Perodua Myvi XT, new Extreme launched: from RM42k

Perodua_Myvi_XT_launch_001

The wraps have come off the Perodua Myvi XT – a new variant of the company’s wildly successful supermini (the best-selling car in Malaysia for eight years in a row, peaking at around 99,000 units last year) – at the Perdanasiswa Complex at Universiti Malaya this evening. It’s a fitting location, actually, given the demographic Perodua undoubtedly designed this car for.

The new trim level replaces the current base model, adding up to RM1,600 worth of extra equipment for the same price. New to the XT is the grille, which now has a second chrome bar running across. There are also 14-inch alloy wheels in a five-spoke design last used on the facelifted previous-generation Myvi. They replace the steel wheels with plastic hubcaps combination of the previous entry-level variant.

Inside, the seat fabric features a new pattern, while the head unit gains Bluetooth connectivity from the more expensive 1.3 SE but keeps its amber illumination. Also new are the instrument panel surround, the centre console and head unit trim as well as the trim on the door grabs, which are now painted silver. They certainly look better than the plain plastic trim used before, that’s for sure.

The mechanicals have been left alone, so under the bonnet remains the K3-VE 1.3 litre DVVT four-cylinder engine making 90 hp at 6,000 rpm and 117 Nm at 4,400 rpm. The two transmission options – a five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic – have also been retained. No changes to the safety equipment, either, so you get dual airbags but no ABS.

Perodua_Myvi_XT_launch_005

Buyers can choose from five colour choices, including two metallic finishes unique to the XT. Lime Green is a new colour, while the other, Dazzling Red, was used on the previous-generation Myvi Limited Edition. Prices for the Perodua Myvi XT are as such: RM41,936 for the manual (RM42,436 metallic) and RM44,936 for the automatic (RM45,436 metallic), exactly the same as the previous base models they now replace.

Perodua has also unveiled a revised version of the Myvi 1.5 Extreme, which gets new coil mats, a solar and security window tint film, a new design for the leather seat covers as well as red illumination for the multimedia controls. All these extra features, worth up to RM1,000, are thrown in at no extra cost, so prices for the automatic remain at RM61,240, or RM61,740 with metallic paint. The manual Extreme variant has been quietly discontinued.

As with all new Peroduas, the new Myvi variants come with a three-year/100,000 km manufacturer’s warranty, with an option of a two-year/50,000 extended warranty package. A three-year/60,000 km free service package is also included.

The company also took advantage of the academic venue to reintroduce its “What’s Up! Graduate” scheme, enabling fresh graduates (up to one year after graduation) as well as current university and college students to purchase a Perodua more easily. The company offers a RM500 voucher (for use on Perodua accessories and/or servicing), a RM500 petrol card as well as a complimentary one-year RM20,000 personal accident policy coverage. The offer is available for all Perodua models, from now until December 31 2014.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• add on another 15k to get a fully loaded safety feature car Kia Rio is much more better than this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 29
    • Green on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Might As well Get a Alza 1.5DVVT 5 seater?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 69
      • Pinky on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Or, might as well use the 60k to get a preve with 6 airbags with VSC or use the 44k to get a persona SV which is much more stable at cruising speed and comes with rear disc brakes, ABS + EBD.. You might have some issues with your power windows, but how are those power windows, or those green katak colour gonna help you when you lose control of your car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 205 Thumb down 19
        • Green on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:10 pm

If you Deny Reliability Fact. Then Ok.
          Kia Rio is too expensive compared to Myvi.

How would affording Myvi to Top Up RM15k to get Kia Rio?

Honda City > Kia Rio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 11
        • WORK HARD on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:39 pm

LOL FELLAS, WORK HARDER SAVE MORE AND BUY A BETTER CARS (ANYTHING OTHER THAN PERODUA OR PROTON). A KIA or HYundai also better for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 110
        • Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Again you can see how good of Proton fanboy’s Mathematic is!

The cheapest Preve is RM59k and the cheapest Myvi is RM42k. There are RM17k difference and for them is NOTHING.

Additional RM17k is BLOODY 40.4% extra on top of Myvi!!

It is the same as you want to buy RM98k Honda Insight then I suggest you to buy RM 140k Camry (also 40% extra).

Brilliant Mathematics often lead the J class Proton owner blind on crucial expenses, e.g. fuel consumption, ad hoc repair etc.

