2014 Toyota Corolla Altis on oto.my – local spec pics

2014 Corolla Altis OTO-02

UMW Toyota Motor confirmed prices for the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis ahead of the car’s local launch yesterday. Now we have an ad for the new Altis on our sister classifieds site oto.my, showing some live pics of the Malaysian-spec car.

Pictured above is a high-spec Corolla Altis 2.0 V in Grey Metallic. Besides the 2.0 V badge on the boot, the V is distinguished by those fancy looking 17-inch alloy wheels, wrapped with 215/45 Michelin rubber. Lesser variants wearing 16-inch wheels can be seen on the trailer pic below.

altis-on-trailer

The 2.0 V can be had with an “Additional Safety Package” that increases the airbag count to seven (front, side, curtain, driver’s knee) and adds on a passenger seat belt warning indicator.

The Altis range starts with the 1.8 E at RM114k to RM123k for the 2.0 G. The 2.0 V pictured will set you back RM136k, before an “Additional Safety Package” pushes the sticker to RM139,900. Prices are individual, OTR with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia. See specs, equipment and more details here.

ASEAN’s Corolla Altis looks similar to the European Toyota Corolla, which is made in Turkey. North America gets a sportier-looking Corolla with different front and rear-end designs. Inside, both versions are largely similar, with just slight variations. Not long now before the official launch.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 16k additional for Additional safety package!!!.. hmm… Ok. like the motto “moving forward”..seem they also moving forward for safety feature..TQ UMW ..TQ TOYOTA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 27
    • derrick heng on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:11 pm

more like moving CASH forward into Toyota’s own pocket.

for such price tag, sorry lah Toyota, i am happy with my Ford Focus.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 12
      • carlies on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Good job Toyota! Nice car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
        • Sam Loo 2 on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:53 am

Ford Focus is a no RV car and most importantly your Fokus is not reliable.You should change to Altis when it is launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 51
          • Batamon on Jan 09, 2014 at 5:12 pm

ya, very reliable, during eksiden, ur head and body inside car, leg and arm outside car, so reliable…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • nenekjack on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:25 pm

And the price is also moving FAR forward..until overpriced.

TQ UMW…TQ TOYOTA

Ptuihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • i like the camera angle of the first picture..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:28 am

Hear it from me, Sam Loo, Toyota’s No 1 salesman in Malaysia, Toyota is nothing but a conjob. Why must you pay extra for safety? In the US, this car is US$12,000 (after discounts) and yet it comes with more than 6 airbags and VSC. For years I kutuk kimchi. For years I kutuk K5 owners. Maybe I am wrong. Better to have lower RV but have your arms and legs intact. No point have good RV but you become cacat or vegetable in an accident that VSC could have prevented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • RoKie on Jan 10, 2014 at 3:34 pm

How did you arrive at the number 16K for the safety package ? It clearly stated that the 2.0 V spec is 136K BASE. Add on the safety package bump the cost up to 139,900. That 3,900, wouldn’t it ?

• Buy la.. you can save a lot on medical insurance.
      (because accident confirm die)

1) No VSC (only for V model which cost you Rm137K)
      2) 2 Airbags only
      3) No active head rest to prevent whiplash

For this price of RM137, plus little bit more and get Honda accord.

Can’t believe there are fools who compromise safety for money (resale value)

• carazy on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Hideous looking thing!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
    • samuel on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Sam Loo mesti angkat satu punya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • absolutely hideous. the orcs are prettier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:51 pm

I only trade used Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 15
      • cheapo on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:07 pm

it’s so cheap looking car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • i want the RM30k like u said last time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • SamToyotaSalesMan on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Sam bdh loo continue to talk bodoh in year 2014. Well done Sam bdh Loo, please keep it up, lets us see you bodohying for your whole life ! bravo !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • Urzu3 on Jan 10, 2014 at 8:58 pm

hyundai no RV right..?

ok.. sell me the Hyundai Tucson 2.0 High Spec. RM5000 only. no resale value right..? i pay Rm5000 enough already.

