Government may backtrack on decision to use Hondas, as Proton promises a new model – report

Proton-Accord-rendering

A report by FreeMalaysiaToday has suggested that the Government may have backtracked on its decision to use new Honda Accords in the official vehicle fleet. Instead, a new, yet unannounced Proton executive model will apparently be supplied to replace the existing fleet of Proton Perdana Executive and Proton Inspira vehicles.

This comes less than two months after the Ministry of Finance addressed the initial move to use the Japanese model in a memo dated July 29 (which you can see here). The FMT report also mentions that since then, the Government had already issued a purchase order for 350 units of the new 2013 Honda Accord (not the older model as previously reported).

Driving the stark U-turn, the national carmaker is said to have promised to deliver a new executive model, which is fit to be used as official cars, very soon. This can only point at the Perdana replacement model (PRM). First deliveries of these vehicles could happen as soon as January 2014, if the anonymous sources are to be believed.

proton inspira

This isn’t the first time we’re hearing of a new replacement model for the long-discontinued Proton Perdana, but an assurance that it could be ready for production so soon is news indeed.

According to the FMT piece, which is dated today, sources close to the matter said that a team of government officials inspected the prototype vehicle at Proton’s headquarters as recently as last week, adding that they came away being “highly convinced” of the said new model.

Officially, the Government has not announced anything regarding this matter as of yet, so it’d be wise to take all this with a pinch of salt, at least until it’s properly substantiated that the previously-confirmed Honda Accord deal is off the table.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ubah Bird on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:06 pm

… and the non refundable deposit burns!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 31
    • Rebadged on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Looks like me, sounds like me but it is not me.

Similar approach like Inspira with different bumpers, won’t be built in Proton factory. A new Proton production line in Melaka? Sort of…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Ah Beng on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:00 pm

A car for crony by the crony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 144
        • flat_tire on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:49 am

and it will be called Proton Crown E (E stands for executive).. haa see what i did there..?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
    • jeremy on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:22 pm

How do you know its non-refundable? Heck, how do you even know they have paid a deposit? You work for Honda or the government or something?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 35
      • Whatever on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Man, there will be a cost incurred whenever a cancellation of PO happens. This is a standard industry practice. Whenever a company received a PO from the buyer then whatever process will begin e.g. production, material ordering etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Going to DRB Hicom poket anyway,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 15
    • Hafriz Shah on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I just don’t understand all this “unknown sources” and “unofficial news”…

Once things for sure, in this bloody Crony infested country together with all the infected GLCs ….

where NOTHING IS TRANSPARENT ….

NO PROPER DECISION MAKING ….

and ALL CORRUPTED.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 25
    • hanggg on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:05 am

dont simply said if you dont know anything, there no deposit and the gov doesnt need to pay anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
      • seriously??!! on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:13 pm

hmm… you are right, bro.
        we shouldn’t come into conclusion that it is still unconfirmed news.
        yet, allow me to ask some simple questions:
        would you sell your car to someone without any deposits?

hmm…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Until now, still want to re-badge other… so far away to catch up Kia and Hyundai! Hopeless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
      • You can tell that to other automakers as they do rebadging too

• As Honda cars are manufactured and distributed by DRB’s company too, i believe that DRB proposed a no penalty cancellation on the Honda PO as part of the exchange to Proton proposal. The supposed ‘loss’ by Honda might be recovered in the Proton’s price.

However, transparency must be held and all the numbers shall be revealed to public.

• Will it be made available for the public? More important, will the engine be above 2.0 liter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Sure it is, same like perdana and inspira made available to the public. I doubt by selling to gomen only will pay back the re-badge investment.

• kadajawa on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:18 am

So much confusion! Proton is all but full of jokes. No wonder it’s the No.1 hated brand name here in Malaysia lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 29
      • italia on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:07 am

I only see you are the one who is trying hard to make silly comments here

• Proton Rojak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 61
    • umbro on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:42 pm

Tell that to Pug, Toyota, Nissan, Renault, Aston etc the do rebadging too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 15
      • kadajawi on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Hm, but Pug/Toyota/Citroen developed the 107/Aygo/C1 together, Toyota/Daihatsu rebadging is within the own family, Nissan/Renault/Dacia too, only Aston rebadging a Toyota and Mercedes rebadging a Renault is comparable to the situation we have here with Proton.

