Great Wall Haval M4 SUV coming in May, under RM50k

Haval M4 KL 04

Great Wall Malaysia is planning to launch the CKD version of the Great Wall Haval M4 SUV sometime in May, with pricing anticipated to be under RM50k. The M4 will be assembled at the GWM plant in Gurun, Kedah.

The white unit you see in the photos is on display at the Green Oranges showroom in Glenmarie, and is a left-hand drive example – the company is bringing in a few such CBU units to showcase the M4 at roadshows.

The 3.96 metre-long M4 will make its market debut in two variant forms, both powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT four-pot offering 105 hp and 138 Nm.

Haval M4 KL 06

In most markets, the M4 is sold in its two-wheel drive, five-speed manual configuration, which we’ll be getting, but this will apparently be the low-spec guise of the type. The high-spec version will be equipped with an automatic transmission and come with four-wheel drive.

It won’t be the only vehicle being added to the local GWM model line-up this year – Green Oranges is going to be very busy, by the looks of it. The company has reportedly obtained an EEV grant for local production of the M4 and Haval H6 SUV, which will be launched in April – anticipated pricing is RM88k.

The Wingle 5 facelift is due for a June introduction, and also inbound this year is the Voleex C20R five-door B-segment hatch. The Haval H5, meanwhile, is being discontinued, with only a couple of units left to be cleared.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:03 pm

So many nice cars we won’t get… But this comes. Oh well. At least it is rather cheap…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 5
    • dino years on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:33 pm

where is proton-youngman’s suv? urghhh i still think that would be more reliable overall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • Petrolhead on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:10 pm

This car is selling in China from 63,900RMB – 71,900RMB which is around RM35,223 – RM39,633. Should be a good substitution of the Suzuki SX4

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
      • More reliable? Forget reliability, they can’t even get a JV materialised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
        • salambangi on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Cannot drive fast otherwise the engine will explode like my yaobao power bank after only I week of use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 26
          • kadajawi on Jan 30, 2014 at 3:21 am

Haha, for me it was the Yaobao charger that exploded. And the capacity of the thing isn’t 11200 mAh, it’s probably more like 1120 mAh. Probably a fake you’ve bought there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 8 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Chinaman already can sell SUV for MR50k, our Proton Inspira is priced at RM100k? Tak ada logic, isn’t Proton born to give cheaper cars to its own rakyat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 16
      • Jaguh Kangkong on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:53 am

Great Wall should buy Proton for RM1. Simple solution everybody is happy. OK???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 23
    • How can toyota, honda, nissan, p1 n p2 cannot price like that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 5
      • Directon on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Cause Proton.
        Mitsubishi Lancer without Tax only 50k bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 36
        • what logic are you using? how come the japanese celup cannot price it cheaper while the china celup can?

now you know the greediness of those japs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 6
        • thai no p1 no RM50k oso? price RM100k++? brunei oso no p1 price around B$28-30k? how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • brunei lancer during raya 2012 promo Lancer GT (M)$31900 ($513*7yrs) (A)$32900 ($529*7yrs)….7yrs!! i tot below 5 yrs since brunei people kaya-kaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Brunei loan down payment at least 12.5%. Interest rate triple than us >7% per annum. High…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Najib, where is the 30% you Promised? on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:36 pm

wahai bangau kzm, selalu compare dengan Brunei. You always forget to say Bruinei people earn 5x more than Malaysians. Even the kuli in Brunei earn what a Malaysian doctor earn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
          • buktikan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Great Wall don’t have to pay tax in Malaysia?
          How come?

• kawan, the price is after tax. whay cant p1 sell at this level price even under protection by bn?

• pirlo on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:02 am

haha very bias statement. i think china products got tax exemption here in malaysia. najib & rosmah co protect china products.

• Sian Lerk on Jan 30, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Proton are equally heavily taxed by gomen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Rokuth on Feb 02, 2014 at 7:54 pm

The reason why is that compared to the cost of production in Thailand, Malaysia, and especially Japan, China has a much lower cost. Labour alone is nearly a third or less compared to Malaysia. So if Proton decided to open a factory in China, they could still make a profit shipping cars to Malaysia while keeping the prices the same or lower.

• I want to know the langkawi selling price!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • exKembara Owner on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Oh… this is even cheaper than my kembara I bought in 2002.

