Caterham Seven 160 – entry-level, Suzuki-powered

Caterham Seven 160-04

Caterham has opened UK order books for the Caterham Seven 160, the Malaysian-owned company’s new entry-level variant of the iconic Seven.

The Seven 160 – European customers will get an altered version called 165 – produces 80 hp from a 660 cc Suzuki three-cylinder turbo engine, enabling it to do 0-60 mph (0-96 km/h) in 6.5 seconds on to a top speed of 160 km/h.

Priced from £14,995 (RM76,808) in component form, the car’s live-axle rear suspension, compact engine (it powers kei cars in Japan) and low weight embody the pioneering spirit of early Sevens and represent a new entry-point to the range. The new rear axle, a throwback to early Sevens in terms of simplicity, should give the chassis a lively character with a playful tail.

Caterham Seven 160-09

To meet the desired performance criteria, the Caterham Group’s engineering consultancy, Caterham Technology & Innovation (CTI), boosted engine performance from the K6A’s standard 64 hp to 80 hp, while improving fuel economy and reducing vehicle emissions. The Seven 160/165 conforms to EU5, EU6 and JC08 emissions regulations.

Caterham Cars CEO, Graham Macdonald, said: “As the Caterham Group as a whole grows and expands into new sectors and industries, our commitment to keep evolving the Seven is very much alive. The 160 offers something truly different to the entry-level market. It’s more economical, more accessible and every bit as fun on the road as other Sevens but has its own unique personality.

“The engineering challenges we faced when developing the new vehicle were significant. The engine, suspension and the overall dynamics all needed to work in harmony and the various arms of the Group have been successful in pooling facilities and expertise to achieve that.”

Production of the Caterham Seven 160 and 165 is expected to begin in January next year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• works on Oct 24, 2013 at 8:26 pm

using suzuki cappuccino engine?

• Chris on Oct 24, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Introducing the Caterham triple shot espresso.

• Dodol and Palm Oil on Oct 25, 2013 at 2:03 pm

I used to like Caterham and Morgans but the moment it became Malaysian company, I realised its not worth my money.

Lotus used to be so top in the world, the monet Malaysia took over, the company went down the drain. The Lotus car used to be in every pin up in everybody’s bedroom (Lotus Esprit Turbo) beside the Lamborghini Countach.

Today, nobody even talks about Lotus. It is a dead company. Morgan and Caterham also used to be so famour. But today, nobody even talks about the company. Malaysians like to syio sendiri buying up assets around the world but don’t know how to manage the assets to grow. It is better we stick to what we are good at, which is making dodol and exporting it to the world. Malaysia is ONLY good at making good palm oil and dodol. We should just concentrate on it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Morgan not related to Malaysia. They just come out with three wheeler which is amazing.

Proton bought Lotus when they went bankrupt (the owner). The new Exige are powerful.

Caterham has nothing new for a long time. Old lotus seven chassis but expensive. What Fernandes did was a great thing.

Have you heard about Marcos? Cizeta? Dome? Ginetta, De Tomaso, Gillet? Hommel? Wiesmann? TVR? Noble? Lister? AC cars?

Where are they now? Bought by Malaysian?

• Jimmy on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Antique toy. The demand is always there.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Malaysia-owned company, priced at less than RM80k in kit form abroad, but we can expect them to sell it for over RM120k locally because after all, Malaysian automotive companies are best at screwing their local supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • what if it rains?

• If it arrives in Malaysia, we can but the kei turbo half cut and drop the turbo version it…. Even more tail happy…. Why not make it in Malaysia and export it…. After all, it can be sold cheaper also. And we also can call it a “national” car. P3 or pero-tiga. What an awesome car for track

• donno on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:12 am

that standard version from caterham already has a souped up 660cc turbo engine my dear… already tuned to 80hp from standard 64hp. no need to buy halfcut from japan.

• theanswer on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:27 am

with lightweight body, use k3-vet NA also can propel this car quite fast.

• Btw, can opt for the speed lite wheels from mini. Classier… The rim besi looks like its from a proton iswara.

• rosmahMansor on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:18 am

Got Bumbong or not ??

• Better swap with Hayabusa engine.

• No chance to match EU5 or EU6 emissions regulations with a Hayabusa engine in a car…

• teamsleepnine on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:21 am

hahahahaha….tony do the tony!!!
    for $24,183p you won’t get the car ..

..a:painted(to paint one you will need to pay $1860p)

..weather protections(doors and windshield) you need to add $2,021p

hopefully the next model the msrp price include the side mirrors.

• teamsleepnine on Oct 25, 2013 at 3:21 am

but to be honest the door is pointless…but windshield is useful.

• oo yeah.. caterham owned by Tony Fernandez..
    this company not produced car that we can afford.. o

• bvc100 on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:43 am

Aaaa… would love to have one.

• driverz on Oct 25, 2013 at 8:48 am

This one has how many stars in Euro NCAP?

• theanswer on Oct 25, 2013 at 9:22 am

no record in ncap website!
      ncap covers pedestrian rating too.
      i dont think this kind of car(along with ariel atom) did a good job in cushioning pedestrian injury.

• tak nak jual kat malaysia ke…dengan tag line everyone can afford it…

• Now everyone can drive?

• cat07 on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:39 am

The rims are terrible ! This car not meant for tropical countries, kena saput sun block before driving, stop under the over pass to put on rain coat if rains susah betul! And lets don’t forget the bugs hitting you and please don’t open your mouth while driving you might have a mouthfull of bugs !

• kadajawi on Oct 25, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Can you get around the taxes if you buy it in kit form? Wouldn’t it at least get CKD benefits cause assembled in Malaysia (by the owner)?