Mercedes-Benz A45 AMG sighted at JPJ Putrajaya

mercedes-benz-a45-amg-jpj-anol-30

Malaysia saw the introduction of the Mercedes-Benz A-Class back in June with the launch of two variants – the Mercedes-Benz A200 and the Mercedes-Benz A250 Sport.

The A250’s 208 horsepower and 350 Nm from its 2.0 litre turbocharged engine is already plenty for some and has resulted in a seriously long waiting list, but for those who desire even more power and an AMG badge, your car is already being evaluated at JPJ Putrajaya.

mercedes-benz-a45-amg-jpj-anol-27

Our usual JPJ sleuths Anol Alias and ApexKit sighted this black Mercedes-Benz A45 AMG today at the JPJ headquarters. This particular car wears an all-black uniform, down to the black wheels. There are a few changes over a regular A45 AMG that we’ve used to seeing in press photos though.

We observe that it has an additional rear spoiler from the aerodynamics package, together with other subtle changes such as sections of the bumpers and the front grille that are painted matte silver and a different tailpipe garnish that’s split in the middle to emulate a quad tailpipe type of look. Could be designo options.

mercedes-benz-a45-amg-jpj-anol-06

The A45 AMG uses a 2.0 litre engine. Despite the same engine size as the A250, it is a specially tuned version that makes much more power – 360 horses and 450 Nm of torque. It’s mated to an AMG Speedshift DCT 7-speed twin clutch transmission and sends power to all four wheels as standard through an AMG 4MATIC system.

Before the A-Class was launched, a sales advisor who posted a pre-launch booking listing on oto.my listed the A45 AMG for RM338,888. When the launch date eventually comes around we’ll see if he was right – he did get the RM199k and RM239k price tags right for the A200 and A250 Sport.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 54 gma on Aug 28, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Rim jenis ni xsmart r.. klu dpt lg satu mantap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
    • OH MY GOD on Aug 29, 2013 at 12:27 am

This car can swallow the Golf GTI and BMW M1 anytime…Amazing Merc

Watch this video, it says it all:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CCoWi_wU-oM?w=200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 35
      • Malaysia Boleh on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:33 am

No comparison with Suprima S? Proton says beats them all wor…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 13
        • Make my day comment. :)

Well played bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • ah lock on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:00 am

@malaysia boleh
          it seems that proton is comparable with all types of brands, including this amazing merc amg.. i think proton cars is the benchmark for all of its competitor out there.. haha.. plz grow up la dude! get a life.. (this thread got nothing to do with proton la!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:09 am

ayoo! gila mau compare with suprima s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
          • hadianwar on Aug 30, 2013 at 1:32 am

oih. wanna compare suprima S? its outta question dude. its 1.6 + turbo. there is nothing to do with 2.0L engine that tweaked 300+hp. doesn’t make any sense. its a normal/standard people car. not a filthy rich ok. by its looks its looks a lot like vw polo tail with new c200 nose. how funny shorty. gahaha~ XD the I30 or veloster is nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • stealth on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:21 am

why every paultan post also need to compare with Proton? now even worst Proton Sperma. later what Proton Sperma S? Proton Sperma R?

• neemfa on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:14 am

The A45 is the best looking and most exciting.. although the Golf R is the true rival rather than the normal GTI, however I still think A45 would tee off the Golf with no fuss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • powershot on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:36 am

based on the review I’ve read. It seems like the A45 AMG is currently the best hot hatch available.

• Proton Supporter on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:01 pm

No lah, Suprima S baru the best, comes with lotus handling, best in Malaysia and some say Australia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • glaze on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:09 am

it should be compared to the new Golf R instead of GTI. GTI is to compared with A250.

• rocca mocca on Aug 29, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Why comparing the A45 with GTI. With up to 360bhp,it will be appropriate to match this car with the up coming Golf R.

