Proton needs up to RM3 bil for new models – report

proton-kuala-terengganu 061

According to a report by The Star, Proton Holdings Bhd is seeking up to RM3 billion to fund the development of new models. A source told the English daily that MITI and Petronas have declined to assist in the funding, after the national carmaker approached them last year.

The report also reveals that Proton has appointed Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah as acting CEO to replace Datuk Lukman Ibrahim. Lukman first announced his resignation in July 2013, citing personal reasons, but rescinded that decision after a few months. Rumours concerning a second resignation surfaced last month – unconfirmed by Proton so far.

Proton has committed RM3.8 billion in investments until 2017 and needs more capital to be competitive and achieve its turnaround plan (350,000 sales by 2018), while Perodua has committed RM1.8 billion until 2015, according to The Star. See 2013 MAA sales figures.

With drops in sales and market share of late, analysts foresee a mountain to climb for Proton, in light of NAP 2014‘s aims to liberalise the market, and Perodua’s steady performance thus far. Will the Global Small Car be able to change Proton’s fortunes?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Strange that proton is asking $$ from MITI and Petronas! Proton shd get from its ultimate parent company, DRB. With such a diverse & healthy business portfolio, surely DRB can help.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 231 Thumb down 4
    • calling kzm on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:26 am

paging kzm. calling kzm. hello kzm we need you to come in and sapok proton. proton needs your tongkat kzm.
      please kaming kzm. support your dying proton from bash.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 27
      • Pinky on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:37 pm

And after 3 billion have been spent, they come out proton juara facelift, powered by a 800cc engine made by proton, which produces 50HP and 50Nm..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 11
        • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Wanna bet? By year end, Honda will takeover as new Proton owner…sayornara sakura yakuza sora aoi lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
          • All who believe this story have been April “advance” fool..I just heard news that p1 denied the RM3 bil request..haha..u guys say don believe mainstream media yet u believe n get funked..shame shame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
          • sorhai kzm on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Bodoh punya bangau kzr. Now miti acknowledge that proton did ask for funding. Balik hisap susu lar pondan.

• You think develop a new car cost very cheap? Google this and read … ”
          Why Does It Cost So Much For Automakers To Develop New Models”… it says at least US$ 1 billion. It can as much as USD6 billion also if it’s an all-new car on all-new platform with an all-new engine and an all-new transmission and nothing carrying over from the old model.”

So i think is reasonable for a RM3b development cost but can Proton recover the cost by selling the new model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 59
          • Manor on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:59 pm

No dispute about the cost of redevelopment…. but why need to ask from government?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
          • No one is denying that it cost a lot. After all these years of protection and what does it show?…market protection makes companies lazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
          • Kereta Lembu Owner on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:57 pm

Proton mana ada design kereta? They just assemble and twig around “cosmetically” only – that will take RM3billion for “R&D” they must be a joking & too early for April Fool’s joke:-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • U think buying car in malaysia is cheap. Paying so much to support this ailing company.

• Proton can’t and would never be able to develop anything worthwhile. It’s truly a failure.

the money could be put to better use like compensating the work force and shut it down once and for all and stop bleeding tax payers’s money.

Proton RIP

• it does cost alot to make a completely new platform..but is a viable investment with ROI within 4 to 6 years? these companies with 6bil investment sell at least 1mil units a year around the world and make profit from the 3rd yr onwards till they have to introduce a replacement model..proton sells 30k units a year? when they will get back ROI, give a rough guess??

• the so called “turn-around” plan from proton is actually turning malaysians round and round and round……..tak habis habis…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 7
        • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:07 pm

My friend a Proton fag said “we also bash Proton because we love Proton”

Benci tapi sayang. (Bodoh lagi bongok)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
      • Kha Zanah Malaysia on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:55 pm

kereta proton dia (KZM) skarang ade masalah sikit , dia tengah sibuk……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
        • KoZaM on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:16 pm

mr Kzm ah? i saw him busy searching for info
          -why proton is asking for 3 billions,
          -why drb hicom took over proton if they dont hv the financial to support proton,
          -and that the take over was not a political move by cronies to benefit themselves…

So that he can come back to you and answer with pride..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
          • better i search info than make out story…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
          • DRB thought gomen will continue to spoon feed them. Wake up, no more free lunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • although my proton is so good to me but rm3bill is too much. this is crazy man!

• Syazwan007 on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 223
        • Perhaps DRB should open up a charity fund for everyone who thinks like you so you can contribute your money to them and spare the others like myself from wasting our money on a company which cannot compete even after 30 years! Least this will be fair. U want to support, give them your money. Not mine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 10
        • slk3879 on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:59 pm

What is the matter with you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Hey bongok, Proton must use own money not duit rakyat ok!

Umur 30 tahun masih lagi hisap susu ibu. Tak malu kah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 7
        • KangKungMan on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Hi Syawan007,

Not we dun want to trust Proton … But seems like they never learn from their mistakes … Malu lor keep asking money n keep reporting lost each years … To help Malaysian … Pls close it or sell to other company so that can “clean up” of those Minum Kopi Staff …

TQVM

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 6
        • kangkong on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:12 pm

So, to show your sincerity to support your Proton the only “home country brand”….Juara Kampung. Please buy 7 Proton to switch like your clothing everyday. That will show your are blind enough to support a company which cause all Malaysian suffer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
        • All those peoples bash local make product are foreigners, traitor, or maybe from bangladesh. They don’t have identity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 74
          • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:25 pm

All those Macai keep support crappy faulty Proton are just brain-dead fools. They don’t have common sense anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 9
          • Manor on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Not to mention that all those who support blindly are cronies who get away to supplying low quality services or parts to proton and charge high premium products and services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • Haha… Sure, we can give them a chance and at the same time, they should give us a chance also. For fair competition, government should open up the market and let oversea vehicle to come in without tax (just like before Proton Ara). Fair mah right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • jokes aside on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Halo…you know what Belgian say when they saw a proton in their country? ” Hey your country car is in our country…please go home and tell them to install a heater if they planned to sell in countries with weather more than just rain and sunshine” If this proton can make good long time already shine…not now…! Look at Hyundai…when the country in shit times they help the country not opposite, here is forever asking for country to help!! If can do good then make a fair game where no excise duty or any kind of protection. This is all because of over protection which caused this beggars to sleep while working and sleep all year round since 1988!!! Fork out another 3 billion for you all to continue to sleep!!! Screw you…close it! I rather foreigner say your country has no auto plant rather than your country car is below par and a piece of crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
        • apamau on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:26 pm

I don’t see that’s a problem to support proton, if proton really have a good track records which deserved and Earn the support. But they are not Chrysler, GM, or Jaguar, or Land rover, Alfa Romeo, which all have their great success story before, and their brand and products may still have a chance.

But proton, other than the rebrand proton wire and the saga, what proton have? Does the brand deserved so much money, from business point of view, it does not.

So, when u wanna compare, then u need to compare correctly. Proton have not prove to be Harta Khazanah over 20 years, they don’t left any harta for the country now, but left a lot of baggage for our rakyat, to bare all this cost, and when proton start going into it’s 30s, and if a company can’t make it in their energtic age at the 20s, what make u think they can fight when now they are getting older?

As a Malaysian, If you ask me did I feel proud for proton ? Sorry to say, not at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
        • apamau on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:31 pm

There’s also a problem in some of the which created all this problem.
          “because we are the only country in south east asia with our own car company.”

U want very success story, like Air Asia. If one day Air asia in trouble, i think they deserve a second chance. we don’t want to have something just the only country in SEA that have. It’s the most simple thing we can do to be in this situation. We can call All Malaysian to eat shit one day, and then tell everyone we are the only SEA country that we eat shit, that’s also the “only one” in SEA, now u see the problem ? So, try not to have those, World only one or SEA only one, if it does not brings benefits or good results which prosper the country ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Same Lor on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Yea, because we are the ONLY country in south east asia with our own car company, we have to pay the among the HIGHEST car price in the world, so that PROTON CAN SURVIVE!

If you like, please donate your salary to Proton. I don’t see why I have to support them where they can’t even make car right!

There is no excuse since they have been making car for 22 years!!

• Oi syazawan, what an idiot.. chrysler and GM begs for money from US Govt. Jaguar, Land rover and jaguar is now owned by idians, alfa romeo is going to the the grave. This car companies never raised and succeeded, they just get bought over or waste public funds. I suggest proton better be sold to other car companies or dig a hole somewhere and bury themselves in.

• Ah chai communist dap on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Please buy car from communist china..hahaha

• qwerty on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:31 pm

harta khazanah should be something valuable,not something always loosing money, macam MAS sama juga, bangga la sangat this 2 company keeps on sucking us taxpayers dry…

• Y do i need support that…if p1 want to advance they need to export end story…but i do drive saga blm

i am KZM but i change to KZR since some”many” else keen to use that name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Same Lor on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Bro, you drive saga blm because it is cheap or you truly like the car?

If not Proton, with same money, you can afford a Toyota/Honda now.

• In ASEAN? Keep dreaming…

• Actually I never think of it…those day still I don’t like to drive a car n summore I just graduate…I just pick the first car I see..

• One thing i noticed after reading through all the comments below, when other car brands come out always got Proton fanboys compare with Preve or Suprima and say their engine more powerful, more airbags, Lotus handling bla bla bla. But for this post all those Proton fanboys are surprisingly SILENT!!! Not a single one of them come to defend Proton. Show some balls and come defend your beloved company now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
        • i support all car including p1,p2,toy,hon,bmw etc who support bolehland auto industry..excluding car with zionis blood

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
        • Superman on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:01 am

Maybe those guys were all working under dato lukman and when he was kicked out they also got the boot and fired. Next to go will be that lady in charge of marketing .

• i support u kzm!

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:43 am

If can get free funding by BS around in the name of National Pride, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • azrai on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:43 am

Since DRB-HICOM own Bank Muamalat why they don’t just apply an interest free loan from it. Islamic financing also..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
      • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Sudah bagi full loan, still wanna ask interest free!

Why don’t you tell Proton to give you free car instead lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
        • azrai on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:34 pm

It is their own company maa….Same towkey…

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Bank Mualamat bagus tukar nama jadi Bank Kebajikan. OK setuju?

• Same Lor on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:45 pm

If they use my tax money, why shouldn’t they give me free car?