And this is also the main problem after decades, they can only stick with Proton models and keep on yelling they can smoke everyone on road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 76
          • Pinky on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:14 pm

What I was comparing is a Myvi Extreme with a preve, and a persona SV with a green frog.. Try being a little more intelligent first before coming over and criticizing other people.. A brands’s chicken essence might help to improve your brain..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
          • Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:04 pm

So hilarious, you sure your ABS will work? Please get the power windows fixed first lar…

You think these 99,000 Myvi buyers in 2013 all need your chicken essence?

No need argument and chicken essence one, FIGURES TELL.

Happy sticking with your Persona SV and chicken essence.

With your money spent in Proton garage and chicken essence 5 years from now, the Myvi owner already changing to Toyota/Honda happily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 96
          • Ignorant on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:45 pm

At least there is a high chance the ABS will work. Even if it is low chance for the ABS to work, it is still better than a car WITHOUT ABS at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
          • ABS is not made by Proton but other suppliers, same goes to other cars. DO you think BMW makes the traction Control? LOL

Proton’s supplied by Bosch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • dugong (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 9:50 pm

so far only toyota’s airbag is not working and hence the massive recall…

• nanami on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:03 pm

let me put it this way, you top up another 7k (68k – 61k). You will get Exora standard CFE turbo instead of Myvi 1.5 extreme..

• mike lim on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:39 pm

I’m a fresh graduate and just got myself a myvi. It doesn’t make sense to say add another 10k or 15k or 20k to get a so called better brand of car and so on. Remember every single thousand count for some financially restricted people. 15k thousand is a lot. It’s about 30% of the price of a car a myvi. I know myvi is not the best car, but it’s a cheaper option for fresh grads, like me, which maintenance is more economical. Just my personal view.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 36
      • financially restricted??
        why not get a viva model instead..
        much more cheaper…financially
        you can pay off your loan in just 5 years time at the same amount that you pay your myvi for 9 years base on this “what’s up graduate scheme”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 54
      • Rolento Schugerg on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:20 pm

I purchased my first car, the Myvi in 2006 and have been driving the car since then. After working for 8 years, i’m able to afford a luxury continental car but i still choose to keep my Myvi. Maintenance wise, it’s very economical and easy to upkeep, perfect for young graduates or yuppies who is looking for an affordable car to move around the city. Top up 10-15K to buy another car, easier said than done. Economy not looking too good for graduates nowadays. I totally feel you bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 22
      • holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:50 pm

mike, there is nothing wrong with buying a myvi as a first/only option car. It still serves its primary purpose as a transport with a very spacious interior for hauling loads. You did the right choice by not pushing your budget beyond your limit.

What we are aghast at however, is Perodua’s decision to sell this Myvi without ABS. If ANY of you think it isn’t a significant issue (In b4 pre 1960 era manual no ABS driving), keep in mind 40 years back even Federal Highway was nowhere near as congested as it is now. Even in an emergency the sheer gap between you and the next car would act as a safety buffer from an accident.

Its 2014. With how congested our roads AND highway are, even a single extra meter is going to be the determinant in a life or death situation. If you are like me who rarely ever goes beyond 80-90 on the highway, keep in mind that the person/daydreaming bus/oil tanker/pikachu IN FRONT OF YOU may end up being the cause of the crash, not you. In this situation the ABS is going to be your excalibur.

Drive safe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 3
      • WORK HARD on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:43 pm

True. But in a different angle, that is what the govt wants us all to feel or think. They jack up the prices of all other cars to make their cars look and feel cheap. PLEASE ITS TIME TO CHANGE. WE CANT LIVE WITH THIS SHIT NO MORE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 49
      • then buy saga sv starting from 33k instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
        • iAmANoob on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Still no abs ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • bvc100 on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:07 am

Yea, but given that both doesn’t have ABS and that one is financially restricted… why Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:43 pm

It is very good for fresh graduate driving first hand Myvi for first job. I was driving the 20 years old Toyota LE. It was awesome, because it is Toyota.

Want cheap car with ABS? Why not get a 10 years old City? RM30k with ABS. At least the look still better than Myvi.

