Driven Web Series 2014 #1: Best of the B-segment – 2014 Honda City vs Toyota Vios vs Nissan Almera

Enough waiting, Driven Web Series is back with a new season, powered by the new Petronas Primax95 with Advanced Energy Formula!

Just like last season, we’re kicking things off with everyday cars. The ever-popular Toyota Vios came out tops in our mixed pairing last year, so now we’re pitting it against its closest class rivals, the 2014 Honda City and Nissan Almera – all in top-spec TRD Sportivo, V and VL guises respectively.

Looks, performance, handling, comfort and safety – everything considered, which is the best B-segment sedan on sale in Malaysia? Watch the video above to find out the Driven Web Series verdict. As usual, we hold no punches.

Thanks for watching, and be sure to head over to CarBase.my to compare the full specifications of the three cars here. It’s sure good to be back, and we hope you enjoy the show!

PS: No, Harve won’t be wearing a dress in this episode – that’s so 2013, anyway. But don’t worry, other surprises await, and next week we’ll have three sexy cars with a guest host that looks properly stunning in white. Stay tuned :)

Learn more: , ,

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:10 am

I have to say, I liked the last season a lot.

But I like this one even more. The camera crew, the way these three talk in front of the camera feels more like something you would see on a TV show like Fifth Gear. It’s really good. Plus, it’s good that you guys demonstrate how important it is to have ESP and side airbags.

Personally, as for the final verdict, I agree on what they say too, the Honda City’s only gripe has to be the CVT, but it is not that bad. In low speeds and medium acceleration, it is pretty effortless based on my experience with it. It’s only when you want to overtake then it drones a bit. They forgot to mention how nice the City’s interior is compared to the cheapish Almera and smallish Vios.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 7
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:34 am

Good movie clip.. the pretending car crashing and then pillow manually prompt out is funny.. hahaha..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0r on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 236
        • samelorsark on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Serve you right, many thumbdowns for your rubbish comment!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 20
    • Missing on the list are:
      – Mitsubishi Attrage (no thanks to ridiculous price by DRB Mitsubishi group)
      – Kia Rio Sedan 2014 (maybe come soon but Naza still thinking price RM70K or takut Proton marah)
      – Hyundai Accent 2014 (maybe come soon but Sime Darby thinking price RM70K or takut Proton marah lagi)
      – Proton Saga Executive (lagi marah sengaja ignored by Driven)
      – Perodua Sedan (still new bumper R&D but enough to make Proton crying in the night)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 116
      • phahmeen on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:08 pm

i dont know why u got 2 thumbs down. but 1 give u thumb’s up. Agree with u anything in Malaysia depending on “takut proton marah”……so ended up all expensive….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 61
        • Same L0r on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:46 am

Here you see Japanese cars are good and worthy to buy, each brand has its own strength.

That’s why B segment kimchis and Proton are not here. There are big gap. RV can tell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
      • Hyundai-KIA La Junk on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:19 pm

KIAsu Rio Sedan how to price at 70K when Hatchback version with 1.4 engine already selling close to 80K, maybe current Rio owner will riuh rendah…lol

Rio Sedan & Accent will end up just like VW Polo Sedan, collecting dust…lol

Loser KIA Cerato KX kedekut version already selling below 90K, Rio HB 1.4 below 80K, if bring in 1.4 Sedan too weak engine & 4AT cannot sell, bring in 1.6 version need to price arround 85K might as well buy Cerato, either way KIA Rio Sedan is dead on arrrival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
      • I think Ford Fiesta Titanium is missing, same sedan car, same segment & at the same price range…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • heybadigol on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:48 am

CVT has its pros and cons. Yes, its boring to hear one droning note and its not exciting to drive. But a CVT is more fuel efficient and has faster acceleration than an auto because it can stay in the correct power band at all times and automakers can give it a wider range of ratios. An auto will always drop revs when changing gears, bringing it below power band for awhile. So, its a matter of whether you want the excitement (auto wins – or a manual gearbox) or actually faster (CVT wins).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
    • Constructive Criticism on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 261
      • dirtyoldmen on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:48 pm

the guys are there for a reason… and it’s not eye candy. go get your homo kicks elsewhere. clearly, this is not right forum, for your kind.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 11
      • tatu880 on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Seriously you have life issues man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 7
      • sudonano (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Clarkson is slim and fit?

