Bring your Proton Savvy back to life – here’s how

savvy merdeka promo

No, it’s not something we conjured up – what you see in the headline is actually the tagline for the Proton Savvy Merdeka Celebration. I think I’d have worded it a bit differently than “Bring your Proton Savvy back to life,” but hey, nothing beats getting straight to the point, I guess.

The campaign to resurrect your Savvy, assuming that it needs to be brought back to life in the first place, began at the start of the month and runs until Dec 31, and is being held to encourage Savvy owners to come to Proton centres to service their car.

savvy merdeka promo 2

Discounts on selected Savvy parts are to be had, from 10% up to 84% – the most expensive item on the list is the AMT JH1 gearbox, which is priced at RM9,215 after a 27% discount off the retail price, while the item that gets the biggest lop off is the connecting rod kit, at RM523 after a 84% discount.

The promotion is running nationwide at all Proton service centres, and this includes branches and dealers, so you know where you can go to get the revival act done on your car. Frankly, “Revitalise your trusted Proton Savvy” or even “Fix an old friend up today” would have sounded a tad better, but hey, I’m no marketer.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• krs189 on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Same Price . No different.

My 5yo Savvy still alive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
  • Sawi sudah balik on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Ahhh, I thought Proton had forgetted Savvy and erase them from history.

Why don’t just throw 1.3 Campro engine to it and facelift same as Saga?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:29 pm

I think the problem is that should have happened long time ago, now the new one is coming soon…

• Rakyat on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Forget about sawi, proton should just close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 33
      • close shop and gone forever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
        • Low Budget on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:08 am

Let Proton be ‘Sombong Lembu’ for the next 5 to 10 years, their future really lies in re-badging foreign cars in the future and not manufacture, just like what Naza did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • krishna on Sep 30, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Tats wut u call saga blm doink! Facelifted and stretched sumore..

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Savvy aircon compressor original price is at RM3360.50, this is the price of luxury car aircon compressor at unauthorised dealer workshop, no?
    At unauthorised workshop, you probably can get the aircon compressor, brand-new unit, at around 40% of the official price. What is happening?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Chris on Sep 28, 2013 at 6:11 am

To cheat people who have the “oooo got discount, fast fast grab it!” mentality… maybe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • jamal on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:03 pm

the man who is in charge in this savvy car project in the first place already got fired. now he wants to flush out all his ‘fingerprints’ and ‘dna’ from the crime scenes. i wonder how much all the remaining stock of savvy parts cost. rm500mil to 1 bilion?

• Low Budget on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:14 am

That is the way to fool the Savy owners, Proton should have checked up the price the un-authorized offered 1st. But proton might say “Oh, those un-authorize dealers ‘Lari Cukai’, heh, heh…

• Anonymous on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Bring back to Plotong SC? I take to Renautech USJ1 WAY better. 40% off these “discounted price” and still have nice AC + Unifi while waiting car service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • freddie leong on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Proton should take the innitiative to convert the bloody AMT to conventional gear tranny. Like what Sawi Sudah Balik suggest, the saga 1.3 campro anto is the best solution….come on Proton, wake up….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • isham on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Expect a lot… lots of bashing now onwards..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • apa sudah jadi on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm

It’s a very sad fact,

Now a used Savvy could go as cheap as RM6,000 while used Myvi valued at RM17,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:26 pm

6k sounds very low. Usually 8-12k from what I see on Mudah. The car itself is good, just the mechanics have no clue about it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
        • Ya ya.. the car is good. Only the public is idiot for not buying it and workshop are clueless. Its all other peoples fault except proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • Low Budget on Sep 29, 2013 at 10:20 am

The car is good, provided it is well maintained but if you need to spend more money to maintain it than other makes, what is the point? My friend got a Waja and it is in tip top condition, but he did tell me the number of times he needs to change the broken door handles and power windows etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • the savvy is actually a very technical car and car lovers will understand it. possibly the car is a little too advance for ordinary layman to appreciate it especially how the AMT mechanism works.

• temakol on Nov 07, 2013 at 6:43 pm

car itself and engine very good…performance and fuel consumption….compare with other mini size vehicles…just that the AMT gear spoil the whole car.

• That RM6000 used Savvy would normally be the AMT version, very ultra-low resale value.

Meanwhile, manual transmission version is quite pricier than that AMT, in the second-hand market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • kadajawi on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:24 am

Hm. So so. I have mostly only looked at MT ones, but AMT seems to be around that too.