Bank Muamalat is not Bank Kebajikan, you think my name is Encik Kebajikan?

• Obama on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:47 am

$3 billion incentive to attract toyota, honda, nissan to open manufacturing plant in Malaysia better. Lots of employment opportunity created, benefit local spare parts and OEM manufacturer. Huge multiplier effect to the economy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 1
      • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Proton just ask Petronas only….not yet go ask KWSP or Khazanah…just like beggar knocking many doors with hats minta duit…make sure Proton give good muka kesian lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
        • Same Lor on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:48 pm

KWSP, Khazanah, MITI are all our money. Shame on Proton!!

If you buy car from them, you get car they get money.

If they get support from all these companies, they get money you get nothing!

• We can see the new Proton Gen 3 come out after getting the money…and then ask for 4 billion…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…DRB: Aduh, belum earn money then now need 3 billion…WT HELLLLLLL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Just close shop lah! free i also don want!

• Proton money spend on lotus how much……..read the old post….

stupid and now asking more money….

• dugong on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:24 am

$3 billion better use to improve public transport, build proper roads that last long ( not tampal and korek daily) and toll free highway.

• Aniq Affandi (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 3:30 pm

It’s probably true. But its normal for big companies to go for outsourcing and since DRB is taking control now, i’m pretty sure they will be putting in investments too

• No money to continue? No prob? Either take up loan with World Bank or just close down shop and liquefy everything. I think the latter is best for Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 7
    • Aerro Jr on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:12 am

So easy go ask money….daddy, i want RM3 billion mau beli new car…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
    • dino years on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:24 am

u guys really dont get it right? u all shld ferverently pray for proton to start producing good and cheap cars no matter how unlikely that seems, bcoz proton and perodua are our only hope of affordable cars. the govt will NEVER reduce car taxes even if proton closes tomoro. they badly need the tax revenue to cover the leaks caused by br1m and whatever other welfare projects they do. if proton stops production tomoro, our only other affordable car is myvi, and that is not very “affordable” for the specs given, although im a fan of its frugality and reliability ( and looks, subjective).

im not defending proton cars blindly. i own one now and had others before. i know the fustration abt unsolvable issues. but asking them to close today and hoping the price of other cars will go down tomoro is a wild dream. it will be better for us if they can achive a turnround, no matter how wild that dream sounds too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 123
      • MY question is
        Why NOT proton ask from DRBHCOM ? What’s the point of DRBHCOM taking Proton private with 100% ownership ?

Profit goes to own pocket but cost ask from government ? That doesnt sound fair to any other companies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 1
        • Dont forget DRB is also a GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • azrai on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:09 pm

DRB-HICOM is not GLC anymore. It is SMC nowadays.

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:10 pm

GLC – Gerenti lingkup company

SMC – Sad miskin company

• azrai on Mar 07, 2014 at 9:18 am

Syed Mokhtar Company..

• Same Lor on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Brilliant move!

Imagine your mum ask you go neighbor take dinner everyday, you mum definitely save a lot.

There is an animal similar to this, it is called leech.

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:49 am

If Proton closes shop, you still got P2 mah.
        MyVi will be king of the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
        • dugong on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:30 am

I hate to say this but without proton around, greedy perutdua will dominate the market and start pricing myvi at 70k.

Car prices won’t come down. Its a fantasy. Our G is addicted to import and excise duty like an addict is to drugs.

I say just let proton rot.

• If cannot afford cheap car then ride bike, if cannot afford bike then ride bicycle. Rather than wasting on proton which it’s similar to dumping money into the sea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • Asalkan Bukan Peroton on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:11 pm

You’re a blind fool! And you drive a Proton too! Lagi bodoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
      • Hohoho on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Why buy low quality products? Let them close, least it shows that we will not support sucky products. Dont forget the cost is so much higher as there is too much money wasted on proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • Wilson on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:12 pm

I disagree with you. When the national car maker’s sales drop, then it will directly affect the duty collected by govt. At this time, govt has no choice but to reduce the foreign brand car so that people can afford to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
      • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:21 pm

It is YOU that doesn’t GET IT. Proton is a mule to siphon money. This is how DRB will recover their “investment”. Purchase Proton for 1.29 billion than ask for 3 billion from government. That is the cronies make money. This is all sandiwara to transfer government money (read duit rakyat) to a selected few. And we all pay for it in the form of barang naik and soon GST. But you are right, car prices won’t come down even if Proton closes shop, but at least that is the decent and honest thing to do. Close down a loss making business. First Proton then MAS. Buat rugi duit rakyat aje.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 7
      • a586idfgjdoijg on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:21 pm

You speak as though cheap cars are good. Cheap cars mean more people can afford them. Which in turn, results in more traffic jams and wasted time. You want to spend 4 hrs everyday to get to & from work? Be my guest.

I say cars here should raise their prices (even after potong is dead) so that only those that can afford cars can buy them.

Let the downvotes commence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • Obviously on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:54 pm

While I agree with you that car prices in general won’t go down JUST BECAUSE Proton closes shop, Perodua car prices might not remain where they are if Proton closes shop. If they do kaput, most of the void created by the closure is likely to be filled by Perodua and if they’re clever, they will capitalize on it to increase their economies of scale, thereby lowering the prices of their cars. However, Perodua cars have not been known to excite but it’s also known that they haven’t frustrated their owners as much as Proton cars have.

Also, you can have a cheap, reliable car and you can have a good car but I don’t think it is possible to have a cheap and good car in this country.

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:49 pm

It is possible to have a cheap and good car in this country, except that MITI disallow others price lower than Proton.

Now will you excuse me while I hunt down other stupid Macai ok!

• hAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Hussein, you are correct….

Msian car prices is control by MITI.

• this one of comment (@dino years) that i can agree…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • kretaluput on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:40 am

terus tutup kedai lagi bagus, tak payah susahkan rakyat and tax payer.Tax payer punyah wang buang laut lagi bagus drp kasi liah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 16
  • abuya123 on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:41 am

This is good news for haters…. Smile…. Jump on the floor Perodua, Toyota and Honda fella

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:26 pm

This is not about what car we own. This is about business and how WE’RE being cheated in the end. How stupid can a company be to purchase a car manufacturer but not factoring the investment to turn in around? In the end, you’re being small minded thinking this about what car we drive. IT IS NOT. IT IS ABOUT US, AS TAXPAYERS, AS RATEPAYERS, AS INDIVIDUALS, AS CITIZEN BEING FLEECED BY CRONIES! PLEASE WAKE UP!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • pamper on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:52 am

3 billion to put more stickers and ugly proton model.

Proton should just bungkus if they cant even stand on their own 2 feets. We malaysian dont need you.

Enough of all this stupid cronism and paying absurb amount of money to monkeys in your boardroom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 7
  • kumar on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:54 am

i thot they were selling P1. what a joke man. we do not want anymore from them. enough of being conned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • we can expect many more of 3 billions in the future asking from proton…as what history has proven…Proton, PLEASEEE just close down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
  • Majuperak on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:59 am

Proton is now no longer govt owned, why asking for development grant of RM3 billion ? Should be asking from DRB-HICOM Group since so many cash cows in the group …. if not just close shop la !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
  • Proton closing shop on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:10 am

Hey proton fan boys, you always supporting proton to the end while 99% of the rakyat is asking proton to close shop…. You can now open your cheque books & invest in proton, go ahead, put you money where your mouth is, we see how long more proton can stay afloat …even TDM also knows this shrinking ship is about to go down thus he is also pulling his exit !!!!
    Come on..don’t just talk all the time and say we bash proton, the consumers are fed up until a point where nobody wants to buy proton cars, there rather pay higher price for other auto car makers which is a better long term investment for the rakyat !!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 22
    • Hohoho on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:27 am

Well said. Cannot brain why they are asking for more money when they should be asking it from parent company DRB-Hicom…. unless DRB was hand twisted to buy proton and now DRB wants some money correct the issue.

Anyway, maybe someone needs to calculate how much money Proton has asked from the government for bailouts and see how much of rakyat’s money they have sucked. And if we use the money for something else, I am confident that it will benefit the country more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:36 pm

You are right. DRB HICOM is sitting on RM3.3 billion of cash and another 4.3 billion in receivables. And yet they are asking for money from the government. Patutla mamak boleh kaya!
        Sos: www.drb-hicom.com/cms/PublishedDocument/3Q14%20270214.pdf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • mambang on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:40 pm

shrinking ship eh?shrinking?

• saigetsu on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:13 am

dahla design hideous dengan grill panjang kat depan.
    engine kuat minyak, cabin bising cam hanjing.

Please go die proton. im begging DRB pleae sell it to VW. Please, I feel sorry for malaysian, this scumbag company use our money for r&d but in the end, the car produce below expectation and keep rebadging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 19
    • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:18 pm

I doubt anyone wants to buy Proton let alone VW. If China, the land of copies can produce the Qoros, what value does Proton have? This is part of how DRB will recover their “investment”. Purchase Proton for 1.29 billion than ask for 3.00 from government. That is DRB makes money, that is how the cronies make money. So wake up you Proton fanboys, this is all sandiwara to transfer government money (read duit rakyat) to a selected few. And we all pay for it in the form of barang naik and soon GST. Wake up la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Datuk on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:20 am

develop new engine please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • Why our people love to condemn others instead of support them. Is it our people love to see their own people become loser???. No wonder our people still 3rd class minded. So sad. Btw,I think Proton should try request fund from DRB. Since DRB is their parent company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 88
    • Hohoho on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:31 am

How to support when all the results Proton has shown is to take massive amount of resources and have little to results to show. And yes we have the Preve and Suprima.. but at what cost? 20+ years of rakyat’s money in billions! and for what? Uncompetitive cars? Lets not forget a few things….. in the earlier days, how can a satria sell cheaper in UK than in Malaysia? And how can the duty free imported Lancer be cheaper than the locally assembled Inspira? Where is all the money going?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • mmaker on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:36 am

Let say every malaysian support proton and then proton get this 3B, what will we get? Can we buy proton cars as cheap as it is in saudi arabia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • They are once proton buyers that really put hope in Proton as their first car at the first time. Eventually things get ugly and later really get frustrated. So can’t blame them…
      I would say let them face it this time, no cash flow to them, let them struggle and learn. I don’t think Proton will close shop too soon, but this is the right time they learned. If they don’t, then it’s bye bye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:58 am

How to support when leaking more and more money? If your house is leaking more and more water when it rains and you have no money to repair it, your will abandon it, right?
      People bash Proton for a good reason, they want Proton to improve on built quality and services, if they can’t and keep draining the peoples money, might as well call it a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • saigetsu on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:04 pm

you may not feel you are being used coz you dont see the money out of your pocket.

its freaking 25 years man, proton still cannot stand on itw own… what more proton want? more money until when? songlap here and there, DRB also lost hope and now what begging for money. Go to hell la. Dont produce any new car, just rebadge mitsu and stop asking money. PETRONAS/GOMEN BUKAN KILANG CETAK DUIT.

please just die if your core business is asking money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Hohoho on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Ya. Its like raising a kid to 25 years old and still asking for money from parents despite having a job and earning salary. Sooner or later, sure bankrupt the parents.