• Amenojaku on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Holy shit look at the multi-info display. That must be the ugliest MFD I’ve seen in a > rm100k car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • jibby on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:50 pm

140k for this 7 airbags junk? LOL.. cerato 2.0 is only 119k meh..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 9
  • Looks good but way overpriced!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • 140k for an altis?? Only a blinded toyota hard core will get it. I can get a VW for that price, bigger, faster, safer. Or i can get a Ford Focus with 20k savings and it’s faster, safer and looks better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Agreed on the good looks of the Altis but the price is as expected from UMW Toyota. They should have sold the Altis with 7 airbags as the 2.0V @ RM136k and not charging customers more for additional safety. Shame on you Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:59 am

Actually, why pay RM140k for a Corolla when you can have a 1 year old Cerato at below RM40k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • kington on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:40 am

Sam,

Really so cheap meh? I give you RM40K, you buy one 2nd hand one for me…. nice nice one k…. 1 year old ya….

• I pay cash if you can get me a 1 YR OLD Cerato for 40k. Show me the car!!!!

• stupidCarl on Jan 09, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Dont believe a junior sales man. Sales is bad for them…talk coxk number 1 only.

• Not a bad looking ……please change the dashboard looks like the 70s show

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • ticker on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:09 pm

but…but….the target buyers are old uncles and aunties, not poor young man like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • kadajawi on Jan 08, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Less than 4k! 5 airbags cost less than 4k!!! If it is such a cheap feature, why don’t all cars have it? On all specs? At least as an option?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:00 pm

At least they add the option. Hopefully many will take it (if they buy an Altis), and those who want lower spec ones demand it.

17″ rims are a bit stupid though, the ride will probably be bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • kadajawa on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Sendiri tanya, sendiri jawab. Are you OK kah sudah makan ubat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawa on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Belum makan, patutlah saya butthurt merapu merepek meraban

• sudonano on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Such a pity that UMW really rips people off. It actually looks OK (decent, not gorgeous, just decent) on the outside.

But come one. 3.6k for 5 extra airbags? Come on UMW, are you that stingy.

Imagine, by including the 5 extra airbags, and sacrificing 3.6k from the amazing profit made over each unit, how many lives can be saved, and those people would be able to get another new Toyota.

Moving backward sadly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
  • my name is on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:07 pm

So expensive, now safety features are optional. LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Zenwen on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Is the standard wheels is like in the first pic?
    Ugh i like american front grille better

• klguy on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:12 pm

u mean without the additional safety package u get only 2 airbags????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • additional only for vsc & etc.. Toyota don’t know where to install another airbag in their model.

• Alloroc Sitla on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Why the American gets the better looking version?

• Round 3! on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Let the bashing begins! Umw has made many enemies Nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Archangel on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:28 pm

The real picture suddenly look not so nice instead of the non-real picture. Then again, greedy UMW on additional price for additional airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Guan Yin Ma on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Bloood sucking price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • fugleyT on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Fugley cars are coming!!

My eyes, arrrgghhhh!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Abdullah on Jan 08, 2014 at 3:57 pm

The difference between the Langkawi and Peninsular
    Malaysia price is great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • toyoj on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Very beautiful. I mean the trailer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • coming on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:11 pm

I saw ugly Etios!!

• NissPENGan on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:26 pm

The Toyota etios will be rebadge by perodua to become new perodua next sedan car.

• Yawn…but a good utensil which wont breakdown…zzzz

• Sam Loo on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:17 pm

K5 owners shivering now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 45
    • derrick heng on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:10 pm

oh, thats because the aircond in K5 is too good, unlike those on Altis or Vios, swtich to max level but no difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 32
      • kington on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:42 am

Actually, the air con on the Altis and RAV4 is a different unit. I drive at 28 degrees all the time and it’s bloody cold. The Camry and the Vios are using the standard air cons.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Has it not occured to you that it may have a faulty thermostat?

• repair on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Toyota parts now are worse than proton.
          It’s not as reliable as before. Furthermore want to use BMW engine, Toyota and BMW are a very nice couple. Both will be Banyak Masuk Worksyop, LOL

• why must k5 shiver? a k5 can rape this altis anytime till it cannot start.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 34
      • i think he meant on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:36 pm

i think he meant toyo salesman shivering now.
        how they going to sell this kosong car at this exhorbit price now?
        i think they have to wait for 1 year no sales and wait for UMW give free VSC upgrade, just like Camry :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Loo 2 on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:00 am

No use that Kia will launch the Hailat K5 soon.Kia saleman and fanboy will be shivering as many will buy Camry,new Accord and upcoming new Teana.These Japs will totally rape the new K5 until die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Believe me, as a K5 owner, I have wet my pants before in my car after caller a used car dealer telling me that they do not accept trade in for K5 anymore.