Just wonder how this will be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
    • DSG Tow Truck on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 150
      • Whathappen on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 142
      • I don’t think anything can be worse than proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 58
      • Edward on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:06 pm

hahahahahaha…the funniest comment i have ever seen so far!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • my 1 yr china brand smart phone still not explode? how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 16
      • powershot on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:39 am

if this brand can sell into europe & australian markets, it shows that at least they have passed the minimum requirements there, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:43 am

They sell cars in Europe? They OFFER them maybe, but selling them… 276 cars in 2013. In all of Europe. Including the poorer Eastern European countries.

Also, minimum requirements? The Lada Niva can be sold in Europe. And, in 2013, Lada sold 1.670 Nivas in Europe (not including Russia). Keep in mind the Niva has been in production since 1977, pretty much unchanged. It was the first car by the company/engineers that was not fully badge engineered. That the Chinese can’t even come close to the Niva sales, with a much more modern car…

• diamjer on Jul 02, 2014 at 1:09 pm

still sleeping eh kawan?

the new market leader are china, all european car maker are rushing to get there

great wall are among the leader there, its just a matter of time before the audis and merc bought over by china company.

• Besi Buruk on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:07 am

Better business for you. More car to tow! When no business, buat bising. Ada business buat lagi bising!

• MycarMylife on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:24 am

Hey fren , China’s climate and temp is more extreme than ours la ! not only cold winters but very hot summers ( 43 C + ) compared to MY ??
        Go look further than our shores ,pls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:44 am

Yes, but Europe also has those extreme temperatures, yet Malaysians think European cars can’t handle Malaysian weather.

• Low Budget on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:15 am

Then why they be allowed to sell in Malaysia? Or is it the Gomen taking under counter $$ from China men?

• I bought a Naza Sutera aka Hafei Lobo in 2006. Had absolutely no issues with the car.
        Yes, not quite the standards we are used to I guess, but its a matter of time. China will be up there in time.

This car looks good, and at RM50k thereabouts, it should prove to be a good long term buy, especially for first time car owners. I’m sure the warranty will be industry standard as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Tow Truck on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:10 pm

But iphone all made in china wor…din explode also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
        • Under Licence from Apple USA mah….this one under licence from Mr. Ah Kow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Sam Tow Truck on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:15 pm

China cars will be better than sui kwan euro and hailat kimchi. Best is still toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
        • Sam Talk Ck on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Sam, you are a rascist mot**f**ker. You talk cock about towing quality European and Korean cars, but you say this China car is okay. You are indeed what is wrong with your theories thus far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:32 am

Seriously the best looking suv on earth…only proton juara comes close…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Montana on Jan 30, 2014 at 7:43 pm

guys….i drive the m4..i mean an m4

• Black Dog on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Finally a Kembara replacement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • Kembara replacement was Nautica.

Failed like sh*t, Perodua only sold 489 units. Sudah jadi collectors item already LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
      • To be fair, the nautica was sold at a price more exp than the Toyota rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • well at least Nautica is made in japan and not made in indon like Rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • theanswer on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:02 am

toyota should bring the cbu rush..while we get nautica from indon..terbalik sudah.

• badgeforall on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:09 pm

VW Golf on steroid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • This look better than the other greatwall models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • some sort of Rush?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • what is this for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • sudonano on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:20 pm

What do you drive?

Answer: An M4.

Huh? The coupe?

Answer: No. The SUV.

Eh BMW got M4 SUV? Practical eh?

Answer: Errrr. Actually it is a Haval.

Oh.

Anyway, jokes aside, it looks OK I guess? But I think the Qoros is still more convincing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 7
    • David D on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Agreed. Less than 50k, ain’t that bad after all. Cheap, practical motoring, and besides, this Great Wall brand hasn’t been having those shiny, nasty smelling new plastics you’d find in some other cars. One more thing, they’ll need a much more extensive network if they are going to shift a good load of these cars.

And, they better not be another Chery. Same car, little improvements, just acceserories. No wonder sales dropped from a high of over 3000 units to barely a third last year. New models every now and then helps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • FrenchShit on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:57 pm

At least china car sell more than pathetic Renault. What…40 cars for 2013 renault.

