Nasim launches Peugeot 5008 at KLIMS – RM160k

5008 1

As has become the style of late, the pricing of the Peugeot 5008 MPV, which was launched by Nasim at the 2010 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show, is under the estimated pre-launch price as written earlier.

5008 2

The seven-seater rolls in at RM159,888, and is certainly well equipped for the money. It’s powered by a THP 156 Prince 1.6 litre twin scroll turbo engine with direct injection, offering 156 hp and 240 Nm of torque, mated to a six-speed auto gearbox with Tiptronic.

Features include an 18 sq ft panoramic glass roof, leather interior, 17-inch alloy wheels, a six-speaker audio system with USB/Bluetooth connectivity as well as automatic dual-zone air-conditioning with adjustable second-row air-diffusion.

5008 3

Second row occupants will never be bored again on long trips, what with two seven-inch LCD screens located in the front seat head restraints. The system comes with two Bluetooth wireless headsets and a connection console that can be paired to a DVD player or video-gaming console. Each display is independent, meaning one passenger can, for example, watch a movie while the other plays a video game.

5008 4

Elsewhere, there’s a head-up display unit, which displays essential driving information such as speed, cruise control/speed limiter and Distance Alert. The latter assists the driver in ensuring the 5008 is within a safe distance from the vehicle ahead – a radar located behind the lower front bumper panel measures the time in seconds (from 0.9 seconds to 2.5 seconds) between the vehicle in front and then transmits this data to the HUD, and alerts the driver if the 5008 gets too close to the vehicle in front.

5008 5

The vehicle also comes with an Available Space Measurement aid – two sensors on the sides of the front bumper provide a visual indication of the possibility of parking in a free space on the display.

As for safety, the five-star NCAP rated 5008 comes with six airbags, Hill Start Assist, ESP, ABS, EBD, EBA, Anti-Skid Regulation, Dynamic Stability Control and anti-whiplash front seat headrests.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Terence on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:11 am

great!! I just hope no need to waiting 4-6 months, or even 1 yr for the delivery.

• RON97 on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:27 am

what a waste… go and get SUV with7 seats e.g santa fe, everest. Only queen controlled guy drive mini van/mpv.

• Malaysian Memang Bolehland on Apr 18, 2012 at 1:51 am

Bro, u re rite, I m very keen to buy 5008 but hav check wit naza n lots of dealer they hav stop taking order, no idea when dis car will b available again. Any idea whr to get dis car asap?

• MPV shopper on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:28 am

RM160K….. a little bit more than the expected selling price. That’s couple hundreds ringgit extra more than the initially planned monthly installment.

The goodies are attractive. In fact pretty luxurious for a mid side MPV, making 5008 one of the most sort-after premium MPV. Almost zero additional accessories needed to perfect this family ride. For this price, Stream and Wish is no fight at all. If space is not a major concern (for small family with young children), prospective customer should buy this instead of the 2-3YO recon Estima or well-equipped but aged Grandis.

But wait, I shall check out 5008’s cousin Citroen Grand C4 first and find out if it is worth while paying RM22K extra.

• intermilan on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Yeah.. should check out the Citroen sibling too.

But my guess you’ll find out why the 5008 is more expensive.

For info, this imported 5008 is the highest specification 5008. the C4 Picasso is a few notch down.

By the way, the price difference (OTR with insurance) is not RM22K but around RM18K as the C4 Picasso advertised price (i.e. from 138K) is w/o insurance.

Anyway, both offerings are great in their’s own way!

• pug or c4 on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:21 am

i’m more worried about after sales service…..previous .record showed they are both crap and expensive…can ask any pug or citroen owner…but i’m more comfortable with pug now bcos they are expanding like mad with more on the road and back by very stable rich brothers……….. and citroen malaysia just change distributer (previous distributer gone /caput) and shrinking their resources and service for cost cutting measures…….mazda5? hmmmm enough sushi car for me……my taste bud longing for european flavor

• MPV Shopper on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:17 pm

I owned a Citroen ZX in the 90s and I am sure you would share my frustration about having the car repaired with expansive parts. It was my only frenchy car but I stick to other European makes till today.

I have been shopping the right MPV for my wife and family for sometimes now. For MPV about this size, brand new, up to 170K, I only have Pug 5008 (been waiting since it was launched in Europe) and Grandis (latest version sold in MYS with so many practical goodies) in mind. I have to admit my whole family has phobia with Citroen’s product, but at about RM140K, this close cousin Grand C4 really worth consideration before jumping into a conclusion.

• anti-first on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:12 pm

looking into the horizon, i’d choose the 5008 due to Peugeot’s strong backing of Nasim.

as tempting the C4 Picasso price tag, it is sad to the future of Citroen in Malaysia seemed to be going south.

a crazy idea is to have Nasim take over from brooklands in managing the Citroen brand since both Citroen and Peugeot are under the same stable.

