Proton Suprima S launching this Saturday, August 17 – exclusive live streaming coverage on paultan.org

After so many months and rounds of spyshots and sightings, the much anticipated P3-22A Hatchback will finally be launched this Saturday, August 17. Of course, we now know that it will be called the Proton Suprima S, as showroom test drive units with stickers have been spotted on trailers.

As usual, we at paultan.org will deliver a comprehensive launch report with all the details you need to know plus a large gallery of hi-res live images in the usual news format, but we’re also trying out something different this time around.

We have arranged for a live streaming coverage of the launch that you can view on this website, in real time, which means that you will be virtually “there at the event” with a front row seat, while lazing on your couch with a coffee this Saturday morning!

proton-suprima

As far as we know, there will be no other media outlet providing live coverage, not even the TV stations, so you, dear paultan.org reader, will have an exclusive view of the launch that only selected invited guests get. And of course, front row seat view, too!

Our live coverage is scheduled to start at about 10:15am Saturday morning, give or take. Once the car is unveiled, the main page will be updated with a full launch report with live gallery of the Suprima S.

So spread the word, make sure you come back from breakfast early on Saturday, or bring your laptop out. Otherwise the live streaming will work perfectly fine on your mobile phone or tablet device too, as long as the browser supports Youtube streaming. It’s a date, see you this Saturday morning!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Loo on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:23 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 376 Thumb down 793
    • kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:01 pm

“built-in value”

Sounds like a hanging sentence. Poor English by Proton? Better use “more value-added”.

Ini macam Samy Vellu pun geleng kepala nanti LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 101
      • salambangi on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:31 pm

I think Proton’s version is better. Just keep your mouth shut. It does not sound hanging. Your version sounds childish and amateurish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 45
        • Maserati(Official) on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:36 pm

I hope Proton can give Bumiputera customers special discounts on Proton cars. Something like the 7% Bumi discount on houses. Why can’t Proton give Bumiputera discounts of 7% too for their cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 48
          • why cant you work as hard as the rest of us for a damn car!

• what jo said is right. even i’m a malay but i think if bumiputera keep being helped it will make them less competitive with other races. if we want to own a luxury car we need to work as hard as everyone else

• comport on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:47 pm

value added is about the increase of value or the total output. if you want to emphasise the value then “added” is unnecessary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
      • bapak kau on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:01 am

built-in value samy vellu muahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
    • OMG…First see the colour and name, i ingat Subaru, but is is Preve hatchback. Frankly, the rear view, side view and the “suprima” – ugly and weird… Kia Rio simply nicer than this.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 80 Thumb down 176
    • MoFaz on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:30 pm

6 airbags, lotus handling, android touch screen + radio + gps + 4G wifi, reverse camera, auto headlamp, auto wiper, and so on… the engine is still 1.6 but now is “Turbo” instead of “CFE”. 0-100kmh about 10sec.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 13
    • FoFI driver on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:58 pm

go to hell toyota fan boy. i also driving Ford Fiesta currently and i have respect on this Preve ‘Hatchback’. Preve is faster then my Fiesta i think.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 98
      • 1nzfer on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 145
        • ariff on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Please2…my lamboghini is so much much faster laa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
        • NeoLover on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Duhh…Vios cannot even compete with a standard 1.6 Satria Neo let alone CPS or R3 versions. now with 1.6 CFE (turbo) engine. surely preve or suprima can do better. either Vios is a fat sluggish 4-speed tranny or the driver just doesn’t has balls. keep dreaming toyota fanboys.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 6
        • Jidiy on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Fiesta = rally car
          Vios = ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
        • *cough *cough butthurt! *cough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Joe Radzif on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:14 pm

last time I check,
      this got hundreds green than red
      suddenly 400++ red…

what application they used?
      cybertrooper or what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 100
    • Sam Loo