Hahaha. Renault is going to be another Mahindra soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • sudonano on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:24 pm

The price is appealing actually. If you are with a family of 4 and have a young child, the boot would be more useful than a Myvi or Viva or Picanto to store the baby stroller. Though I’d love to see the auto’s price and spec. Could compare a bit to the Alza and Exora (though the Exora will win hands down if this M4’s price is similar to it)

Never sat in a Great Wall car, but I’d reckon they are better than Cherys. I saw the Easter up close, oh my panel gaps and everything looks nasty and all. Chery is literally recycling their Easter with LED bits and bobs now.

As for Renault, TC Eurokars is finding it difficult. You see the TC mentality that they have on Nissan cannot work in Renault. Nissan, they bring in a model that it 3-5 years behind the world also still somehow can sell. Almera launched last year, face lifted globally in a few months after. Serena S Hybrid also the same. Teana, the one we got has been replaced almost a year ago! Sylphy too.

Renaults are more expensive. For the price why buy an older model when you can go to the other French brand, Peugeot and get a newer model.

Dacia might be able to do well here. Just not under TC Eurokars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
        • kadajawi on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:05 am

TC isn’t even trying to sell Renault in Malaysia. They only bring in a few sports cars… yes, obviously there isn’t big sales in hardcore racetrack C segment cars that are priced in a premium D segment regions.

Also, who cares about the Malaysian market? In other markets Renault easily outsells Toyota.

• This price cannot maa..how to protect p1? sumore keloni lost money maa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • Directon on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Gov will ban the car saying that the car cannot pass Puspakom !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • well written….hha

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 18, 2014 at 12:46 am

The Qoros will be much more expensive though. Even in China, if you want quality, you’ll have to pay for it. They may offer good quality for a lower price than other countries, but you’ll still have to spend on it.

• lera2 on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:20 pm

yay! now everyone can afford to buy golf~~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • 1.5 for SUV is not sweet..
    wonder if the power will be enough to carry 5 adult..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Gently Speaking on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Honda City: 1160kg

Preve: 1305kg

Great WAll M4 : 1106kg.

Attrage: 875kg

• walau on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:22 pm

walau, i cannot stand the number of cheap ass cars on the road anymore, please don’t bring this in..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 64
  • Chinauto on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Putting another junk on our road….sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
  • IF Potong rebadge this will become Saga SUV SV and starting price from RM34,438 OTR…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • sltan on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:31 pm

a shame for proton and perodua cant make this happen in malaysia , this from china import and part CKD etc total just rm50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Krasher on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Stolen vios steering wheel found!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • china doll on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Parts sharing = cheaper price, mirror control also quite familiar…seen it somewhere

• Suzuki on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:52 pm

I scrolled up to see the steering wheel.
      WOW, SAME.

• Krasher on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Bonnet air vents? Supercharger or Turbocharger under the hood??

• thedarkside on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:35 pm

i think for the price its not bad if im being completely honest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • zas zahari on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Quite awesome look with awesome price….Proton launching for new model SUV might be effected….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Tamiya on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:46 pm

The price is pretty affordable… i read the post a few times.. RM50K and below? @_@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • roxas on Jan 29, 2014 at 5:54 pm

i find it actually cute looking !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Sooooo….. Justin Bieber is cute looking.

Does that make him good ? Looks aren’t everything in life you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
  • Akira on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Eh cheating! They cannot price it that low. Proton will make noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • mr magoo on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:30 pm

D@@mmmd..its toyota ist

• saladi on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:32 pm

See paultan.
    I’ve told you before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • this is a big “go to hell” to those PR supporters who claims MITI control car price like shit, protect Proton Perodua blablablablabla LOOOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 50
  • Reliability. Nope. Safety. Nope. Resale value. Hell no.

Looks. Ok lah. Price. Yes please. Better than Viva ? Probably.

Chery sales in Malaysia are down very badly in 2013, compared to 2010. Malaysians don’t want to buy cheap China cars already. Anyway, always good to have more competition. Bring it on GWM ! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
    • Chris on Jan 29, 2014 at 6:55 pm

B-b-but it has *gasp* red brake calliper…

• chery fails because they dont have any new model to compete..just selling the outdated eastar only..

• How do u know it’s reliability & safety? Do u own one ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • ExtremelyToxicCars on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:40 pm

That’s a childish assumption. Is BMW the same as Volks just because both are from Germany? Gwm and Chery are worlds apart in terms of reputation and sales numbers worldwide. It’s one of the better brands coming out of the dozens and dozens of auto manufaturers in China. I had rdriven a Gwm pickup in Australia and it is decent enough for me.

