NAP 2014 – which CBU hybrids are still available?

toyota-prius-audi-a6-hybrid

So the full duty exemption for all imported electric vehicles and hybrids with engines displacing 2.0 litres and under is no more. What, then, is the current status of CBU hybrids in the Malaysian market? What models are still available to buy, and how much would you now have to pay for one?

We’ve made some calls around a few dealerships to reveal that a good number of CBU hybrid models are already out of stock at present, and those that are still available are in limited supply.

You’d think you’d have to pay more now that the exemptions have been discontinued, but actually many carmakers are currently offering discounts and rebates to quickly clear stocks; also on account of the fact that you’re buying models manufactured in 2013.

Toyota
Toyota Prius Both trim levels, limited stocks RM7k discount
Toyota Prius c Out of stock
Honda
Honda Insight Stocks very limited RM7k discount
Honda CR-Z Stocks available for auto only RM9k discount
Honda Civic Hybrid Out of stock
Nissan
Nissan Leaf Out of stock currently, to be replenished Price revision being discussed
Nissan Serena S-Hybrid Limited stocks, enough for Q1 2014 RM8k discount
Mitsubishi
Mitsubishi i-MiEV Limited stocks
Lexus
Lexus CT 200h Out of stock
BMW
BMW ActiveHybrid 3 Out of stock
BMW ActiveHybrid 5 Out of stock
Audi
Audi A6 Hybrid Out of stock

We were also informed that the Lexus CT 200h would probably cost from RM240k without the excise duty rebates, so bringing it in again as a CBU without any incentives is not likely to be in the plans. The discounts mentioned here apply at time of publishing and may end at any time.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• TeacW7 on Jan 23, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Correct me if I am wrong, is this the first time whereby buying a car in Malaysia is actually profitable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • MycarMylife on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:27 pm

No bro , we use to have good RS value long ago in the 80’s and 90’s eg; Honda EXI Civic 1.6 bought for Rm68k sold at Rm72k after 2 years use.
      Cheers for the memories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
      • Hybrid- Stock Market Up and Down on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Actually, buying a hybrid now is a bad move. This is not Gold or land or property. Most likely, parts will become very expensive as the cars would become uncommon.

Basic demand and supply. Even now, hybrids got bad resale value because people are scared of hybrids issues. The Civic 1.8 sells better than the Civic Hybrid and the RV of a one year old car is much better than a Civic hybrid.

Can you imagine now that the car has no more tax incentive? People will be even afraid to buy becaus eof uncertainty.

To make matters worse, government is flip flop. You buy an overpriced 2nd hand Prius or Civic Hybrid and then suddenly government decides to give back the Hybrid incentive.

You see, the Hybrid is good for the environment and is cost saving for the user. Why on earth would a government prevent a car that is good for the environment and saves fuel? ALl governments in the world are promoting hybrids and clean environment, matter of time before the Malaysian government is pressured to do so.

So likelyhood, they will introduce the tax rebates again before the next NAP.

In whatever the case, you are buying a commodity that has no certainty. Don’t know whether it will go up or down. RV is also uncertain as people don’t know what to expect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
        • Toyota Junior Salesman on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Obviously, gov is forcing those big boys to setup CKD plant in malaysia. Then mr. Kangkung can get some benefits from it.

Others gov encourage their people to save fuel and environment. But ours gov encourage us to pay the same price but only 2 airbags and without VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • kukupet on Jan 24, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I don’t agree with you there. Civic hybrid if you consider the previous Civic FD, then the RV is bad, this is mainly due to its engine is 1.3 and the technology involved.

Current generation of Civic FB, the hybrid comes with 1.5l engine which is much powerful and assured battery life. Back then it was much grey, market now come to accept more hybrid due to price of fuel expensive. If parts, Civic Hybrid is almost all other parts identical to normal hybrid.

I wont worried about the hybrid cars RV.

• RoKie on Jan 25, 2014 at 12:19 am

Your comments on parts will get expensive are totally unfounded and ungrounded (a.k.a BOLLOCKS !). Do your research.

All hybrid cars use the same components as their non-hybrid counterparts.

The only difference is that hybrid has extra motor that happens to run on electricity. These motors do not need servicing and have been tested to last for decades. Case in point, 1st gen Prius are still being driven in US, Australia and countries where available. Google it.

I drive a Prius C for over a year now, and I know what I’m talking about, not you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • XD XD XD, so you are one of those driver in that fugly car? Do you drift using it? I saw a few that did that on the road not long ago.

• Obama on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Who’s going to buy second hand hybrid? Much expensive, high maintenance, spare part become uncommon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
    • No. Before proton, Datsun Sunny 130Y Rm16K. After Proton, 3 year old second hand Datsun Sunny 130Y RM20K. Times were good before proton was born. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • The other example was VW Polo Gti when they raised the price from 106K to 136K last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • robert on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:26 pm

it was 133/135k to 166/169k and to 150k++ now.
        The 106k is Polo TSI.