This one suck does not mean Vioss r good! abang adik saja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 65
    • Petrolhead on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Just swap the “Suprima” badge to a “Preve” badge and there you have the Preve S. Problem solved.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 1
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Can’t wait to see this long awaited good looking, hot hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 127
  • sylinder on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Yeahhhahaha…i thought Proton Suprima name for Proton Perdana replacement, but it turn out it for Preve Hatchback, why dont they stick with preve name as the design is same?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
    • Bidin al-Zaifa on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:55 pm

It’s just the same with Mitsubishi Mirage and Attrage… both the same platform but different names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 68
      • protrool on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:00 pm

But Attrage front look (lamp, bumper, bonnet, grill etc) is totally different from Mirage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
      • Vader on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:04 am

Same platform and same appearance is totally different.
        Same platform –> previous volvo S40, mazda3 and ford focus.
        Same appearance –> Wira, Putra, Arena, Satria..
        Oppss.. it seem using different name on “look alike” car is potong strategy.

• alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:03 pm

agree. many manufacturers have so high confidence they admit both sedan and hatch are similarly based.

cars like.. ford focus, vauxhall astra, renault 19 and megane, mitsubishi galant, mazda 3, mazda 626, ford sierra/mondeo, honda civic and integra…

of course some others name hatch differently for marketing reasons (being different). like fiat tipo/tempra, bravo/brava, alfa 145/146, lancer/colt and even toyota with corolla/auris @ runx

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • Mom be like…
      Don’t google image for suprima ok!
      Okay ;-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • grrrr on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm

woohooo the most hot hatch in town!!!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 131 Thumb down 174
    • Just me on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:18 pm

This car qualify to be call hot hatch? You must be joking !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 80
  • dilemma on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:37 pm

I’ve made my booking for Prius C but will only be available in November… shd i cancel my order and get this car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 93
    • Just my thoughts.. It’s a bigger car than the Prius C, and has a bigger punch on the power-plant, and I’am very certain it will be cheaper. But the Prius C should have better interior built quality, sat in one and it feels better built than an Altis. don’t know much about spec on this, but the Prius does have an overall better safety compliment than a Preve(which is unusual for a UMW Toyota) and I’am very sure the Prius has a better FC. All in all, IMO this should be better suited if u have a growing family, the Prius C if you are still single.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • Delima on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Don’t be a fool! Just keep buying Toyota! Nothing go wrong with it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 157
      • hamper on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:59 pm

this is a joke. nowadays people keep telling about Toyota “misconduct” in auto industry, moving backward by offering 4 gears and decades old engine to Malaysians.

“Toyota : You are going wrong with it!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
        • ahahh on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:04 pm

But how a 4 gear fuel consumption be better then a 7 gear cvt tiger brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • hamper on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:39 am

that 1.6T is equivslent to 2.0l engine, don’t compare with weaker 1.5l

• S.Roma on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:24 am

But VW 1.4 TSI got 6 gear, power of 2.0L engine, but FC is like 1.5 engine, so?

our tech is not so advance like theirs

• TSIsuck on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:23 am

that’s prolly avg 90km/h or highway or mixed driving FC. try to do city driving 100% in terrible traffic jam like in KL. i bet they suck too

• pirlo on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

learn the engine technology first.
            vw 1.4 tsi use DI (less fuel wasted), turbocharge (high-end power), supercharge (low-end torque), aluminum block (less weight).
            meanwhile, proton use turbocharge, MPI, iron block, VVT intake (same as VW tsi if i’m not mistaken).
            the engine displacement is also different.
            CD value for VW is lesser than proton. even the power to weight ratio.

• in US toyota already claims lives due to stuck gas pedal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:06 pm

you will appreciate toyota’s build quality (compare to preve), the hybrid technology (and fuel savings) and obviously the after sales service (used to be top in JD power, now like top 4-5) compare to proton average score within the industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 22
    • Book this one and save you extra money for other thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
    • lanytr on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Prius c is crampy car. You live alone or both live in ciy, it’s ok. But there must be times you go for holiday and go far outside city. I don’t talk about the space, I talk about level of comfort in long journey driving which proton car is shining, even with B segment saga. It kicks bigger Jap car’s asses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • As for looks, its still a Preve, and thou I’d ssay I like that ass better, I’am not lusting it like some Korean or (dare I say it)Japanese cars. But is the spec that gets me, how much different will this be compared to the Preve…..curious

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 1
  • Sup Rimau..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 70
  • Porcupine on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:47 pm

This is brilliant. Paultan.org takes it to the next level.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
  • Matchy on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Make sure your system can handle the traffic… don’t want another JPJ downtime case!

