Tokyo 2013: Daihatsu Kopen Concept unveiled – two design proposals, Q1 2014 launch

Daihatsu Kopen TMS-4

Konnichiwa from Tokyo Big Sight, the site of the 43rd Tokyo Motor Show, which begins today for the press. Yours truly is reporting from the Daihatsu stand, where the compact car expert revealed the Daihatsu Kopen Concept, a kei-car sized roadster. Yes, you’re looking at the successor to the bug-eyed Daihatsu Copen, which had a 10-year lifespan ending in 2012.

The Kopen Concept is actually two cars, or more. You see, the outer body panels, which are made from resin, can be removed and exchanged like phone covers, so one can wear a different colour everyday if he/she wishes to.

Daihatsu Kopen TMS-26

It’s not just limited to colours, but designs too – the green car you see with tough SUV-style cladding transformed into a standard orange car in minutes. Didn’t look like hard graft, as demonstrated by the petite showgirls.

Two proposals were shown. The blue example is the RMZ, with ‘stylish and emotional’ styling and a ‘high quality interior using only the best materials’. As you can see in the gallery below, that means a cabin lined with leather and alcantara, including the stitched dashboard.

Daihatsu Kopen TMS-10

The little green monster on the other hand is the XMZ with ‘tough and aggressive’ styling. The interior is supposed to be simple with a stripped down feel. It’s clear that both Kopen showcars are evolutions of the D-X and D-R concepts shown at IIMS 2012.

A strict two-seater, the Kopen’s footprint is tiny, with a length of below 3.4 metres and a wheelbase of just 2,230 mm. The concept car is powered by a three-cylinder 660 cc turbo engine, with drive going to the front wheels. Speaking of that, the show cars wear 17-inch rims with 165/50 rubber. One-inch smaller should be right for the production model.

It may look like a toy, but this is a very realistic preview of the production car that will be launched in the first quarter of 2014. A pint-sized turbocharged roadster sounds like great fun, don’t you agree?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sam69 on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:04 pm

what can I say….?

• anti body kit on Nov 20, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Hmmmmm, what colour should I drive today?

• hmm.. now where am i gonna put these electric green doors and that jazzy red bonnet needs to go under my bed. this is a classic over-creative case without considering practicality for an owner. duh!

• Toyota 86 toy version!

• Fail #1- CVT gearbox, #2-frontwheel??? #3-at malaysia sure expensive….

Actually, If it’s cheap, and Manual, Frontwheel not a big problem.With LSD,still can cut corners with fun!

• Next thing you know, perodua rebadge this and sell as Perodua MatahariZ

• ss427 on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Well I must say that the original Hamtaro Copen was cuter.. although tall guys like me will have a hard time entering the car.

Hopefully this new version will be bigger and better suited for taller pple instead of petite Japs SYT :)

Hmm… did Daihatsu installed a Sony Xperia Z tablet into the central console and use it as controls for HVAC and audio?? LOL Why that LCD screen looks like its removable and the dimension is so similar to a typical 10″ android tablet?

• andrewk on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:11 pm

First thing i can think of when i saw the name KOPEN with the interchangeable bodywork was… KOPEK and OPEN….

• oh really on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:11 pm

Any chance to adapt this into Perodua’s first small convertible?

• thepolygon on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Yeah this will be totally great if Perodua does this. First convertible by Perodua Malaysia. Easy on daily running fuel consumption.

• azhar on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:13 pm

nice!…any chance perodua will rebadge it?..haha

• Akira on Nov 20, 2013 at 4:13 pm

I doubt it. Perodua’s too busy concerning itself with pushing cars for the masses. Evidence? They did not bring in the outgoing Copen (spelt with a “C” for the outgoing one) even though the model has been around for 11 years now.

• motorhead on Nov 20, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Compact sports concept is nice.. Don’t like open concept.. Not here in Malaysia.. Hot, humid & wet.. Plus smoke. Here should be Koroof.

• if din put on any panel will kena summon cos driving naked car ka?