• since chery already like not introducing any interesting new here, the great wall might be the only china brand to be considered here..hope they will succeed with the launch of many more models that will benefit us..

• avereng on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:06 pm

I’ve tried Haval H4 before while staying few years in China. Great Wall can produce solid and reliable car. M4 is younger sibling of H4. It’s look promising for Kembara market slot. On road price in China just RM32k-RM36k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • powershot on Jan 30, 2014 at 4:45 am

agreed. spent a few trips to china last year, looks like great wall is the top & most reliable china brand car manufacturer

• Directon on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:11 pm

See la ! People China also can built like that..Fk BN crony now all car lovers cannot own Their Favorite car….Oya, gt cheap 1, Proton SV !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
  • ah chai on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:20 pm

If others find it hard to reduce their price, then let the Chinese do it first.
    For a new car sub 50k, I can only think of a few options in Malaysia from proton n Perodua.
    So bring it on, let the car price war begin.
    I like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • abuya123 on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:41 am

War? I dont think so…..

If you ever work at factory, you should know they do everything to reduce cost while material price keep volatile or increase. If you ever buy things in China, you will see…. for quality product made in China, the price is expensive.

Reducing cost always have a limit. If you exceed limit, quality starts to fall. And thats different between China car and Malaysian car. No matter how horrible P1 and P2, at least people still confidence to buy

• policeman on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:25 pm

If VW CKD this it would cost much less.

• paucharsiew on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:27 pm

now everyone can own an M4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • skatax on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:29 pm

in terms of design (in)consistency, it is on par with proton. but the m4 logo i like!

• NurburgringDriver on Jan 29, 2014 at 7:46 pm

WOW! M4 for under RM50k!! Even the E30 M3 I last checked on mudah.my is RM228k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • albag on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:01 pm

low quality material cause this junk to be so cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Carfox on Jan 29, 2014 at 8:07 pm

I’m still trying to work out what models this takes its “inspiration” from.

Hood vents are definitely Buick, but not too sure about the rest of the car. The rear looks a lot like the current SEAT Ibiza, and so does the front to a degree, but mixed in with an old Golf. Overall, it actually looks pretty good considering the usual stuff that China makes. That interior tho…

My two cents, if this thing were similarly spec-ed, reliable and relatively easy on fuel, I’d get this over a Myvi.

• Toyota 1st?

• It is really based on 2001 toyota ist!!!! Maigod only sharp eyes like me can tell xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • now sape lagi berani kata miti control harga kereta?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • AlbertLee on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:46 pm

PROTON, watch out.
    You are dead.
    The Great Wall of China comes crashing in.
    Your Exora in the 62k-70k plus price range is going to suffer further sales decline.
    Also,Preves may go downhill.
    Altho Chinese cars’ quality not as good,there is one race in malaysia that will buy as long as it is cheap and 9-10years repayment thrown in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
    • phuwekkk on Jan 30, 2014 at 10:22 am

as cheap as this haval, i,m still putting my money on exora. safety-wise is better than this haval.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Dol on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:26 pm

i take this one :)

• Ash Crimson on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:35 pm

howaboutno.jpg

• hate too much on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:51 pm

After all tragedies which are happen before this with my chery Eastar had totally burn..everything burnt only in a few minutes..now I really dissapointed with china brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • why are you dumbass on Feb 19, 2014 at 11:16 am

because you’re too dumb too generalized all into one. In fact, judging by your logic if Toyota has problem that means all Japanese cars have problems ?

• front looks like vw golf/ford kuga

• hate too much on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:52 pm

After all tragedies which are happen before this with my chery Eastar had totally burn..everything burnt only in a few minutes..now I really dissapointed with china brand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • mantop on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:56 pm

waaaahhh!!! so cheap maa!!! look nice to squeeze in all my kangkung!!! tauke..bungkus tiga buah please!!!

• transformer on Jan 29, 2014 at 10:59 pm

based on these photo and below Rm50K…. i would like to view and have a test drive….

just hope it build quality wouldn’t disappoint like Alado/Cherry car that previously sold in MY before….

• so cheap? sure or not? i doubt MITI gonna approve this price…

• DannyG on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:08 pm

CKD at Gurun. ……Hmmm
    Spare parts easy available ?
    low cost ?