You really can’t find fault with Japanese cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
      • pearl on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm

If I were u I would go for second hand car which qay cheaper..There are good 2nd cars out there..u just have to look for it…save u lot of money rather then having large debt to settle..I bought a brand new car after 6 years of working and I m happy financially..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • fresh grad and already new car? no wonder so highly leveraged…

i drove second hand wira for > 4 years after grad.. only after i got my 5 digit income i changed to second hand car.. that also i paying thru my nose.

good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • abuya123 on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:01 am

Yeay…. I love myvi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • dugong (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Very Poor choice mike. Myvi is very poor value for money car( unless it is priced below 35k). If you are on a restricted budget you should have gotten a saga SV which is around 10k cheaper. Though the saga may be slightly more thirsty, the 10k you save can go a long way to pay for anything including fuel and maintenance. Don’t forget you have to pay interest on that extra 10k upfront too which will amount to around 2k+ for 7 yr loan. Total savings 12.5k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
        • mike lim on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Hello dugong, you are not exactly incorrect. Your calculation does make sense. However, financial restriction of one may differ from one another. For me, paying installment for my Myvi with 11% of my salary (10% down payment, 7 years installment period) is just within my financial budget for a fresh grad like me. Moreover, I need to travel long distance regularly in which a second hand car would be less safe and more expensive to maintain. Yes, I do agree with you that there are cheaper options like Saga or Viva. I have the impression that Saga’s quality is more inferior and Viva’s room is too small for me. I’m sorry that I am not trying to get personal here. My point is we should get a car which within our means, not to mention any average Malaysian is paying more for cars. Don’t flaunt. Everyone’s capability is different. Please do not say top up 10k, 15k, 20k for this or that. Each car has its own value. If you can buy a much more expensive car with better quality cars, go ahead. Or you rather top up a 100k from a 45k Myvi to a errr….. M6 let say?
          Just my humble opinion….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
          • dugong (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 12:11 pm

You travel long distance and yet you choose myvi??? Myvi is so floaty on highway compared to saga. What good is a perceived slightly better interior plastic material compared to safer ride and handling on highway? At 45k a persona 1.6 is so much better value for money inside out and much more suited for long distance travel.

P2 quality these days are dropping badly. It may be cost cutting on their side to lower prices to match the market. NVH is almost non-existent with ridiculous amount of wind noise at highway speeds even at around 90kmh only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • memorandom on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:12 pm

15k of 45k is bout 33% extra…. not really affordable for graduates

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
    • Add on another rm 2000000 to get a ferrari for 600hp better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
    • zzzzz on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:22 pm

‘so you get dual airbags but no ABS.’
      What era are we in now? Still dual airbags and no ABS? They have the guts not to include ABS in it. o0o I give them credits for that. Get a real proper car.

• taiko on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:13 am

add on 90k, then u will get a recond japs car yr2010.CHEERS.

• sheikh zaid on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Boring-boring perodua myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 5
    • Inspired by Barney & friends

http://cdn.funkidslive.com/wp-content/uploads/barney_03-1024×846.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Per rodu uat on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:52 am

Yes Boring with a BIG B!! Myvi is also yourvi and
      practically everyonesvi …Boorriinngg!
      Perodua’s squezin’ it till the last drop..

• Gegary on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Why is the steering wheel such an ugly color, different from the rest of the dashboard & interior?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • ngong on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:39 am

Thats because of the camera flashlight la .. thats why the colour looked un even.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • wow lagi sama on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:59 pm

clearing clearing stock… new face lift comming soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • wat a disappointment….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Lane tamer on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:10 pm

More and more flying MyVis after this. Thanks P2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ario Toto Osan on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Two airbags? Yet no ABS? Stupid! You are not using the airbags to help you stop the car. It’s the ABS and EBD! I don’t know what they think when they make cars. After all, the safety feature should be all rounder. I’d prefer ABS and EBD than Airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
    • supra k3-v3 1.3 on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:34 pm

I think perodua just happy to see their customer crash n the airbag deploy. If alive, they can buy new myvi on n so on..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • supra k3-v3 1.3 on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Why the steering wheel looks like used condom?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • taiko on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:18 am

to make u feel much relaxed on traffic jammed.watch your hand.CHEERS

• AVH (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:20 pm

The similarities is uncanny

http://i.imgur.com/XvoAU4L.jpg

Wow no ABS, it must take brave courage(or sheer stupidity) to tailgate and force me to 140kph+ in that thing on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Guan Yin Maa on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:21 pm

That green color is just painful to look at. I guess it will create lots of accident by making other road drivers to vomit inside their car…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • isuzuki on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:26 pm

I hope not more dare devils on the road.

