Peugeot 5008 facelift previewed – RM163k estimated

SONY DSC

We’re at 1 Utama, where Nasim is holding a preview of the facelifted Peugeot 5008 for the general public. The latest version of Peugeot’s seven-seater MPV, now available for booking, has been given a few tweaks to modernise its look inside and out.

The new 5008 is the latest Peugeot in Malaysia to get the company’s current face, sporting new directional bi-xenon headlights in a forked design with LED daytime running lights as well as a new front apron with a redesigned grille featuring the “Peugeot” script on the top edge. The wheels are of the same 17-inch design as before.

The interior gets a few more tweaks, taken from the recently-launched 3008 facelift. There’s a new infotainment and navigation system with a seven-inch retractable screen and revised audio controls, as well as a colour head-up display.

SONY DSC

Elsewhere, the specification remains the same, so you still get cruise control, front and rear parking sensors with Available Space Management (ASM), a panoramic roof, an eight-way power-adjustable driver seat, dual-zone climate control, second-row air-conditioning vents and a second-row multimedia system with displays at the back of the front headrests.

As with the 3008 facelift, the new 5008 gets an updated version of the Prince 1.6 direct-injected turbo four producing 163 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,400 to 4250 rpm. Mated to a six-speed automatic, it goes from 0-100 km/h in 10.8 seconds on its way to a limited top speed of 195 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is rated at 7.9 litres per 100 km.

SONY DSC

Safety equipment is the same as before, which means the new 5008 still gets six airbags, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, ESP, Distance Alert and ISOFIX mounting points for all three second-row seats.

As mentioned earlier, the order books are open for the 5008. The price has yet to be finalised, but it is estimated to be around RM163,000, about RM3,000 more than the old model. This is in contrast to the 3008 facelift, which had a full RM10,000 premium over the car it replaced.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kzm fanboy on May 14, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Peugeot still copy Wira dashboard….aduiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
    • The Sam Loo on May 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Proton Wira? Please don’t forget that The Proton Wira is rebadged over Mitsubishi Lancer GSR. So, you should say The European is copying The Japanese design.

Just come over my house yard and I show you my reliable Toyotas!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
    • OMG…The sexy model nicer than the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Nissan on May 15, 2014 at 12:32 am

agreed. it surprise me that the interior design & material used look as cheap as Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • seancorr on May 14, 2014 at 3:38 pm

So they increased the price without adding any new stuff into it as far as I can tell and for this model. Who would want a 3008 unless they strictly wanted a 5 seater with more boot space?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • sutheshkumar on May 14, 2014 at 10:54 pm

what do you mean by didnt add anything? You can see the pictures, plus I was there too. The car gains bi-xenons with DRLs, reverse camera and navigation system.

• lowprofile on May 15, 2014 at 8:30 am

this is what happens when people do not read and appreciate the article which took the writer time to research and write. ignorance.

• ryanit (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 2:01 pm

then writers next time make sure not to upload the pics of girls so as to save their efforts.

• supriman on May 14, 2014 at 3:43 pm

no turbo? Pffttt….next

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 55
    • fantasy1989 on May 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Prince 1.6 direct-injected turbo four producing 163 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,400 to 4250 rpm.

x baca?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Preve Lover on May 14, 2014 at 3:59 pm

read carefully – “As with the 3008 facelift, the new 5008 gets an updated version of the Prince 1.6 direct-injected TURBO four producing 163 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,400 to 4250 rpm. Mated to a six-speed automatic, it goes from 0-100 km/h in 10.8 seconds on its way to a limited top speed of 195 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is rated at 7.9 litres per 100 km”

• FansCloseBashersCloser on May 14, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Do you even read?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Pee Jot on May 14, 2014 at 4:31 pm

The car comes with a 1.6 TURBO engine called Prince-lah. Read the paragraph above the photo of the dashboard…

• Silent Reader on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Some people just could not be bothered to read…haiz

• Pinky on May 14, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Does it comes with the two girls as well? :3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • It crossed the 160k mark. Oh dear.
    I watched a Carbuyer review,on the 3008 facelift…apparently they got a drop in price along with the spec increase,unlike here. Somebody could explain that mystery ._.

• zeek (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 12:15 am

the 3008 facelift had an estimated price of 155k but its actually 143k. So this MIGHT be cheaper? I hope it is.

• hahaha on May 14, 2014 at 4:22 pm

where is my lovely smart entry and push start? :o

• aizij on May 14, 2014 at 4:25 pm

So with rm3k extra, you’ll get 7hp extra from the turbo (previously 156hp), new grille, colour HUD, directional bi-xenon, new AV unit. Not bad lah. As long as they still use Aisin gearbox, it will be ok

• Oh wow! It looks…pretty much like the previous model….

• Denaihati on May 14, 2014 at 4:50 pm

high power output and high torque for 1.6L engine, nice interior, better infotainment + head rest monitor, complete folder passenger seat. looks like good choice to consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kcng (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 5:40 pm

without Lotus Handling, this Peugeot would just slip like Steven Gerrard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • instead of 30% discount, we get 3000 price increase…wtf

• manpouh on May 14, 2014 at 5:55 pm

The Peugeot has 6 airbags and costs RM160k+, but the girls have 2 airbags each and probably only cost less than RM1k.
    Which is the better value for money, I wonder heheh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • stfu, please respect the girls model!

• Can I value ur wife/gf at such price, perhaps rm1k (I give better offer to bang them)?
      Opps! I think you don’t even have a wife/gf.

• nabill (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Price is getting closer between da 5008 n 3008….
    Somehow da 3008 stil looks better,i luv Peugeot dashboards,ful of soft touches everywer..feels very premium

• Buy recond estima better for the same price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • Fred Tan on May 14, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Fulamak. With that money I rather buy 2 more Alzas with extra cash to save. Also mpv wat! Also Alza is running on Toyota engine so its really reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
  • bisakeris (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 9:51 pm

>》the mpv is nice.. spec is nice.. but the price is not.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 9:55 pm

i prefer toyota wish<<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • klangboy on May 15, 2014 at 1:04 am

I went to test drive the 5008 at One Utama with my family earlier today. For the price of above RM150k, I cant help but think that if you are looking for an MPV to ferry your family around, something like a Nissan S-Hybrid or Mazda Biante would be better in terms of interior space.
    But in terms of power, the pug 5008 exceeded my expectations. Boy does it have tonnes of power under the hood!
    The only MPV I have tested that comes close to the power and driveability of the 5008 is our very own Proton’s Exora Bold. But of course, nothing can beat the flamboyant interior design of the French!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • semut on May 15, 2014 at 2:26 am

peugeot getting themselves updated with new facelift for their mpv model. wait till you see the new 308, hot like chicks. after this all peugeot car looks real good.

• why no steering control??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • theanswer on May 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

got..3008,408,5008,308 using same platform..so some of the interior stuff are the same. radio and auto cruise remote function using control stalk situated behind the steering wheel. and yes..it’s a bit annoying for the fist timer..or non regular 308 driver like me.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 10:38 am

Just go & get it.

• theanswer on May 15, 2014 at 11:31 am

anyone here can confirm whether our prince engine using mpi or gdi? in our website(brochure) stated mpi. but here mention gdi.

• Barang Naik on May 15, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Woi BN!! Mana ada harga kereta turun??? Apa lagi UMNO mau??!!

• Enthu on May 15, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Still Prince engine?

Peugeot needs a new engine definitely. Prince engine has been so infamous it is scaring potential buyers away.

• Alza? No please, after 2years u will heard a lot of ‘sexy’ sounds inside the cabin, sucks!