You okay bro?

PS: I don’t see what’s wrong with being fat. Or long hair. Don’t judge a book by its cover cause these three are actually talking sense unlike your statement above.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loois on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:38 pm

I liked and thumbs up this fella not to agree with him… but for making my day brighter with laughter. LOL! And he named himself Constructive Critism… Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:42 pm

I think they all look fine. It is their own personal appearance and I think it lends character to the show. Do you expect them to conform to your opinion on what looks “good”? Can’t you accept that there are people who look different from your ideals?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

“constructive criticism” : The lousiest, pointless comment for 2014 so far..why ? You were s_o_d_o_m_i_z_e_d by them? Or you just wanna TALK C_O_C_K..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • phahmeen on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:14 pm

wanna complain bout people’s appearances and body size got to gossip forum, not car forum bro

• phuachukengkang on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Allo bro, something wrong with your pexxx?

• phuachukengkang on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Allo bro, something wrong with your pexxx?

• F*cked on Jul 16, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Everyone is talking about the cars, not the hosts. What are you doing here? This is not some homo website.

• clip too short.
      not comparing car interior space, in car entertainment,

well good job comparing with/without brake disc n making a point that safety always comes first.
      u really read all the comments here :D
      thumbs up paultan.org

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
  • roxas on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:11 am

no nd to say, its the honda city ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • Jim Chan on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:17 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 151
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:30 am

Toyota fan boy ya.. still expect the Vios able to compete with C-segment cars like Civic and Sylphy???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 4
      • ToBohLanSamLoo on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:35 pm

This junior toyota sales man Sam Loo is part of factors why Toyota sales is drop. How can the junior sales man be so arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
        • Vader (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 7:53 am

The shame loo wish list is more simple and direct..
          1.A4 vs C-class vs 3-series vs Hailat
          2.Q3 vs GLK vs X3 vs Hailat
          3.Civic vs Sylphy vs Elantra vs Hailat
          And so on as long as Hailat in the list.
          And the result? Definitely Hailat la.. since having high RV ma!!! lol

• phahmeen on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Vios vs CIvic? forgot about Altis is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Jules on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Vios only … Forgotten about altis?

• OMG…wat a shitty vios…it only can compare with P.Persona and old model of H.city…lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • U r weong omg..even city same class with persona..low quality material for s , s+ spec…even high spec city also got low quality material as low specs…u go and try la ma..calar sana sini..pui la honda over priced car..

• U r wrong omg..even city same class with persona or even worst..low quality material for s , s+ spec..better vios…even high spec city also got low quality material used for their seat…u go and try la ma..calar sana sini..honda city over priced car..previous quality of honda is better than current version..

• I am pro you diam (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:18 am

HONDA CITY > ALL

VIOS LIKE S.h.i.t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 31
  • kvsual on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:31 am

Can’t wait for the video of new Teana vs Accord vs Mazda 6 and hmm camry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
  • Scott on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:34 am

I will say the Almera is more value for money. Servicing is cheap and parts are way cheaper the the other two. Toyota is over price and Honda have a nicer shape compare to all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 14
    • fast5 on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:51 am

Can’t agree more, H City win hand down but selling price N Almera win.
      If H City selling price same with N Almera it will be legendary.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
      • phahmeen on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:10 pm

City cannot be sold at Almera price, later Proton marah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
        • fast5 on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Well u just say the right word… ohps!!! Nanti proton marah LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
        • But almera can be sold at low price without Proton marah? logic mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • Bataman on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Can you count? Compare the mid-spec Almera with 2 airbags with City or Vios lowest S and J specs.

How much price difference? LOL.