But I agree, it’s not uncommon, and it would be hugely irresponsible for Proton to develop their own D segment car… there is no way they would get back their investment if it is a competitive car. It’d be better if they invest the money into a A or B segment car, that is where they can get decent sales. Same situation at Mercedes… developing their own Kangoo is too big an investment, and the last time they tried that (Vaneo) the car was crap, and it didn’t do well. So they just rebadged the Kangoo since the segment is too important to be ignored. Or Aston Martin needed to have low emission car to fulfill certain government regulations, so instead of developing one (which no one would buy anyway) they decided to rebadge the Toyota iQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • 4G63T DSM on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:13 pm

…. like Proton is able to come up with their own D segment car in a matter of a few months.

Likely to be another re-badge, if any, unless it is a derivative of an existing model or platform.

Stretched Preve “Executive” anyone?

Seriously, what is wrong with government officials using the Preve? afterall, it is supposed to be Proton’s best, a rival for the Germans….so they say..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 11
    • I believe proton will re-badge accord as perdana replacement and civic as inspira replacement.

This is align with proton strategic business decision to perform partnership with honda and ditch old partnership with mitsubishi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 58
    • sompua on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Because preve doesnt look “elegant” enough to suit the ego maniac goverment servants “status”

the truth is they don’t even deserve a Viva. give them kapchai, that’s what they deserve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 33
      • wheeler on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Preve and Inspira are in C segment replaced old Waja. Perdana is in D segment last time. They are big but not equal in segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • testing on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:52 pm

this make proton epic fail in marketing, they cannot Pin point the market correctly, Proton should only have 1 C segment car in market becuase the car market price, people alway look on cheaper B segment and also T & H. Look on other car manufacturer, due to Malaysia car price, they use only 1 car on each segment. Not like oversea, they can have several same segment car but target different buyer (luxury or entry level) .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • ruffstuff on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:35 am

Inspira will be EOL very soon. C segment will be take over by Preve line up.

Saga will continue the B segment

The new GSC will enter the B segment hatch. From this model, there will be new Saga replacement model.

D segment is rebadge.

• kesper on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Kapchai? Naik Rapid KL pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:30 pm

A good one, bradder! They should stop driving cars or riding bikes for 3 months and start taking public transport to Putra Jaya to work, while Proton is building their Executive cars.

• Roger Tan on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:13 pm

It will indeed be a pleasant surprise if Proton has indeed been working on the PRM all this while and are close to having them production ready. All this while we’ve only heard about the impending production version of the eye as concept. To say that I’m skeptical would be an understatement….

Might be a far flung idea, but perhaps a quick fix would be to revive the ACE division to produce executive/ limo version of the Preve? Wouldn’t be pretty but would be doable in a compressed timeline.

Honda wouldn’t feel a pinch in their sales figures without this deal, just an opportunity missed..

• policeman on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:23 pm

News on replacement was out like 8 years ago. At that time it was supposed to be the Mitsubishi Galant.

I don’t understand why the Government can’t use Inspira? Why replace the current Inspira?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Because inspira is develop based on partnership with mitsubishi. Now no more mitsubishi partnership but honda.

Hopefully after this we can see civic 2.0 re-badge by proton below 100 K mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:18 am

Oh, you want to kill the second hand value of the Civic so you can snap one cheap?

As soon as any car wears a Proton badge it instantly becomes worthless crap in Malaysia.

Besides, the Preve is a Civic competitor, Proton would be ran by absolute lunatics if they’d rebadge the Civic. It makes sense for them to fill in segments they do not cover, say a proper pickup truck, a D segment car, etc., but they have more than enough C segment models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • kadajawa on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:01 am

hahaha..lousy comment from a stink mouth…i would definitely buy if the price is lower compare to what Honda is now selling….human being also change their name but that doesnt make a person a bad person…think before you talk & dont just simply comment because of hatred…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • lol badge sells. but i still prefer turbocharged preve rather than old SOHC civic engine.