• gila gila on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:15 pm

You think DRB print money from the trees kah?

• Not that they can win with that 3bil. Anyone have the figure how much Proton wasted since inception?

• Jebonr on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Sorry gg. We are not “Bashing” Proton here. We are just “Telling” what Proton really was, is and will be. Proton performance has not shown anything “interesting” ever since Proton Wira was introduced by them. I belief this is due to Proton and maybe those in the Government having what you called “3rd Class minded”. We can’t be 1st class if we can’t accept comments, recommendations and suggestions no matter how bad it is. That’s the truth.

• wiralama on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:30 am

I am frustrated with PROTON’s current progress. After almost 30 years of operation, they should be able to stand on their own and of course, able to introduce better, innovative models rather than asking money around.

• Alwaysslavebeggarothersland on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:30 am

Proton close? Where’s your heart to this country? Should go back to your land lah. I know kniteyes and down syndrom homosapien comment looks like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 68
    • Hohoho on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:30 pm

U describing yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:34 pm

It’s because of people like you, Malaysia is still a 3rd world country. Go ahead support in the name of pride, it will hurt you in the form of taxes in the end. That is, if you do pay taxes at all.

• ufool on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Ya, ‘Alwaysslavebeggarothersland’. Ofcourse you can recognise la…. everytime you look into the mirror, the idiot is looking at you ma….

• you’re all damn right! where’s the Preve, Satria Neo and Superma S owner? everytimes said Proton is the best so now? go there and donate your money in Proton! Don’t worry e-Hasil can claim. :D

• Automotive B&D Men on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:33 am

I think the better option that the proton & DRB group need to do is sale their share to European or America
    giants automotive company event proton have the best facility in TG.Malim plant & plus with R&D facility at s.alam i don’t think that other giant company don’t want to buy this kind of facility.Event before this VW already tell that they want to buy share at proton provided that they must hold the majority of share.We don’t want proton close shop because over there got many people work over there if proton close shop many people will lose their jobs around 7k workers.Only this kind of agreement can give proton survival in automotive market because the major overseas share can give their engine & platform to proton w/out involve a lot of investment because they will get their profit during selling of this model.

• taboogen on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:38 am

malaysian mentality… in that case let close everything in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
    • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Hello genius, it’s normal business practice lah. Cannot compete close shop.

Only here dead zombies are kept alive. Maybe for extra actors in Walking Dead drama shootings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Thinkdis on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Would you continue to invest your money into a business which repeatedly lose money without much returns? If you think its ok, please pass your money to me to open losing business…and keep asking more money every time no enuf money to spend.

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:44 pm

biasalah, nk buat cmne?

skrg proton. nnt kot TM, Maxis baru diorg ada akal boleh pk.
      persaingan mmg sengit.

yg aku pelik, apakah motif nk tutup tutup proton nih?

xkn la kita nk jadi pengeluar hasil bumi tanpa ada nilai tambah?

sorry readers, if u don’t get what i’ve written, then u should learn malay languange :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Far Q on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Nak tambah sampai bila????? Dah 25 tahun.. lagi tambah? Tambah tambah tambah sampai hasil bumi bankrap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • farghmee on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:06 pm

tambah ape bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Far Q on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Tambah nilai pelaburan untuk Proton la… dah 25tahun lagi nak tambah?

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:04 am

aiyo..bro salahfaham la.

maksud gua, nilai tambah (inovatif)..
            bukannya tambah nilai.

fahami konteks.

• albag on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:41 am

3 billion can be used to do lots of beneficial matters for rakyat rather than giving to this shit company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Carnut on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:43 am

All this talk about Proton having equal tax structure as other makes is only one part of the picture. The reality is our tax money have always been funneled to P1 in the guise of R&D grants. Why would DRB risk putting more money into a money losing company when they can get handouts from our dear government. Nothing wrong with having a national car company. Look at how Hyundai and KIA turned out. But after so many years of failed promises of better products and performance something drastic have to take place in order for P1 to continue. Perhaps its the ingrained culture of cronyism, patronage or plain tidak apa attitude which are proving hard for them to change but we wouldnt know unless we are insiders in P1. But this surely reminds me a lot of MAS.

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:18 pm

At least MAS provide good service, Ah.. those pretty MAS girls and feminine looking boys.

• KangKungMan on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Huh?!? MAS purposely choose those ” feminine looking boys” ar ?

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:52 pm

“feminine looking boys”

‘Effeminate’ boys is the proper word. The other one is ‘Ladyboys’. Your choice!

• If proton collapse will be greatest news to malaysians in ages…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Proton won’t collapse anytime soon. The Gomen will give them something, may be not as much as 3 Billion.

• Proton close shop = malaysian second independance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • Joker on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:45 am

3bil…. seriously??? the country fiscal deficit is alrdy in deep shit and they’re requesting for 3bil… i’d rather they file for bankruptcy instead…
    If really 3bil granted i would like to see some germans/ french engineer and designer recruits…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:50 am

Please be a man, and do the right thing: get a loan, and them repay it using your own money. Thats why Banks exist. Unless your credit scoring is so bad, until cannot get loan approved. Then too bad so sad lah. Please lah enough of taking from taxpayers money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • This is odd for a privately owned company to ask government for funds, the 1st reason government sold it was to stop funding Proton!!!. all private automotive companies ask for funds to develop cars via their banks or for special manners use government grants or news technologies in which proton used them once to feed their FNR ppl!! Proton has a potential to do great things but management needs to overhaul. they should stop crony work and allow all companies and tech providers in Malaysia to participate in their new projects. all the good talented people who were forced to leave proton after DRB take over or under Lukman orders must be asked back to restart the pending work. this is what proton needs to do. let your RND to shine and do what they love to do and let them enjoy their work. Now that Lukman is gone and I believe Dato Harith is a good car guy and can good for the company. I know many ex proton people who were so brilliant whom after getting out of proton either started their own business or immediately got jobs from other companies in Malaysia or overseas mainly China. They need to try to bring them back even if they are not Malaysian. if proton has a good proposal banks all around the world would finance them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • farghmee on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:48 pm

tp majoriti komen di paultan ni fikir yg sebaliknya:
      xuntung, tutup. itu je.

aku sokong kenyataan ko:
      overhaul pengurusan & panggil semula tenaga kerja mahir.

• Far Q on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Berapa kali nak overhaul pengrusan? Dah 25 tahun…. dan dah banyak kali mintak perlindungan…. kalau xtutup, yang untung orang proton. Yang rugi, rakyat kerana duit 3b datang dari duit rakyat….

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:12 pm

dia minta rm3bil dr gomen & petronas.
          dia minta amik terus atau pinjam aje?
          apa details fund tu?

skrg ni gomen & petronas rejected.
          so apa isunya?

• Far Q on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Isunya, selepas 25tahun, proton lagi tak malu. Kena mintak duit rakyat lagi dan lagi dand lagi.

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:08 am

itu bukannya isu.

dah xde $, g la cari $:
            pinjam ke, jual aset ke, sewa ke.

tu secara umumlah.

• sipaigong on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:51 am

New Models ? Preve, Suprima , aren’t these new models supposed to bring back Proton to its glory day. Lets face it, when Proton was distributed by EON, they have the best market share . But some smart guys came and decided to do some funny arrangements with the network and look what happened ?

• Glory days? … you mean during the days when there were no internet, no Myvi, no Vios, no City, 3 speed auto gear box?

• Jinggo on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:51 am

please R.I.P la proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • the driver on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:54 am

Is RM3b enough? They may have forgotten to include ‘wang ehsan’ to all those corporate automotive suppliers. Fix the accounting up and you might see results. Same goes for MAS.

• No wonder many malaysians are still 3rd class minded as they still think proton should not be condemned..proton is a spoon-fed child who still doesnt know how to catch its own fish, even it’s already 30 year old…
    proton is a malaysian company , and it’s burdening malaysian rakyat more than helping them…Between proton and rakyat, i choose the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • iluvcars on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:55 am

Give 3 billion to all the car owner better

• If can’t survive, rather than close shop, might as well just sell it to VW, and soon we will get:
    Prowagen Passat R Line
    Prowagen Golf GTi
    Prowagen Beetle
    Prowagen Sharan

• 3 bil? Tak payah la. Bukannya boleh jual pon.

• highwaystar82 on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Actually preve and suprima are good cars with good features like safety and driving comfort. Many of us know this. The only thing that stops ppl from buying is the campro engine. Proton’s target buyers are middle class ppl and as a middle class myself i would prefer an engine thats fuel efficient not necessarily fast. How to drive fast when our speed limit is 110? Dont forget AES. What happened to the petronas engines? And also If there is no positive news coming from proton, ppl are going to be more discouraged to buy proton. If they are not improving then better just close shop and dont influence other car prices.(ask any non salesman, they will tell you).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:25 pm

If you stay in Langkawi you won’t buy a Proton also lah…don’t talk cork okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Trying so hard to be impartial & indirectly praising Preve & Suprima but failed badly.

• If you think Proton’s call for RM3b for new model is positive they can assist by buying into their shares now. Put the money where your mouth is.

I think I will go with MITI and Petronas decision.

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Tendang duit RM3b masuk longkang! Bodoh punya Petronas if they do it!

• works on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:21 pm

They don’t need the 3 billion if they do it right in the first place…if give 1 trillion also doesn’t solve if the root cause of their problem still there which is crony problem, not many country they can have good sales and other problem. People who manage the proton are the causing cancer to proton itself. open the malaysian market for other manufacturer to compete in fair situation. Then proton can develop maturely which i don’t see it can be happening.