• I am surprised it is not Sperma. LoL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 52
    • Huhu…
      Sperma SS…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 72
    • Peter on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

I like your ‘style’ :) It’ll really be hot-hatched if they adopt this name ~ LOL.
      Back to the car, I felt a bit disappointed as the design still re-use as much component as possible from Preve even from appearance. They shouldn’t change the name really, it just make the promising name looks ’empty’. Using original name at least give a sense of honesty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • kadajawa on Aug 15, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Now I know why it’s called Sup Harimau…the tiger from Proton logo being cooked into a soup…betul tak???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 112
  • Everp on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Proton better keep using Preve name but terbalik ‘EVERP’

Proton Everp…hmmm nama bagus dan unik hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
  • P1Basher on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:13 pm

OMG… damn pathetic lah the name the design OMG bungkus lah proton don’t fool us (Malaysian) again and again haha..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 43
    • ferek on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Yes , I was fooled by proton badge, I thought it is bad car. Now I know it’s much better than ah beng alike overrated car vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
    • dang… Proton has fooled me all this while.. My over 9 years old waja i can say nothing wrong with it.. dang.. just replaced wear and tear part only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Pondan sepi on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Another junk will be born…what on earth has happen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 131
  • OMG why dont just call it Prevè S or Prevè Hatchback. So excited to see the interior though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Enter your name...malaysian on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Proton satria will be history after this launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 38
    • alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:07 pm

different segment.

small family hatch versus medium family hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • alphawolf on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:36 pm

They still have not fixed the pathetic DRLs. The current DRLs are so dim it’s useless. Even the aftermarket ah-beng DRLs are brighter than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
  • weird, before the name was leaked everybody was like wow ! cool car ! best proton car ! can win toyota vios ! and after the name was leaked.. everybody was like ewww, good luck la proton etc…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • The name does affect some if not just a wee bit on why people buy a car. Case in point, the Jensen Interceptor doesn’t have a really good performance and looks so-so in European standards, but you juts want to say ‘let’s get into my Interceptor’ or ‘I’ll be taking my Interceptor’. Same goes for alot of Italian and Murica car, the name they give is just epic (names, not numeral like RS4). To be fair, if not for the the name Vios being infused with the image of a medicre and mundane sedan, it would have been quite a name, better than City or 2 or Rio, IMO. And as brknfse pointed out, google Image on Suprima and you think several times on getting this thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • JustinTee on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:38 pm

price wise with turbo and leather seat at 70k++ well worth it compare to vios at 80k++ with the same lame 1.5 old engine.

with push start button, hill start assist and alot of safety features.

i will highly consider this….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
    • JustinTee on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:44 pm

and dont forget u will get TCS, EBD, hill assist, reverse camera, front and back camera, leather seat, ECS, shift tronic?

do u get this in vios,city?. the design also way better compare to almera, mazda and pug sedan…

not bad also this time protong…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
      • valueformoney on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:24 pm

definitely so. but the majority like to bash everything whether good or bad just cause of the brand. heavy steering la (come on la grow some muscles la sissy bashers), what vibration la what rattling la as if other cars are extremely well built.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
        • it is just because proton have the image of low class poor people car.
          “bro, what car you drive?”
          “proton suprima”
          “…”
          or
          “bro, what car you drive?”
          “nissan almera” “honda city””Forte””Fiesta”

you can see the different.
          none of the car now in proton line up you can proudly shout:
          i am driving gen 2 etc.
          it is all about brand image and package.
          those afford will not choose proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 61
          • weight on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:16 pm

I drive proton and live on bungalow so what?

inb4 : bungalow in ulu / hutan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Proton38 on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Hopefully the interior build quality is better.. But it needs more engines, only 1.6 is not enough.. almost a diesel would be very good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • Diesel engine on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Agree. At least it will prompt to our govnt to refine our diesel quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • 4G63T DSM on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Lets just see how this turns out.

