New Toyota Yaris (Vios hatchback) debuts in Thailand

New_Toyota_Yaris_Thailand_001

The new Toyota Yaris hatchback has just been launched in Thailand, and surprise, surprise, it’s the Chinese-market five-door compact hatch of the same name, not the third-generation Yaris that’s sold in the rest of the world. It’s basically a hatchback version of the 2013 Toyota Vios that we’ve covered from top to bottom, and more.

It sits on the same 2,550 mm wheelbase of the new (and old) Vios sedan, though the hatchback is marginally shorter both in length and height. Specs aside, you wouldn’t be able to tell that the two are related, as the Thai Yaris gets its own set of clothes. The rear especially, features C-shaped rear lamps that make it unique within Toyota’s global range.

Inside, though, it’s all Vios. The dashboard appears like for like to that of the sedan it’s based on, bar minor detailing and spec differences. Without a protruding rear end, boot space takes a dip from 506 litres in the Vios to just 326 litres, though there’s a lot more vertical room to play with in the hatchback.

It’s what’s under the hood that distances the Yaris from its sedan sibling. There’s a new 3NR-FE 1.2 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with DOHC and Dual VVT-i that’s developed exclusively for the Thai market. It makes 86 hp at 6,000 rpm and 108 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, which is transferred to the front wheels via a Super CVT-i transmission.

New_Toyota_Yaris_Thailand_015

Manual or traditional automatic transmissions are not available, as the more efficient CVT gearbox is required to exceed an average fuel economy of 20 km per litre, which is the mandated minimum figure under Thailand’s eco-car tax incentives scheme. The 4,115 mm-long Yaris is the largest hatchback to qualify for the programme.

Four variants are available in Thailand: Yaris 1.2 J ECO, 1.2 J, 1.2 E and 1.2 G. With the model’s Eco-Car status, the Thai-built Yaris commands relatively low prices that range from 469,000 baht (RM48k) for the base 1.2 J ECO to 599,000 baht (RM61k) for the range-topping 1.2 G model. To put it into perspective, the Thai Vios range starts at 559,000 baht (RM57k) and goes up to 734,000 baht (RM75k).

Standard safety equipment across the range includes dual airbags, ABS, EBD, BA and seatbelts with pre-tensioner and force-limiter. The rest of the specifications mirror that of the Vios, with projector headlamps, keyless entry and push start button, steering-wheel mounted audio controls and acoustic windshield reserved for the most expensive variant.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Toyota - Moving Backward on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:17 pm

What a joke from Toyota.

uglier, lower engine displacement, only twin airbag and yet still no VSC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 47
    • please explain vsc (no wiki/google) according to your knowledge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 69
      • why no wiki/google? Learning is a process to become better and better. Of coz VSC is not invent for junk,it helps to diminish the risk of the car being out of control. It is virtue especially in malaysia as the road condition is malaysia is well known BAD. We do have the human right to obtain better product, Toyota should include our human right in their CSR so that we can get a better and safer car with low price!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
        • Please save your complain to Proton and Perodua then. When there is VSC, then you will say the boot space, ugly lar, too expensive all kind of reason.

If you can’t afford it, don’t complain it. If you can afford more expensive, no point to complain the cheaper car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
          • deficy on Oct 24, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Welcome to Malaysian comments. We complain it all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • yorker on Oct 24, 2013 at 6:01 pm

You still don’t know what we want?

Fast like Ferrari
            Save fuel like Tesla
            Big like a bus
            Beautiful like Aventador

Don’t forget, it must be cheap like a kapcai

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
    • To me it looks nice. Its very subjective anyway. So whats wrong wif lower engine displacement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
    • Petrolhead on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:25 pm

The colour reminds me of the Hyundai Veloster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • y don just call it vios hatchback?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Petrolhead on Oct 23, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Probably want to follow Suprima S’ footsteps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • not so clever on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:00 am

muka pun dah tak sama dengan vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • because vios hatchback is too mainstream :P

• anyone notice toyota n honda alway left out the auto temperature for Msia model even thou u pay for higher spec? is it too expensive to incorporated it? i really hate d 3 button located in d middle of d console

• Kia Ceed headlights, BMW headlights join together with the grille style, Lancer front bumper, Peugeot 2008 tail lights, Toyota dated performance and technology = Toyota Yaris!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 25, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Kia = Keep It Away

Most of all Toyota will have great RV

• camry already ugly, altis also ugly, so this yaris has to be ugly to preserve toyota’s design language.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • bravott on Oct 26, 2013 at 11:35 am

very agree, dunno what happen with TOYOTA nowday.
        all CRAP.
        please leave from Korean. they improve a lot.

• Green on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:39 pm

Welcome above 20km/L car!

awesome RM60k to RM73k car when arrive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
  • aspil on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:51 pm

front: lancer wannabe
    back: peug 208 wannabe
    huh..uglie..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 17
    • lmao the back is so damn hideous, it looks like somebody asked a 5 year old to describe how the back of a 208 looks like.

