GALLERY: Hyundai Sports Series and new Starex MPV

Hyundai_Elantra_Sports_Series_001

Hyundai’s new 3S centre in Cheras, where the new i30 hatchback was launched, also displayed the whole recently-announced Hyundai Sports Series lineup. Essentially new top-of-the-range, bodykitted variants of the Elantra, i40 and Tucson models, the series has just gone on sale here in Malaysia.

Their prices have been confirmed too. For the Elantra, the 1.6 A/T Sport goes for RM101,888, while the 1.8 A/T Sport is listed at RM117,888. Moving up the i40, the Sport variant is now available for the Tourer bodystyle. The new option includes the roof rack pictured below, and is priced at RM184,859.

Rounding up the series, the Tucson 2.0 Sport goes for RM146,888. This isn’t the most expensive Tucson on sale, however, as there’s still the RM158,888 2.4 litre Executive Plus model. You can refer to their respective spec sheets below for more details.

Also on show was the new Hyundai Grand Starex Royale, which now sports a new front grille. The massive 12-seat MPV ranges from RM156,888 for the base model to RM177,888 for the new Deluxe variant. All prices quoted here are on-the-road figures, inclusive of insurance.

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 Sport

Hyundai i40 2.0 GDI Sport
Hyundai Tucson 2.0 Sport
Hyundai Grand Starex Royale

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:33 pm

while for the Elantra on all variants is merely a plastic bits job, the 1.8 Nu Sport seems to have some added airbags too, from what I see on the brochure image, it says 6 instead of the standard 2. Actually then, the 1.8 Nu Sport is not too bad of value, almost the same as the Cerato and interestingly, quite close to the base price Civic, at 120k.

Can someone confirm this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Not sure,
      but I can confirm both Cerato and Elantra not doing well in crash test.
      compare to Corolla,civic,sylphy,lancer.
      btw korean drivetrain are rubbish to be compared to other brands like the japs or conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • sudonano (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:23 am

HAHAHAHAHA.

Sylphys not been EURO NCAP-ed yet. Not sold in Europe. And month the so called “list of good performing cars”, only the Civic did do well in the IIHS test. Lancer is not even tested in IIHS Offset test.

Really? Good, keep “enjoying” your XTRONIC CVT aka washing machine.

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:21 am

Toyota salesman are here and talk how bad Hyundai is. Typical modus operandi, bad mouth their competitors.

But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Another copy and paste comment. NO SPAM PLEASE, PMR dropout!

• Idiot’s talk

• The Rock on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:38 pm

I think your brain is full of rubbish!

• Cerato on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:01 pm

I like Cerato! :P

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:56 am

Celaka and Elantra are essentially the same rotten cabbage with a slightly different packaging

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • lemonguy on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:51 pm

With this price…how to buy????

• bluebird on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

certain garment official will say, if you cannot afford to buy, go sell cendol drink during free time to supplement income.
      Or better still, if can’t afford to buy car, buy motorbike!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Korean car lover on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:20 pm

If these are japanese car, would you complaint? No. Just because these are korean, does not mean they can’t sell at premium. Things changed,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Yeah3 premium …
        lots of airbag but no use ,
        go watch crash test on youtube – Elantra.
        the driver’s head slip the airbag and hit the pillar

Head trauma – thats premium .
        btw they look sporty on the outside only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Low Budget on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Really? How come Gomen in the more advance countries did not sue Hyundai Kau-Kau like the Toyota brake malfunction thingy?

• coagulation4u on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:02 pm

It is the fact that its Korean n not Japanese that it shouldnt be priced so high

• kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Easy..just go to nearest hyundai dealer n say to them u want buy one

• Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:55 pm

There is no what ifs between Jap and rotten cabbage.

A rotten cabbage will never have RV because is made with no quality, reliability, durability, dependability and green in the first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Low Budget on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:09 pm

I felt sorry for you as the Korean makes are eating into the Japanese domain more and more, one fine day you will abandon your love for the Japanese makes.

• kl fella on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:28 pm

yawn… the same thing again. any new story to tell?

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:58 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

I always believe that there will be sorhais that buys kimchis brand new and 50% of them will sell within the first 15 months

This is where I make my money

• bluebird on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Is it my RM value becoming smaller now or cars really have become more expensive??

• mr1031050 on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:28 pm

oh come on! still the old cluster meter for the starex?

• fast5 on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:38 pm

With kind of price??? Even with the fung shui number 1++,888 it won’t bring any luck… oh man, even fung shui Master can’t help hyundai Sime Darby with this launching price….

