Servis tayar & Bateri Wanga Utama” Ulu Tiram, Johor on 06 July 2013. What’s a slut by your dealer. My car was installed with 2 pcs of Michelin tyres manufactured on 01/13 in front and 2 pcs Michelin rear tyres manufactured on 13/12. Dissatisfaction of such treatment by your dealer and insisted to change the rear tyre to 01/13. What a liar from this great appointed dealer of Michelin Malaysia. Thank you. Rgds