Of course if you compare the lowest single airbag Almera, then Almera wins. That’s like saying 1 speaker is cheaper than 2 speakers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Bataman on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Ok, got the details here:

Almera V (2 Airbags)=RM 76,827.00
        City S (2 Airbags)=RM 75,800.00
        Vios J (2 Airbags)=RM 77,300.00

Almera still cheap???

Please tell me you know how to calculate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 116
    • Honda City on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Please shut up. We are fed up with your ridiculous and illogical comments about Honda. Go and fly a kite!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • Vader (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Watching the world cup match?
      Rest more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • well bro, safety always comes first.
      too comfort that the car does not feel the road surface also leads to grave.
      well, love this lines – Enjoy Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Honda City Owner on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Not sure whats your problem with Honda man. I’m perfectly satisfied with my City V. Go read CarBase reviews and you will see most users are satisfied with their cars and if got any problems its similar with Vios.
      If got so much to complain go sell off your car and buy other car makes la.
      *A note for Toyota, better buck up cuz you might just lose your crown to Honda this year in the passenger vehicle segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • phuachukengkang on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:32 pm

allo bro, still here. i tot u want berambus from this country? still no $$ to buy tongkang ticket?

• car fan on Dec 19, 2014 at 11:16 am

so do you think Toyota BS BQ, QC and more are better then Honda… Please show us..

• AVH (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:48 am

Awesome review, and as a daily user of the old City, I do agree, NVH and ride quality isn’t on par with the other makes. Honda just can’t get that ride. But what it makes up for is spec, and modern interior(even thou it could prove a PITA to operate)and just sheer interior volume. And before a certain someone here complaints about the lack of Rolls-Royce built quality in a 1/100th of the price of a Rolls-Royce car, I’ll just give a descreet opinion that I find the City’s interior to be the overall better quality.

The Nissan honestly deserve 2nd place, looks is in the eyes of the beholder and it still undercuts everyone else in price and trumps the Vios in Space. The Vios? Priced 10-15 grand less that it might make a compelling argument, but at RM90k without navigation(thats a RM3-4k option and the rest gets it standard). Performance wise…..honestly, does anyone take B-segment car for street race? So okay, braking wise shows the Honda having near identical with the lighter and technically better brakes(because disc = better, Internet logic!!) And paper spec shows the City leading in safety.

So yeah, I do agree with the verdict, as for the review, just one critic……please do stop shouting, on headphones its just intolerable. No offence but especially you Harve, no offence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:31 pm

I think you can just turn down the volume, aye? I was using in-ear earphones while listening to all that and everything sounded pretty good. Or it’s time for you to get some quality audio equipment. :)

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:21 am

There’s still a Vios J spec that is more reasonably priced.

• Ananz on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:45 am

Honda City S priced at RM75800
        Vios J(AT)priced at RM77313.50

City is still more reasonably priced bro.

• last month i went to toyota…they give rebate around rm2k if i’m not mistake, reason because want to fight with honda price…maybe can go to show room for confirmation

• 6 Abgs + VSA, cruise cntrl, rear aircond n etc is quite a deal for B-Segment non-national cars. Has to be City that win it.

Vios is ocmfortable but empty and expensive while almeera is ugly inside out

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
  • why no proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:24 pm

bcoz no new b-segment car from p1.

• kudajawi on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Why no comment on abolish AP news earlier? Tarak bola sudah kecut kah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:31 pm

lol..if i said u guy not understand oso better i shut up..i oso dont support OpenAP..the thing is dont buy grey import car, kill OpenAP holder..buy from official distributor or buy ckd car enough said..

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:23 am

Official distributors also have to buy APs from open AP holders once they run out of APs.

• Because Proton is the ‘best’ in the world, no comparison needed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • sonic31s on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Thanks a lot and welcome BACK !!!

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Altho the Almera is ugly, it won for being the cheapest to maintain and most comfortable ride (the vios has stiffer ride actually)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Your are wrong…Almera has expensive maintenance schedule..Tan Chong out to squeeze you back. Just read the Almera forum in lowyat.net

The Almera lose in everything..ugly, not cheap to maintain and the price is not even cheap if you compare the mid-VL spec which is equivalent to the cheapest City and Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:08 pm

For those people who gives me thumbs down….i am just stating facts.