• I agree with the comments that Proton should ask money from DRB instead, but I don’t agree that Proton have to close shop. DRB should look at how Tata keeps pumping money (and make big losses) to JLR until JLR became a highly profitable group.

Come on guys, all Proton needs is a competent management team that has extensive engineering background, innovative daring mindset and no political/crony ties. Proton until now led by some clueless high ranked accountants and these guys are slowing Proton down, and needs to be expelled quick.

Proton close shop or not, I am 100% sure that govt WILL NOT reduce those taxes. It’s better to improve Proton and have our own identity rather than having Perodua as our only carmaker (that produces recycled Japanese tin cans) and still paying high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Take Tata as lame example.

Look what happen to Lotus under Proton. Make loss still survive. Magic!

• John A on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:47 pm

no…Lotus can survive because it sells little amount of car with high price…proton will die because it cannot sell as the lotus sell…proton will be like saab…have a good quality car, dead because not selling it…or just sell proton to any chinese company…

• Ubah!lol on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Hideous design, high tax, high fuel consumption, engine not powerful, tired of being conned by proton,this that, bla bla bla. Why all the anger? You don’t get ‘conned’ if you don’t buy it, would you? hideous design? great, go buy some other beautiful car, a Benz perhaps? If you have the money :) Or are you expecting a Benz at RM60k? really? Is that the mentality you people would like to instill to your children’s mind? Don’t have the money to buy a better car, so curse the one you can afford, yeah! that’d be good right? lol what a joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • NiKaliLah on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:47 pm

How not to buy protong & produda if all the same level foreign@imported car the bn gomen put backdoor pocket money to high.. cukai sana cukai sini last2 car with 50k pricetag became 110k.

• Preve & Suprima? hahah
    Faulty power window, engine bocor.
    That uncle don’t create huge havoc at Mutiara branch for no reason, you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Kuat bising lah itu uncle!

Who ask him to buy Proton? Sudah kena rosak, baru komplen. Padan muka.

• nabill on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Rm3.8 billion is nothing,dats a politician’s 1mnth salary….im jus wondering why arent thy seeking funds from banks or financial institution?? Dats da norm if ur seeking huge funds or restructuring

• Tolerance has its limit. Is not that we the rakyat do not want to support Proton. Is just because we already given them way too many chances but still not up to majority’s expectation.

This is like you tell your girl friend that I will marry you but no action taken and all is empty promises. She had been forgiving and giving chances but still no results. Definitely she will give up on you and leave you.

Same applies here. This is why majority ppl give up on Proton.

• While Australia allow its auto industries to collapse, Malaysia still proud of Proton (despite Proton has been losing $$$ for decades)

Sigh…

• Just sell it to Volkswagen and do what you guys do best. Rebadge. I’m quite serious. Skoda and Seat rebadge VW cars and people like it. Maybe Malaysian will like a cheaper Proton Golf and Proton UP!

• Absolute Rider on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Problem of Proton is because you spend too much time, your capital and man power on unnecessary variants just like recently launched Suprima S Super Premium, Satria Neo Standard 4AT and Inspira Super Premium. With RM3.8 billion you will come out more unnecessary variants.

Proton, you should use your time, your capital and your man power to do market research, R&D, create more new designers and appoint new head designer which is really good on the job, upgrading facilities in all areas including your vendors and many others.

Your Preve and Suprima S with 5 star rating is not good enough. The car is so heavy! Look at upcoming Hyundai Sonata. Hyundai says more advanced high-strength steel (51% vs 21% previously) has been used in the new car’s platform. Along with increased use of structural adhesives, more hot-stamped parts and the addition of dual-member structures in key body areas, the next-gen Hyundai Sonata promises to be lighter and 40% more rigid than before.

Other car makers already have adaptive / active head lamps either using laser, LED, or bi-xenon type. What about yours, Proton? Your Preve and Suprima S interior quality still not up to good standard. You got the touchscreen navigation ICE system but it’s old and with bad quality display.

Please Proton, do it properly and not half bake cake. Just like in malay word, kerja jangan alang-alang.

Soryy Proton, please push harder. Wanted to get Suprima S before launch, but after I decided better save my money first. I’ve comment about your Suprima S before, get it fixed maybe I’ll be the first to book your facelited Suprima S!!

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:58 pm

You better don’t buy Proton and save money! Please, you won’t regret it!!!!

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:32 pm

How to push harder when the brains are almost fried already?

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:35 pm

I am not really into proton. But an idea I do have. Proton and its planning dept and the R&D division is stupid still wanna make new models from scratch.

They shed go back to the existing platforms they own like waja… Neo…exora and saga. Example like waja.. Maintain the original body skeleton but u can always change both ends with a totally new design. Only new body panels. And dashboard. And quarter panels. And boot lid. Everything so new that ppl can only recognise the doors.

I think this is something that Theo will enjoy doing. Styling an already existing car.

Surely it won’t cause 3 billion on what is known as facelift but a major revamp.

• John A on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:53 pm

yes you r right…umw toyota always do that and still nobody angry with them hahahaha…

• Far Q on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Cos UMW dont take government funds… they earn it like how other proper companies do.

• Markus on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:42 pm

I guess they are asking for 3bil so that they can purchase the license to cars from other brands and then put the proton sticker on them.

• 30YearsIsEnough on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:48 pm

If Proton tutup kedai many ppl will be out of job and out of business. The best way going forward is to admit defeat and sell to VW or other automobile giants that willing to buy. Proton is too weak to compete in the real world alone. Face the facts and deal with it now.

• Albert Lee on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:43 pm

How to admit defeat? Who is the founder?Anyway,he is quietly departing from proton.(Titanically speaking)
      MAS should tutup kedai first with accumulated losses of many Billions RM.It is still around ,run by MR.JAUH HARI,Cronies and suppliers get paid,cos Gomen quarantee the debts.
      Bank Bumi was bailed out twice using TAXPAYERS monies.
      MAS has already cos TAXPAYERS Billions since Idris Jala left.
      The Abyss is too deep for Proton to get out.

• Afrojoe on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:50 pm

As much I like to see proton move forward such these request is unacceptable, from the moment they have high tech facilities they should be able to produce car that on par with other car makers, still proton produce a car that’s not quite meet our demand, for the sake of profit margin they didn’t develop gdi technologies, cmon proton clearly your strategy doesn’t work, if preve is fitted with gdi I’m sure your sale will be good, the car will get better fc thanx for the gdi and plus your already proven good chassis I’m more n more ppl opt to buy, think about it.

• oldtimer on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:51 pm

instead of new model, how about facelift the old model with new tech??
    or take a risk, relaunched the famous older models with new tech.. there is always market for old models like saga wira satria etc.. hahaha so there will newer parts for my 29 year old saga..

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Cakap senang or minta duit free lagi senang?

• No need to make this a big issue. Just sell of the business rather than taking so long to please our fellow Malaysians year after year. Let’s make foreign cars more affordable!

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:11 pm

True what! Just lelong Proton factories to Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Toyota, VW or whichever big volume popular cars. The workers still got jobs also, just tukar towkey only!

• ruffstuff on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:56 pm

It shows that DRB intention in acquiring proton is not helping proton, but to acquire their asset for something else in return. They’ll never fork out their own money for proton developement, but asking money from government. This even worst than khazanah.

• Guan Yin Ma on Mar 05, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Haix. typical malay business style. Kept ask for money. Duno what is shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Chinaman on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Excuse me. This has NOTHING to do with race. Please do not turn this into a racial issue.

This is about a mindset to keep asking for money and not wanting to be independent. Leave race out of this please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Local on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Another failure…

Come on 3billion? better make use of the $ for the Malaysian People, Resolve the issue within here, road works, public transport, public security, education and vice versa.

Proton is not competitive enough to stand its own. It would be better to close it or sell it to other foreign companies like china. Also they are not making any good/great/enthusiast cars, just making for the sake of making. Let those company who does best what they do.

Proton is just a “wannabe”.

• Mean Machine on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Does Sam Loo approve of this? Lol…

• Najib on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Can ask from Rosmah lar…she has all our tax payer money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • hanhan on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:12 pm

proton please dont waste money again laa.why dont you just shut down your operation and benefit all the consumer.malaysian will be very very grateful for that.

• CloseShop on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Declare bankruptcy la, all the old and blood sucking people forced to leave the company and restructure it, hiring talent and young people

• Come on lah government, you can spend RM4 billion on LCCT, RM30 billion on KTM double tracking, RM40 billion on KVMRT, RM1 billion annually to MAS, RM25 million annually on your single A319 private jet.

Just a RM3 billion for a national pride is consider very low, Proton should asking for USD3 billion instead to become a global player.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Tanah Merah on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Proton should merge with MAS, they can design aircraft for MAS then both of them can make profit !

• Albert Lee on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:32 pm

There you go again,SHAMEFUL Proton .
    As a private entity,you lost RM105 juta last quarter cos of poor management and absence of competitive fuel efficient cars.Now you want to BLEED the rakyat further.
    Hey,all the bumi companies out there losing money will also ask RM3 Billion .
    The arab is STINKING rich BUT wants to enslave Malaysians with another BAILOUT.
    Someday,a Hellfire missile fired from a drone will hopefully hurtle off course and hit this SHAMEFUL bunch of crooked businessmen.

• Lane tamer on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Proton, if I am the GM of Petronas and if u ask that amount of money from me, I”ll surely give a hard slap on ur face. Tarak malukah?

• Where does those tax money go? Import duty excise duty GST and so on? Aren’t they there to protect Proton and Perodua? Use that money? Gone already?

Now you need more money to come up with new model? Didn’t you just rebadge? Rebadge also need a lot of money is it? New model my foot. Your R&D department has not been working for a while. Just rebadge like you always do.

Want 3billion to make another milo tin car? My foot.

• kobealex on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:48 pm

The only problem with reinvesting in proton is that, will the investment be used effectively? Is the management of Proton good enough to turn things around? Do these people have the experience and know-how of the automotive industry to turn Proton around? These are the answers that Proton needs to provide…

• b sensible on Mar 05, 2014 at 1:50 pm

proton can’t stand on its own now. just as the old saying, if you don’t have the knowledge, join them. why so thick face want to be a standalone car maker as it’s losing market share day by day. the answer is to sell the controlling stake to world auto giant in exchange of know-how. otherwise go bust! sorry to say that’s no U-turn for proton if the situation doesn’t improve!