• powershot on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:20 pm

or was it nissan kuga?

• cosmo on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:36 pm

I love my country , but not the national auto maker… if they ever rebadge the Accord for Perdana replacement… i would only say ‘Rubbish Proton’ , dont destroy the Accord’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 47
    • Why re-badge will destroy accord ? when inspira re-badge from lancer does it destroy lancer. Never heard mitsubishi declare bankruptcy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 25
      • chipmang on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:35 pm

brother man – right after proton rebadges lancer to inspira.. did you see what happen to 2nd hand value of mitsu? same thing will happen to accord if slapped with proton brand..!
        haiyah.. proton ni sudah mcm curse pulak! letak aje brand proton.. terus lingkup brand tu!
        kesian proton! but padan muka u..! too slow.. too late.. too lazy..! after 8 years of announcement perdana replacement – habuk pun tarak! on the road test also tak dakk!

• How many new lancer you would see on the road? Lol…

• armandd on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:50 pm

What is wrong with rebadging the Accord? Spanish car maker Seat also rebadge the previous gen Audi A4. Typical basher lah you, love your country konon…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 36
      • cosmo on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:28 pm

u also know that is a Spanish company… thats why Spain is at the edge of bankruptcy…
        if u love your country, u should encourage Proton to produce their own car, but not borrow something ready-made product from ppl and put your own badge on it.. and yet feel very proud of it… Proton with over 20 years of car manufacturing experience, still not able to produce OWN car?? get a life dude… u got a superficial so called ‘patriotic’ thinking……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 24
        • Maybe Spain seems to be at the edge of bankruptcy but they have a surplus budget apart from having a trade surplus. Seat on the other hand is far bankruptcy.

• Roger Tan on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:07 am

Both you kids are correct

Spanish Seat was bought over by the Germans when they ran into trouble :)

Previous gen models was their lifeline

If only Proton had this opportunity…

• ruffstuff on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:40 am

Proton start making car with Waja. So that is 10 years plus. Still new in making cars. But they managed to catch up, but still have long way to go.

They are plenty of models Proton build from platform. Don’t be stupid. Proton will build from platform if there is a market and economies of scale. But D segment is quite hard. Who wants to buy luxury Proton at 120k? Even 120k is consider cheap for D segment, but still it is Proton. So rebadge makes sense, and only limited for government officials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Jaybond on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:41 am

But SEAT is not the main reason Spain is on the verge of bankruptcy. It’s their whole economic activities which weren’t creating enough jobs.

• BadBET on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:28 am

do you just come out from cave? try use google and type Preve & Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • fredo on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:51 am

its not a matter of can or cannot produce their own car… they have proved that they can…
          the question is, can they make money out of it? Proton is now trying to make money, no longer just the industry stirrer so others can make money…
          its the negative business case that has been holding them back for so long… with a small volume in D-segment and huge investment to develop a car from scratch…its just doesn’t do justice to the money spent. Hence, re-badging is a smarter move

• kidzania on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:21 am

how old is this cosmo kid anyway? the way he commented as if he had no experience watching proton cars evolved.. bet he’s not even born yet when the first perdana was launched..

• xflow on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:20 am

“Proton with over 20 years of car manufacturing experience, still not able to produce OWN car??”

let me name you some..
          Waja, Saga BLM, Savvy, Gen2, Persona, Preve, Suprima..

opps..i think i named too many.but hey you’re too ignorant to know

• Low Budget on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Really, who cares if Proton produce own cars or not, bottom line is people just one a car that is VERY RELIABLE (to give the owners least headache) and at reasonable price.

• MrDDR on Sep 19, 2013 at 8:53 pm

First complain because Proton cannot make they own car and prove by other reader that is not right. Than say who cares if proton can produce own car coz bottom line is people just want a very reliable car. Even after this if proton produce very very reliable car than still complaint why public transport sucks because of Proton. Haisss.. What problem with this man.