• Norman on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:52 pm

They should built a new Trajet MPV..Starex is not 100% people carrier but more to panel cargo van.

• adam lee on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:07 pm

1K DIFFERENT NOT FAIR FOR EXECITIVE PLUS

• Vios TRD launch for RM93K still everybodys buy it even the spec is so poor. and the rim is also damn ugly. But when it comes to Hyundai that looks more sporty and the price is a lil higher than vios TRD and still worth to get but peoples still cant accept it. Poor malaysian people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • _xXx_ on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:17 pm

start calling their cars new model/sport/limited edition blah10x by adding skirts, spoiler, tailpipe, racing strips etc. Probably this is the only thing most bolehland car dealers can do…

• sick&tired on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:49 pm

i like the i40, but RM180k is too much. And they need to replace the starex. Its starting to look dated. Don’t do what toyota did with the innova.

• Green on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

1st:It’s a Stock Clearance of Old Model.
    Facelift @ Korean:
    http://paultan.org/2013/08/13/hyundai-elantra-facelift-launched-in-korea/

2nd: RM118k 1800cc 2 Airbags Korean Car?
    Are U serious?

Toyota Corolla Altis: 1800cc = RM114k. 7 Speed CVT
    Honda Civic 1800cc = RM115k 5Speed AT.

• Green on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

1st:It’s a Stock Clearance of Old Model.
    Facelift @ Korean:
    http://paultan.org/2013/08/13/hyundai-elantra-facelift-launched-in-korea/

2nd: RM118k 1800cc 2 Airbags Korean Car?
    Are U serious?

Toyota Corolla Altis: 1800cc = RM114k. 7 Speed CVT
    Honda Civic 1800cc = RM115k 5Speed AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Elantra 1.8 sport 6 Airbag+ESP for RM118k
      Elantra 1.8 premium 2 Airbag+ESP for RM115k
      Civic 1.8 RM115k 2 Airbag+ESP
      Corolla Altis 1.8 RM114k 2 Airbag no ESP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • 6 airbags..
        still the driver hits the pillar during collision
        whats the point?
        the driver head not hitting the steering wheel ? yeah
        hitting the pillar, worst .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Josh Ling on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:02 am

sorry, but Malaysians normally won’t look at the ESP when it comes to buying a new car. and frankly, if you compare with Corolla Altis, Elantra is RM1k more than Corolla Altis. And we are talking about fighting one of the best selling C-Segment cars here, really?? even more expensive than Corolla, and even on par with Civic, which is another best-selling model in the class, really?? Elantra is a locally assembled model mind you, and Corolla Altis at least comes from Toyota’s factory in Thailand, which supplies the Corolla Altis to the whole ASEAN region. So quality wise, I still believe Corolla Altis is better.

In short, it doesn’t justify the price that Sime Darby is asking for Elantra, unless all you want is that gorgeous look. Other than that I see no reason why anyone should go with Elantra instead of others.

• Sam Loo on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Elantra 2012 trade in price only RM35k-RM40k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
  • adam lee on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:30 pm

i just get approval from jpj for executive tucson 145888…i week ago..now they sell tucson sport with extra camera new rim new skirt only 146888…1k different. ..omg…

• taknakproton on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Most Malaysians are simply badge snobs, cannot differentiate between value and price.

Again, cannot afford don’t complaint. The problem is yourself, blame yourself for not able to afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • isuzuki on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Too bad we are not getting European price for the i30.. :(

• we are getting top spec compare to euro (1.8) ,
      in euro cheaper cos using diesel engine and manual drivetrain.

do your homework man ..

• Hyundai has official confused the shit out of me with all their models.

• Formh370 on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Woah, I tot I’m on a 2nd hand car site when I saw starex meter cluster, just wondering how hyundai got that part from? Even viva are using a better looking meter cluster than that I presume, they got it from 2nd hand kancil?

• Krasher on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:13 am

i40 tourer for RM180k?! Better ship them back to Korea

• The 1.8 was selling for RM110K which was value for money. Increase 7K for accessories is ridiculous.
    Moreover is not a facelift version that you see in Korea.

• mATHGRIND on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Buy Preve CFE LE

• The Rock on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Altis spec kosong also got people buy!

• Wow, that’s a lot of bling on the Starex’s nose. Somehow, i think the older grille looks better. Anyone knows what is the extra equipments the Deluxe have over the Premium model?

• Bryan Lee on May 01, 2014 at 12:11 am

When is the facelift version coming to Malaysia?