Great Wall Haval H5 now available in Sabah

Green Oranges, the local distributor for Great Wall Motor vehicles, has introduced the Haval H5 in Sabah, the five-seater mid-sized diesel SUV finally making its way to East Malaysia after the brand’s debut here in July last year.

To recap, the Haval H5 2.0 VGT offers 148 hp and 310 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 2,800 rpm from its commonrail mill, and this is mated to a five-speed automatic with Shiftronic. The vehicle offers part-time 4WD – changing modes from rear-driven 2WD to AWD can be done on the fly at speeds of up to 70 km/h.

Standard equipment includes leather seats, a reverse camera, cruise control, auto air con and a full-colour touchscreen factory head- unit with DVD/USB/Bluetooth compatibility. As for safety kit, there are dual airbags, ABS, EBD, traction control and a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS), with the readout displayed on the rear view mirror.

The locally-assembled Haval H5 is priced at RM123,988 in Sabah. The brand’s exclusive dealer in Sabah is Fook Loi Corporation (Sabah) – its showroom is located at Sedco Industrial Estate, Kolombong, opposite the Borneo Sport Arena.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:16 pm

for those who cant afford CX-5… can buy this lah… same front end

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • RON97 on Oct 15, 2012 at 12:24 pm

this is good news for east m’sia people. they don’t care ’bout camry, ford focus, nissan leaf, etc. they are happy with rangers, triton and this never heard name haval..as long as they can do 4wd and carry dogs for shooting trips in the jungle. not to midvalley or pavillion, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • I’m an east malaysian..but i dont like hearing that. Not that we don’t want those Leaf, Forte or what. The dealers here suck! Only UMW and Honda managed to get our thumbs up. Proton dealerships are even better than Hyundais!

• most east Malaysian buy SUV because of trend, not for juggling…u are updated..

• Hadi75 on Oct 15, 2012 at 7:57 pm

I don’t like your statement bro…..and i’m from west malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Azman Ar on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Bro appreciate we r in the same country although we r living on the island. Such opinion is better kept to yourself. If you care to find out, for us here such type of vehicles make more sense giving the prevailing terrain and road conditions

• That’s where u are wrong, we have lots of GTRs, BMW , mercs and not to mention lambos and ferraris on east Malaysia road, I think you’re the one who needs this to go shopping because your city is always flooded. And stop looking down on us, without us you are actually nth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Yup that’s why we have more pickup and 4 wheel drives as our road tax are cheaper plus we don’t pay any toll.

• gangully on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm

the price of this car can probaly put as down payment for the car in the article immediately before this. Wonder which the East Malaysians will go for :)

• Redrules on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm

Probably ‘West Malaysia people’ needs this because there’s always flash flood there….. especially near Midvalley and Pavillion… huh!

• RM124K for a ‘made in China’ car? you must be joking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:15 pm

This H5…is this body-on-frame or unibody?

If it is Body on frame like the wingle, its tremendous value…. Its some 40grand less than the rest of the body on frame SUVs. BOF trucks tend to have better payload and more robust being offroad.

It is suspiciously heavy for its size.

• droll on Oct 15, 2012 at 5:57 pm

wth?? the front really looks like a mazda.

well, make all the fun we want…the chinese are coming.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 15, 2012 at 10:13 pm

china made car?? sceptical about the built quality..

i scared the colour will fade after 1 week…

• philip lee on Aug 24, 2014 at 11:18 pm

how u know that the car will fade color after 1 week buying,don’t look down china car n say idiot thing

• Back by space and world best train technology!

• NIEKO on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:15 pm

hmmm i think it is most welcome to offer the GWM Haval 5 in East Malaysia ,but i think the Price is just to high

• Potential buyer on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:55 am

I don’t quite understand why some of us are so sceptical about copying of other models features in Chinese cars. As a consumer , i do not mind if all the good stuff are assembled in one at a reasonable price.