McLaren Kuala Lumpur set for launch – 12Cs arrive

mclaren kl

Sime Darby Auto Britannia looks like it’s gearing up for the launch of McLaren Kuala Lumpur, which is set to open its doors later this month – the company has announced that the first four McLaren road cars have arrived in the country, these being two MP4-12C and two 12C Spider examples, which presumably will be the showcase vehicles for the opening.

Both the 12C and 12C Spider are powered by a 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 with 625 PS on tap, paired with a seven-speed SSG dual-clutch transmission. Performance-wise, it’s pretty much splitting hairs between the hard top and spider – both do the 0-100 km/h sprint in the same time (3.1 seconds), and the 12C is just a shade faster with a 333 km/h top speed to the Spider’s 329 km/h.

The McLaren Kuala Lumpur sales gallery is located in Mutiara Damansara, and the showroom will be supported by a two-bay service centre in Temasya Industrial Park, Glenmarie. Malaysia is McLaren’s seventh market in the Asia-Pacific region, and McLaren Kuala Lumpur will be the marque’s 41st retail location globally.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• D.I.Y on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Awesome.. that day saw a MP412C on the road roaring passing by, the engine sound is amazingly unique!

• ahaha on Sep 05, 2013 at 9:14 pm

I remember i go faster then this mclaren as there are 3 bumpers along the short distance of road….hah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
  • More toys to choose from for the rich and famous eg. politicians and their cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 30
  • Tazio on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:46 pm

I’m interested.

• Sime Darby. Again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • why not Sime Darby? they’re already the distributor in Hong Kong and Shanghai….not to mention they also distribute some other cars in Australia as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Tumbi on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Cancelled my order since the oil price increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
  • Honestly hope they will later bring in a P1 for display like they did in Singapore!

• Was this pic taken in IKEA? hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • I hope the “key ring” is affordable for me to buy!

• jolly_idiot on Sep 05, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Recond selling how much?

• Micheal on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Sime Darby are bringing in P1
    2 lucky owner have booked the car

• frenzyaustin on Sep 05, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Take McLaren any day then a F458 Italia because it’s rarity. McLaren P1, finally someone makes Turbo sounds cool now!

• Great car but 458 Italia still a better car ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • frenzyaustin on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:25 am

Ferrari produce a better sound, but British car has character I prefer than Italian.

• Penang playboy on Sep 06, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Talk talk talk.. all talk but cannot even afford to buy the wheel. pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • frenzyaustin on Sep 07, 2013 at 1:16 am

Go back and drive your Kancil with a Daihatsu badge and VTEC Sticker, Ralliart sticker and Turbo sticker on the side of your car.

• Dam!! Now only come? Ady saw many ott which is recond unit. Actually supercar, buy recond or used is more than enough. Recond unit aroun rm 900k-1mil. But honestly this car is dam sexy.

• Once upon a time it’s only pipe dream to own these cars…but now it seems closer to reality than ever…

yup buying recond is enough, last time a colleague bought Ferrari recon but very good condition

• Yeah, agreed with you. My uncle bought his F430 recond too. To me, ppl who owned this car are usually handle it with care. Those which did not handle with care surely will not ended up in our car dealer.. U noe what? As those handle without care are usually being scrapped off or totaled. lol..

• heybadigol on Sep 06, 2013 at 9:14 am

Now owners of recond 12C don’t need to go far to service their cars. Hehe. I can’t afford these cars, but if I had the money, i’d go for the 911 turbo. The 12C is a good car technically, but it doesnt quite have the heritage or the soul of a Ferrari. So, for best of both worlds, and practicality, not to mention easier (slightly) maintenance too, the 911 wins it. Until the new Honda NSX comes out of course. Exciting times for the world of unatainable supercars indeed!

• oh stop it..all those heritage bulls*it..look at pagani for goodness sake..and talking about heritage, look at mclaren’s proven record on the track..pfftt

• Wow that white 12C Spider looks so damn good!

• so expensive, even the wiper alone will cost rm3-4k

• McLaren on Sep 06, 2013 at 12:38 pm

People who can afford this car wont care about the price of the wiper

• welovetotalk on Sep 06, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Penang Playboy…

We love to talk ah…you blow ah