• stupid on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:51 am

OH MY GOD!!! woow…it’s bmw M135i not M1…there is no M1 on sale currently

• Petrolhead on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:27 am

If price at RM338,888, better buy 4 Suprima S = 552hp, 820Nm, 4 reverse cameras, 28-inch LCD screens, 24 airbags, 20-star ANCAP ratings and 1236 liters of boot space!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 27
      • xavier lert on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:18 am

then lasso all 4 in front of you, get a carriage and whip em for more acceleration. clever clever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • luxifer on Aug 29, 2013 at 1:32 pm

yeah, 0-100 u get 39.6sec, fuel consumption u get 40L/100km.
        Get a Life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
      • Ubah Gaya Hidup on Aug 29, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Kahwin 1 boleh bagi A45 AMG, kalau kahwin 4 bagi jer 4 biji Suprima S.

• dont worry.. u just can afford plotong only.. no need to think rim of this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Merc_is_best on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:33 am

Based on what I am aware of, all of 2014 quota for A45 AMG already fully booked. Only 30 units allocated to Malaysia it seems, well, I maybe wrong.

So, those who are interested with this, book yours now for 2015 stocks !! @_@

• Toffeeman on Aug 28, 2013 at 11:33 pm

I am afraid it’s RM350,000. I supposed it could be becos of our crappy RM depreciated against the Euro in recent months. I thought the aerodynamic package should be an option. The additional rear spoiler is not everyone’s taste.

But the black rims are yummy.

• Fahmi on Aug 28, 2013 at 11:59 pm

The rims look okay though I prefer 5-star AMG design…RM338k? Looks pricing is quite a steal for 360hp… In comparison BMW 328i with 240hp is RM289k and AH3 with 340hp is RM398k.. Though AH3 have 90NM more torque…

• Furqan on Aug 28, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Dear BMW Malaysia, where is your 135i?

• Yes!! Finally!! The uber hatch has arrived!!

• droll on Aug 29, 2013 at 12:05 am

350k for an AMG is actually cheap (not that i can afford it though :))

• Alpha on Aug 29, 2013 at 12:50 am

Too bad. All the A45 AMG bound for Malaysia are spoken for. Not sure if there’ll be more coming in.

• U sure mate? Damn!! So many rich Malaysian out there..

• Proton Salesman on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:07 pm

How to sell Suprima junk? More Malaysian buy Merc then Suprima.

• 1st edition package..

• Edition 1 package

• whoaaa…how much would it cost?

• Ah Beng on Aug 29, 2013 at 2:57 am

Where is Suprimau? Want to claim handling better than Merc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • since when? btw proton handling is already very good. if conti, i prefer beemer’s than merc’s

• Rakyat on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:00 am

Diaper car now quiet alraedy…

• only you said it now, LOL
      even you google, the page is full with car pics

• BLUR SOTONG on Aug 29, 2013 at 3:09 am

Rm 338,888 steep price in Negaraku Malaysia.
    Central bank loans tightening regulations, 20% Down payment loan 7 long long years, interest 2.8% monthly payment rm3800,so are we earning the standards like in Australia or Sweden or Denmark??
    How many common folks can actually own this car ??
    Perhaps the 3 pointed star are solely for the upper and Rich class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • havent you read the newspaper? the news of 20% dp and 7yrs loan tenure is not true.

• Dude, If u are living in Norway. I bet u can only afford a A200 base spec with our bolehland A45 price or mayb worst. The other 2 country might have cheap car price for us. But actually if u r living in those country, u will find it hard to own a decent car. Even in Europe, only the rich drives 3 pointed star. Normal salary man drives VW or Audi.

• brown kid on Aug 29, 2013 at 1:53 pm

No need to tell that to M’sian . . All of them don’t even have a chance to go from m’sia but keep talking and how cheap the price of owning car in other countries, never know what the cost for the upkeep . . . owh, and they keep talking other ppl ‘katak bawah tempurung’ . .
        etc: see how Blur Sotong comment.. one rumours in the internet and he/she so in to it… never think or find other resources…

• Some rich Europeans are different, they don’t buy expensive car only because they can afford it, they want practicality like cabin space. They just sell the car off once it’s not really necessary for them and change to smaller and cheaper car like japs car.

True story

In Malaysia car is social status symbol/sign, duh

• ^ is stupid on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:57 am

wow normal salary man drives audi but rich drive mercedes…

• Dude, common folks that have RM338,888 will go for 520d, E200, or A6 2.0t. Those who buy a hot hatch with a mid-size luxury car price are definitely well off. Same goes to Europe, normal ordinary folks will rather spend their 35k euro wisely on mid-size sedan. Only the young exec from better family or earn a higher pay will go for this.