• frenzyaustin on Sep 17, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Price like a Proton, speced like international Accord, wear a Proton badge and isn’t matter anymore. What’s important is the car, not the badge. That’s why people buy CKD BMW but with that price, they can get a more well speced CBU from Japan Lexus, because you know, badge = everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • testing on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:48 pm

what about an iphone with local brand?
        or samsung with local brand logo on behind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
        • chipmang on Sep 18, 2013 at 7:39 pm

you want to buy a csl phone? don’t want right? that’s what happen when accord to wear proton badges..

• duh, csl is not rebadged samsung phone. how come can be same case.

• Jimmy on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:02 pm

If there were a Ferrari built in Tokyo and on sale in Malaysia for RM100k brand new CBU, I still don’t want to buy. You are irradiated with gamma ray everyday, on your balls and butts. Lexus from Jerman, then ok, brand aside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Jimmy on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Remember to bring your own drinking water and food if you visit Tokyo Motor Shows.
          Their government don’t even care for their citizens, they will pay for it. Hopefully the nuclear disaster will not involve us, but that seems inevitable.
          Only the blinds vote for T for Olympics 2020. Kopi O again, I think.

• and suddenly they only use Accord’s platform, use some of Honda’s high tech parts and put in the Petronas-based turbo engine.

5-star ANCAP “cheaper and turbocharged Accord”. Anyone?

P/S: 2013 Accord only has 4-star ANCAP. trolololol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Why not…LOL. I doubt honda will allow proton to use their earth dream engine technology.

• jeremy on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Let me guess, you drive an Accord? Only people who drive an Accord would say that, similar to those who drive a Lancer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • ae101 on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:26 am

Dont’t be stupid ignorance. You are not lancer owner of cos won’t know their pain. Imagine today you bought the ori and then tomorrow proton announce a replica. Accord is good car. Lame proton engineer and their service center technician skill set will kill accord anytime. Until today they can’t even fix inspira, exora and preve minor issue. Still hope for accord? If proton can’t make profit why still dump in money to maintain it? End of the day it will be another MAS company hanging half dead going no where. Really bad business management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
        • jeremy on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:13 am

Lancer driver spotted LOLZ
          So, Proton rebadges lancer, why do you only blame proton for it? Why don’t you blame Mitsubishi for allowing Proton to rebadge? Were they forced by proton to allow them to rebadge? Anyway, inspira is still a decent car..but they still to upgrade their SC, that I agree..but I feel that they have improved, so give credit where its due

• battu on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:01 pm

butthurt lancer owner detected. poor guy. go to inspira forum la, dun have many major problem, plus minus is the same with so call ori lancer. its a rebadged by the way, still mitsu inside

• Low Budget on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:41 pm

If Proton cannot fix Inspira problems, so what? The Inspira owners can always send their cars to Mitsubishi service centers mah.

• mayte on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Ok ok i know you are badge worshipper. if T rebadges passo and sells it at 100k without airbags also you buy?

If proton rebadges accord then gives the lotus RnH then it would easily tapau passat at corners lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • it’s the re-badged outgoing model of honda accord. my sales advisor from honda edi told me that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • spyshot please.. anyone?

• Not good news. Whoever made the call doesn’t have the best interests of Proton in mind.

Now is not the time for Proton to make an ‘expensive’ car, Malaysians still want and expect cheap cars. Our GDP per capita is still low, and our market demand for 2.0 litre and above cars is not high enough to warrant an ‘expensive’ RM100k+ Proton.

It’s better if Proton focuses on making reliable, safe, value for money cars first, with good after sales support.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again; Proton must be relieved of all government ties (FULLY PRIVATIZED) if it is to succeed on the global stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • jeremy on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:29 pm

DRB Hicom not private enough for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • mr_em on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:19 am

Telling others that DRB Hicom as a “true” private company is like telling people SapuraKencana Petro is also not related to any former PM’s family…. it’s that ironic… hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • jeremy on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:20 am

That may be true to a certain extent, but don’t forget the fact that they have extensive experience in the automotive industry in Malaysia..how about you suggest any ‘real’ private company that can take proton forward?? This is Malaysia, where every company in the industry are filled with cronies of government officials..