NOW, that would be a crazy french invasion! :)

• been wiating for this car since my last visit to pug for pug3008..

but malaysia will always love T-wish, H-stream

• J@CK LIM on Dec 04, 2010 at 2:25 pm

wow… pricy …. >.<
    anyway, nice engine 156 hp and 240 Nm from 1.6 turbo…

• so go for Exora turbo? Since Campro Turbo coming soon…. Is Proton 1.6 turbo better than this? as for looks, pug3008 looks better….

• observer on Dec 04, 2010 at 5:03 pm

why use myvi SE rims??!!

• wtf, tat aint myvi se rim..

• rim patterns are not really different between some cars/mpv, if you want different ones buy third party ones lah, what so difficult , just prepare the money

• transformer on Dec 04, 2010 at 7:18 pm

another sweet car for euro… cool…
    (saliva dripping…)

• Peugeot 5008 , Mazda 5 or Santa Fe R ….?
    Think of change to MPV . Your comment is most welcome !

• Jimmy on Dec 04, 2010 at 11:35 pm

You need to see what is your priority in choosing 7-seater.
      Play safe: Fortuner/Innova.
      Comfort & fun for family: 5008.
      Driver car: Sante Fe Diesel.
      Space: Ria.
      Cost: Exora.
      :-)

• l3ryan on Dec 05, 2010 at 1:53 am

your suggestions do not make sense. play safe? driver car?!?
        what on earth are u talking about
        u might as well include nissan vanette as the best in terms of cost and space

• grizzly bear on Nov 12, 2011 at 2:00 am

jimmy, if you want to play safe, get durex instead!! not the ripped off bloody toyota and honda.

• if i based on 3008 built, this car is good enough.. even if the price tag is at 170k-180k, it worth it..

santa fe is SUV :D

mazda 5 is good also.. but at almost same price tag.. u know which one offer better.. this 5008 spec as almost mazda 8 spec

• Grasssoil on Dec 04, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Can’t wait to have a chance to test drive.

• veron on Dec 04, 2010 at 10:56 pm

been on KLIMS – dissapointed with the third row seats, not enough legroom for adults, exora seems better if you want the third row for adults

• jari jemari on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:35 am

higher the price.. the higher the oil price.. are this called supportive in automotive industries?? came on .. wake up malaysian…

• shawal on Dec 05, 2010 at 7:41 am

It looks great , equipment list is most impressive , hi-tech powertrain , Its a good buy

• Mdm.P on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Can’t wait fir it to arrive to East Malaysia!

• Coolken on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:49 pm

For those thinking of Peugeot cars, please ask owners
    of peugeot cars first regarding the after sales service,
    warranty and price of parts, how fast these electronics fails
    and how much to replace it.
    Mazda has good after sales service. Had a Mazda 3 before this.
    And good second hand value as the demand is surprisingly good.

• JohnDeep on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:04 am

Are you a Mazda salesman?

• anti-first on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:34 am

it’s pretty obvious that these ‘helpful comments’ surface after a barrage of launches by peugeot so far.

frankly speaking after sales, warranty and price of parts – it’s tied to the brand. as an peugeot owner, i do view that after sales and warranty service levels leaves much to be desired but they’re improving, that’s for sure.

on price of parts, it’s not rocket science.
      when you choose a particular brand, OF COURSE it will be higher or lower compared to others – it’s that simple. all you can do as a consumer is do research on your preferred brand, choose/buy and deal with whatever cost associated with the brand.

on electronics failure and the cost involved in replacing, as if madza cars does not have these kind of issues?

aisehman bermaz/salesman, u guys are a great brand….why you guys have to resort to these kind of comments?

• Coolken on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:10 pm

Went and saw the Peugeot 5008 in KLIMS. Must say i am impressed with the car, looks good, full of features, the panoramic roof looks really cool, nice cockpit and only RM160k. The price will definitely weighs in favor of the Pug compared to Mazda. But too young to get a MPV. I find the 5008 better looking and more proportionate compared to the 3008. Should be a good buy. Anyway, I’m a Doc, not a salesman, LOL.

• Renault Power on Dec 05, 2010 at 12:53 pm

very nice. but could do with nicer rims.

• raja jaidi on Dec 05, 2010 at 9:20 pm

whatever it is..the price is too high for 1.6cc

• handsome*dude on Dec 05, 2010 at 10:33 pm

u r still live under the cage..

wake up… now all these european little turbo engine can beat 2.0CC 2.4 CC anytime ….!!

go test drive first. b4 u make ur comment~

• Duncare on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Guys, before you two continue with your points, get this right first:
        1000cc = 1 little.

There is no cars with 1.6, 2,0 or 2.4cc.. Only 1.6, 2.0 or 2.4 little or 1600, 2000, or 2400cc! Don’t make that kind of silly mistakes again!