• Low Budget on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:35 pm

Unfortunately your hope wouldn’t come true. Take a drive down kesas highway and see who are the dare devils, you will notice most of them are the P2 drivers.

• Albert Lee on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Just an idea.
    How about the driver in the Red Myvi Version wearing red makeup,red blouse,red skirt,red undergarment,red stockings,red shoes?
    Wouldn’t it be EYECATCHING ? See the red and green shirt En.Aminar is wearing?
    The name of the game is: Try fanciful and colourful facelifts before your new model is ready.
    Remember,Perodua is trying to sell 197000 cars in 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • I see the similarity

http://images6.fanpop.com/image/photos/33900000/Barney-and-friends-memorable-tv-33929578-378-364.jpg

• Still no passive keyless, push start entry on extreme model..
    It is extremely annoying as full spec car like A-class car mirage, picanto has those feature on full spec…
    Yeah it is extremely annoying!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:33 pm

How can Perodua STILL sell a car without ABS ? It is worrying because a lot of young Malaysians buy the Myvi. If you’re a student, you will already know that the Myvi is the no.1 ‘student / P-driver car’ and their owners LOVE to drive them like Ferraris. Seeing the vulnerable demographic and attitude of the drivers who own Myvis, any extra safety equipment will help.

Smart students will avoid this and wait for the upcoming Proton GSC. It will probably cost more or less the same, but will get far more safety equipment. If you can afford a little extra, a Kia Picanto will make a much better ‘student / P-driver car’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 1
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Blame da buyers not the seller…..
      i feel like swearing when looking at dis…..godness gracious….until when we gonna see dis….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • But student want car with good resale value, so that they can change car after they think they earning enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • leoRNado on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:45 am

are you still trust Proton in producing small car?. the history will repeat itself. So damn regret by having tiara and savvy at the backyard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • ruffstuff on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:37 am

Previous proton small car do not have global safety standard focus in mind. The focus more on cheap small car for local consumption. The GSC is different.

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:47 pm

They could name it Universal Small Car also (USC)

Eventually, just another Proton Tiara/Savy with poor sales!

• Ignorant on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Malaysians rather die (in a car with no safety features) than being poor but alive (in a car with safety features but no resale value).

• Amei (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Your name just says it all. I’m a student, I rather have a full pack safety features car than a tin kosong piece of crap. Only an idiot like yourself will say such ignorant yet idiotic statement.

• They should’ve thrown in ABS before quoting the word “value”. Many wouldn’t mind if they have that in the place of those rims. And how on earth could Perodua stull not include stability control on their cars?

Agree with folks who claim that Picanto is a better student car. And final tip, the green colour is hideous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Our new YARIS can tapau this nasi lemak…come, i show you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • RedCR-Z (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:53 pm

my CR-Z will tapau your yaris & a fiesta ST will tapau CR-Z, son on & so forth… so no need to show us lah? BTW yaris is ridiculously overpriced & underspecced. im surprised that u even mention its name here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • totoyota on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:46 am

haha… yaris your a** laa..

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Our new YARIS can buy 3 Myvi already. So tapau is for sure.

However, don’t sounds like typical J class Proton owners. Tapau/smoke this and that bla bla bla…

Recently upgraded to Toyota owner from Proton owner? Bravo…keep it up!

• Errrr… I’m sticking to Persona SV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Get a Kia Picanto. It just makes sense. The Myvi is a joke now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • picanto is much much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Jazz and rio is a much safer and better option than this Sad, forgetable car.Remember safety first! Or just get proton satria neo,saga flx also much better than p2 cars.Dont be cheated or fooled by perodua’s marketing.Life is much more important than a useless and hopeless MYVI(Lagi POWER, LAGI MAMPUS!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • what is with local car manufacturers and faux carbon fiber dash, not just myvi some protons have that as well. Who the bloody hell likes that ricer sh1t.

• arroyo on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Malaysian car almost upgrade a sporty look and accessories but denies the safety,when I walked to perodua show room to ask the spec and safety to the salesman ABS,EBD,crash star rating..quickly the salesman go and google in the internet,then forget about it..I bought a japan brand car CKD with ABS and VSC with better safety rating crash impact.just slighty expensive but worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Ignorant on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Some Japanese cars don’t even come with standard safety features…but most people dunno.