Been looking forward to this.

We will have to see if they would put in the 2 missing airbags and will see how they price this thing.

If initial prices that were thrown around before is correct, the 80k this thing is aiming for is a little bit ambitious on proton’s part. I would pay a little more for 2 extra airbags from the CFE Preve but not THAT much more. If you ask me, the Preve CFE is already too expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 51
  • brknfse on Aug 15, 2013 at 1:53 pm

try google image “suprima” .. proton should do some research before they assigned name for their model… lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
    • ^ This guy, this guy deserves more likes!!Epic LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • noname on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:27 pm

wahaha, I LOL at this so much after googling it.. epic!

• Dafuq did i just google…
      Big mistake n should go for preve hatchback…
      If the same build n spec interior, then all the proton engineer just spent all that time just figuring out the appropriate name…
      Proton staff brain = female underpants = LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
      • female underspants are nice u know..n some really expensive..u on the other hand may not even be recruited if u apply to join proton…

• Lol…That Suprima is an incontinence product. Proton improved already, so no more leakage here and there thus Suprima is the name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 88
    • Kenneth T. on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Dat name… what are they thinking? … It’s clear why Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin left the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • NZain on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:26 pm

i think they’d took that suprima from indonesia n put on proton car…feel so ashamed to called it suprima..that name is weird tho..ppfffttttttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • turbo on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Turbo?LOL..u are really just dont care to read the spec..preve turbo stupidly no use at all..extremely small..justto take the name. Very3far to compare to VW turbo ot any other types ever existed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 66
    • alldisc on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:13 pm

it is soft turbo, every manufacturer that is downsizing engine is using same concept.

u r newbie is it?

bigger turbocharger will be used for hot models example Focus RS/ST or VW Golf GTI or Audi S3

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
    • smallturbosmokedu on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:16 pm

“no use at all”, says he who had to work the hell out of his car’s engine to stay ahead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • pirlo on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:00 pm

ford focus ecoboost also use the exactly same turbo like proton; Borg Warner KP39
      but why ecoboost has better torque? it is because ecoboost use direct injection. learn how direct injection operates, than you know why the torque delivery and FC are better.

• Alahai komentator2 kat Paultan nie tak pernah ade positive punye komen. Kereta belum launch lagi dah cakap xde kualiti la, xde value la. Semuanya negative belaka.

Kalau bukan kita yg nk support kete Proton, sape lagi? And kalau anda xsuka, jgn bg komen yg bukan2. Tak semua org mampu beli toyota or honda (yg korang agung2kan tu).

Ntah2 kome pun pakai myvi tahun 2006 je. Bising2 je lebih.

#BukanSalesmanProton #JustAConcernNetizens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 112
    • armanddo on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:15 pm

They are very proud of their ‘dream’ car, downgraded but expensive made in Thailand ‘Japanese’ cars…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • grrrr on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:35 pm

their negative comment is constructive. even lambo also has many comments.

that’s mean they do care on their national product. they ask proton to improve more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
    • puterakupang84 on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:40 pm

hahahaha…ade yg positif…dorang puji & suka sangat asalkan kereta tu bkn kereta Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
    • itu sebab walaupun saya tak beli proton, part of my beli kereta punya tax money channel back to proton and saya bayar juga part of this suprima.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • It’s not the people’s fault to criticize Proton. If Proton really makes bad cars, should we consumers purchase their cars blindly for the sake of patriotism? Yes I love my country but I’m also a wise consumer to choose a car with superior fuel efficiency which is a feature that usually doesn’t come from Proton cars. You can’t blame people for selecting Japanese cars over national ones as most of the smaller models are pretty much affordable now and most are proven (and widely perceived) to be solid city commuters with low fuel consumption.