Also, it seems like many AMT issues can be fixed by the owner himself (if he knows how to DIY…), or can be fixed at a low price by a mechanic familiar with the car. There are guides in the Savvy owners club…

It’s a shame they used that gearbox, and never considered switching to the CVT of the Saga. The 1.2 liter Renault engine has a good reputation, frugal and long lasting. It is used in a ton of Renaults, until today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • a person need to understand this savvy before he loves it.

• yeah.. so true.. second hand dealer car brave to offer 3-4k for amt. 6k is the highest one!at mudah yeah its kinda expensive, but then its on ur responsibilities if the car had problem

• GT-Rider on Sep 30, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Sam Loo trade in my 2007 AMT savvy how much?

• jualan murah on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Proton mau clear their junk parts. They carry too many stock. Must clear before every one dump their sawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • Black Dog on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Gearbox at Rm9215.00? Might as well throw away the bloody car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 1
    • Green on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Total Cost = RM31,117..

Kalau I Revive the whole car with all these Discounted Original Parts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
      • frenzyaustin on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:34 pm

But….it’s hands built like what other premium car shouting about. 31K isn’t bad for a hand built car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Black Pros on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Total cost is 31177; but the car was sold at some 45k? So as usual Malaysian goods always sold at some exhorbitant price by our great mamak kutty’s Proton! Malaysia boleh… janji dicapati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • ae101 on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Sorry to say only dump ppl will buy this so call new car. what is the point protong doing this? clean their junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • protong malaysia on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:11 pm

dear ae101,

we are carrying out this promotion not to clean our junk. We are doing so to help ourself to get rid of slow… no, should b not moving stock.

protong malaysia

• Someguyonthenet on Sep 27, 2013 at 6:58 pm

You can almost buy a car with the total price from this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • skylette 226 on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:01 pm

rubbish car… ask tun m, with mahalil (former proton CEO) drive this car laaa… still want makan owner… jual besi buruk masih ada 1000.00 ++
    beli gear box 9k++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • kadajawi on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Where got rubbish? Owners seem rather happy, though everyone says don’t buy the AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • layman will not understand this car. only real car lovers with technical knowledge will understand and loves it. The AMT gear is real fun to play with. Unfortunately this car was launch wrongly.

• Bro..i own a savvy manual since day 1, now almost 8years living happy with it..it’s a fuel saver for sure!! No major problems except the aircond compressor got kaput last year and the crank sensor need always to be clean…and not to forget…mine is manual..not amt..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Biscuit on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:04 pm

Ayo..yo..the parts cost more than the used car itself!!! …and mostly cost more than 3 stars parts. There’s something wrong with proton without neutron and electron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:26 am

I think for any car if you buy spare parts to assemble it you’ll spend more than if you buy the car in one piece, NEW.

And yes, many spare parts together will usually cost more than a second hand car.

• Iskandar on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:17 pm

My 6 year old Savvy AMT is still OK. But looking at the prices have given me a heartache ! At 9215 can buy 2 secondhand Savvy ! But the more important question is are the Proton SC people competent ? Renautech in USJ1 gave really good price. Is the place still open ? 6 months ago, no one answered phone call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • fendy on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:46 pm

went there in July 2013… masih bukak

• Anonymous on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Yep still open :D I just collected my Savvy from superb service yesterday. Running like a charm like always.

• Gary Yap on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Price of AMT gearbox is more than what the car is worth. RIP Savvy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • AMT is not just an ordinary gearbox. Today many expensive sports car are using this technology. its just unfortunate many people don’t understand about cars.

• Iskandar on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:28 pm

I would prefer and would really appreciate if Proton can give a trade-in value of RM15k for a 5 year old Proton Savvy. Proton ada berani ka ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • bluebird on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:33 pm

i rather drive/push my Sawi down Pantai Lido for landfill than to spend RM9k to change gear box. At least I can see the water bubbling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • Muhaimin on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Sell besi buruk more worth while. Who knows can get RM9K…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • GT-Rider on Sep 30, 2013 at 1:15 pm

I just traded in my 2007 savvy AMT to Sam Loo for 15k. Managed to get a 2009 vios for 20k from him.

• unforgiven on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:46 pm

They just published another reason why we seldom see savvy on the road now, it’s bloody expensive to maintain, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • sayur sawi on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Damn…I need to pull my sawi from puchong river to give it a new life !!!!

• Bobo marley on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:16 pm

Waw very cheap ..now my broken sawi valued at 6k then i change gear box 9k aircond 1k enginen parts 3k after spending 14k in repair …your car valued improve tu 8k…brilliant potong..