• As usual, idiot Malaysians commenting here without using their brains again.

Why Proton’s sales still haven’t improved ? Simple.

1. Their volume seller / flagship car is the Saga. The Saga came out a long time ago, in early 2008. It is old. The Myvi is much newer and all-round better. Even so, the Saga is still the second best selling car in Malaysia (thanks to the Super Value model). The Prevé, which is the ‘ideal choice’ Proton right now is too expensive for low and middle-income Malaysians, they are the people who buy Protons and Peroduas. Most of the Klang Valley and Penang populations have already moved up to the upper-middle class or even high-income, and can afford D-segment and Continental cars. If they buy a Proton/ Perodua, it would be a secondary car or for their kids to go to university. The Suprima’s sales were never expected to be strong in Malaysia, it was NEVER meant for Malaysia. From day one, it was clear the Proton intended the Suprima to be sold in export markets where the hatchback body style is preferred over a sedan/saloon one (the reverse is true for most Asian countries). Proton will launch the Suprima in the UK soon, as soon as they are done quality testing it for British conditions. The Exora is another old Proton, now in its final year before a new Exora is released in mid-2015. The Inspira and Satria Neo are for niche buyers. The Persona SV has probably helped sales a bit since it is cheap, but it is also too old.

The point is, Proton DOES NOT have a strong volume seller as of yet. However, the GSC will help sales a bit (it will eat into the Myvi sales), but even that won’t be enough. Still, the new Saga (which will probably be based on the GSC platform) will be Proton’s saviour. The sooner Proton releases an all-new Saga, the better.

2. It is not because Proton is still making bad cars. They’re not. It’s just the people’s perception hasn’t changed since 10 or 20 years ago. It is not just Proton, same goes for Toyota as well, albeit in reverse. Meaning, people who buy the Vios expect a class leading car (which it was back then when there were few competitors) but today it is mostly outdated and incompetent. A lot of the new Korean cars are excellent value for money, but again, it is the tarnished reputation of Korean cars in the past which hold back sales today (which is a shame because they deserve credit for their achievements).

3. Also, one more point which many tend to overlook is that Proton’s bigger cars, the Preve, Exora etc. are priced in Japanese B-segment territory (RM60-80k). For that price, many Malaysians are willing to give up extra space, a Turbo engine and Lotus handling (Prevé) for Japanese reliability and peace of mind (Almera, City, Vios etc.). Perodua’s cars have almost no competitors. Proton’s sales have really gone down because of this. That is why the Saga is so important to them, because the Saga only competes with the Myvi and has no other real competitors.

Do you want to know whether Proton has really improved or not ? Just wait for the Suprima S launch in the U.K. this year. If sales are reasonably good, that means they’re doing something right. If not, we’ll see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 50
    • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:13 pm

4. You’re fool blind idiot. Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • Are you from Mars?
        Can admin put up images of all proton cars, have a good look…then evaluate their achievement for the period of 31 years…not 10 or 20. Duhhh…

Billions are spent. R&D my c@ck! Shame lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Whosefault? on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:23 pm

The reasons you mentioned is the fault of bad management (i.e. old tech, over priced), Why does Proton need to ask for money from the Govt? They should be getting loans from banks to begin with.

Also, if Suprima and GSC is such a life saver to Proton, wait till sales numbers are up then redevelop la. Why need money now? Its like spending money Proton doesn’t have and getting more into dept.

And I agree, Proton cars are much better what its used to be, but the competition has progressed further than Proton, hence sustaining the perception.

End of the day, all the frustrations here are about Proton asking for more all the time since it started.

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Why should the European buy Suprima when they got Polo, Golf, Fiesta, Focus etc to choose from at far cheaper price?

Proton self deluded is second to none lah!

• Are you from Mars?
      Can admin put up images of all proton cars, have a good look…then evaluate their achievement for the period of 31 years…not 10 or 20. Duhhh…
      Billions are spent. R&D my c@ck! Shame lar.

• Aero bullshit on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Hey numbnuts, don’t call Malaysian’s idiots, your a Malaysia as well, so you are calling your dumb self an idiot too, shocking how your brain works.

While you may have some points on proton’s models not selling well its just another round of excuses shown by proton on their part of not preforming accordingly and improving despite years and years of backing and funding from our government using the rakyat’s money !

They still producing sub-standard cars which cannot compete globally at all even with the 5 star rating, the design and quality of the car is hopeless and not to mention a crappy engine is still being used. You said the Suprima was develop to be sold in the UK, why would proton look at selling their cars in other markets when their own local market is not favourable and cannot even compete close to other car makers locally !!

25 years and still despite small improvements, its no where close to becoming a global player let alone a local player in our car market, what a shame, so time to admit defeat and sell proton or close shop.

Aero, your clearly a blind fan boy of proton, why not show the entire forum here, that you willing to invest your life savings into proton since they need money and nobody wants to provide for them now, go ahead, show proof that you have invested your money in Proton to us then perhaps you walk the talk, if not your just another free loader earning to stay on government funding for the rest of you life and talking like a dam fool !!

Better still get TDM to stay on in proton, get him to invest some of his money back into proton, am sure 3billion is nothing for him, go ahead, write a petition for him to pour back money into proton !!Why is TDM quietly existing proton ……because he not an idiot like you say he and Malaysian are, we know when the ship is sinking and beyond repair, time to jump ship !!

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:57 pm

You’re damn right!

All Proton fanboys must donate all their money give to Proton!

So Aero, what are waiting for???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Enthu on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Go bark at those Vios/City/Almera buyers and tell them they should get a Proton instead. In the end you are still a dreamer barking around where nobody gave a damn about your ranting.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Wow, the loudmouth calling rest of us idiots and then shooting himself in the foot.

I agree with what you are saying. Yes, none of the models sold well. WHY? because they are not competitive. If you can’t be competitive and survive, then as a business entity you should not be operating.

a few new models isn’t going to turn proton around. Proton needed to turn its own management and operations around before they can come out with competitive products.

Suprima S in the Euro market? Don’t hold your breath. Its going to flop. With fuel being that expensive in Europe, you really think the Suprima’s rather poor fuel numbers are going to get a lot of buyers? Proton doesn’t have diesels. How do you expect them to sell in Europe??

• Protong steam on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Aero…what cock you talking …. Proton DOES NOT have a strong volume seller as of yet.

25 years of business in Malaysia and you telling its not a strong volume seller …. Farking idiot …. Do Root Cause Analyst and you’ll know like the rest of the 99% of the rakyat, proton cars are hopeless, out-dated tech engines, crappy design, hopeless quality, fuel guzzler cars and crappy safety and that why proton will never be a strong volume seller back here, what more overseas market !!

That’s the problem, proton cannot even fix their problems in-house let alone in our market and they want to target overseas markets, HYUNDAI,KIA even Japanese auto makers all have strong volume seller in their own market/country & then only they look at overseas markets. Our Jaguh Kampung is doing the opposite way targeting UK and Australian market thinking its their driving force for volume seller, nobody in those countries will even think of looking at a proton car let alone buying one !

• BLT Club on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Your response is side-stepping the issue, a common trait in politicians I must say. Are you a politician my dear Aero? The argument is simple, Proton is now part of DRB, why does it need to solicit financial support from the government and the state oil producer when the parent is sitting on RM3 bil in cash and it also has ability to raise debt. Your answer, though long winded does not address this point. Even if Proton does improve, like your last paragraph suggests, even if the sales in the UK grows, so what? You pointed this out, Proton does not have a volume seller. And the GSC (also according to you) is not enough. So, what pray tell will the RM3,000,000,000,000 bail-out get us? The answer is simple, Malaysia DOES NOT NEED A NATIONAL CAR. Proton doesn’t have the domestic base to support this and internationally Proton cannot compete. 25 years of crutches have proven this. So why continue a money draining business?

• Protong steam on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:12 pm

BLT Club, you have painted a clear and accurate picture or proton, a 25 year time piece of a company delusions blended into reality and Aero is full of shit, that’s rite Aero, wipe your mouth, there is still shit dripping out of it !!!

• booking surpass 6000 units on Mar 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Malaysia is too small to have national car

• Anti-proton on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Totally agree with you, bro!

• Facebook on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:23 pm

If proton did produce good cars, they could have did well in Thailand. Can’t even sell well in Thailand yet you expect it to be sold well in UK? U r just day dreaming n speaking tons of bullshits just to protect proton…

• holofanboi on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:20 am

Aero, the sheer legion of Proton-haters are not without their reasons. Most are very likely the ones who was burned by Proton’s poor build quality of the past, and now that most of them have gotten to the point in life where they are able to afford better cars…it isn’t surprising to see them exact revenge over the internet on Proton.

However, there is also no doubt that rage is blinding the haters to the fact that engineering-wise, Proton is definitely catching up. The only area they’re still lagging behind is a brand new engine development and in-house gearbox which I highly doubt Proton would even consider investing in. What with the other automakers now relying on external parties to supply their gearboxes.

Driving ‘dynamics’ on the other hand…is entirely subjective. I for one spit at the incomprehensible notion of ‘how the car drives’ after having driven the F30(320), F10(528 yes I got lucky) and W204. Driving dynamics is more often than not just a way for journalists to cram words into an article for readership (sincerest apologies paul,harv,danny,chris and hafriz).

THERE ARE however, absolute objectivity to be found when it comes how a car is superior to one another and in this case, Proton is ->at least<- catching up. I echo AVH and Aero that too much have been invested in Proton to let it die.

We, as Malaysians are free to criticize Proton till the universe ends. But for the stability and future of our economy, we CANNOT allow Proton to fail! (Yes, I too hate Proton's management over the years which put them in this current state of affairs now.)

• Another proton clown trying to be impartial here. The moment bmw comes out, we know its proton clown here.

• Your saga has never beat myvi since launched in 2008, even the final year of 1st gen of myvi. What are you talking about?

And how many suprima have you sold overseas?