It’s normal for a car to have good and bad reviews. I would say that Proton is not a fully established manufacturer with high reputation internationally, and they are still striving hard to achieve that. Proton should be happy with all these negative comments as it will help them improve further. Honestly speaking, I find this car to be visually appealing but the name sounds pretty awkward. Should be a great bang for the buck provided that it’s a C-segment hatch with a hefty spec sheet. I cannot comment on the performance as nobody has been in it before and actually tested it. But I guess the sales wouldn’t be too impressive either with some similar-priced B-segment Japs around. Just my opinion anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
  • Beetle Nut on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Here’s what I think “fully-loaded with built-in value” means:

“You can’t afford a Toyota / Honda / Nissan / Kia / Hyundai / Ford. So we are throwing in the kitchen sink so you won’t cry yourself to sleep knowing you brought a Proton once again.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 61
    • unread on Aug 15, 2013 at 7:11 pm

nut is you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
      • Gary Yap on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Is it so hard to write in proper grammar? What is “nut is you”? What you want to say is “you are nuts, or you’re a nut”. Did you fail English in UPSR, my son?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • MHaffiezMNazri on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:15 pm

The last toy from SZA’s era… what comes out after this hopefully is not going to be the second dark era of Proton under DRB-HICOM’s Mahaleel stewardship…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • WHOOHOO on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:21 pm

2.0 engine with turbo charger fully loaded.. somebody told me.. hope so..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
    • that’s prolly petronas e01 engine. not to be used in this C segment car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 46
  • If proton really think this car is worth buying, let the gomen liberate auto car industry and see how it fares against imported cars. Otherwise, it is just the same freaking old pos marketed under a different name.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 47
    • Faiza on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Just look at Proton Preve export sales so far…yes very succesfull lah! Lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
  • alihms on Aug 15, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Hope those who buy this car on loan really can afford it. Otherwise, it will lead to “Subprime” loan crisis to our economy. In the US, people who can’t afford to buy houses but bought them anyway caused this “Subprime” loan crisis to the US economy. Major US banks went bankrupt, house prices spiraled down and many people lost their jobs. It was so devastating, not only the US economy, the whole world economy was badly shaken. We are still recovering from its effects till now..

Google “subprime loan crisis” for more details.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Go Google Translate – “Suprima” set as detected language and translate to English or Malay. The translation definitely will give you a good laugh. ^^

• Wan Malaysia on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:04 pm

I love Protons, as long as they are not mine:
    – Pathetic engine with wheezy sickly note: Check!
    – Lethargic CVT that’s loud enough to scare children: Check!
    – Fisher Price toy plastic quality inside: Check!
    – Government office after-sales service: Check!
    – Depreciation that beats the French: Check!
    – You can buy one for less in Iran: Check!
    – Iranians loves them too: Check!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 98
    • niceone on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:26 pm

oops you forgot one more checklist! let me do it for you.

– Wash my Myvi 1.3 this morning: Check!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • pacifictuna on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:20 pm

i’m no supporter of proton but there are 2 things you need to be clear.
      1. fisher price plastic are of good quality and non toxic
      2. proton does not depreciate fast. go compare citreon and renault.
      just my dua puluh sen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • jolly_idiot on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:18 pm

if i buy this car, i will be an idiot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 124
    • You are an idiot regardless…
      I don’t use proton but don’t assume people who buys proton an idiot…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 4
    • I thought you are already an idiot based on your name?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
  • art appreciator on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Not very big on the tail lamps – my first impression is lukewarm towards the whole thing. A little disappointed about the direct copy-paste front half of the car. Something a little more exciting after the Preve would have been nice, but I guess for me the bar remains at the same level, hatchback or otherwise. It’s nice; bravo and all that, but I wouldn’t want to own something that feels backdated. My thought is that this could have been something that could have been launched 4-5 years ago, maybe even longer than that.

My family has so far owned 4 Protons to date in a space of about 15 years, and for every of one Proton’s product that we bought, in the end there was always a rush to sell them off, with no love lost.

I don’t know about many people here, but due to poor quality that led to many frustrating inconveniences, my family and I have felt inclined to avoid Protons totally.