• Denaihati on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:23 pm

nice looks and so attractive price in it class, hope have a good reliability too.
    from http://paultan.org/2014/01/22/maa-2013/ statistic, GWM manage to sold only 14 unit of passenger vehicle in 2013 but this model might change this number…

• Gently Speaking on Jan 30, 2014 at 12:24 am

Passenger car from GWM = Haval H5.. this is expensive above RM100k chinese car..

on the other side.
      GWM manage sold 281 Wingle Pick-Up, improvement from 173 in 2012.

• ExtremelyToxicCars on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:50 pm

It’s a childish assumption to group Ghery and Gwm together as bad China brands. Is BMW the same as Volks just because both are from Germany? Gwm and Chery are worlds apart in terms of reputation and sales numbers worldwide. It’s one of the better brands coming out of the dozens and dozens of auto manufaturers in China. I had driven a Gwm pickup in Australia and it is decent enough for me, comparable to well-known brands.

• ExtremelyToxicCars on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Gwm and Chery are worlds apart in terms of reputation and sales numbers worldwide. It’s one of the better brands coming out of the dozens and dozens of auto manufaturers in China. I had driven a Gwm pickup in Australia and it is decent enough for me, comparable to well-known brands.

• Gently Speaking on Jan 29, 2014 at 11:59 pm

PRoton
    – People choose Proton over Perodua = size.

Perodua
    – People choose Perodua over Proton = Quality and fuel saving.

Considering this,
    Great Wall is challenging Proton’s Sale directly.
    Perodua — low chance be affected.

Great Wall doesnt proof it’s credibility and reliability.

Hence, people who want quality and fuel saving, will choose Perodua.

For size, people may choose Great Wall or Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • iluvamd on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:02 am

diesel or petrol ?

• EnergyAnalyst on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:26 am

The recent bad news: Share price has tumbled 20% due to delay launch of Haval H8 because many car technical issue

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2014/01/14/Great-Wall-Motor-shares-sink-after-Haval-H8-launch-delay/

The old news: Ford says Great Wall is Chinese automaker to watch

http://mobile.bloomberg.com/news/2013-10-09/ford-says-great-wall-is-chinese-automaker-to-watch.html

Conclusion : good potential but still need time to brew

• Jacksonkua on Jan 30, 2014 at 6:51 am

Those who criticism this M3 mostly are car salesmen n blasted without really test it, feel it, drive it.
    As a normal citizen or those not worked auto industry,
    Will quite interesting see how this far can offer with this price tag.
    It has totally wrongly to bring on such a budgeted car
    As Rakyat will always got the additional choice.

• the M4 badge looks similar to Audi RS4..hehehe

• sohaibabiguaneng on Jan 30, 2014 at 8:20 am

cheeaapp and naassstyy

• Anonymous on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:10 am

When proton buat kereta murah, bising nak keta high quality, nak air bag sampai 6 lah, nak ncap rating tinggi lah .. bila kereta mcm ni kluar, tak bising pulak. Even kereta ni interior looks cheap gila, semua senyap jer, ncap rating ntah berapa jer neh, tu tak termasuk handling.. ada korang kecoh2 tanya handling mcm mana, servis plak camna? Dh la design mcm tiru vw pon semua kata cantik. Kalau proton, cup holder tak cukup byk pon kecoh. Saya bukan nak salah kereta ni, diorang nak jual kereta bajet, biar lah .. tapi sikap korang yang suka bagi komen yang mcm sampah (semua benda pasal tak puas hati) mmg cukup annoying .. sedap mulut jer cakap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 28
  • budlee on Jan 30, 2014 at 9:47 am

I am strangely attracted to this car…

is it the price?
    is it because it reminds me of a VW golf?

Great Wall…it needs to go a long way before it gets accepted like Cherry..

• the exterior is nice …
    but the interior is just so so…
    but it worthly for money.

• civicEK on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:25 am

wow 50k! if they are using good engine, i would love to have one! :D

• Josh Ling on Jan 30, 2014 at 11:36 am

i wonder if the M4 thing will get into trouble with BMW or not, coz previously if anyone remembered Mazda used to call their cars with “M” in front, i.e. M3, M6, and BMW had managed to urge them to change the way they name their cars, hence Mazda 3, Mazda 6 and so on.