• CLEAR CUTTLEFISH on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:42 am

Don’t be blur bro. No common folks can afford this car, everyone knows that. It’s an AMG, it’s not for common folks to begin with.

Common folks like most of us here need to settle for econoboxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • theanswer on Aug 29, 2013 at 9:07 am

never knew merc target market is for common folks.

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:10 am

this car is not for COMMON FOLKS!

• glaze on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:14 am

common folks only affordable to drive Suprima S with the great handling and 5 stars ANCAP or the lagi power lagi best, not this AMG sorry..

• Syazran on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:05 am

MBM A CLASS PRICE rm350,888

• frenzyaustin on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:09 am

A45 AMG looks really mean and fierce in black! My dream car!

• gavin on Aug 29, 2013 at 7:55 am

Lol brake caliper bigger than the disc, but still cool car

• Wow.. 1st news that made my morning!! yeah! MBM is effective and efficient in bring in A45 AMG this fast. I bet this goina sell like hot cake too. Cheapest AMG in town. In fact, RM338k or RM350k is damn cheap for a true blood AMG and not AMG-kitted car. Went to MBM to book A250, waiting list is so long. Book now and u only can receive it nxt year. There are more than 500 booking prior to my booking. All made within a month or 2.

• lucky me on Aug 31, 2013 at 10:55 am

mine will be coming this oct! only 25 unit will be masuk negaraku Malaysia… i really cannot wait for it.. i ady book it since Jun this year..

• Somebody waiting on Oct 15, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Lucky you. Mine would only be coming around March next year

• GreenGeek on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:32 am

IMO, the rear spoiler is really really an overdone for this styling!!!!
    MBM should make the Edition 1 aero kit optional as I understand that this rear spoiler only comes with Edition 1 package.

• shawal on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:35 am

Worth every penny, regardless of tax nor currency

• for me rm338k is still cheap and 2.0 engine should give better fuel com. and cheaper roadtax. Very value for money indeed

• jpj officer gets to test it?

• Now real AMG would be a common sightings in malaysia in the near future.. instead of those AMG kitted C & E class grey imports frm UK..

• Very over priced car here….in UK it is selling at 30K pound only (RM150k). Wonder how much are those taxes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • PenzoilGuy on Aug 29, 2013 at 1:06 pm

your comment really caught my eye….I don’t know from where you get that 30k pound….even MSRP for A 45 AMG 4 MATIC start at 37k pound…. RM338k++ for AMG is damnnn cheap in malaysia…I even thought MBM gonna price it around RM450k base on my theoretical Aussie price it at 75k++ AUD…..don’t simply compare apple to orange please…just because you feel wanna bash…my 2 kupang for u..

• bluebird on Aug 29, 2013 at 2:19 pm

from MMA website, excise duty for engine capacity 2000-2499 cc is 90% and sales tax 10%. Theoretically by working maths backwards, true price of this AMG should be around RM180k (minus excise duty + sales tax).
        Slap a 95% tax on it = RM338++K.
        We are forced to take loan for 7-9 years to pay taxes. Cheers

• Anton Sevidov on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:40 am

Badass lookin car. Awesome!

• Gua Punya Rasa on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:21 am

wow! waiting list is so long for A200 & A250! Malaysian r so rich!

• all property investors making money from thin air goreng here goreng there do nothing and dunno anything bout anything.

• i can buy this car anytime but i prefer to drive vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • ok ok you posted number of comments that you have vios. but i never believe you can afford this car, sorry

• I asked the VP of sales of Mercedes and he told me it will cost around 360k.

• The spoiler make it look cheap

• I’m pretty sure that those spoilers are made of carbon fibres and not el cheapo plastics like the ones on your myvi ler.

• GreenGeek on Aug 30, 2013 at 12:20 pm

I also absolutely think so. It looks like the rear spoiler is put there for the sake of putting it to justify the price of the aero kit….out of place. Or at least AMG should have designed a more subtle spoiler to complement the already sexy styling. MBM should make the aero kit or this rear spoiler optional for owners in Malaysia who do not wish to pay luxurious price for getting such an ‘over-sized’ spoiler, IMO. haha

• Suparman on Aug 29, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Any idea why mitsubishi priced their evo 315k for less power,less torque ,crap interior? Seem ridiculous

• Sup rima on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:28 pm

My suprima can tapau this a45 anyday anytime. I have upgraded my turbo and intercooler, exhaust system and few others. Now my suprima makes 360hp and 450nm. Golf R, scirocco r or audi s3,s4,s5 semua dah kena tapau.

