Nissan Leaf to launch in November, cost RM200k?

Nissan Leaf

MIDF Research has revealed in a visit note that Tan Chong Motor (TCM) will launch the Nissan Leaf in Malaysia next month, and that the electric vehicle could cost around RM200k. The note adds that with that hefty price tag, TCM expects to sell only 10 units a month.

The research house also says TCM will introduce two facelift models and a CKD version of an existing offering for FY 2014. The updated models are expected to counter any slack in sales volumes, while the CKD introduction may bump up sales for the model in question, the note adds.

“This would imply that the early launch of the EV is not to drive turnover but rather, to gain a first-mover advantage in the EV segment. Such advantages may include gaining market share, as well as building technical know-how, intellectual property and consumer brand awareness ahead of its competitions,” says the note.

Nissan Leaf

“It is possible that TCM’s efforts will pay off in the coming years when battery prices come down and technology improves. In the meantime, contributions from TCM’s EV segment will likely be negligible.”

The all-electric Nissan Leaf will be the second EV to go on sale in Malaysia, after the RM136k Mitsubishi i-MiEV. TCM subsidiary First Energy Networks (FEN) has so far set up EV charging stations at Bangsar Shopping Centre, Suria KLCC and Lot 10 as well as Petronas Solaris in Serdang. Learn more about the charging infrastructure here.

We’ve driven the Nissan Leaf, and you can read all about it here. Even better is the detailed account of Daniel Yap, who was an ambassador for the Nissan Leaf pilot program – he drove the EV for six weeks.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• qwerty on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:28 pm

10 units a month? Let’s just aim for 10 units a year, TCM.

It’s undeniable a great idea to be eco-friendly but paying 200k for a Nissan EV is just unbelievable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
    • WOW! It’s so dirt cheap, I thought it is going to be priced at 500k!

Come on guys, this is our hope to save money since the petrol price increase.

Go Nissan!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
    • seem like only for rich person. In fact is most middle range people need rather than the rich one.

• Veneno on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:59 pm

don’t blame nissan for the high price.. blame tax..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • _xXx_ on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:01 pm

tcm, though not all of us here are gd in math, u can’t insult us with ur ridiculous pricing….

• Tgrambutan on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Wow, Tan Chong use in house model to promote this car! Who is that ah? Is it Mr. Tan Chong itself? Really save cost use own staff!

• corner on Oct 10, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Anybody knows who’s that uncle? I want o know his name and h/p no.

• benjy on Oct 13, 2013 at 3:58 pm

it’s david chen lah! One of their big bosses. Btw, he is an ex-UMW Toyota man!

• Majuperak on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:49 pm

CKD of an existing offering in 2014 …. Serena Hybrid maybe ?? to take advantage of EEV incentives to be announced in the coming Budget

• drMpower on Oct 10, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Good. This is what etcm been doing all these while. Reaping up everything while they still can. Good for you. Now lets hear what keyboard tax heroes has to say on this

• Whatttt,…..RM200K…..crazy la. might as well add another RM80K and buy Audi Hybrid…..
    Goverment please extend discounts on Hybrid cars …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • great, and we need the guinea pigs to splurge on this car first and eventually bring the price down. but then malaysian guinea pigs are unique. they don’t mind splurging on an icon such as the mini or the beetle, but asking them to splurge in the name of mother nature? i wonder how many will bother.

TCM, i’m not sure if you can finish your 10 units by 2014 Dec.

• huehue on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:36 pm

I got one question.. If EV.. No engine.. Then how to pay roadtax?? free isit??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • i-MiEV get RM10 road tax…maybe same for Leaf

• The roadtax structure is based on KW output of the motor. The way it was structured was similar with current model i.e similar to hp or cc of ICE to determine how much we need to pay. But i would prefer for the future term, it should be based on tailpipe emission. The more you pollute, the more you pay.. This is way forward to encourage automakers to produce clean and energy efficient vehicles. The current method of determining how much we pay roadtax is very much outdated..

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Oct 10, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Tsk tsk TCM. 200k? Are you aware what the backronym for LEAF stand for? It’s “L”eading, “E”nvironmentally friendly, “A”ffordable, “F”amily car. It’s not very “A”ffordable at 200k isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • nice one. is that the real acronym or u just made it up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Vader on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Totally agree with you!
      In US, the selling price is ~US$28k, just simplify the calculation to assume RM1 = US$4, this car should be cost around RM112k.
      Some1 is markup the price!
      And we cant do anything since here is bolehland.
      Or else some junk will ask u to leave bolehland since u complaint on it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Not mark-up in price.