However though, I think that new customers to the brand should be pleasantly surprised by Proton’s latest innovations. In all fairness, do keep it up Proton. I hope you’ll be able to earnestly wow us one day =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 140
    • Wan Malaysia on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:52 pm

I’m totally with you, Art. As long as I don’t have to own another Proton, I’m happy. Our family had three of them. One had a roof so rusty, when we sold it, we told the buyer it was a Targa Special Edition, the other Wira dislodged its water pump hose and dumped all its coolant on LDP, in rush hour traffic (sigh!), and the third one…well, when my dad pulled a muscle trying to pay toll (because power window didn’t work anymore), we knew we didn’t want to try a fourth one, ever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 46
      • art appreciator on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Sigh. Imagine…3 to 4 cars – that’s 3 to 4 times our faiths renewed in the brand even after experiencing big losses! It’s not easy, especially when we have to invest tens of thousands of ringgit every time, yet we’ve been let down again and again. Due to this, I have had enough of Protons personally. I prefer to invest in tried, tested and approved makes from now on.

But like I said previously, I sincerely hope and believe new patrons of the brand will be pleased with some of Proton’s new products. All in all, they HAVE improved. Hopefully new owners of the more current Proton cars don’t have to go through what we did.

Sorry to hear about your misdaventures, Wan. I hope that your current choice of car is much less of a problem, and instead a source of peace and joy for you and your family. It’s been a pleasure, and thanks for replying. =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
      • Its clear you can’t afford the so-called “any brand other than Proton”. The rusty roof? Must be a 10+ years old Saga because new models do not seem have rust problems. You can’t afford to change the roof is it to wait until your car became a convertible?
        The spilt coolant looks more likely you are not taking good care of your Wira. I bet the radiator is as rusty as your Saga Convertible’s roof. The broken power-window? Yes, its a plague of yesteryear Protons but the replacement parts are cheap and can be fixed DIY.
        I am not a Proton salesman, but my family is still keeping a Saga Megavalve that have gone through all those problems above. But the engine and gearbox is still running fine nearing 250k km. It depends on your own efforts too to make your ride as problem-free as possible.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
        • Gary Yap on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:03 pm

What’s wrong with you? Cars should never rust because they are made of galvanised steel, how you know Wan did not service his Proton? And a regular car owner should never have to DIY his/her power window. And how do you know Wan isn’t driving something other than a Proton? You have just exposed yourself as a deluded Proton owner who can’t afford anything better, and because of that, feel the need to run down others who have moved on. Guess what? Even government officials are ditching their Perdanas for Accords because the Protons keep breaking down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
          • You never heard that even galvanised steel will oxidise over time, especially grades of steel used in the past? That is why if any of the steel parts is dented, it will rust away if not taken care of. Don’t tell me you only seen Protons got rusted body while other brands have perfect conditions even after 15 years. What i am referring to is a car over 10 years old which is still kept by my family even though we got other cars because well, its been really hardy mechanically-wise and painless to maintain.

Oh really, a car owner never have to DIY? You can send your car to workshop for any problems but of course you have to pay for the labour charges. Small problems can be dealt with if you know what you are doing. Not all people have the luxury of disposable income and/or time to send their cars to workshop to fix small niggles whenever they creep out. Thats why i think problems afflicting Wan can actually be easily rectified and can affect any other brands not only Proton. I am sure readers here who “know their cars” can attest to that.

Oh yes i am a Proton owner and i am not ashamed to admit it unlike most bashers/allegedly Jap car users/other brand worshippers here. If you own a Jap car, good for you but you don’t have to run down other people using Proton. And know that Jap car is only considered high-end in M’sia and there are still much more high-end Continental cars out there. Oh i have a Triton pick-up too in case you are wondering i am a “deluded Proton extremist”. Peace.

• susan on Oct 09, 2013 at 11:24 am

is it Mr Gary Y Y G? pls revert

• Wan Malaysia on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Yes, my parents used to send the Wira to EON service without fail, but the car failed on them nevertheless. They are in their late 60s, DIY on power windows? You must be kidding. I hope Proton makes a pick-up for you, maybe name it Proton Sucka. It fits you.