• Evoque on Dec 06, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Let me correct you, since u wanted to correct others. It should be liter, NOT little.
          You’re welcome.

• TallPan on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:05 pm

aaaaactually, it’s litre, to us malaysians :-)

heh

• Independence on Dec 06, 2010 at 3:08 pm

if you want to wake people … get your own english right first.

it shoud be litre not little …. so in another word you are wrong too …

• Duncare on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Ok lah.. it was silly typo mistake! Sori lo!
          God… I just mistakenly added one “l” and yet already attracted few sarcasm…you guys so free just waiting for make mistake and tembak??

• U want cheap 1.6 then buy exora with snail pace speed and common/standard accessory.Hi-price comes with superb engine & abundance list of spec & updated accessory.Don’t forget sunroof & dual independence LCD.Apparently current booking will get mpv within 4 to 6 week asap.

• tbrit on Dec 06, 2010 at 5:41 pm

it’s not slow like snail, saw several exora dashed like no tomorrow, can go at corners pretty well, torque is more important for any mpv than the top speed

btw looked at this 3rd row seats of this 5008 , clearly for children, but exora are suitable for adults

• Wisdom on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:08 pm

I agree on your exora dash statement. I’ve came across a few, very fast at the right lane. Some are fully loaded.

I guess these exora owner really wants to proof to us that the thing really can run…

• Wisdom on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:56 am

4 studs only 160k?

• anafanas on Dec 06, 2010 at 12:28 pm

even aku ni mmg honda hardcore fan,tp aku bg aku peugeot 5008 ni way better than strean,wish,santa fe….mmglh stream t’knl ngan safety ngan design yg cun,wish plak ngan jimat minyak..tp 5008 ada semua dlm satu mpv..safety-design-jmt minyak

• munchy on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:31 pm

paul, i want more internal pictures of this mpv please

• Faris ToneDeaf on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:34 am

I’m very sorry to say this: “This is by far one of the worst KLIMS ever” Besides the achievement of Proton and Perodua. There’s nothing to see. Luckily, Naza’s section save my day. I wonder what happened to the European car makers? KLIMS’10 lacks prestige. Where are the Merc,Audi. BMW and so on. Japanese cars doesn’t amuse me. I’m very sorry for being prejudice. Again, it lacks prestige.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:59 pm

i think i prefer the nagare

• lufiah on Dec 14, 2010 at 3:26 pm

What I really like about 5008 is the engine. Other MPVs would normally use 2.0 ltr up to 2.4 ltr engine. 5008 use 1.6 ltr turbo engine churning 156 hp. On the other hand, any news about Exora turbo?

• Kumar san on Dec 15, 2010 at 5:53 pm

This Pug is not only pleasing to look at but it’s THP 1.6 Turbo engine choice and the features packed in overdrive mode should really give the Japanese segment leaders a real run for their money,their rivals are really catching up big time.There is simply no contest here for what you are getting for your hard earned cash,should you choose to purchase this as your ride of choice.I am definately going to test one to see how good it really is,it’s French so it will be good.Still own a mint 205 GTI 1.9 so this should be a sorted ride.

On the other hand,this was not the best KLIMS and the Conti marques were not represented,which is disappointing to say the least.Even the Koreans have upped the ante with their Tuscon,Sorento,Santa Fe and what not.What the sales projections depicts after 6 months from now for this segment should be a real eye opener.

• small ciku on May 02, 2011 at 12:17 pm

recently intend to buy this 5008 went to plentong johor bahru showroom. unfortunetly there is no display unit for test drive so the sale person only allow us to peep at those registered ready for deliver car. We are not allow to enter the car since its going for registration. the sale also explained that there is no display unit in the whole country for test drive and there are many people who bought not even look at the actual car. i feel sad like i’m a kiasu person (maybe i’m) who like to examine every inches inside out before placing my booking. My intention is simple, to bring my family(4kids) to feel whats its like sitting in it, how to get in and out from the 3 rd row, how the seat configuration work and most important weather my family members feel comfortable with the car. For those who bought it without even looking at it i respect them they are very brave and rich. As for a poor man like me i have no guts doing the same.since rm 150,000 is not a small sum to me. I can accept that no test drive in those ready stock car, i can always tset the 3008 display unit since the engine and gearbox are same spec. Not to enter the ready stock car ? ( wondering those showroom display unit at H & T brand which we can feel and touch the car interior are ready stock car or display units) At the end i didn’t place any booking and put on hold until there is a display unit (may be after a year or 2 when the car is no more selling like hot cake) At last this comment is not to blame any saleperson in that showroom as for a first time conti car buyer i maybe ignorant. this is to explain what really happen to me and hope there is furrther improvement . sorry if i have offended any party direct or indirectly. thanks

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:41 pm

To Peugeot sales:

I m keen to buy dis car but hav check wit Naza they hav freeze taking any new booking n dono when is d new stock coming to Msia, any idea when will it b available again for purchase?