• kobealex on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:23 pm

1. It is not that Proton does not have a strong volume seller, but its just that their product (even after much improvement) still isn’t up to what the rest of the world is producing. To put it simply, Proton is finding it difficult to keep pace with the pact. The saga alone, even if it becomes the best selling car domestically, will not be enough for Proton to sustain the whole business. In other words, put domestic dominance aside, Proton’s products needs to compete globally. When the products can compete in an open market, then I believe domestically Proton will have no problem.

2. I’ve just came back from Proton CoSE this afternoon. After looking closely at the Suprima S, it looks a nice car from the outside but it is let down by the poor interior workmanship. Had trouble opening both the glovebox and the shilling box? (the one below the push-start button). They just get stuck. Even the interior door handler, you could see the inner fittings from the huge gap.

Also, you mentioned Korean cars? I don’t think they are doing as bad as they did. Their sales has been gradually improving seeing that there are alot more korean makes on the road nowadays. I would say the brand confidence is gradually building up for both Kia and Hyundai in Malaysia. Globally they are doing really good right now.

3. I stress again that Sage dominance domestically alone is not enough, the Preve and Suprima S should be a make-or-break product for Proton because the C-segment market is HUGE globally. The Saga can only get you so far. The Preve could have won over many potential owners in that RM60-80k price range if it would have been that much better.

So the Suprima S and Preve is not doing too well in Australia, what makes you think it can do well in UK?

Most Malaysian (and that includes me) wants Proton to do good, but their product needs to be more relevant to the global market.

• GreaseMonkey on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:01 pm

I somehow agree that Proton should not just ceased operation but (if the Rm3bil fund is granted) should instead only market their products outside of Malaysia. This is the win-win situation for all Malaysian and Malaysia economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • The day that proton was born, its already the founder wins and the rakyat lose.

• D.I.Y on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:02 pm

When see the figure of 3billion.. I wonder how they make the money from. Since all the while Proton producing low budget car, wonder where they generate the high profit. Its wasting nation money, to continue sustained this brand. Hopeless proton

• Abdullah on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Throwing good money after bad money.

• Bro above, u serious? Even at home land cannot win, can win at other countries? Exspecially uk? Have u been to korean? Have u spoken to koreans? Do u know how much they support and love their home brand cars? Do u know how hardworking they are? They are really into doing business where ours are into money laundring. I can’t help but to think that u are some how thinking that u are related and benefittted or benefitting still from all this government money laundring projects. Where got individual company ask government for money. If like this everyone better resign from work and start business then ask money from government. Then affter all bottle fed by the government, who will give the government money to spend then?

• Syaitan on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:30 pm

RIP lah Proton….& C Ya In Hell!!!

• Enough hardship caused !! Pergi close together with MAS

• This is one hell of a post!

• bluebird on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Potong can’t even produce a normal car properly and now wanting money to produce electric cars.
    My grandma used to learn, learn to walk first before you learn to fly.

• Sudah 31 year old…boleh jadi papa, lagi mau mintak duit utk keta baru…malu la….

Of coz bank taknak pinjam, bank tengok acc company pun lari…

Banyak buaya!

• syafiq on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:49 pm

best commentor..

Problem of Proton is because you spend too much time, your capital and man power on unnecessary variants just like recently launched Suprima S Super Premium, Satria Neo Standard 4AT and Inspira Super Premium. With RM3.8 billion you will come out more unnecessary variants.

Proton, you should use your time, your capital and your man power to do market research, R&D, create more new designers and appoint new head designer which is really good on the job, upgrading facilities in all areas including your vendors and many others.

Your Preve and Suprima S with 5 star rating is not good enough. The car is so heavy! Look at upcoming Hyundai Sonata. Hyundai says more advanced high-strength steel (51% vs 21% previously) has been used in the new car’s platform. Along with increased use of structural adhesives, more hot-stamped parts and the addition of dual-member structures in key body areas, the next-gen Hyundai Sonata promises to be lighter and 40% more rigid than before.

Other car makers already have adaptive / active head lamps either using laser, LED, or bi-xenon type. What about yours, Proton? Your Preve and Suprima S interior quality still not up to good standard. You got the touchscreen navigation ICE system but it’s old and with bad quality display.

Please Proton, do it properly and not half bake cake. Just like in malay word, kerja jangan alang-alang.

Soryy Proton, please push harder. Wanted to get Suprima S before launch, but after I decided better save my money first. I’ve comment about your Suprima S before, get it fixed maybe I’ll be the first to book your facelited Suprima S!!

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Yes true Proton factory is wasting tons of good steel to produce scrap iron!

Sad but true.

• Sgdude on Mar 05, 2014 at 2:55 pm

U guys want to save proton , start hiring foreigners/ europeans as CEO first, and see how he/she does it…

• Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Normally doctor will turn off the respirator if the patient cannot be rescued rather than let him suffer coma silently. Mercy killing they said.

• KangKungMan on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Proton pls lar … Jual je … senang utuk semua rakyat Malaysia … tak payah bayar lebih lebih tax untuk you main testing testing again. We already kena few rounds … More then 10 years liao …. Pls lar pls … Sell je … which able to “benefits” Malaysian…

• Facebook on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Proton is asking RM3billion for new models???
    U want to change new models, is your own problem…y would u want to ask help from government??? Where r all the profits since 1983??? after 30yrs, u still can develop ur own design, engine, gearbox etc…after giving u RM3billion wat new models will Proton have? Rebadge of Mitsubishi or Honda obsolete models??? Pathetic Proton, worse than P2…At least P2 just rebadge n did not ask funds for rebadging…

• RM3 bil for new models???!!! I rather donate RM3 billions helping the poor.

• RM3 bill!!!

RM2 B = masuk
    RM1 B = Proton

Agree?

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Quite agree, the guys that owned Proton might siphon off some money to help in their other business, since besides Proton they also operate so many different kind of businesses.

• mason on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:19 pm

seriously ,RM 3 bil? please proton management,seriously consider a partnership with global player ,even with a little bit unfairness,better than asking money for a continously losing money.show us that proton management is serious about transforming.

• Faizul on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:27 pm

proton is already a failed investment because it has been managed by incompetent managers right from beginning. proton only show some progress during syed zainal days. unfortunately, a good manager doesnt always win the heart of the owner so he must go. now proton is not owned by goverment. it is indeed owned by an established corporate entities that is big enough to support investment needed by proton. the question of money from government does not arises anymore bcoz it is not owned by the government anymore. Is is either drb funded proton or else just close shop and sold it to foreigners…

• thebugbud on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Proton is like a spoil kid asking a dying mum, that is loaded in debt, for money. The dying mum may give the money so that the spoil kid looks good while the mum can still feel proud.

The only problem is, the money that the dying mum give is not from her own pocket but it’s from your pocket. You and me.

Seriously, do I or you care of the spoil kid of being looking good? After all, the stupid kid only causing problems and already last for 30 years.

If we continue to give, the kid will never grow up cuz there’s always an easy way out.

It’s up to us to stop and move on.

• lemer on Mar 05, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I do not expect so many stupid Malaysians. Seeking fund is normal in business expansion. The Star just tweak the news looking for sensation. Bunch of Fools easily misled by news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Hussein on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Seeking funds one thing. Another thing is repay back the funds.

if RM3 Billion given free money, wow I also mau lah! Mana mau isi form? Macam apply BR1M kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • ufool on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Seeking fund is normal in business expansion. Asking for interest free money from the taxpayers money is NOT NORMAL! That is leeching! Can you stop being the ignorant bigot Malaysian??!

• farghmee on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:42 pm

tang mana ckp interest free tu?
        link pls.

• ufool on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:21 pm

If not wanting interest free or free money, why ask from government? Get from bank or float more shares into the share market or look for joint venture or look for investors. So many options, why go to government only?

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:09 am

thank you for ur explanation.

but…link please.

• Guys….
    This is all sandiwara lah. Govt will need to be seen as “idenpendant”. They know rakyat hate proton. So by given a chance to deny proton, it will “appear” to be doing the country good. And then rakyat will say “Syabas Govt” blah blah…

Seriously, if proton really want money from Govt, you think they will ask PUBLICLY!!!!. Govt will just transfer saja quiet quiet.

But anyway, it is a good show. Can win Oscar for Original Screenplay.

• jika pasal proton je, mesti ramai yg comment, why?

• lemer on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Just read first paragraph.
    “A report” by The Star.
    “A source” telling The Star.

And some folks eating that s**t. Oh well, bunch of idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Your lemer name says it all ! on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:13 pm

So your telling that The Star now reports on gossip/grapevines news. Wow so I guess the report on water crisis from The Start is also bullshit and we are just eating that up too !!

Well an idiot like you will probably be the last person in Malaysia to not store water and when you don’t have water supply, you’ll be going around asking everyone else for water !!

A report is a statement of events which is either taking place or happening while a source might be not true or true as its a source without a confirmation but just information gathered from here and there !!
      Balik sekolah lemer, pergi belajar English sekali lagi !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • superman on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:46 pm

proton tell governemnt, if you dont give us money we will not sell you the outdated Honda Proton Accordana anymore.

• Proton is a company.
    Cannot blame proton.
    The idea to have national car maker is good. But the people in charge might not be as good.
    If should, then blame the people.
    The management, the decision maker.

• Jebonr on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:54 pm

I pity Proton. But asking for that much money is just crazy. Sorry to say this, but Proton’s track record shows it lack commitment for improvement. There’s no guarantee that this will benefits Proton or Malaysian Tax Money even for that one reason. Proton will just have to prove it-self, on it’s own, starting small.

• Mr tony on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:56 pm

SELL TO DATO Tony Fernandes..Simple..he can make Proton …untungx10.still malaysia own

• isuzuki on Mar 05, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Enough is enuf, don’t waste our (tax payers) money or country resources ANYMORE… Period

• Henry on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:02 pm

There is no way one can fill a bottomless hole. And Proton is a bottomless hole.

