Hyundai Tucson Facelift makes debut at KLIMS13

Hyundai Tucson FL-8

The Hyundai Tucson Facelift was unveiled at KLIMS13 alongside the i40 Sedan and Tourer. The Tucson facelift that we’re getting is the more subtle European version, rather than the Korean market facelift which completely revamps the face with a huge grille.

Other than visual and spec changes, the 2.0 litre model also gets a new engine. The ‘Nu’ engine is 33.6 kg lighter than the unit it replaces. Hyundai also promises slightly better fuel efficiency. Output is 158 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 2.4 litre Theta II engine soldiers on. Both engines are mated to Hyundai’s own six-speed automatic transmission.

Both the 2.0 Executive Plus and 2.4 Executive Plus top-spec variants now come with six airbags and are equipped with front and rear MS Design skid plates as well as an Audio Visual Navigation (AVN) System, which includes a GPS, entertainment system, Bluetooth connectivity and a reverse camera.

Hyundai Tucson FL-2

The most prominent facelift changes are the new projector headlamps, which now include LED positioning lights. The 2.4 Executive Plus model also get a new pair of LED tail lamps, as shown here.

Two new colours – Atomic Orange and Cobalt Coast – are available, adding to the existing six colours of Hyper Metallic, Phantom Black, Pure White, Remington Red, Sleek Silver and Titanium Grey. The Tucson comes with the standard Hyundai five years or 300,000 km warranty.

• Hyundai Tucson Nu 2.0 Elegance – RM132,888
  • Hyundai Tucson Nu 2.0 Executive Plus – RM145,888
  • Hyundai Tucson Theta II 2.4 MPI Executive Plus – RM158,888

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 6 air bags . Not bad .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
  • Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 1:40 pm

At least Tucson still have some residual value.

For Spotage owners, they need to burn the car or drive it into Klang river to claim insurance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 30
    • Hadi75 on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:22 pm

So now you sell hyundai also ka????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
    • stupidCarl on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Budak kecil comment from a junior toyota sales man who is so free in the empty umw showroom. Jgn one day your mouth senget for tellng too much lie lor

• Sam Loo on Nov 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Dun need to sell my 2 units of K5 that can’t be exported coz Sri Lankans dun want KIA.
    Why? Because, it acts as a viral implant for kimchi owners that choose KIA over Hyundai, that even a used car dealer can’t get rid of KIA’s.
    That way, the trade in value for KIA’s will nose dive further,making exports to Bangladesh viable.
    Anyway, in terms of built quality, Hyundai is definitely better, and in terms of after sales service, Naza sux big time. So good luck to KIA owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 33
    • D.I.Y on Nov 16, 2013 at 10:10 pm

True.. is not about branding problem, is about who’s the distributor behind problem.. sad case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
    • stupidCarl on Nov 21, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Now the tumb down mecahism cant work well, cant see lots of fake thumb down from Sam budak kecil, pity you bdk kecil.

• Redwings on Nov 16, 2013 at 3:39 pm

The 2.0 plus price is on par with CX-5 and CR-V. I believe this babe get very well recognition from SUV lovers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • Whynot on Nov 16, 2013 at 4:18 pm

More or less that same on the outside.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 22, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Not exactly true.

2012/2013 Tucson will have a lower trade in value compared with 2011/2012 models.

The RV just dropped by another 10%

• James on Nov 16, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Is this Nu 2.0 engine the GDI version ?

• Good the 2.0 engine got a massive fine from USA when it over stated their fuel efficacy 2012. So the Kimchi need to re do it big time. Since I owned a 2.4 1st generation, my resale still ok considering no engine change

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 21, 2013 at 1:03 pm

See, kimchis are not trustworthy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • maserratiShameLoo on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Pity this day toyota sales man need to black mouth Korean car and try hard to give fake info to reader in order to gt sales. But Sam bdh Loo forget that his comment make him look so stupid as readers will not influence by him. Work hard in the shorwroom Sam although you are old enough but still a junior sales man.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Nov 17, 2013 at 7:34 am

Is it just me or the rims looks like the ones on Mazda 3 2.0 (CKD) ? Nice one, Berjaya Group ! Haha

• prada on Nov 17, 2013 at 9:03 am

I must say, I do miss my 1st gen tucson. In my 3 years owning it.. No issues with car and service

• why only 2.4 litre get LED tail lamps? half facelift for 2.0 :(

• i just book Tucson Nu 2.0 Elengance spec.
    B4 make this booking , I when to try CX5 , Estima , Pajero sport.
    Cx5 not bad, but the parts very expensive .
    estima , wow….a lot of stuff not include , felt cheating .
    pajero sport – my load approved but I withdraw when I saw Tucson nu engine . another this is diesel always shortage .
    now waiting for bank approval .hopefully can get car by this month .
    I got great offer as discount 5K

• Hi Mat,
    May I know where did you get the 5k discount? I like this car but kind of concern about the long term maintenance cost of owning this car.
    Thanks.