• Guan Yin Ma on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

My dad 1993 honda NSX sold for 170k last year. He bought it 2nd hand less then 100k 15 yrs ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • chong tk on Jan 24, 2014 at 12:23 am

you cant compare nsx with other car, its a collectors car not a full blown production car.

• derrick heng on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:38 pm

no, this is not the first time.

there already several times:
      1) Nissan Sunny B11 model
      2) Proton Saga (the oldest, not BLM lah, haha)
      3) Smart Fortwo

etc etc, and several more.

• Honda CR-Z : Stocks available only for auto

Time to look at the 2nd hand market than.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • RedCRZ on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:18 pm

AVH, its a shame that you didn’t get your hands on the MT CR-Z. from your past posts you certainly did show your affection towards the car. if u wanna grab a 2nd hand MT car, better do it fast coz 2nd hand value will be high in the near future & u might hv to pay more than u should… =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • I show my affection really well towards most cars and particularly the CRZ because there is no cra(bar teh Picanto) you can get a manual with a full compliments of toys and safety.

but there was never really a chance I could get a Honda CRZ with my current financial situation, I mean I am only driving a load City and my personal set of wheels is a 2 decade old Saga. If I work a little harder, I might be only able to pay off a Myvi’s load, as of now a CRZ is still too far away.

Well unless I hit jackpot, but I never believe in gambling anyways.

• You must be kidding me. Who would want to buy hybrid now when the govt pull the plug ?

Anyway, the reason why hybrid vehicles have worst RV is due to the fact, the battery now costs even more…and i still haven’t touch on the eletric motor. As you know this motor is use and throw. Your ah kow mechanic won’t be able to fix it.

Anyway, people who buy hybrid in overseas don’t keep their as long as we malaysian do. Try selling your 10 year old hybrid and see whether anyone bite ?

I guess Tiara will have better 2nd hand value.

• Lexus ct200h, price 240k for low or high specs?

• It says “from rm240k”. So it is low specs. Bear in mind that it used to sell at rm168k. Those current owner must be laughing now. :-)

• khpung on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:18 pm

as i know 240k is for standard spec and luxury might be around 280k.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Jan 23, 2014 at 3:39 pm

BMW active hybrid out of stock?? hahahahaha.. No one buying la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • what u are saying might be valid coz i’ve never encountered one on the road yet. maybe they bought it and store it in the garage in case fuel price increase again…hehehe

• sudonano on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:24 pm

240k might be the expected price for the CT200h ?

I think I nearly fainted.

Highly doubt Lexus will CKD that car here. So looks like RIP CT200h 2011-2013.

But worse still is the CRZ. It looked sharp. And was nicely priced. Oh well :(

• Jayden Koo on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Those who missed the boat on purchasing a property in these 5 years, don’t be so sad. As long as you are one of the current hybrid car owners will be laughing like to tomorrow. Great ROI. Forget to tell Sam Loo that your Hilux does not benefit on this NAP. In other words, your Hilat has much more lower resale value than the hybrids! Hahaha…

• spongewai on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

we are very unhappy that G only giving us only local-assembled car like Honda Jazz Hybrid, not CBU Hybrid vehicles…

haih, disappointed

• BMW Hybrid Owner on Jan 23, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I am one of the owner of BMW AH3, all in all it is a very good car with all the performance for you to explore, plus save fuel when commuting in heavy traffic. you get 450-500 km full tanks if you do spirited drive & 600-750km on daily commuting under traffic.
    Maybe you not really see it as they only bring few units to Malaysia.
    Heck, do i care? nope!

• Jebonr on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:03 pm

There goes my dream of owning a Hybrid at lower price. The latest model that is.

• Denaihati on Jan 23, 2014 at 5:18 pm

manufactured in 2013. considered old stock sale, i think it should be big discount because to follow one year lost for resale value.

• SatriaFanboy on Jan 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm

i’m just stunned. The NAP policy are just plain idiotic. Instead of focusing on ‘EEV hub nation’ or something. Why can’t we focus on abolishing AP or reducing the car prices? It’s not going green is bad. bad renewing the policy if the car is CKD? Doubt any car makers will do this. Now I have to say goodbye to the manual CRZ. I was looking forward to own it but I guess I can’t now.

• bootupjoe on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:03 am

Better don’t buy any cars before the next coming GE14…

• Steve Kok on Jan 24, 2014 at 7:53 pm

What the present hybrid owner shd worry now.. is the spare part supply a few years down the road.

• glaze on Jan 24, 2014 at 11:11 pm

I seriously think that the CBU hybrid incentives should not discontinue before they have done their “study” on HOW to implement EEV and other details to attract manufacturer to invest a CKD hub here.

In the NAP 2014, there are a lot of “WHAT” to be done but nothing much on “HOW” it can be done. This will take a long long time for sure, just look at HOW long they took and yet to implement Euro 4 fuels.