• Proton..please lah tutup..walaupun proton dibuat oleh tangan-tangan Islam yang dibasahi wudhu’

tapi please lah…bungkus cepat

walaupun proton dibuat oleh tangan-tangan Islam yang dibasahi wudhuk; cliche

-Insanity: is doing the same thing over and over again, and expecting different result-

• norman on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Another solution is to get Honda engines thus reduce cost about 35%.Proton can develop their own chassis,their own hot press foaming body and ride and handling by Lotus.We all know how reliable Japanese engine is so by doing so buyer confidence level will surely shoot up overnight.Jazz 1.3/1.5 engine can fit into Saga,Preve and suprima can use Civic 1.6 engine,Exora can use Civic 1.6
    & Stream 1.8 powerplant.Perdana can use Accord 2.0 & 2.4 engines.What else?Turbocharging?Well can always factory fitted into those engines anytime.Want more sporty Neo can use
    Civic 2.0 type R engine..Its time to move on Proton…Saga and Exora sales profit all go where may i ask?Pls be honest..Singapore is now famous for Exora after Gen2…

• norman on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Problem with Proton lies within its management and staffs.From the vendors to their sales executive all are not up to standard.Ive known a few dedicated guys in ride and handling motorsport quit for good.The Campro actually potential but dishonest vendors and undertable personnel make it tarnish.Proton pays for 1st grade parts but these idiotics buy 3rd grade stuff.Service centre like their father home suka2 service people cars.Dr Eppal from Quality dept now very quiet..Stomach too big cause eat undertable money too much..Got a friends using original parts for their rides and hey it still working fine although need more refinement..First of all they need to overhaul all their dept level..Sack them if necessary and employ those passionate ppl from BMW,Toyota,Hyundai if they must.Lotus just sell them away for good.Modern cars need great acceleration and mid torque.Turbo more to mid and long range.Proton is doin things backwards.Pls pls wake up from your bad dream Proton..Sack those who cant perform or corrupted

• the darkside on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:01 am

kawan…the CFE engine max torque starts at 2000 rpm…all the way to 4000rpm…thats low to midrange…where got long range. that way u get good acceleration. Everybody is doing turbocharged engines now including BMW, VW, Peugeot…now japanese also following with Honda. Qoros oso using turbocharged engine.
      Other than talking about cars…i must say i find this news about RM3Billion abit hard to accept…what on earth privatisation is for??? It shows that Proton/DRB are not willing to change. Khakk Puiihhh proton

• Aik.. nak blame vendor pulak. Typical mentality, blame sini, blame sana. Tak boleh berak, blame tanah keras.

• Lemer on Mar 05, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I pity some people here eating hot s**t stir up by The Star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • ufool on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:25 pm

I pity ignorant idiots who is eating the hot s**t stir up by Lemer.

• 3 billions sure 100% settle by this few months. i bet more than 3 billions soon. after that i will buy Proton Accordana!

• i think we should just get away from buying proton.
    each of us tell our family, friends not to buy proton.
    then let them tell their family and friends.
    one pass to each other.
    just let proton dies off in peace, gradually.(in fact,proton is dying in this way, the sales figure talk)
    we those afford higher price car will never buy proton.
    those poorer, please work hard and one day you can afford a non proton as sign of successful.
    one of the treatment for cancer, is to cut off its blood supply.
    if proton got no business, unlikely government will support it from head to toe.
    for those proud to have national car, only one the south east asia, sorry to you.
    i really feel disgrace to have such national car as malaysian. to be honest, the fact that i once own a proton is really humiliating.
    wish if we can have a national pool election to decide whether should let proton carry on or not?
    proton market in malaysia is saturated.
    somehow poor people getting richer and afford almera, city, attrage.
    or somehow poor people become poorer cant afford car but only motorcycle.
    no one will buy proton eventually.
    thats the time proton last breath.
    end our suffers for more than 30 years.
    we really dont need a national car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • from very beginning, proton has been a failure project. It is not too late to shut it down now. Only ego prevail… Not bad.. Once upon a time, there was a proton in Malaysia..

• Let the damn bain of the nation sink!

• Say Something on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:50 pm

I’m wondering. Do they really need 3 billion for development or……

• norman on Mar 05, 2014 at 6:59 pm

No,We need multi national passionate and honest ppl run Proton not those corrupted mind ppl..Every country dream is to have its own products.We can do so by follow strict guidelines.We need quality ppl from Europe,We need reliable engines from Japan,We need honest ppl for purchasing dept,We need those passionate technicians,Of course its a hard pill to swallow if start from scratch.We need a new look for Proton..I dun mind really if Honda owns Proton…Look at Perodua under UMW..Though the car body sucks but still selling well cause of Japanese influece.Quros is 80% Israel 20% German engineering yet under China boss.See the results?We dont need ppl who arent passionate of motorsports or automotive minded to run car companies.

• wingle on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:13 pm

close proton and open china car company in malaysia. chinese malaysian sure be very happy. and many stupid malay butt licker will continue to be butt licker

• ProtonWheels on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Maybe Proton should scale down their business, instead of producing real cars, perhaps they should produce minutiae cars or even remote control cars, they can compete globally with HOTWHEELS and who knows, might be even successful … but one thing is for sure, they will still come back to gomen and ask 3billion more to create new models of minutiae cars or even remote control cars.
    How proton, can you do that !! Then I’ll be proud to tell that we have our local national minutiae car or even remote control car company, they use to do real cars but did not work out so hey, they shrunk their cars and poof number one seller..not bad ehh….but got to be careful as the quality might still be the same, drop those cars and kaboom, pecah, then the customer service department back in Proton will say, biase ler, ini kan Proton :)

Same Shit Different Day/Month/Years !!

• Spirior on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:22 pm

A few years ago, the deal with VW almost went through. It was inked, until the very last dotted line. Proton was set to be another success story like Skoda. At the eleventh hour, a man by the initials of M.M. said “no” and the rest is history.

• where50kbangladesh on Mar 05, 2014 at 7:59 pm

i want to become PM only. proton i dont care lah.

• shlee on Mar 05, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Proton Preve selling at Australia only A$15490 for manual!! if you are smart buyer will you still consider???

Preve manual A$ 15490 convert to RM = 46470 xchange rate x3 but Malaysia selling preve manual at RM 58471.50 @ Panisular Malaysia, East malaysia at RM 60464.90!!!! proton die hard fan, pls continue support!!!!!! suck malaysian blood till dry like current weather….

• DRB plan did not work as their shit.. They think MITI & Petronas so stupid as their head can cheat easily.

Remember when bought & bail out Proton (<Rm3B), DRB talk trash like they got a lot of cash. This what their business plan, buy out proton using bank loan & etc.. After everything settle & officially change hand, took out all cash available in proton & settle all loan they took before. If Proton need fund for R&D, ask Govt grants.. as they think (300%) Govt will help & give them, luckily Govt not stupid..

Govt just got Rm1.4b when sold Proton to DRB, as return DRB asking Rm3b fund for R&D which similar to price DRB paid to took over whole Proton. DAMMIT IT'S CRAZY

• setscrew on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Without a strong reputation built up in automobile industry in I don’t know how many donkeys years, what makes Proton believe that they can turn the table with the launch of a new global small car? what’s their marketing strategy? which market do they plan to penetrate? what’s their benchmarking analysis said? Putting aside the fierceful league now dominated by European and Japanese makes, are they confident of beating the likes of Tata and Chery? I bet not! Wake up Proton! Wake up my dear government. How many times can we afford to spend money just to buy us EGO which last for just a few years, sometimes we just have to face the fact, my 2 cents is, let’s swallow our pride this time and reignite the deal with VW, unless this idea conflicts with one’s personal agenda, I’m sure most Malaysian would agree and support a locally assembled VW.

• Ah Beng on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:53 am

Their proton sawi is a failure even though they pay so much for tuv certification. What happen to sawi now ? Go ask those owners…another fails epic story similiar to tiara.

To me, proton is nowhere even near to any china car makers. First of all, we don’t have volume of scale. Before proton was born, the govt paid millions on feasibility study for Proton, result came back and it was negative. Thanks to our stubborn mamak and petronas money, we malaysians today suffers due to his ignorance and pride that he insists proton should proceed to exists in Malaysia.

So, should we Malaysian rejoice and start kissing the politician ass just because of rm3 billion for national pride ? I tell u wat…kiss my ass proton and you politician too. i will never fork out anymore $$$ on local car. Screw you. If i can’t afford a new car, i will go buy used car (anything other than Proton logo).

Just like lee kwan yew told SIA, if you guys don’t make profit, i will close you guys down. Here in Malaysia, to all the glc and semi privatise, the govt is like a bottomless interest free bank. How many times have our stupid govt bail out Mas ? How about Proton & useless Lotus ?

I will says, Proton should just concentrate on assembling car instead (just like naza). Screw the national pride. Do i feel proud of Proton ? If you ask 10 people on the street, they will says, ooloo (middle finger). Enough is enough. Proton global small car will be another epic failure.

So, PROTON….GO DIE LA.

• Ah long on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Kami bukan Ah Long, kami nak tolong…pinjam Rm3 billion dapat Rm3 billion, blacklisted pun boleh..kalau xbayar kami boleh juga tolong kasi cat kereta for FREE ( complimentary)

• Ah long on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Rm3 billion? No poblem, we can burn for u

• motorhead on Mar 05, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Wahh so many bashing dy. No need to add dy.. proceed2.. hehehe..

• fauzi on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:07 pm

lagi cepat bungkus lagi bagus..

Malaysians deserves better

• Latest news, proton is denying seeking funds from miti and Petronas. Let’s see what star and some of us have to say.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Mar 06, 2014 at 3:10 am

The news is yet to be confirmed. If DRB wants 3 Billion, they can easily ‘saman’ The Star for 30 Billion in Bolehland Court. Sure easy money one. We can see how the cronies fight each other there.
      But that wont happened easily.

But now, we can see our beloved friends here fighting at the loosing side all the way. If any of us wins the debate today, it wont give us the chance to get back our lost monies. The least, some of us will still loose some tamper.

DRB need to change most of their front liners in Proton. The ‘We Care Team’ which dont know how to handle customers. The Syok Sendiri Engineering Dept. The “cannot tune anymore” Powertrain Dept and the “non-ergonomic Seat Engineering Team” which will plunged Proton image deep down.

The Cream on top has left, leaving the bunch of unqualified person running the show. The victim left are the blue collars that tries to earn some decent sallary to survive in bolehland.

• donuts on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Close shop! close shop! close shop!

btw, others using same platform, and improve on it, and why protong keep developing platform? it very obvious, the $$ will be funded!! Waja is one of the nice driving car, and they should improve the quality, and modify some design with the same platform! change to a better cvt gear, better engine, and better inside quality and design, the car is very good to drive anyhow.