Asked me to leave the car at the yard instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:22 pm

What happens when Korean car owners hailat? They wet their pants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Loo 2 on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:01 am

Yes when the new Teana launch kia salesman and fanboy will totally wet their pants.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:19 pm

You dun wanna talk RV because you have bought a car with no RV or cannot even be traded in

• juice on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:30 pm

Wow I smell many dupes here. Come on where is your die hard fans? You now only talk to yourself! That’s pathetic.

• idunnoyualwaystalkrv on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:10 pm

I think it’s another way around.K5 has an bigger boot,interior space,8 speakers,cornering lights,6 speed auto,8 way electric seats,better design, ABS, EBD, TCS, brake assist and hill-start assist control,better looking and fully equip with stuff steering,nothing could have been better than the K5.Corolla?Not even a 100 miles.Except Sam Loo ,the greatest-insulting-kimchi-owners A.K.A 70% people hate him and 30% of them are blind dont want his arms and legs,potong your arms and legs before u crashed by the car.
      END.

• k5 n altis diff segment la bro…

• Ryan.C on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Did you guys realize that the front (logo and grill part) is very OUTSTANDING (Bulge)…

Or is camera angle problem?

• DrCooper on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Nah, I think its more on camera angle..but can’t help imagine if got hit a pedestrian directly in the ass…

• roxas on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:40 pm

it is

• logocrach on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:13 pm

It looks like crotch part with undies, big bulge means the driver has very big package inside.

Yuck!

• roxas on Jan 08, 2014 at 4:37 pm

omg look at the nose from the side view ! its so long ! omg omg its really ugly

• Which variant got rear vent aircond? or totally dont have?

• Alliswell on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Front like mitsubishi gallant.Side like forte.At the back like latest accord…interior as usual toyota never impress me at all..overall its a fugly car after latest fugly vios follower. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • jackk on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:19 pm

lol.. smart move toyota. want safety? pay more..lor. 7airbags + passenger seatbelt reminder is very very luxury. 1st in toyota..LOL

• amirad on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Don’t like the specs. Wait for the facelift after 2 to 3 years. That time, sure Toyota will put dual VVTi-L engine, VSC, park assist, lane assist, blind spot warning, 12 airbags, ventilated and memory seat, 9 speed tiptronics and all the what nots to regain market share. They did this with the existing altis and new camli so this one ain’t gonna be any different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • carlies on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Some of the points you mentioned about was already in, even the previous gen Altis. Another blind reader. Last time 2 air bags not enough, now 7 air bags also not enough and ask for 12?? Air bad is not everything!

• amirad on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:33 am

Right bro. I’m just exagerating. I am an Altis owner for 8 yrs and probably for another 8 years. Back in 2005, the Altis was the logical choice. Its only competitor was the Civic. Now with so many offerings at more reasonable price from other makes, the Altis seems to lose its competitive edge. Ownership experience has been pleasant for me even though my Altis drives like a shopping trolley.

• bengh on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Altis was ugly, and when new one is coming out, unfortunately it’s still ugly!

Toyota should hire world class designer. Learn from Koreans or Toyota has to sack all the uncreative designers.

• BLT Club on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:57 pm

You wish. Malaysians will keep worshipping the brand.

• Bongcs on Jan 08, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Enlarge your own airbag

• Nazeem on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:01 pm

The interior look so plastic,maybe just in my opinion. The exterior looks quite good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • matlabu on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Better buy cerato 2.0 rather than this overprice altis, at least had a lot of gadjet and nice to drive with pleasure. Ok samo looo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo 2 on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:03 am

Yes go ahead with your Celaka car and I will laugh at you for your stupidity.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:01 am

Agreed. The 1 year old Cerato will be about the same price as the brand new 2.0 Altis, minus RM100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • ceruti on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Cerato has much value for money than this underspecced Altis.

Bbbbbbboooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

• Berann on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Crazy price. 2.0V RM 136k better add 3k get a D-segment Honda accord which is more comfortable/stable and more space. Both same with 2 airbags and VSC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • 4G63T DSM on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Cerato 2.0 @ 118K
      408 Turbo @ 129K

Even the K5@143K and Tin Kosong Accord 2.0 base seem like a better preposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • BLT Club on Jan 08, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Accord = Uncle
      Altis/Vios = Ah Beng. Ah Beng likes to look like Ah Beng. So more Bengs will buy Altis to reinforce their Ah Bengness!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:53 am

K5 and Celaka are great if bought pre-owned 1 year later.

The bad news is that eventhough both costs RM20k apart new, when pre-owned, both will be trading around RM30k

• takNakP1 on Jan 08, 2014 at 6:36 pm

nice to see, nice to touch, once owned, consider broken (the owner).

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Yeap, the basic Accord 2.0 is a better value for money.

Most importantly, its a Jap and it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Kinami on Jan 08, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Price may be expensive.

but, I get the best Quality Car – Toyota.
    Maybe I will buy Lexus CT200h, full feature hybrid + luxury.

else. Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • spongewai on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:04 pm

front nose of new Toyota Corolla Altis is long and sharp

one word PRICEY

• Thompson on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:26 pm

More looks than its safety

• Do tell me why on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Why so many hate proton and accuse them of destroying local car price? Why not hate umw which is clearly setting a new level of car prices here for c and d segment? Not to forget new level of kosong cars.
    Really should hate this company to the guts. Robbing the blind followers broke.

• britney on Jan 08, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Wow.. Spec sheets shows It got Power Steering and Power windows. What a revolution in 2014!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • sam69 on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Wow, what a heavy debate.

I wished I had bought a Vios instead of a K5.

With a Vios, I can easily change a new car every 2 years, with a trade in value of roughly 70%.

For the K5, I lose the 1st digit of the purchase price (RM100k), at least within a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Is it just mee or the new model looks so average in the real world compared to those gorgeous photos in the promotional releases??

• kelvin on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:24 pm

yucks! my current altis looks way better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • kelvin on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:27 pm

look cheap like the first gen kia forte, no premium feel at all somemore got to pay that much? stay away!

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 08, 2014 at 11:47 pm

“My my what a big and prominent nose you have,” said red riding hood to Granny corolla altis

” big nose? It is so I can knock you up and down silly,” replied granny corolla Altis

” my my what a big flat arse you have” said red riding hood.

Red riding cried when Granny Corolla Altis replied to her, ” laugh all you want but be foretold— when you grow up, you will have the same flat arse like mine coz it runs in the family!!!,”

• My goodness. 7 air-bags, Traction Control, ESC, ABS, and EBD should be fitted as standard equipments in the modern day cars. This is such a rip-off. Malaysian really are moving backwards (instead of moving forward). Instead of safety first, Malaysian are looking for more shiny alloy wheels, in-car entertainment etc.

• ben yap on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:15 am

all these malaysians no money to buy toyota keep cursing that it is ugly, over price, not safe and all those nonsense. If you all got money, RM139K is nothing la… only those who hope to own it but their hopes are dashed will continue to complain.

Stop complaining la, UMW no need your money. You think you keep complaining UMW will care? You are not their target market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 1:26 am

Actually, those that are smart at managing money looks at TCO.

It may be expensive upfront, but you get a durable and reliable car, with only minimal service intervals, low spare parts cost, long replacement cycle for wear and tear parts.

These will add up to consumer confidence and hence, good resale value

• Cheap my ass on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:02 am

Cheap service my Ass. U come here I show u 40k/80k mileage service with aircond service. Can reach 1k.labour cost is a bomb.
        U still living in 19th century izzit? Now all cars service interval minimal 10k.
        Stop spreading ur salesman speech. I own a 2009 Altis and keep all my service receipts.

• hippo on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:49 pm

I dono why people who can afford an Altis complains of expensive maintenance. Yes, toyota service center charges more for service, but i feel that the quality is better. I own previous altis dual vvti, for me its comfortable n reliable. I hv no regret buying this car especially with all the traffic jam in town. Stop complaining about the price. everyone has a choice in buying cheaper car.

• TCO?