• VW Group. More extensive experience than just knowing how to CKD stuff. They actually know all their shit.

• kadajawi on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:34 am

Rebadging an Accord won’t cost them much I suppose, and they have that market covered. Will they earn much through it? Probably not. But it’s nice to have, and at least that means government officials don’t have to drive around in foreign cars, which is a bit embarrassing in countries that produce their own cars. The German chancellor is driving BMW, Audi, Mercedes and VW, the French prime minister Renault, Citroen and Peugeot, the British prime minister Jaguar, the Italian drives a Maserati or Lancia, the Japanese Emperor and prime minister drive Toyota, the Chinese prime minister is driving a Hongqi, in Sweden it’s a Saab or Volvo… so by right Najib should be driving a Proton or Perodua. Only the King of Spain is a traitor and drives Audi instead of Seat.

• Audi “owns” the king of Spain after they paid off his debt problem. Even his underwear is Made in Germany! :-)

• ruffstuff on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:44 am

I agree Proton should focus and volumes and market needs instead of luxury. I am thinking there are key people in Proton still have the mentality of the obligation towards government, even though they are private company.

Malaysian still not ready for luxury Proton cars at 120k. That is why this rebadge is only for government officials. Not for public.

• spyshotX on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:46 pm

PRM is already overdue too long and I guessed they are into this rebadging exercise just for the sake of fulfilling government’s demand for officials’ fleet. Proton may already be fully privatized now but the sense of national pride will always be there just like any other car makers. I bet if Thailand or Indonesia had their own national car brands their governments would certainly buy from them no matter what the odds are.

Speaking on the masses, I think they are already on track with the upcoming GSC cum Savvy replacement model which is due next year. Just keep your eyes on the road for oversized savvys which are actually the mule car for the GSC.

• I love my country too… But at times very annoyed to see how decision-making has been done by our Gomen… Today announce this, then tomorrow say take back decision and say something else…CAN THE PROCESSES (pro and con? consequences?) BE THOUGHT THROUGH PROPERLY BEFORE SOMETHING IS IMPLEMENTED? This situation really does not help Rakyat’s confidence in Gomen’s competency…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Myfriend on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:06 pm

Perdana replacement is a must due to old age but I dun get it why new inspira need to be replace.

• Perhaps because Mitsubishi is going to increase the royalties for each Inspira sold?;)

• Pablo on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:38 am

Because DRB is the new owner of Proton and they have end their collaboration with Mitsubishi.

• jiran proton on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:20 pm

These are what it is:
    1. current campro turbo
    2. punch cvt3
    3. from exora platform
    4. re-use suprima steering wheel
    5. all suprima features will be there
    6. most parts from exora and suprima/preve
    7. name karima (2 version avai for public – kurang pedas and extra pedas. for highlevel gov official -pedas giler aka limousine)
    8. hybrid for some gov agencies and probably for ministers to promote green
    9. look? just imagine bigger size preve with longer rear bonnet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • magpie on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:21 pm

Karima? Yur kidding right? Kari mamak ka? I prefer Proton Dicapatians’.

• OK la tu, as the government, its part of their obligation to support local brand. Its been understood that the rakyats are angry with the govt for plenty of reasons, but this is not one of it.
    Personally if the car is good I might even consider a d segment local car.Its about time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • glaze on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:51 pm

for government used? Then it should be named as Proton BariNa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Fahmi on Sep 17, 2013 at 8:57 pm

The rendering looks very ugly indeed… Hope the production model looks better than this… In a few months, Proton won’t be able to produce an “all new” D-segmenter, unless Proton have “secretly” work on the car a few years back, so rebadging is the most probable option…. Or a platform stretch…

• james on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Why do I have this feeling the name of the new car will be…

Proton EP (Endless Possibility)

for those in the dark, 1Malaysia is being replaced by EP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • exentric on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:24 pm

As I heard from my source, Honda was giving away the previous gen Accord and Mahathir wanted the latest one. I guess they chose nothing than taking a previous gen model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Rebadge on Sep 17, 2013 at 9:38 pm

No backtrack wat. Look closely. Just a rebadge and facelifted honda accord. “Different, Different, but same same.” lol

• policeman on Sep 17, 2013 at 10:19 pm

I don’t understand the logic behind Proton’s idea of rebadging. Take Lancer for example, cheaper that Inspira in Langkawi. Why not just import the car as it is and sell it, more profit to be made.