[QUOTE]
        Guys, anyone here had undergo for 40K service? I juz want to know the cost…this morning my wife went to TCEAS Kota Damansara to service our car 40K millage..know what…the cost is about RM1K!!..sienz…I know this 40K is major service but never expect it will cost about RM1K..is it normal guys??that service adviser keep telling my wife to do what they recommend..so that your car will be perfect.. mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

*btw, i’m not in town,that why I need to ask my wife to send the car for service…
        [/QUOTE]

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2986879/+1949

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • iskhalifah (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:00 am

My wife’s almera 1st n 2nd service cost me rm112 each. And for 10k service interval with full synthetic cost rm220. U can opt out for additives & tyre alignment balancing which can add into unnecessary costs.

• Ha? What is first and second service, first time heard of that.. Doesn’t you do the service together with oil change?

Nissan actually got good car, but Tan Chong spoil it.. sad..

• Berann on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:14 pm

I believe Honda and Toyota quality are about the same. So far I have no problem with 2 Honda City 2006 & 2007. Never give me any single problem for the first 5-6 years with only normal service. I can’t believe Toyota is still using the same engine and gearbox since 2002 for vios & camry 2.0 4 speed. Zzzzzzz. If Toyota continue with their low spec high price approach.. One day Honda sales will overtake Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • Therealmaserati on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Probably the worst review I have seen. Can you guys stop the bashing of each other cars?!!!!

I know, it alright if u bash for half the review but u 3 three jokers bash for the whole review which is so damn annoying!!

How come theres no mention on interior design, space and things like push start and all.

Pls I hope u guys improve on the A45 vs Golf R review. Pls do include a drag race!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 77
    • nobrand on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:38 pm

I dont see anything wrong here. They express their opinion in the way that we readers always use here in our comments. Come on, dont be so sensitive or you are frustrated because vios wasnt the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • Maseratits on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Driven team forgot to VW Polo sedan. Even more bashing on the German Proton ha ha ha ha!!!

• Dude, both cars got push start function, so what to compare? the size of the button? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • phahmeen on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:12 pm

“size of button”..hahah u made my day

• Andrea on Sep 29, 2014 at 2:06 pm

ML, you definitely blew my Monday blues away! i love reading your comments! So funny lah! Keep it up bro! If i can give you 1000 thumbs up, i will! :)

• nabill (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Haha…TRD means racing suit!
    One common denominator is almera is jus ugly….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • justwaitnsee on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:56 pm

what just i can say… thumbs up guys..very entertaining..and informative..like the natural acting u all

• kanazai2001 on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:58 pm

it doesnt seem like a fair comparison on the price tag…
    shouldnt be all the challengers (mean the cars) the top of the line? why only toy is wearing trd kit but not niss with nismo/impuls and honda with mugen?

@@

• kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:36 pm

that bcoz mugen and nismo/impuls is add-on option. trd is top of the line for vois..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Ais kacang on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Which part of the impul kit can improve the cars weak points? That’s right. Nothing

• Denaihati on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:59 pm

everybody waiting for this video. very nice and honestly review.
    h city still boring CVT gearbox, but as expected it is the best in the class.
    i wonder why honda use rear drum brake, by adding few hundred or less than thousand it may change to disc, as previous model.
    Vios no.2 then Almera no.3.
    waiting for next awesome video…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:29 am

Disc brakes look cool, but for a car like this it isn’t really necessary. No difference, unless you brake a lot.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Don’t understand the downvotes. Don’t obsess so much over drum/disc rear brakes for a city (hu hu) car, guys. Sure, the Kia Picanto has it but that doesn’t mean it needs it with a tiny engine and feathery weight. It’s nice to have but the Honda City ditches it for better features (don’t underestimate the cost of a few discs…).