• Hazamiey on Aug 29, 2013 at 8:38 pm

This car worth every ringgit compared to ridiculously priced 2-storey terrace houses in Klang Valley.

• sameloor on Aug 29, 2013 at 10:40 pm

you buy this you will cry later, RV rules!
      oh unless you rich enough LOL

• teamsleepnine on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:10 pm

it’s an amg dude,no one gives a damm about rv,after all it’s a car that whoever bought he/she going to keep it for a very long time.

• AMGfanny on Aug 29, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Our malaysia A45 AMG with spoiler and quad exhaust same as this in performance package in youtube. Hope will not strip off ! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93eYM4rPfqE

• Megane on Aug 30, 2013 at 2:39 am

Buying this is one thing ….maintaining this beast is another thing . Good luck haha. Lucky those rich people .

• Future owner on Sep 24, 2013 at 9:52 pm

1 of the 25 allocated owners, was told that delivery is pushed to march next year? anyone can confirm about this?

• luckyme on Sep 25, 2013 at 8:09 am

from wat i know… for the 1st 25 whom ady booked will be receive the A45 this OCT for the second order that is ady fully booked will be arrive on MARCH 2014…

• Future owner on Sep 28, 2013 at 7:23 pm

booked on mid of june, was told by salesman first batch. any idea if it is the first batch? or the salesman is lying.

• lucky me on Sep 29, 2013 at 9:48 pm

same like me bro… i booked mid of june… been told will be receive it this OCT… cannot wait.. hahaha

• Future owner on Nov 09, 2013 at 10:54 pm

Bro, gotten ur car? Mine has been delayed, dnt knw whts wrong. Salesman said smth abt duty prob.

• Lucky me on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Same la bro.. they said something about duty, kastam n other thing.. but i changing my mind since this ady end of year. i b taking the car by next year laaa.. coz the depreciation price for this year car will be almost min of 15% = 45 k.. so rugi byk bro…

• Future owner on Jan 06, 2014 at 1:16 am

bro gotten any news from ur side yet? i hv seen 3 of them on the road already but still no news from my salesman, damn!

• Lucky Me on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:15 am

Yes bro. actually i already been told collect my on OCT n had test drive the car. It was superb! Fantastic n Bombastic!! haha
            however i did`t take collect more over i postponed it for upcoming March due to depreciation. However i really 1 to buy that car.. i got friend who wan to sell it..n u can get within a week..contact me bro.. [email protected]

• Dear uploader & any a45 amg owners,
    ive been eyeing this recond japanese a45 amg edition 1 (costs the same as new official unit from merc malaysia, due to its rareness/1 year++ waitinglist), recently got it tested and i have a few questions..
    1) The rev is maxed out at 2000 rpm when revving at P mode, is this normal and why is it so?
    2)Can this car unit accept our quality of fuel?
    3) Warranty is not covered by merc malaysia, but by Opal instead.. Where is the best place open a new book to service & maintain the car in Klang Valley area?
    4)How to i certify the car comes with original parts, internals specifically, aside from bringing a mechanic to check wther parts is original and speedometer wasnt tempered with, do recond cars comes with paperwork certifying car is ori?

p/s: Some say i can still service at merc malaysia with higher labour charge eventhough warranty is not covered..

p/s: The mileage for this car is around 10k Km. is this normal?? they say japanese dont drive that much?

Thanks in advance Paul, and bros.. waiting in anticipation..

• 1st of all, nice and rare choice your are making…to answer your question please refer below:-
      1.my car rev until RPM 6k on P
      2.if i not mistaken our spec is the same.. ron97 is the minimum ron
      3. there are workshop in klang.. well known for the good service/specialist on mercedes
      4.not sure

• AHLAM MOHAMMED on Jul 27, 2016 at 3:26 pm

id like to come to your shop as soon as possible please send me your address