But Proton is going to localize certain parts and this will increase r&d costs and has to be sold higher. Not to mention the localized parts are of inferior quality.

Just import the car as it is and sell it maybe 20% cheaper. This way Proton makes more profit. Customers are happy they’re not getting a sub-par product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • oh man,… really, u r not the only one in malaysia who is also puzzled….

• fuglyT on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:34 am

Out of Langkawi Inspira is cheaper than Lancer due to tax and the market is bigger too.

• betik on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:38 am

We need to feed the crony and maximize the factory capacity

• kadajawi on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:35 am

If they don’t use local parts the tax rates go up… and the car won’t be as cheap.

• ququbert on Sep 18, 2013 at 8:41 am

Can’t sell it cheaper cos full imports are whacked by full excise duty. Technically, must either localize parts or do value added activities (ckd,build a plant,manufacture important components) within Malaysian borders to get lower excise duty. Then can get lower price.

Its the excise duties that form the bulk of the selling price, import duty max is just 30%. I think from Japan now maybe 0% already.

• 1. Sold Proton to Volkswagen Auto Group
    2. Rebadged Audi A4 into the next Perdana Replacement
    3. ???
    4. Profit

• Waste of Proton’s manpower, money etc.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm

They did it once with Waja CPS. They introduced it but for public have to wait for 6 month. Just to fulfill the order from Gomen.
    Now the same thing happens. They dont have time to make new body. Buy body from Honda and Engine from Petronas. Mix it and sell it…to gomen. Public will have to wait.
    Just wondering which engine they use out of 14 complete tested models….

• Monsieur Malaysia on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm

what if proton rebadge 2013 honda civic…? LOL

• That’s like drilling something into the butt butt of Honda owners. ^___^

• seman on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Obviously its a re-badged Lotus sedan. Dummy.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 17, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Only in malaysia. Official is not official now. This clearly show that our government is really monkey.

The made a promise officially and the break it officially.

Malaysia always boleh… don’t they feel malu? Like a 3 years old baby ruling a country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Its unbelievable..
    After almost 30years being in business.Proton unable to produce own car.Still rebadging. Look at KIA and other similar era cars. Ashamed lah !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • Kailord on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:45 am

That’s weird. Yesterday my father and I went to Glenmarie showroom. One of the SA said Accord 2.4 VTi-L is on long queue. Probably until January. Reason? Government already ‘sapu’ current stock.

• Ken Goh on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:24 am

All the best to the New Honda Accord Owner….! Probably Proton Accord gonna slash Honda Market Share like crazy….in Malaysia.

if you booked one. just hope this is just a rumours and is not true at all…

• Modesto.hann on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:45 am

I thought only Mitsubishi would betray its customers, who knows, Honda also..

• In Thailand, the car of the prime minister is a VW Caravelle van. So why not use the Exora in Malaysia?

• Why rebranding and rebadge Honda’s car and replace the Perdana Executive and Inspira? Proton has a lot of talented and brilliant engineers to make our own… truly Malaysian cars… and more cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • robot boy on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:53 pm

agreed Bro, but who will listen? DRB? they only want money and nothing else. so many talented engineers already left proton and joined other companies. pity.

• wow, too many discussion here

• farizY on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

When a particular article involves either Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Honda and the likes, there will be a lot of comments, as per usual. And that what makes it beautiful (despite the childish arguments that sometimes broke up). :)

• norman on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:19 am

Ok mah 350 Accords and 50 new Perdana

• norman on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:29 am

I rather Proton design their own chassis and body and use Hondas 1.3/1.5/1.6/1.8/2.0 & 2.4 engines
    Imagine a new Saga with Fit 1.3 100ps/1.5 120ps engine, Preve with Civic 1.6, Neo with Civic 1.6 engine too, Inspira with Civic 1.8 & 2.0 and exora with Stream 1.8 and perdana with Accord 2.0 & 2.4 engines

• I am Ah Beng, will do Cash Withdrawal from my 10 Credit Cards to book tis PRM, thanks Honda for making my dream come true even though a fake Honda!! My nightmare turn into the Power of Dreams!!