U.S got a lot of tax incentives for hybrids and EVs. That’s why they sell it cheap there.

Just go to the Nissan LEAF Wikipedia page for more details.

• drMpower on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Yea incentive and all. But nearly a more time on its US selling price 28k usd

• celicazzt231 on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:30 pm

its true.

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nissan_Leaf

• singapore Leaf price with no COE require n S$20k tax rebate is about S$88k ~RM225k..they manage to sell oni 3 oni..huhu

• Did you calculate the average singaporean salary? S$3000 = Rm7672.49. It’s cheap.

• and the best thing is this car only can travel max 160km with a full charged batt…. hilarious

• With this car…..petrol price hike no effect……just charge like handphone…but drawback limited range…..

• Guan Yin Ma on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:00 pm

So sad to see Msia government choose to go backward rather then follow the current auto trend . May god bless malaysia.

• gabgga on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Ini bukan salah tcm, ini semua salah goverment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Vios The God Car on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:10 pm

My Vios is god car than this leaf junk. Electric so expensive now, better use my Vios with petrol to charge my Sumsang Note 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • Haha .. Sukurlah 1 malaysia masih aman maaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Hukaka on Oct 10, 2013 at 2:43 pm

This car it’s EV,proton not coming out any of this category vehicle.
    So not under government umbrella to protect this type of vehicle.
    And because no need any drop of petrol no excuses to says that you pay the car price for our fuel subsidy.so maybe because just like a early age of plasma or LCD tv.after few more years the tech an proper charge station are installed well then it may reduces the cost like a usual electronic gadget.

• Actually, that’s not true.

Proton already has EV concepts. The most popular one is the Saga EV. Got win awards in UK some more.

But if the rakyat thinks RM80k for a Proton (Suprima) is too much, how can we expect a RM50-100k Saga EV to sell ?

The only way to go is government incentives for EVs. Right now, they have incentives for hybrids only, and its gonna end. Sucks lah.

• Actually the incentives is for both hybrid & EV. Proton is still working on their EV & PHEV. But i am not sure how is their progress at the moment.

• Mike Dude on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:10 pm

You gotta to pay a lot to save more. LOL!

• Internal combustion engine (ICE) still the best mobility powered

• ICE is not energy efficient. too many energy lost during the conversion from the fossil fuel towards moving the vehicle.

• Yup . But stil a lot of thing can be done to increase the efficiency. Take for example VW Bluemotion technology,Light weight materials, low resistance wheel. Engine down sizing , and many more..

• bluebird on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:39 pm

this tree is expensive. It does not justify whatsoever any savings saved from petrol.
    Its like giving upfront money first for petrol.
    Say you buy a Vios 90k, this tree is more expensive by 110K, now how much petrol can you buy/save with RM110k???

• 52380 liters with current rm2.10/liter price, or about 680952km with 13km/liter mileage.

• LamborghiniDriver on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:11 pm

this is LEAD aka DAUN,but not tree

• bootupjoe on Oct 10, 2013 at 3:41 pm

1500cc Petrol car only RM400/mth petrol x 12mths x 10yrs = RM48,000 .Now battery car already cost RM200k ,what the H. Crazy..ah u BN.

• huh…if like this i prefer to take the honda Jass hybrid and for the balance i think enough for my 20 years petrol…Nissan Leaf HYBRID or Nissan HY-Bird…pui…keep disappointing me

• That’s a crazy price tag for a car that’s at most $50k USD (31k pounds) around the world, even if electric cars are totally without tax. ETCM should be ashamed to charge so much for a car that’s not much spacious or luxurious than a Nissan Sylphy

• yoolang on Oct 10, 2013 at 4:16 pm

how much for road tax?

• If i am not wrong, it was RM10 for road tax. But i have not keep myself updated with RTD lately. Not sure if got any changes.

• MrPoppyplants on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:04 pm

LOL

• WWHHAAATTTTTT !?!?!?!

Nodoby’s gonna buy it at that price lah, not even those rich hipster kids !