• puterakupang84 on Aug 15, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Hahahahaha…so many Japanese and Korean SA here..they are trying so hard to tell people don’t buy this car, this car is junk, this car is pathetic and so on..not enough attacking the car now they are trying to attack the car’s name…only fool people believe their words…wise guys use their their brains to make judgement….try harder guys!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 6
    • Huh?? For the first time I heard Jap and Korean are afraid of Proton treat. Completely different market la brother.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 6
    • kuda kepang on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Tell me what is top car brand sales in langkawi or labuan?

If Proton so good sure top sales there lah right????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
      • Xplorer on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Hmmm…. But I agree … :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
      • I know you are saying if not for the taxes imposed, no one will buy Proton. Yes, Proton and Perodua are not best-selling brands in Langkawi or Labuan but the best-selling models are those not offered by Proton such as D-segment, large SUV and MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
  • *sigh* i thot theres a teaser or somthing. Nothing la wei

• rockidz on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Brochure leaked on lowyat forum. Almost RM80k for premium. 6 airbags across all variants (only 2 variants). No manual… Premium comes with rear camera, front parking assist sensor, hill assist, esc, android wifi radio and gps… real DRL…brake assist… etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 42
  • jongos on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:46 pm

hopefully the price is good. if not, bye bye. terima kasih saja la proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano on Aug 15, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Car aside, thanks paultan, that you are giving us front row seats too. No one else in the scene has done it yet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 0
  • i prefer 4 doors Neo (if available) rather than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
  • Such a weird name, I must say. Suprima reminds me of sub-prime debacle in north America some years back.

If we analyse the name, clearly the words “super” and “prime” were the base, as well as “supreme”. I just think the final name “Suprima” is too close to “PETRONAS Primax”. Perhaps keeping it simpler with a clearly English word, or Latin may have been better.

Its curious too that they did not name it Preve HB, but perhaps in some markets only the sedan or the HB will be sold. Selling a Preve HB may invite questions about the sedan’s availability.

Anyway, good to see newer PROTONs, and I hope soon, PROTON will turn the corner, finally.

Good luck!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
  • rockidz on Aug 15, 2013 at 5:44 pm

put the car import tax aside… with this kind of price… as tag say, this car is fully loaded with build in value .. What also have, 5 ancap rating, modern technology is worth the $$$ … Problem is just what ppl concern – the quality and services issues … or else this will sell like hot cakes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • The rear looks nice to me as in those spyshots. The front on the other hand is slightly boring in my opinion with the Preve being around for quite some time already.

Would prefer proton to name it as the Preve hatchback, Preve sport or whatever, Suprima sounds cheesy and awkward to me. Just my opinion haha…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • Just A Nobody on Aug 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Even though the exterior design doesn’t have that extra ”umph” (sort of) on it and the name turns out to be hilarious in google image, the specs are still a great deal if the romoured price is right. Turbocharged and lots of modern safety features. Seems on par imo with those Japanese and Korean cars. Now, if only there is a manual variant as well (say ”Suprima RS” perhaps?), that would be lovely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
  • wira, satria, putra, arena, same front, different at the back, thus different name. proton trademark

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • So,tell me now…how about Mercedes and BMW front design?

Nice try buddy.Never go full retard.

• this is lousy shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 96
  • kusochon on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:01 pm

better than kimchi car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Trying to leverage your standard by saying better than kimchis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • driverxrider on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:02 pm

I already use my FLX SE for more than a year right now. So far, no major problem. It meet it’s purpose, it take me from point A to point B. Some said that it is not stable if drive more than 180km/h, but I think that depend on the driver’s skill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • Absolute Rider on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:14 pm

The dashboard shouldn’t use bright colour. Why not black as most of the time, our country’s weather is shinny day yet hot? Bright colour can reflect the sun light more than dark colour and this can affect the driver’s vision.