• guang eng jr. on Mar 05, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Proton are the national pride and as a citizen of this country i feel proud of it too. I feel comfortable, peace and very safe in recent proton car. I really dun mind if import car prices getting higher but really hope the cash saved frm flowing out can be allocated for basic necessities betterment. Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Mahathir Little Junior on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Why so timid, Proton??

Proton should ask for RM30billion instead lah!
    If can, ask for RM50billion!. “Sugar Daddy” Govt surely give money one….

• Morris on Mar 05, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Proton desperately needed economy of scale for their cars. And yet they are doing it like the big players, making variants that cannot sell. Its supposed tobe a good name and car when they launch preve (to proof). Malaysians were all hyped about it reading the specs despite the bashing but deep in our hearts, we are hoping proton would proof us wrong. Sadly, the car doesnt drive as described in the spec sheet. The gsc model will not be a success. Simply because it cant compete with local daihatsu. Proton needs to focus on persona replacement, in todays technology, it is really not difficult to make a decent car, its up to how much they want to give to enduser. If you are still trying to produce reliable parts and engines, you might as well focus on assembly instead of producing car.

• norman on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:26 am

Wonder why some moronic with small pea bird brain insist of using racial sentiment just because of Proton..Use your brain la dun use your small cock to think get it?Instead of solving problem you create another problem,you love racial riot is it?

• QG16DE on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:27 am

Losing market share? sell your cars at a lower price lah. You selling cars close to imported cars punya price. People might as well buy imported cars rather than Proton cars lah. Now please sell inspira at 50k.

• haha proton supporter di sini
    for all haters up there i hope u all please let go proton in your mind and just focus support with your most favorite brand in your heart,semua kebencian kemarahan ketidakpuasan dan dendam harus takat di sini sahaja,teruskan menyokong jenama kereta yang haters suma suka supaya hati anda lebih seronok dan tenteram
    x sabar nak tunggu proton gsc di lancarkan
    untuk semua haters saya tahu anda pun suma x sabar nak beli keta idaman brand masing2 tahun nih ,peace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Maha Kuasa on Mar 06, 2014 at 4:09 am

If Proton get RM500 billions, results also be the same – lose money. Our mentality never change – copy and never improvise. Always a follower but never a leader. Always take but never give.

• Flat Black on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:19 am

To develop a cheap car require such amount of investment… OK its seem legit to me. But why need 3B? Proton dont even have 1B ke? Who dare to give his 3B for Proton development? Petronas also dont dare.

• just close down proton, dont waste our malaysian money, we are poor enough. every year ask for fund but still building kampung car

• enough the word kampung,you underestimated kampung people hah,my nenek will punch your face if she hear these thing.huh

• norman on Mar 06, 2014 at 8:09 am

Haha true at the end of the day its your choice and money..respect others decision.Who say Proton dont have volume in Thailand and Indonesia?Reason you dont see 20% Proton there cause they have their own Toyota and Honda plant also and its been there for eons..Bandung alone i see many Waja Campro use for Taxis,Not to mention Exoras,Saga FLXs,Personas.Bangkok popular model is Exora/Bolds,Saga,Savvy,personas etc.While i was in Sheffield UK Waja and Persona use for Police cars.And to my surprise they are using only original parts for wear and tear unlike here the kaki rasuah will only supply u 3rd grade parts.Its time to overhaul all relevant dept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • ruffstuff on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:14 am

The report is not true.
    Proton denied it.
    http://utusan.com.my/utusan/Korporat/20140306/ko_01/Proton-tidak-pernah-mohon-dana

• honest on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:04 am

Proton jual je la share kat toyota corp
    buat partnership
    employee selamat
    Bisnes selamat
    teknologi pun dpt
    dah 30 thn tp still tak bagus
    kena la accept mesti buat joint venture dngn multinational company dr segi pengurusan
    tolong jngn susahkan rakyat malaysia lagi

• Shame on you Proton…

• Lemer on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:44 am

I said before that some folks here just plain stupid, believing gossip stirred up by the star.

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=237991:proton-denies-it-sought-rm3-billion-funding-from-petronas&Itemid=3#axzz2v9949Aw3

http://utusan.com.my/utusan/Korporat/20140306/ko_01/Proton-tidak-pernah-mohon-dana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • kantoi on Mar 06, 2014 at 2:19 pm

oi lampar, now who more stupid ? Miti just confirm that proton is indeed seeking for funding.

Proton is just a spineless child that have no shame. If star reported false, go sue lar. Else putar belek tak malu punya sial.

• enginehead on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:52 am

Proton need to get rid of the campro engine which use timing belt. The trend now is engine using timing
    chain with variable valve timing which is more durable. Car buyer now are well informed . For auto transmission the trend is 5 speed and above except smaller cars like Perodua Viva and hardcore Toyota Vios which still think they can sell car with 4 speed auto. Kimchi cars nowadays are equipped with 6 speed. Which do you want, 4 speed auto or 5 to 6 speed auto. 6/7 speed CVT or conventional auto is still better than 4 speed. Fuel comsumption will improve. So wake up Proton, nobody want the timing belt Campro engine anymore. Your CVT transmission is good. If Proton upgrade their engine technology their sale will improve. They don’t need government money. Lotus which is own by Proton, after so many years ownership, how come they only contribute the their so called Lotus-tuned suspension. What is Lotus-tuned anyway.Surely they can do better than that. They are paid by Malaysian money, they shoud be able to contribute better engine technology. If they can’t, it is better to sell it off. They are bleeding Proton money. How many Lotus sportcars do they sell?

• KangKung MiNisTer on Mar 06, 2014 at 11:33 am

Let me talk to syed mokhtar first, ask him to pump in RM3b.or else i will instruct 1MDB( debt ridden co.) to support RM3b to protong. Ok? You help me, i help you lah. Nambikei, SapuMalaysia, JanjiCapati.
    Btw let go for kangkung lunch today.

• ProfileSeeker on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:24 pm

The latest development at Proton is the appointment of Dtk Harith as the acting head of Proton. In my opinion, Proton is going round in circles. Who is Dtk Harith? He was with Proton during the early days as a TSS (Technical Supporting Staff) in R&D Styling. He left afetr a few years to pursue his studies and upon coming back, he went up the ladder in Malaysian auto industry. He has no technical background, hence, would find it very difficult to manage such an organization. What is DRB trying to do this time?
    Prior to his appointment, it was Dtk Lokman, an accountant by qualification, who once was with Proton Stamping Company. he was strict (all accountants are), and perhaps was not liked by his people. Hence he left.
    Stk Seri Syed Zainal was ok, but his stardom was develope during his Perodua days with 100% support of Daihatsu. While at Proton, though he managed to bring a few positive changes, but there were 2 groups : the people whom he brought in as senior mbrs, and those who had been with Proton for a long time. There were some animosity between these groups.
    There were many senior staffs of Proton who left. These guys were really good, and fully devoted to the success of Proton (in terms of quality and sales) Unfortunately, their efforts were not recognized and appreciated by Proton. Hence, these people left, and either start their own business or worked and in other auto industry like UMWT, Perodua, Honda etc. Who are the losers : Proton.
    As long as Proton does not change their mindset or management style, and as long as the employees maintain their current ego, style, vengence (such as sabotaging the car in the production line when their needs are not fulfilled)….Proton will never succeed…which is a shame….

• wan adnan on Mar 06, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Proton changed their management & owner faster than changing their model. Everytime this “buy over” took place, they will be on “reverse gear” and “head chopping” follow. Most of brainy guys left. How to develop “new” models if you do not have the right knowledge engineers.
    If Proton want to have fund for their future development, I think they better sell of their white elephant plant which is very under utilized. Easily they can have RM 2bil.

• hendi on Mar 06, 2014 at 5:06 pm

let’s make proton with kangkung can recycle ma

• Want to conquer the world, the CeO cant even speak decent English, last time interview, uttered words like ” cost up, cost down” and cant even get their English right in their ads ” xxx wit built in value” and ” drive it to believe it”

• true ka rm3bill??? this is crazy man!

• kak rosmah on Mar 06, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Ayuh, why the people here bising so much ? 3 billion only mah. Saya jual karipap also can earn 100 million. If i jual burger and ikan bakar, 10 billion pun boleh jadi.

• ProfileSeeker on Mar 06, 2014 at 9:55 pm

I once mentioned to one of the top management mbrs of Proton that it will be a waste to invest millions in Tg Malim plant. I said that the highest TIV in Malaysia will never be higher than 700,000. With P2, Toyota, Honda etc…Proton at best will capture 40% market share ,ie, 280,000units pa. The old plant can cater for 200,000 pa, and the medium size can go for 50,000. With some investment in capacity, 300,000 will not be any problem.

But my recommendation fell on deaf ears, and they proceed with TM plant with capacity of nearing 700,000 a yr. True, the extra capacity will be used for export, but how do you export if the fundamentals of export are not fulfilled?

Hence Proton spent millions upon millions for the plant in TM, and the R&D centre.

Proton’s cost down excercise is simple: you MUST give certain % every year, failing which, the supplier would be shown the door. What choice do the suppliers have? To remain in the supply chain, they would use sub standard material. Ask any plastic parts supplier to Proton…do they really used only virgin pallets or hugh % of recycle plastic pallets? Again..who is the loser…Proton.

I remember years ago….the engineers at Body Assembly would know the number of welding spots in the saga or wira. Hence proper inspection n audit could be carried out. Currently…how many are there in manufacturing and R&D knows the total spots on preve?

Thats all folks for now. No intention to condemn Proton…just giving some pointers to be improved and avoided for future projects

• Shock on Mar 06, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Oledi so old but still behave like newborn, only know to cry for food. Shame

• the way forward is to share the development cost with other OEM..doesnt need to be a big name..any name from China to India who doesnt have a conflict of interest in terms of market can be a potential partner…stop wasting money developing models if u can only sell 30k+ models a year..it takes forever just even for ROI to be reached

• Power Window Rosak Teruk Oh No on Mar 07, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Proton, kecelaruan identiti

• BOMOH on Mar 16, 2014 at 6:16 am

enjin campro enjin terkuat di dunia. Sedangkan VW pun x dapat nak kejar enjin campro cfe

• mohd khairul harmizi on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:03 am

i hope proton develop new supercar dont just rely on satria neo. built like supercar. proton must learn from company car from japan we have our own engine right develope that into hightech engine slowy just like company honda from japan from slow to fast car now i