• SgWay on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:09 pm

i think at curremt economic conditioms, well designed cars like this will win. the normal middle class malaysiams are increasingly under stress, houses are expensive, heck, paying for rent in KL is like paying for a bungalow. And some Malaysians are already thinking, is it worth buying a Protom that looks boring, lame engine and poor build quality and after service.

now, with this Haval M4, its cheap as a Proton, looks quote decent, and an SUV to boot, Id have more pride driving this, and dropping people off at shopping centre or hotel withput rasa malu when driving a Saga. Even Preve fail to bring that ummphhh bit in the end Proton is associated with crappy quality.

as for Great Wall, try your luck and help us kill Proton. Convimce DRB its better to use Tg Malim to CKD VW and even China makes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 8:48 am

In terms of safety the M4 will probably be atrocious, unlike the Preve or GSC.

What’s more important, pride or being alive?

And if you thought Proton has bad build quality… just look at the Chery Eastar. Or take a Chinese taxi in China. Heck, even the VW Touran feels awful in China, being built to budget.

Yes, the Chinese can produce decent cars, even their own brands, with decent quality. But not at this price point.

• finallyamanualvw on Jan 30, 2014 at 2:23 pm

looks like they copy the perodua kancil dash

• looks alright for its price range…its safer than kancil..and if engine can tahan 5years or more its alrite…im sure this manual gearbox is more tahan than vw dsg mechatronics…theres a reason its better than vw haha

• Lim Iguana Egg on Jan 31, 2014 at 2:21 am

hurm..normally the lifespan of china made only last for 1 year. No more cheap product frm china for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Punyalah murah…. Not sure about spare parts and reliability.
    Facelift to be out in china by middle if the year. Looks wen better

• Syameer on Feb 01, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Hope the durability and reliability will be of those remaining great walls of China.

• nabill on Feb 01, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Foc electricution!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Jebonr on Feb 01, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Normally, if it’s “Made In China”, low price = low quality. Let’s just hope I am wrong on this for the sake of Us who are currently being offered with high price = low quality cars.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 8:31 am

Producing a decent quality product costs a certain amount of money. A product THIS cheap… how is there supposed to be any quality? I mean, a Dacia Duster, where they already cut cost where they could, would be around 70-80k in Malaysia including the taxes. And that’s a similar sized budget SUV. Where on earth else could GWM save money?

• jalan kaki on Feb 02, 2014 at 5:31 pm

To be fair to P1 n P2, they’re also heavily taxed by d gov…all bullshit bout helping national car makers or helping d rakyat.

We have the worst public transportation system, the worst roads and the most expensive tax to add.

This haval looks ok but it smells fishy coz of d price…hmmm

• annoy_namous on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:04 am

I have to agree that we do have one of the worst public transportation system & the most expensive tax in our country but the worst roads…!!!!
      Which part of kampung you are from bro?? May i know..

• mamat on Feb 03, 2014 at 9:19 am

vios 07 steering wheel there!

• Sam Loo on Feb 04, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Kimchi Tucson and Sportage trade in value (15 mth) will nose dive to RM30k soon

• Archangel on Feb 04, 2014 at 8:20 pm

If this SUV priced below RM50k, it will make the Perodua MyVi feel like an overpriced car. Lol.

• Jinggo on Mar 18, 2014 at 10:14 am

M4?! gila apa ini.. sure mati-mati lor..

• Coldman86 on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:20 am

Car version Xiaomi. Cheap price with quality !!!

• great deal on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:22 am

I definitely will buy one at this price. Dai also wont touch foton

• taboogen on Jul 02, 2014 at 12:30 pm

even the hazard triangle print out on the button are not properly aligned.

• LLAST on Jul 02, 2014 at 5:33 pm

I think many people should stop using their mobile phone right now because many chips inside are made in china

• Chinese cars may not have the reputation here but…
    Just look at the car! It looks fantastic, especially for a $40k price tag.
    Way less embarrassing than buying a buatan Malaysia.

• Don’t ridicule it. I drove the car for a couple of months when I was staying in Australia and have even gone off-road with it albeit only on unsealed country road. The car is well built although lacking in luxury. Handles well too and petrol consumption is good. I understand the engine is from the previous Toyota Vios but with improvements. I was told it is already cutting into Proton and Peroduo sales. With price like that, it’s actually a good buy. It’s like when the Japanese first brought in their cars when everyone laughed at those who are “dumb” to buy them. Believe me, the Chinese will have the last laugh.

• Joy good on Apr 22, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Why pay more when you can get cheaper vehicle with good quality?