• Azman Hasim on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:56 am

Honda takde nak kecoh2,tapi all these who so called expertise yang lebih sudu dari kuah.

• Beatthetraffic on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

Proud of you Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Notorp on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:02 am

Sorry Accord owners, I am going to get one of this then change the badge to Honda !!

• Notorp on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:52 am

Can’t wait to see the facial expression of current Honda owners, I doubt anyone still dare to buy any Honda products kaka kakakakakaka, told you don’t be so lansi

• Proton Perdana Accord on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:07 am

I keep seeing more Honda Accord’s appearing in my neighborhood which is the previous gen and not the latest on launched and the other day I meet with one of my neighbors whom bought also a new Honda Accord (Again previous Gen, the want GOMEN wanted to by and not the latest gen launched recently), and I asked him how come he when for the previous gen Honda Accord instead of the latest and he told a few reasons, one being he got a fantastic discount close to RM12k and also mention since GOMEN is going to be using the fleet of Honda Accords previous gen, the resale value for this car should be very good for the next couple of years.

But too bad after hearing that GOMEN now considering to Rebadging the Honda Accord, there goes the second hand value and the image of an Accord will no longer be worth anything…..sad indeed for all the New Honda Accord Owner who rushed to buy because of good discount …..All the best to the New Honda Accord Owner….! Probably Proton Accord gonna slash Honda Market Share like crazy….in Malaysia.

• No worried, they sale million of unit around the world. What is the meaning of few thousand unit in malaysia only like peanut ma.

Buying honda or re-bandge honda doesnt harm Honda since the money go DRB Hicom pocket and they paid honda based on partnership agreement. You think honda is stupid enough to allow the re-badge without they getting any profit ?

The only will suffer is the second hand market or new honda accord owner that may feel cheated with this move. But that’s life man, you want something that benifit your self (cheap car, good quality) somebody need to suffer (second hang car dealer).

Ask me, I go for value for money car.

• Proton memang Boleh !!

• wow, gov choose to save money, unprecedented.

• Critique on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:09 am

Hello Everyone,

IMHO, it’ll be super interesting for the local market if indeed Proton rebadges the old Accord. Good for folks that want a D segment car w/o spending upwards of RM110k.

But for goodness sake, don’t put out another “Smart guys get it” ad campaign implying buyers of the original car are ‘stupid’. Some call aggressive marketing, I call insulting! (Not a Lancer owner btw :))

I also agree with you guys who’re of the opinion Proton’s focus must be on improving reliability of its B and C segment cars for the everyday man. A D segment model at this point in time is 2nd priority.

On the flip side of the coin, could this rebadge (if it happens at all) be the reason the new Accord is all spec’ed up? (apart from denting Camry sales of course).

Time will reveal the answers of course!

Cheers :)

• superdriver on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Proton Accord. – The power of dreams…
      LOL really cannot tahan laughing at Proton and Accord owners.

Smart guys get it. Yar buying a superior japanese car from our local brand.This is really bad.Really really bad. Cannot come up any innovations and design after being is business since 1983 , no problem can buy from Honda then sell!! Proton Boleh.

• norman on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Ok mah u compared Mitsubishi engine Proton sales and Campro engine sales which one is better, Good what since most of us are sceptical towards proton anyways

• whistleblower on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:07 pm

LoL.. what a joke!! i bet najib dont even know about the deal for replacing all gov cars with honda.. that’s why now they retracted back their decision.. that mamak guy who went behind najib’s back and signed the memorandum screwed it big time.. now najib already found out the real story.. he’s butt gonna be real hot man LoL..