By the way, paddle shifter and steering area can use titanium or silver colour just like preve for more classy look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 50
  • tebotudol on Aug 15, 2013 at 8:51 pm

i just don’t understand how people can make judgement and jumped into conclusion by looking at the photos only…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
  • Proton on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:11 pm

i am not a proton fans or owner but still i think proton is improving quite a lot if compared to years back. i can see a lot preve is on the road nowadays any look quite decent as well. i believe preve hatchback would catch people attention if bodykit is installed into it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Perdana6G72 on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Still using Campro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
  • Proton on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:13 pm

anyway im gonna test drive it.. and see how it feel since i never drive any other proton before except old wira that belongs to my friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • selenium on Aug 15, 2013 at 9:19 pm

i was actually looking forward for this model from proton… it seems that proton has never fail to take a hopeful Malaysians dream and thrash it in the garbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 80
    • yes, i agree to thrash it to garbage coz i feel butthurt seeing it has 6 airbags. mine jap car is only 2! no vsa and such

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 18
  • Johnny on Aug 15, 2013 at 10:09 pm

My Nissan Sunny 10 times better than this car! Bumper sure lose!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 66
    • firecloud on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:25 am

sure your nissan sunny will be smoke even saga flx… lol sory… Please go back to school and learn back about car specification, and compare back your car with this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Tok Kok on Aug 15, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Supri My Ass lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
  • Norhayati bt Hamzah on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:00 am

ok la tapi design mcm lebih kurang ford focus sport jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • shawal on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:53 am

u can find the leaked brochure everywhere now…

still waiting for a preve S to come out…i nid dat 510 litre boot space!

• proton lama on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:15 am

Nanti kat showroom ada jamuan makan tak…baru best tengok kereta baru proton suprima X…

• suprima…sounds like a oil lubricant name ^^

• supkima on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:06 pm

supkimak :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 50
  • namanama on Aug 16, 2013 at 12:16 pm

not a fan of proton,but this one not a bad looking…plus a good handling of course..the only downside is poor refinement and cheap quality plastic and rough engine noise.that’s it! everything else is ok…

• Nicholas on Aug 16, 2013 at 2:48 pm

I think overall Proton Preve is a great car….full of feature and great pricing. Performance is also great not to mention handling. Of course QC need to be improved…..A lot of people say proton low quality, bad cars and not reliable. I think it applies to Proton Gen 2 1st batch some other models. For Proton Preve they improved a lot…but yet still need to improve…..

Also one whom owns a Proton Preve or proton doesnt mean they are poor or cannot afford it….they might be attracted to feature or pricing or performance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Bottailang on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:45 am

As long as the Proton Project still alive, the Rakyat will still need to suffer from being forced to buy cheap low quality car just to sustain Proton while other good foreign car will still be kept at bay with unreasonable tax rate.

• Bottailang on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:04 am

DrM: Ini lah kali pertama Proton memperkenalkan model kereta yang canggih dan mematuhi piawaian antarabangsa.
    HAhahaha

• Bottailang on Aug 17, 2013 at 11:16 am

The background Malay song make it really feel ‘Kampong’.
    How to sell it to international market if we still Kampong?

• Again..CAMPRO TURBO only? Got CPS or not? Proton playdumb again. keep giving outdated spec to consumer. just change cover outside and add turbo cfe iafm..come on la proton. enuff with campro. even viva got vvt. new engine plz. change2 cover outside but inside old..feel shame plz with other car manufacturer. add on turbo?i can do also laa…no need study engineering or a plant to do it….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……………worse is, say this is not preve hatchback but whole new class… then y the same front face?if new, change all la…..zzzzzzzzzzz…( just my opinion. the car not guilt, the engineers are. so dont condemn me if i buy it..btw…77k?any reason y i dont take inspira instead?73k new with mivec 1.8….

• Passby on Aug 23, 2013 at 10:29 am

Proton is actually learning Korean car marketing strategy..they are using good spec , not bad interior and ‘powerfull’ engine to attract customers..

• Wilson on Oct 20, 2013 at 9:19 pm

I very proud when I have sex in my Alza.