• Silver on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Which dumb f*k has introduced this? ==” With no ABS, a chassis unstable as hell, and yet the bloody stupid owners praise their Myvi “Bery nice to drive ah!” Bitch please, for that price, you could get a Persona SV with full disc brakes, ABS, EBD, and that brilliant handling chassis. This is just a green tissue box with airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • Lime green? Jazz Hybrid wannabe?

BTW, why the Dazzling Red looks like pink?

• holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:39 pm

OH MY GOD.

PERODUA THIS IS NOT 1980s! THE AIRBAGS IS NOT THE PRIMARY SAFETY EQUIPMENT!

THE ABS SHOULD BE MANDATORY!

ARE YOU GUYS TRYING TO BEAT UMW AT BEING THE BIGGEST JERKS?

Well this is it then. If Proton is bad enough to siphon billions of dollars from taxpayers, you guys sure beat them in terms of having the gall to completely disregard people’s lives.

This car is obviously targeted to the youngsters who have the highest probability to speed thinking its a performance car. The ABS is the one that will have the highest probability of saving their lives BEFORE the accident happens. The airbags wont!

*To any of you who are the probable buyers of this car* –

I am praying hard to ALL the religion gods that you have your memories wiped out now. If it means saving your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • pirlo on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:17 pm

the airbags inclusion is due to govt policy to have airbags in new vehicle line-up (not sure when the new policy implemented, if i’m not mistaken, at least 1 airbag? need to confirm back). but, ABS is not mandatory. it is really up to the manufacturer itself to apply it or not. that is what perodua did.

• Dude

What are you talking about. We are one of the few countries that pays ridiculous prices for a lousy car and get no ABS. The government is saying your life is worth nothing.

Proton, Perodua are all trash cans on the road with us being the rubbish. We are actually road kill that is about to happen. ABS, not include why, because its not mandatory. VSA not include why, because its not mandatory. Do not blame Perodua and Proton, its the government that is allowing them to get away with it at the expense of our lives.

And if we buy a Japanese car, we pay taxes that will go to the very people that are trying to kill us.

• Apple Green on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Somehow the Apple Green color does not suite the myvi car …. Perudua has been in too much of a festive mood until putting this colors which makes the car ugly !! What’s gives and so boring, no improvements or add on as well !!

• Samad Jain on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Perodua Myvi XT, new Extreme in recycling and still recycling old car….until people becoming extremely annoyed.

• Same old shit.

• No doubt it looks horrible in this new lime green color and lack of safety feature (ABS,EBD), it still can teach Proton a lesson to facelift its PREVE with better features (reverse camera,leather seat etc). There is a need for facelift Preve (or any model)to make it competitive in new challenging world. Lots option ut there, if you cant improve,ppl will jz opt for other option out there.

• No doubt it looks horrible in this new lime green color and lack of safety feature (ABS,EBD), it still can teach Proton a lesson to facelift its PREVE with better features (reverse camera,leather seat etc). There is a need for facelift Preve (or any model)to make it competitive in new challenging world. Lots option ut there, if you cant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • pacanto on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:27 pm

much better than rm44k viva elite Ezi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • jealoo on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Hello guys. There is a Myvi 1.3 SE selling at TM 48k with ABS, BA, and EBD ma. Got money I sure buy Vios or City. But no money ma. Myvi still value for money. Stop the argument about Tax. I have been waiting for NAP with cheaper cars since 2003. I dont think I will live to the day to see it happen la………………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • pirlo on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:29 pm

that is quite expensive though, considering that perodua has reached the minimum % of localization parts for govt tax exemption. even the national car status give them the advantage on par with proton.
      check the engine parts. more than 80% are localized. the transmission itself is assembled in-house. even automatic gearbox is built in Nilai Akashi Kikai. not more than 10% R&D development done in-house. all are derived from Daihatsu.
      hence, how can the vehicle can be set at that kind of price bracket? do a table comparing to other OEM line-up; safety, accessories, vehicle dimension, power etc to understand better.
      perodua is under UMW as well. remember Yaris and Previa prices? How’s Camry safety package?
      i’m not against perodua. but, the prices are way too ridiculous.
      anyhow, i salute their marketing strategy comparing to proton. refreshing their current model line-up to fill the gap until Viva replacement model.

• spongewai on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:59 pm

how old is the current Myvi now??! when will the facelift come??!

boring lol

• Om Khai on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Still look the same la dei… Where’s the newness?