Altis
            2014 : 123k (2 Airbags)
            2019 : 70k
            Lost 53k

Preve
            2014 : 73k (6 Airbags)
            2019 ” 35k
            Lost 38k

Not to mention proton spare parts and service costs are way cheaper than Toyota.

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:33 am

It is beyond obvious that you do not own a Toyota.

Camry 40,000kms service is RM565.40. Fully synthetic oil change. This is for ACV40 2.4V

How can a Corolla Altis 40,000kms cost more than that?

• Shut up already Rv guy n umw crony on Jan 09, 2014 at 12:27 pm

That is without a cond service and labor. Shut ur gap as I am a toyota Merit member. I own more toyota than u. U just sell and spew rv crap as everybody here know. U are so full of crap that there is a video made to humour readers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 2:22 pm

This is with A/C Service and Labour.

The A/C service is just changing the cabin air filter.

It was done at the TSC just off Jalan Templer parallel to the Federal Highway.

You must be dreaming of a Toyota, but in reality, you are driving a kimchi. Thats why they have no RV

• Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:23 am

Funny thing is that the yen has devalued so much against the USD, Jap cars should be cheaper.

Then again, so has the Ringgit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Jan 09, 2014 at 9:53 am

No Avatar means fake fella

• this car is only used as a cab in dubai.. crazy price in boleh land!

• Only in Malaysia.Toyota Corolla Altis in Taiwan just a Taxi…When Malaysia people think Camry is luxury car,In China and US just a kereta biasa and KFC standard.

• Magic on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:08 am

USD42k…for a corolla. Only can be found on this part of the world where magic is part of the business strategy

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jan 09, 2014 at 8:21 am

Mercedes are also used as metered cabs in Germany

• But that in Germany, Thai is 3rd world country. Poor Altis as taxis.

• Sam Loo on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:55 pm

If Thailand is a 3rd world country using Toyotas as Taxi, then for Bolehland, we can be called underdeveloped country, because we use sub-standard Protons as Taxis.

And Proton has finally admitted that the cars the produced since 1985 are sub-standard

• For The Toyota Corolla Altis I think should be put 4 airbag,VSC and TRC as standard.In 2.0G must be 7 airbag,VSC and TRC. Another problem is if CKD price too expandsive,i think you better bring CBU because like as the Prius C Safely is good. UMW,Please bring the Toyota Car with Euro 5 Star standard in Malaysia to protect your customer live.

• HeShowedMeTheAccordana on Jan 09, 2014 at 4:53 pm

the launching of this car is joke of the year 2014

• jiigglypuff on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:40 am

dont buy this,if we have a better government the car will only cost rm66000 OTR.arab saudi can,why cant we.

• Chrisg on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I laugh ppl are still buying the new Camry, Almera, vios and civic, now this altis. Terrible design (tis altis looks good though) with even worse specs, and handling. All funky. Attractive to ah bengs. Then these ahbengs if can afford will buy wish and alphard, thinking these are the best luxurious cars in the world. But it’s a coffin carrier. This altis, with the price quoted, not even worth it. Go buy a pug 408 turbo or N.A 2.0 and see the difference. Or even other Korean makes. Save the balance for servicing etc and to recoup on the lost resale value. It’s actually the same.

• SamhowedMeTheHilux on Jan 15, 2014 at 12:01 am

I smile when people buy Sonata and Elantra

I know that more than 50% will sell within a year, at around 50% of purchase price, and I can sell it off at at least 70%.

This is called smart business

• Ethan Cheong on Jan 12, 2014 at 12:06 am

Uninspiring and weird looking also. Toyota gotta change its engineers. For decades, the Toyota marque has actually moved backwards vs. the competition.

• Bataman on Jan 13, 2014 at 9:04 am

Ugly looking alien car….i will take the KIA K3/K5 anyday. Better specs, better price and way sexier!!!

Olny poorfags with no money buy this fugly car because it has better RV and he need to sell it off because cannot afford to pay installment anymore!

• SamhowedMeTheHilux on Jan 14, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Consider a K3 or Elantra that is 1 year old.

K3 (if it can be traded in) should be RM30k and elantra at RM45k

Great value for money for the smart buyer

• If RM110, 118 and 125k is just reasonable although it is still considered expensive in Malaysia!

• Rashuk khan2 on Jan 19, 2014 at 5:04 pm

I love this car….looks like Honda Civic.