• carlies on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Looking at the interior especially the dashboard and middle console of the lowest spec of Vios and City, and also the “”black colour steel rim” of the city. I find the Vios is better. Safety spec is about the same! Again, the lowest spec City interior is really……..speechless……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • shawal on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Worth mentioning that d city has d biggest boot, 8 speakers and touchscreen audio and aircond ( it just looks cool)

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Biggest boot.
      Fastest response.
      Best 0-100.
      Biggest rear leg room.
      Sexiest looking.
      Safest (only car here with VSC)
      Rear air-cond.
      Best FC (real world feedback from users)
      Price comparable to competitors with so much more.

Only thing i don’t like is the stiffer suspension, which VIOS is better.

• Therealmaserati on Jul 09, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Just dont review Korean cars. Waste of time as all of them are crappy crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
  • Wait wait wait.. VW Polo Sedan is not qualified for B Segment? hahaha

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:12 pm

The DSG gearbox broke, which is why they can’t drive the car and put it in the video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
      • Ais kacang on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Polo sedan uses 6 speed auto la.

• Yea.. Polo Sedan is not using DSG. I am just thinking you should tried out all the B segments if you are purchasing one. I find driving Polo Sedan has firmer ride

• Dude, if you don’t know, don’t bash. All you did was make a fool out of yourself. But I concur, where’s the Polo Sedan? The ride and handling bests the City although the ride can be firm at times.

• Ananz on Jul 10, 2014 at 10:55 am

Polo sedan ride and handling might best the City but its lose to City in all other aspects. I would say Polo is more comparable with Vios as its no match for City.
          Hardly see any Polo sedans on the road though. Even Preve and Suprima has is much more common on the road than Polo sedan

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:32 am

The Polo sedan is using an Aisin 6 speed torque converter gearbox… and Aisin is closely related to Toyota.

• VWfanboi on Jul 09, 2014 at 9:44 pm

They should review the proton saga… no i mean polo sedan also.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Wow, I must say that the show took a quantum leap in production quality. The angle of shots, the music, the presentation especially.

Very good idea to address the doubts about the City’s rear drum brakes too. An added advantage to drum brakes is cheaper maintenance as disc brakes are on the expensive side of things.

On another note, I feel that 9 minutes and 19 seconds is a wee bit too short to cover the cars in better detail; less than 3 minutes per car, if accounting for transition time. For example, trim level and the rest of the interior is not mentioned with much detail even though we got the message that the Vios feels better on the inside. Comparisons about driver seating position, ergonomics and rear space could have been helpful too but for the allotted time, it is understandable that you’d want to keep a few important points that truly differentiate each of the 3 cars.

Anyway, I still say “good job, well done!” and I’m looking forward to episode 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kudajawi on Jul 09, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Hopefully Episode 2 will be next year 2015 when both new Proton Saga and Perodua sedan will be tested inside out. EPIC BATTLE by Driven team!

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Without doubt, City is King. Even the E-Spec already beat the highest spec VIOS with junk TRD spoilers which does nothing but adds weight and looks Ah Beng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • cendol (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Subtitles please.
    The voice editing is not very good, voices being drowned out by ambient noises e.g music,

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:16 pm

You can turn on subtitles through YouTube, if needed :)

• Hafriz, great show & great shirt you have there too :)
        It would be nice to add Ford Fiesta into the list.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Why thank you.
          The Fiesta EcoBoost? I’ll just say that it’s not in this episode ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 10, 2014 at 4:35 am

It would have been nice to compare Japs and contis in one episode. This segment also has the Fiesta sedan and Polo sedan. I don’t like it when you only compare Japanese cars amongst each other, and European cars amongst each other.

If they are in the same segment and have a similar price tag I’d say fair game.

Btw., C4 Grand Picasso? Fluence? This season? The Fluence could be compared to Sylphy, Altis, Civic, Jetta, Focus sedan, Elantra. (Ok, a lot of cars, I admit.)

• Well Hafriz, not the EcoBoost version, the Titanium version will do, as it is the same sedan family, the same segment & the same price range.

• Ais kacang on Jul 09, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Turn on the youtube captions. Got subtitles

• Dragon on Jul 09, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Massive improvement from last episode in term of camming , dramatic ,acting. Tumbs up for implementing sub titles.
    Hilarious , actionable for ESP, NVH, and important airbags count.