• Dr peter on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:09 pm

I am a medical specialist and i drive a myvi…even my wife is ashamed… At the hospital parking lot.. My white myvi is instantly recognizeable among the mercs, beemers and audis…sometimes less is more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Sam loo on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm

The colour is horrendous…acid green…even my 1 month unwashed hilux looks better…

• june12 on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Can someone remind me how long has this car model myvi in our car industry ? Don’t you guys feeling bored or no choice have to take it since its body curve are somehow better than proton.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Malaysians deserve better.

• mmaker on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:57 pm

This new green myvi should make bigger headlamps so it will look like a green pig in angry bird game

• just like that on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:06 pm

1.) Perodua is killing Malaysians becoz with this car ppl will die and other drivers in other cars will be affected with no abs and ebd.

If u see these cars around kl – STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!! OMG!!! DEATH TRAP!!!

• flat_tire on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:09 pm

no surprise that it’s been the best-selling car.. what choices does the rakyat have at such a given price point anyway..? we can blame the gomen for tailoring the bolehland market only for the benefit of our local car companies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • savvy88 on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:29 am

at that price point, many options available. you could get saga sv with better body strength and bigger boots with even lower price. and also Persona SV with full safety package. kia picanto also have better spec at reasonable price.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:14 pm

I’d try to be fair to Perodua.

At 45K, while it still pricy especially with the omission of ABS (What the heck were they thinking??) the Myvi is a better city car than the much cheaper Saga. It does have advantage in fuel economy and more practicality. Its very spacious and easy to get in and out. Its an easy car to drive and as far as I know, they have been fairly reliable. I can understand the appeal.

However, something this tall and ungainly with skinny tyres…and no ABS??? Its very poor showing.

• another myvi? again? why they keep producing this cheap low class car? a lot of poor people in malaysia to buy this car?

• Tiget on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Other car brands when it came to mid life faceliftts, they usually improved and chg the interior dashboards, parts, steering control, even suspensions etc…P1 and P 2 style, they chg the COLORS and add few more “alphabets” at the back…there goes the few hundred million ” R&D” gift by the gomen ( rakyat money)

• P1 is no longer like that. Preve is good example, now 6 airbags is standard. P1 not even hu-ha to call this as facelift or what-so-ever, P1 also have new color scheme also no hu-ha. P2 even only changing color also hu-ha big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • bukapintubayartol on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Actually, i think the prices of cars are generally improving. Back in the day, you could only buy a Kenari for the price listed above… and this is before factoring in inflation.

• Ignorant on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:49 am

Malaysians have only themselves to blame when car companies treat our lives like trash. Focus too much on acceleration, FC, body kits, reverse camera and other non essential stuff and this is what you get.

Now there are better options out there like the Preve and still Malaysians cast their votes on cars like the Vios. We are so screwed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • you compare cheap preve with vios? people who got money will always choose vios over preve.. poor people only will buy cheap plotong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Ignorant on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:42 pm

That’s why we are so screwed and that is why this Myvi doesn’t even come with ABS – because Malaysians rather die in their Toyota Vios than to live in a ‘poor’ man’s Preve.

Good luck!

• ok understood.. u just can afford cheap plotong…

• pirlo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:37 am

it is not about brand perception. what he meant was the value for money. you pay some amount to have some valuable features.
            but, indeed. malaysian mentality look for brand image to suit with their high-class lifestyle.
            toyota? vios pulak tu? better switch to continental brand.

• how many times has this myvi been re-face lifted already? Perodua, is there anything else new from you? come on, you are so boring.

• Billy Sohan on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:53 am

No abs? Total crap. Airbags dont save lives; seat belts and decent crash test results do. Just ask Princess Diana’s bodyguard. The only person who was wearing a seat belt. The only one still alive.

• manomano on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:06 am

Our roads is full of jam and crowded with this car called MYVI………..get rid of it and gov can reduced total car in Malaysia…….maybe 20% in Klang Valley?..get rid of this MYVIs

• Flat Black on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:54 am

When will the promised P2 sedan come? P2 still cannot make sedan is it?

• stupid myvi on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:09 am

stupid car

• Wan Hadinata (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:11 am

Dual-tone steering wheel comes as standard.

• azrai on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:28 am

Perodua will help increase graduates accumulate loans beside those PTPTN one. TQ Perodua for adding the debt into new gen of Malaysians.