It’s not ETCM’s fault it’s expensive (but I’ll take back my words if it comes with 2 or 4 airbags)…. in all the countries where EVs are sold, the governments provide big tax deductions and other incentives.

Knowing our government…. jangan harap lah.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:12 pm

508SW HYbrid4 or just 308 HYbrid4 makes more sense now than this Daun. And it cost less. Can drive in full EV too.

• sonic31s on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

RM200k?? is this car can maintain without fixing and cost of maintenance for more then 10-20 years???

• Electric Sheep on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:22 pm

ETCM is delusional. Market will accept at most a 15% premium over equivalent C-segment hatch.

Which means selling this for perhaps RM170k to RM180k as a premium over the Mk7 Golf would make more sense.

I hope Volkswagen’s e-Golf kicks this guy’s ass.

http://paultan.org/2013/08/27/volkswagen-e-golf-mk7-gets-zero-emissions-variant/

• if the Electric is free. Then, I don’t mind, once the petrol is increase, the TNB sure will increase the electric too. RM200,000.00 + electricity Bill. ETCM, do you think is worth and save money. I rather buy petrol car instead of EV Car.

• I know he pricing against VW beetle..consider cheap lor.

• gOOsh on Oct 10, 2013 at 5:40 pm

RM200K??? gila lah…

• King Khong on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:07 pm

RM200k !!!
    not confident with Nissan technology ?
    so that the seller have to keep another unit for replacement??

• Seriously on Oct 10, 2013 at 6:32 pm

I’ll wait for Tesla, they seem to have a more visionary plan. And ironically, why isn’t Nissan bringing this in on their own!?

• Dont simply blame the gov. Mit can put the price tag of 136k for I-MiEV. Why cant etcm? Greedy loan shark company!!

• thxall on Oct 10, 2013 at 7:35 pm

if this frog cost 200k then tesla s would cost 10m each if arrive here

• ben yap on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:18 pm

for RM200K, i will get a Type R.

• carnut on Oct 10, 2013 at 8:54 pm

I think they wanted to price it lower but probably MITI didn’t allow. Remember our government gets the final say on car pricing.

• Hadi75 on Oct 10, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Remember what our minister said….middle incomers are those that drive merc…bmw…live in a bungalow…got cash 2@3 million….so rm200k for this car is cheap and affordable la for middle incomers…..

• Better wait for proton EV..eta is very near.

• Is it save when cross flooded area. especially in KL during heavy rain.?

• TCM always gives me the impression that they usually maximize their profit margin by increasing the sale price or rip off some standard features.

• v-power on Oct 11, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Maybe arm-twisting from oil companies also force EV vehicle prices to remain steep…or even explain why the number of charging stations are still very limited, even after EV have been around in the world for quite some time…just my conspiracy theory, hehe.

• Can we ask the global nissan to appoint another authorized dealer in malaysia?

• ECOmodepassion on Oct 11, 2013 at 7:37 pm

I’m sad to hear about the selling price of Nissan Leaf in Malaysia. What are TCM EdaranTanChong, NissanMalaysia are thinking? Who will be stupid enough to buy a brand new Nissan Leaf when it is exorbitantly priced? Absolutely ridiculous & unacceptable!

Now let’s compare Nissan Leaf prices in USA – Bear in mind there are NO import & excise duty in Malaysia!

Malaysia: RM200,000 = US$60,313
    **USA: from RM66,306 to RM84,997 = US$21,300 to US$27,340

Nissan Leaf in Malaysia is RM115,003 or US$32,973 more exorbitantly expensive than in the USA high end model!!! Now think, in USA, the government gives rebate & incentive!!!

I’m planning to buy this car but forget it now! 10 units per month? They can’t even sell 10 units per year! Come on Nissan!

ALL I CAN SAY IS THANK YOU NISSAN MALAYSIA & TCM FOR KILLING THE EV IN MALAYSIA.

** http://www.nissanusa.com/electric-cars/leaf/

• samlok on Oct 11, 2013 at 8:59 pm

How much $$ to fully charge the car and how far can it goes? any statistic shows?

• Wen W. Lee on Oct 11, 2013 at 11:41 pm

US is selling it at $21300 only, which is about RM67800++…

• i think ev is zero tax? if so, TCM is earning a lot.

• tan chong also gone crazy.. is this a real world? come on