Driven web series group ,
    You all did the great job, and totally not let me/us down.
    Thank you !

• Bataman on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Yes, thumbs up for subtitles! Watching in office you know, cannot turn on the sound…LOL.

• Dragon on Jul 09, 2014 at 4:04 pm

But u all forgot to call back Sam loo ?

• Kelvin on Jul 09, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Surveyed all 3 cars and decided to get H.City after test driven all the cars above. Chosen H.City in the end and its been only 3 days I am driving this new City. I have to admit, Honda City are the best among all because of its features and the God-Car Vios is just a tin milo kosong. Although the Almera is the cheapest but Tan Chong is trying to squeeze your money on the add-ons etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • SomethingWong on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I have surveyed 4 cars…add Attrage to the list.

In the end booked City, it just makes sense, wins almost in every respect.

V and E = slaughther all competitions
      S+ and S= basic model same price with the others low spec but still has a few advantages like better power, bigger space and good fc.

• Maseratits on Jul 09, 2014 at 4:34 pm

This season is AWESOME! You guys have improved so much compared to last season. Nice!

• kheeen on Jul 09, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Almera is comfort car….and the sound proof quic good. But the acceleration s*ck. Good for outstation but not for city drive…

• nabill (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 8:15 pm

To be honest,and once the excietment is out,there was not much said abt the almera and vios engine,transmission,space,NVH….
    It was like a lite review rather than a proper review..hopefull next episode addresses some of that….

• HAHAHA!!

All bu**hurt Honda BS Fanboys..

HAHAHAHA!!!

Can’t admit Honda BS Malaysia BQ and QC is worst than Perodua.

I admit their idea and vision is great, but their implementation su**s till no point saving unless the car comes directly from Japan.

Hidup Honda BS Malaysia!

• Honda City on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:46 pm

haha, Please shut up and stop ha ha ha. You are so irritating.

• Honda City Owner on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:08 am

Used to drive a Myvi for 7 years and a Kelisa for 4 years before that. Currently changed to new City V.
      I have no complaints about the fit and finish of Perodua cars and the new City and Honda is in no way inferior quality to Perodua.
      I didnt get any rattling sound or poor quality paint like what you commented in previous posts so i’m perfectly happy with mine.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jul 09, 2014 at 11:59 pm

‘These cars are light,what. Disc or drum, doesn’t make a difference.’ Dat truth.

• I am sorry… Bt u guys actually think this show is good?? I will gv it to them for effort… Bt one tends to get the feeling that they afe trying to hard to be like those top gear hosts so much so that their dialogues come out rather unnatural… Its like they r trying toooo hard! They shud jz be themselves… The cars are relevant to the everyday malaysian though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • cecifia on Jul 10, 2014 at 8:17 am

Hi Paul,

Really appreciate if got the comparison on the mpv car which will include Nissan Livina.

Thank you so much.

Cc

• think on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:30 am

The video was awesome. But just an added suggestion. I hope this particular models could be compared against with those cars…ford fiesta, chevrolet sonic, volkswagen polo sedan, mazda 2-outdated, mitsubishi attarage which all stands at the same segment. I understand that it’s really a tough job for this shoot out. But it will be more interesting..tq..think..praises goes to the superb team mates for their wonderful shoot out..

• Shaun on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:47 am

Firstly, it was an entertaining clip for sure, but do we need jokers to review the cars that we wish to use for next maybe 5-10 years? NO! We need capable, qualified and knowledgeable people to give us their insight, not just talk about the body kit and looks only. Looks are very subjective. Everyone has his/her own taste.

Secondly, who in the world taught you guys that the more airbag you have in a car, more safe you are??? If thats the case, there is no need to conduct a safety crash tests; give the status of the safest car to any car that has the most number of airbags. Come on guys, light up, read, do some research, learn and then come into this industry of reviewing cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Acrix on Jul 10, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Crash test will show the difference when there are more airbags in a car compared to those without.
      Airbags compliment and help improve on car safety ratings. Side and curtain airbags would help reduce side and rear impacts injuries.
      It is not compulsory to give the NCAP and IIHS crash ratings on car reviews as you can find those out yourself.