• Lantok on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:27 pm

I hear they still got thousand engine n gearbox stock piled at tangjung malim from previous order.. So maybe one of their so smart engineeer@scammer come up with nice idea to breakdown this to smaller parts n sold as small part with so called discount price.. Boom!! it look like proton really concern about the owner but clearly they just concern about their pocket.. Shame on you

• Muhaimin on Sep 27, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Spark plugh RM20?? Dafuq, I got those special spark plugs (Iridium, or something like that) for RM15…

• Theres a left-to-rot savvy AMT in my housing area left by the owner who moved to other place.Looks decent.Tyre puncture d.I hate to see it everyday cos its taking the parking space.
    Who wants it come to seksyen 3 bangi now! free spareparts!!

• proton zzz on Sep 27, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Savvy owners must be very regretted for not buying Myvi at that time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Proton User on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:12 am

Nope, a friend of mine drove a Myvi 1.3 and it’s horrible (even though it cheaper than Savvy)at that time Savvy is better, but with the current Myvi 1.5, Yes, I regretted not waiting for Myvi 1.5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • I think better buy Motorbike rather than this car!

• Is this suppose to be a joke? Wny make the cusomer try to remember a hated model with so many poblems, i saw few dumped at roadside as junk…Potong suppose to move forward, not backwards by trying to bring back memories of one of the worst Potong cars, and affect their image

• kadajawi on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:29 am

Many problems? All I hear from owners is the AMT is problematic, the rest is rather reliable. If you drive a MT you’re safe, you’ll drive a nice handling car (unlike the Myvi) that is frugal. I’d rather drive a Savvy than a Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • 1982toyotacarina on Sep 27, 2013 at 10:57 pm

so? my father’s 1982 toyota still alive and smoke proton wira.. all the way to KK.. 1st proton is 1985, 1st perodua is 1994…

• Kuriboh on Oct 27, 2013 at 8:18 am

Dont be so proud about perodua..they rebadged all their models from daihatsu but anyone just dont see it.

• benzs on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Even Proton offer so much discount for Savvy parts, ppl will rather sell it off. Not worth it as RV is damned bad. Should offer FOC to regained customer royalty. Can my P.Wira 1994 rebirth Proton? I mean FOC? If u agreed all Malaysian will smile n sales boost up due to FOC parts plus Dr.M will be happy to see Malaysia products back to its era of Belilah Barangan Buatan Malaysia.

• Baldwin on Sep 27, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Just the same fate as the Tiara and not forgetting the Waja 1.8x on Renault engine. Great technology but zero reliability.
    When will Proton ever learn?? What the conti treated as junk, Proton took it and sold it as if it was gold.

• Obviously Proton is getting rid of the old spare parts rather than writing them off the book. Reduce losses in the expense of the Rakyat because of Proton incompetent and failure to admit mistake.

• Denaihati on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:15 am

quite surprised with the AMT gearbox price. but if no problems do not repair lah…

• sick&tired on Sep 28, 2013 at 6:29 am

the AMT gearbox is a time-bomb. Its only a question of time!

And those clowns at Proton service center don’t even know what ATF to use. That’s one reason why the gearboxes fail. They should be giving it out for free. At least Naza had the decency of selling complete Naza Ria engine for RM10k (2.5 V6 engine). But proton, still want to charge people RM9k for a car which is not even worth that much now. Fck you Proton!

• Fuel Cell Phone on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:51 am

I think the new DRB bosses were shocked to see stagnant mountains of stockpiles of Savvy spare parts hence came this new initiative!

Might as well give them away free, lol.

• I cannot buy a new car bcoz loan still hv 15k, car dealer only want 6k for dis car.
    I need to topup to bank around 9k.
    with dat same amt, i need to pay 10percent d/p for a new car.
    Cheated by govt,cheated by proton…
    Dammit proton!!

• danny6789 on Sep 28, 2013 at 9:42 am

my savvy o6 april ,

manual transmission.

i only have headache about cleaning the tdc sensor ,
    is not easy to clean. hard start
    until i know how to clean myself.

is now good ,
    i change speed sensor once , bearing once , plug cable 2 time , 3rd party plug rm200 last more years than original proton 1 .
    lower arm one side and driveshalf service)open put back it ok)….

other all good.

less than half year change to r3 muffler ,
    i change to center bullet with jasma s.steel straight flow on year 7 ,

still can vroom vroom , :D ,

i love my car ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • norman on Sep 28, 2013 at 10:38 am

Savvy owners aint stupid,most of them go for Renault parts or convert to japanese engine by worst

• AhBeng on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:28 am

Niama. Buy new car better.

• mikechoy on Sep 28, 2013 at 12:30 pm

the market value for 2006 savvy AMT only about 6k-7k provided no problem on gearbox..the gearbox itself are more expensive than the car and dunno how long can last, basically just forget about this junk .