• Le Dentist on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:14 pm

I tot they use Ford Focus tail lamp for that. Ugly fugly Yaris.

• kadajawi on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:53 pm

It’s a shame that they didn’t just bring in the real 3rd gen Yaris. Probably too expensive to produce for the Asian market…

So it is confirmed that the new Vios is actually a 2nd gen Yaris, facelifted and in sedan bodyform?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Le Dentist on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Yeap, real 3rd gen Yaris is good looking compared to this piece of crap…

• jolly_idiot on Oct 23, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Sam loo super happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 25, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Sam too busy these days working on export licenses for his new biz line.

He will now trade in kimchis more agressively, offering lower trade-in values at larger numbers.

Most of kimchi owners now can’t even get a trade in price and was asked to leave the car there instead

• FU MANCHU OMG

• Misai master sifu style

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • quite impressive on the fuel consumption figures..
    admit it. we all prefer fuel saving rather than performance. pfft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • carl wong on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:22 pm

New Jazz beat It!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Personally thinks dat this toyota looks very nice. Oh btw, the feature vsc seems to b overrated..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • Chris on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:46 am

VSC is not overrated! Just because you and me can drive doesn’t mean others can. Imagine the amount of people who barely passed the oh-so-simple driving test, as well as the number of people who “forgot how to drive a manual”. You might as well stick all the active safety features into the car to prevent accidents.

My pop use to tell me how he failed his first driving test because he didn’t park perfectly centered in the parking box, saying that we had it easy, that we can pass as long as the car is in the box.

• duone on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:28 pm

Proton GSC will fight with this car.
    Proton need to progress faster and come out with a winner. Beat this TOY…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • When was the last time proton became a winner? This loser is losing at a faster rate than before. The last 2 global cars are a joke. Unless the sell this small global car at 30k, else its a joke too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • blind bashing again, sigh. can’t you see the number of airbags + esc + gadgets thrown in
        please go out from the cave

• Throwing in airbags, esc and expect to be a winner? haha..

Please get out from the COE or Tanjung Malim and see the reception of the junks.

• what winner you want? in term of sales? go and count how many RR or ferrari sold

• Are you ferrari ? No. You are just proton. An ailing company

• Datuk on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Suprima S its still a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 28
  • Ryan.C on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:41 pm

very trend.. but still comes with old thing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • reminds me of an old chinese emperor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • If they can sell around RM60K I’ll buy this instead of Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Enthu on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:15 pm

MITI won’t allow that. You can keep dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • walauweh on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:37 am

mr enthu, please be matured, yup,miti approve the price,but price fixing to protect national is wrong act/offence between asean countries.

why yaris is cheaper even than basic vios manual in thailand is due to yaris has less tax than vios. its bcoz yaris qualify to get tax rebate under thais auto policy but not vios.

when yaris come to malaysia,it doesnt matter coz there is no such rebate,n our tax structure is one of the highest,causing it to be on par with vios.

can jazz thailand beat jazz langkawi price? why miti not fixing the price in langkawi? is it becoz no of car is too small? how about if miti just let every malaysian to know how high is the tax actually,like today price in langkawi,doesnt it create hatred toward G n its a double edge sword.

and in fact,prtn is expensive than the rest in langkawi. why not just protect prtn,n never reveal how much cheaper other makes without tax n miti fix the price? so,it is easier n safe action. since G is so corupt,why dont they do that?

even prtn need miti approval on pricing.
        its about rules,regulation n tax policy. not just mere price fixing without any legit mechanism. this auto is one of between countries trading n relationship. u dont want to do stupid act,or u will loose the diplomatic relationship between countries.
        and also can mean war.

even if like vios so much n hate prtn and g so much,dont just make assumption. the miti approval just standard operating procedure.

i also dislike g n voting for the other party,but i dont like assumption, hearsay n rumours. if true,just speak the truth. dont spread lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • R u sure?….how bout other car that price in between p1 n p2?..ur argument is lame

• parang on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:59 am

dont spread lies…sometg witout evidence… if we want to change gov we want better gov , better msia

• i_swear on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Why don’t it let perodua do rebadge and callled perodua laris or something and its time to replace the 7 year old myvi. Hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Ugly ugly ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • kingston5 on Oct 23, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Mehh..

• LeeSJ on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:08 pm

looks like a master with white beard

• jeremy on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:35 pm

looks more like a long ‘old chinese emperor’ mustache than a beard…

• james on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:14 pm

IF it is around 60.. definately a wrong opponent for nasional car

• Before this ah beng bashed proton for named Preve Hatchback as Suprima. Now take ur word back.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • made for 3rd world country ;(

• showmetheranger on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:24 pm

3rd world country model means lower standard of safety, manufacturing and rigidity. You could get broken knuckle easily (as the vios photo https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/q71/1378169_10202204951074375_518691853_n.jpg). You are better off with a hilux if you care so much for RV and that is a global model.

• showmetheranger on Oct 23, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Something definitely wrong with the styling.
    Catfish lose its tail.