• superman on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:10 pm

I bet another one of ese unkown companies feeding on proton money like leech came up and said we will do it bla bla bla. like those guys from UK frazer nash and ttheir hybrid car work with proton. never came out. pity this situation, proron is like a bank for all useless companies looking to get cash just because tthey know who and have zero know how!!!

• dzulx on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:24 pm

I think this is another BS. Remember how long they tested suprima for a relatively simple butt job let alone a re-badge exercise. As to report, only prototype has been shown and not even pre-prod.. Jan 2014 indicated is way too ambitious..

• verge on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Government already made the decision to use the new accords as their new fleet, because they’re cheaper to maintain and cheaper in the long run. But how can this happen? What did proton do or say to change govt decision? Proton was jealous Honda got the job, regardless, Honda will still sell more as people still tend to buy Honda.

I can imagine what goes around in proton meetings; found out govt changed to Honda, they took out old company plans and reanalyse the already very old and vintage perdana replacement decisions once and for all, then force labour all workforce to come up with a car and new service plans by end of 2013..

• Kamarulzaman on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Nuts la u,

proton and honda are both under DRB Hicom, we do not welcome stupid comment like yours

• loled on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:10 am

just came out from cave buddy lol

• gan gan on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:27 pm

I got a quite reliable info from Honda Sales Manager & Honda Car Formen.
    Both said that the official government car will be the new Honda 2013 Accord 2.4L. They can’t even receive booking from customer for 2.4L model now until further notice because the government already fxxk up their sales with so many pre-order. Even if the public wanted to book they will have to wait for at least 1 year estimate for the new 2.4L. Salesman can only sell 2.0L for now and they are so fxxking pissed off.

• gan gan on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:28 pm

I got a quite reliable info from Honda Sales Manager & Honda Car Formen.
    Both said that the official government car will be the new Honda 2013 Accord 2.4L. They can’t even receive booking from customer for 2.4L model now until further notice because the government already fxxk up their sales with so many pre-order. Even if the public wanted to book they will have to wait for at least 1 year estimate for the new 2.4L. Salesman can only sell 2.0L for now and they are so fxxking pissed off.

It will not be rebadged to Proton and not confirmation on pricing yet.

Our govt, sekejap ini, sekejap itu. BoDoh punya minister!!! Phui!

• mindyourmanner on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Wah…Sales Manager and Foreman also know the management side of contractual dealing with govt. What next, opinion from guard at showroom.

• dumdumper on Sep 20, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Sales Manager and foreman cannot get reliable info? You also know this news what? so what’s the big hoo haa about this? There is no need to belittle his opinion

• vee-oh on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:15 pm

aiyyaa proton..make small car only la, cash in first..only then think to enter this segment..rebadge here rebadge there your level become like perodua only

• robot boy on Sep 18, 2013 at 6:40 pm

they went to Government and sang the song ” JUST THE TWO OF US”. and got the deal hahaha

• mo halim on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Just give the PM, Ministers, MPs a Proton Evora, big, spacious, practical and only RM90K at most. If it’s good enough for the rakyak then it’s good enough for them. Don’t forget, without the rakyat voting for them they wouldn’t have a job, never mind ‘an official car’. If they want something more ‘exotic’ they can buy one with their own money, not the rakyat’s.

• mo halim on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm

I meant the Proton Exora, sorry.

• Aiya….pi mai pi mai tang tu juga lah tu..sama pocket ajalah.

• carfan on Sep 19, 2013 at 11:18 am

DRB owns Proton and also distributes Honda and Audi. Better rebadge Audi6 as executive version, Audi6 Long wheelbase for Minister and A8 for Ah Jib.

I don’t mind a Proton A6 myself for the right price.

• Apa susah. It is still an Accord with Proton logo on it.

• Sam Loo on Sep 22, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Maybe they will rebadge the kimchi K5 instead.

Afterall, it depends of which tycoon contributed more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • why they want to rebadge the car that already being sold in Malaysia? this is crap. Is it because the current goverment mostly occupied by an idiot people in automotive thinking? I should bribe them to pick another car for rebadge. hehehe. Mitsubishi Eterna Visage, was it sold in Malaysia few decades ago?