• norman on Sep 28, 2013 at 2:34 pm

To be frank Savvy is not junk just most mechanics arent trained and unfamiliar with continental engine chateristic..I know couple of guys still with their Savvy and Waja 1.8 still running strong.My friend’s Audi A5 suffered some techinical problems once he send his car for.service at an ordinary workshop

• Steven on Sep 28, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Next Generation for Tiara.

• moneysense on Sep 28, 2013 at 5:02 pm

its weird… to buy those parts i rather just buy 1 more savvy and keep at home as spare

• Simon on Sep 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Owned one in 2006, AMT. Bye bye with her after 3 yrs. No more headache with its expensive & unreliable parts for this suppose to be cheap running car.

• joseph on Sep 28, 2013 at 8:00 pm

How about proton waja 1.8 which power by renault laguna 2 1.8 dohc. I am still using, very powerful car.

• tok_kok on Sep 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

P1 is trying to get rid of old spare parts lah…
    RM9K for a AMT gearbox? The Savvy is only worth 6K 2nd hand….

• nur fikri abdullah on Sep 29, 2013 at 9:00 am

To all proton savy owner, Go to half-cut shop, with the price of the new gearbox, u can get a half cut engine with complete installation plus u can upgrade yr suspension set up

• if proton can bring back savvy with cvt…

• sucksavvy on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Hello… Lamest car ever.. WTH

• unknow on Sep 29, 2013 at 12:34 pm

WTF?? that price?? BMW or Merc price?? sampah punye kete pon spare part mahal.. entah apa2..

• totti on Sep 29, 2013 at 6:22 pm

WTF! cheap Budget car with luxury spare part price.

Yes. support Proton.

• Najib on Sep 30, 2013 at 2:33 am

Spare part mahal tak apa, belilah barang buatan Malaysia.

• “Bring back to life”? Somethings are better left dead.

• the pricings are a total rip-off. you would end up paying more repairing the car.

• Phil knight on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:45 am

My sister has a 2007 savvy in the uk, 50,000miles/80,000km, not the slightest problem. My uncle has a so called ‘good quality German Audi’ – always in the garage.

• Sprucelee on Oct 05, 2013 at 1:30 am

Trust me this is nothing wait till they revive the coffin car if u guys still remember (JUARA).

• adonis on Nov 08, 2013 at 12:39 am

wait till NAP enforce.Vehicle End of Life policy. haha just got ‘alive’ then got ‘killed’

• Car enthusiast on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Safe to say Savvy AMT owners will never touch another Proton!

• savvy's owners are stupid on Jan 28, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Those who said they are still using SAWI bcos it is good car,are liars and stupid.actually they are still using it bcos nak jual tak laku ma…besi buruk..hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • zarvina jaffar on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:44 pm

geramnyaaa savvysavvysavvy!!!!! mslh tol twww..plz help me!!! savvy sy tgh mslh…

• love it on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:45 am

Just 2month own savvy MT,have done replace wear&tear part….really love it compare to my last viva….handling,engine,really awesome….u have to get know more about this car etc engine&problem then can do DIY(save more)
      For those facing problem about savvy do contact me 0173093460 (mie)

• kaldeep on Jan 24, 2015 at 3:17 pm

im thinking to buy savvy manual 2006/7 . can anybdy tell me about this car some more, is it ok for me for 5 k?

• Abdullah on Apr 30, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Are the AMT transmission on Proton Savy using same technology with Suzuki Karimun Wagon R Automatic transmission used? Because the engine capacity and the ability to change to manual mode seem like same.
    http://www.karimunestilo.com/2015/spesifikasi-harga-suzuki-karimun-wagon-r-matic/

• Biboy on Dec 21, 2017 at 6:20 am

Hi, i have 2 Savvys here both 2009 AMT. Anyone can help me? I just cheanged the AMT gear shifter/ lever. Its works well not but another problem came. If i use the car for an hour & if i stop on i trafic lights the monent i step on the brakes i think 1 minute stepping on the brakes the D drive will just jump to Manaul 1 & it will never go back to D. I can restart the engine then thats the time the D will comeback. I can drive for 3 hours or more using D but when I stop on trafic lights after pressing the brakes it will jump to 1 manual again. Pls
      Help

• Bruce Gigner on Sep 23, 2018 at 6:08 pm

Hard to find a front grille for a proton savvy 2009 that can be posted to Ireland, please help

• Henry on Jul 05, 2023 at 9:38 am

I need a whole savvy engine. New? Used?