• mediocre guy on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Hmmmm.
    1.2 dual vvti + CVT + dual airbags, ABS, EBD, BA + 20km/l car.

plus an ‘okaaayy laaa’ look, with right price tag; (40-60k is alright), am sure myvi gonna have a lot of trouble.

it will be great if this one comes with VSC but compare to myvi, this is a better choice.

neh i think theres still a lot of people out there dont really know, or really mind bout VSC.

• Le Dentist on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Yeah, all they care that this is a new TOYOTA model. As long as it is TOYOTA, almost everyone don’t mind getting it, in fact, they feel proud too to own this brand new model.

• Denaihati on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:05 pm

very economical car. hike of petrol make this a good choice.

• zamer on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:06 pm

what is this? not even turtle..
    “It makes 86 hp at 6,000 rpm and 108 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm”

can it move 5 person or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Nameless on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Good to buy this for ur kid drive to college. They cant use it for racing. So parent no need to worried.

• I had seen this car on the road in miri (brunei plate) design quite nice to me.. just the spec let me down.

• How can u see went it just launch in thai? Do u see the global version of yaris?

• shen low on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:50 pm

i just wonder will UMW bring in this car to malaysia market. Pls do UMW

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:41 am

Hell no…this is such a disgrace to our Malaysian auto industry… an eye sore

• Right Hand Drive on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Most housewife who want to buy Vios will find the front of this Yaris too agressive.

• current yaris looks more modern than the new one! same on you, toyota!

• well, the tail lamp is almost copy the ford focus hatchback

• It looks better than 2013 Vios, if new vios using this Yaris front design will be perfect!!!!

• PauKaya on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:52 pm

thumbs down for giving us a sub par product again

• Kyoshooo on Oct 23, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Ugliest car on the planet after proton juara! Hate the misai

• azrai on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:26 am

Wow! They are trying hard to mimicking the Ford Focus tailgate. What a joke. Another 3rd grade product for 3rd world country.

• tail lamp similar to Peugeot 208. nothing special abt this car. after all i dun think this car is coming to malaysia.

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:48 am

the headlamps look nicer than those on the vios… but what’s up with the busy-looking rear end?

• Catfish car! Whatever happened to Japanese design flair?

• Akira on Oct 24, 2013 at 9:11 am

Hmm… Something’s not quite right about the rear lights…

• whoa…the front…what’s with the long grey moustache?

• nzain on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:31 am

i just saw a GRUMPY car…pls make this car smile or fierce look

• Janice Hee on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:29 am

The back of this Yaris looks like Peugeot 208. Im not going to get this though.

• namanama on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:30 am

Toyota Nyaris

• Wat is VSC? Very Safety Car?

• ss427 on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Well its a good thing SG market got the REAL Yaris from Europe. Yup its manufactured in France and we got the full, Euro specs with 7 airbags, VSC/traction, hill start assist, 15″ wheels, auto headlamps/wipers, trip computer, factory fitted HU with GPS, dual zone climate control, full button suite on the steering wheel, push button start
    And it has a proper 1.33L

See here
    http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/yaris_v/index.aspx?WT.nav=ModelNav

This SE Asia Vios hatchback looks downright cheap and horrible

• It seems like there’s an attack on Toyota here..

• Well, Brunei went downward crazy with the Vios despite its hefty price tag(Well, for a B-segment car it is kinda overpriced in Brunei). If you observe properly, B-Segments are the most loved in Brunei, especially the Vios and Rio.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 26, 2013 at 1:32 pm

aiyoh, Vios I can understand why ppl can get exited, but kimchi Rio? It’s so blardy inferior

• benzs on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:07 am

Toyota article. Y no Sam LOOk spotted, though he will promote it? Too busy look after his Hilux mayb. Anyway, better take sedan vios model. Engine cap is lower n vios is bigger, heard rumor from umw salesman say vios will intro new engine for the latest vios but still no news yet. Coz they say altis n camry alrdy long way getting dual vvti so they must be using dual for vios as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 25, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Sam promotes sorhais buying them new, coz he will buy it of them @50% of price within a year

• cosmothegod on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:36 am

Itu belum orang bising pasal Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) lagi.. Turns out this function is more important and useful than VSC.. especially for dumbass city drivers who keeps looking at their phones instead of the road during jams.

• omanjedi on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Another shitty car from toyota if priced more than 60k in malaysia

• Jaymiee on Oct 27, 2013 at 11:57 am

i like this car,one my member use this car and he said very economy .the design is very aerodynamic.

• fraz006 on Oct 29, 2013 at 5:48 pm

good effort on front fascia. can improve on shoulder and fender flare. take myvi 1.5 for example, very shitty small wheels but looks ok from far coz they know how to design fender flare (made them fender big bulgy, optical illusion to make it look like car with big wheels)

• FaridRashid on Oct 31, 2013 at 9:27 am

Look bigger does not make the car feel bigger or spacious. When you go in, it still the same size myvi..