• Why simply discredit Perodua?

• why i feel that the dazzling red looks like bright pink?….
    or izit me only….

• Cakap tak serupa bikin on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:38 am

Dont worry, you are still going to buy it despite condemning and the sale of Myvi is going to prove it. This is the typical Malaysia’s cakap lain buat lain. Real live lain, web live lain. Outside the car lain, inside the car also lain. Cakap drive Honda Accord, but actual ride Honda c70. Well, it is web web world. Anyone can write anything they want under different motive without being known. The best way, just entertain yourself with these comments. Dont treat it for real. Full stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Wan Hadinata (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:34 pm

true… there’s a lot of keyboard warriors here…
      *grabs a bag of popcorn*

• So typical of Perodua…. instead of throwing RM1-2k cosmetics, wouldn’t it be better if the same $$ is channeled towards having the car fitted with ABS or other safety features? This is 2014, yet our country’s manufacturer still producing cars without ABS? And shame on Daihatsu and Toyota too – these are the leaders yet when operating Perodua, willing to sacrifice Rakyat’s safety?!

• 1malaysia on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:48 am

no difference !

• 2 monkeys with their Green Banana.

• Picanto better than this crap

• perodua on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:40 pm

More graduates will be in debt KIV bankrupt.

• babygrand on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Can discontinue this product or not? Very sick to see Mybi on the road and not forget the bicycle steering handling!!!

• NISStAN on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:46 pm

I rather add Rm8K upgrade to Nissan almera E Spec with same 1500CC

• dugong (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Useless perutdua wasting our time. juz useless….

• Excuse me..is someone see myvi FEM edition on road?
    I just wonder.

Tq

• Bataman on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:14 am

It amaze me…with so many options nowadays, people still wants to buy this frog? No wonder there is little hope for this country.

When i bought the first gen Myvi many years ago, there wasn’t many choice at affordable price. Now the market is loaded with choices at just slightly higher price. Adding 10k-20k is not really a lot if you are taking 7 or 9 years loan (although i don’t recommend anyone take > 7 years loan…5 years will be best).
    Proton has many superior offerings to this piece of junk nowadays. At same or cheaper price with better features.There’s no reason to choose a P2 over a Proton other than if you are worry about FC when travelling in City. But that is little cost to pay to compensate for gettting a better, bigger and safer car overall.
    And yeah…i got rid of the frog after 4 years…good riddance!!!

• JohnDoe on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:37 pm

I agree, proton wins over perodua because of luggage space and much more features with lower price. Perodua is just trying to kill the consumer. For a family car Alza and Myvi is not the best choice. For example, if want to go back to your hometown, it would be difficult to put your luggage. There is just no space.

• JohnDoe on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Perodua and proton is the most stupidest car manufacturer in the world, but still Malaysian is forced to buy them because we could not afford a better car. This statement refers to the low and middle income, the high income can choose whatever they want.

These is due to the stupidity of the current ruling government in introducing to us the two dumbest manufacturer in the world and high tax in all local and imported cars.

• Same Shitz.. different colour thats all..

• Potato Man on Apr 16, 2014 at 8:21 am

Wow, the green color looks exactly like my vomit!
    Good job perodua! lolol

• DingDang on Apr 16, 2014 at 9:39 am

Same old model wif diff color – Yup we all know Myvi is Passo’s rebatch model so untill new Passo is launch by then maybe U can see new Myvi..
    Myvi price is ridiculously expensive – Perodua can only propose but only the gov decide the car price..

• fendy on Apr 16, 2014 at 7:48 pm

my prediction – this green colour will be introduced to all perodua range…. Alza XT, Viva XT…

• KINGKONG on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:49 pm

not this same shit again.. why not come out with a new model? just playing the delaying tactic and milking us. just wasting time only.P2 is really treating us like idiots. just sell the same thing with a new name over and over again… there goes this shit marketing of this with a brand new name.

• atleastthereissomethingratherthannothing on Apr 20, 2014 at 4:05 pm

If this wasting your time… Then why are you here… Stupid buffalow…

• Tahar on Jun 30, 2014 at 11:37 am

Another piece of Malaysian new junk car in the making.

Poor quality and poor image car call rubbish and road blockage cars distributed along malaysian highway.

• aloysious on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:25 pm

better all of you use bus.. how’s that? nice? sweet? don spend put your money where is belong (mouth). TQ…