• CityE on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:50 am

I bought a City E for the wife.

I must say it’s a bit unfair to paint the City ride quality as being firm by basing it on the V spec alone.

This is because the V spec is shod with low profile 16 inch. On the E spec and the rest, the 15 inch with taller side gave it quite a compliant ride. Having driven both V and E, and being familiar with the previous gen City and Jazz, as well as the Vios, I can say that the City E has a much improved ride and rolling comfort. It still feels a bit wallowy at higher speeds, and does feel underdamped at times but for driving around the City this is perfect.

The CVT box may be boring but is quite refined in normal mode. In Eco mode I found it a bit buzzy (as it tends to keep the rpm high during mild acceleration from standstill- presumably for better FC as indicated on the FC meter) but it does a job well. A full week of sending kids to school, bazar ramadhan runs and such returns about 11.3l/km in Eco mode. Around 10l/km in normal mode. And this is strictly in city-no highway runs.

Brake feel is also improved with progressive initial bite (not as jerky as Honda of yesteryears) with good stability and efficiency. Haven’t tried sustained hard braking so I can’t tell about it’s fade performance. But at 1200kg kerb weight I think it should be Ok.

The electric steering is also noticeably improved. There’s immediate build up either side of centre, and it weighs up rather gradually with speed. Although manoeuvring around the parking lot does feel a bit heavy to me- I wonder why as this can easily be programmed to be lighter and easier to use.

The hill hold works like a charm. Very unobtrusive and quite sensitive on even the slightest gradient. It holds about 3 second before gently ramping down the brake force. This also helps the CVT for a smoother launch on incline.

With kids and wife in tow, no chance yet to sample the ESP. On limit performance is progressive enough though (there’s good rear axle support in cornering so you don’t get this yawry feel if you swerve into a corner aggressively) so it’s a hint that the ESP will only come to work when things get really overcooked.

Keyless entry and push start works well. Interior styling is a bit unconventional with asymmetric design but the fabric seats seam and padding material consistency is poor. It is so easy to see the seats bulging in places due to this.

Packaging and ergonomics wise, the new City is a textbook example of efficient packaging. A key aspect is the placement of the fuel tank which I think is under the front row seats. This made the rear trunk deeper, and rear leg room wider.

Overall quite satisfied. The wife misses the old Proton Inspire sure footed handling though but the other improvements from the City do make up for it. It’s easier to drive, quiet, economical, and the styling is fresh (except for the 15 in wheel which still looks kinda lost in the acres of the rear quarter panel). And most importantly for me the car is safe. 2 airbags, Esp, good visibility. Looking forward to years of satisfied use.

• Good review. I concur with everything. My only gripe would be the firmer ride especially on bumps and the seats are not as comfortable on my City V.

Front visibility is good but the rear and side is poor due to the high rear and thick B pillars.

In Eco mode the revs tend to be high and i can achieve 12.5km/l in pure city driving. I realize on normal mode i can achieve 13km/l with proper throttle control and keeping revs low at 2k rpm during accelerations.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:28 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:12 am

Thanks for sharing your experience. Really good insight into the lower spec Cities.

Now a question: I know this is your experience and I am not doubting what you stated but having higher revs in ECO mode does sound rather counter-intuitive and counter-productive. High revs mean that your engine is working harder and that would mean it drinks more fuel unless you are coasting or under engine braking. But you said that you were accelerating mildly from standstill. That is rather strange.

I also drive a car with a CVT and I found that accelerating from standstill or uber crawl speeds will produce higher RPM (and thus, better acceleration) for a few km/h before it upshifts. The feeling is akin to 1st gear.

Were you very light on the throttle?

If I give too light an input to the throttle, the “1st gear” part of the CVT can hold for quite a while. Too heavy an input sometimes also prolongs it. A “just right” input will keep it short and sweet.

• From what i noticed after driving the new City V for 3000km. Eco mode tends to push the rpm to above 2500 at low speeds very easily which does result in engine roar which is audible in the car. The rev does tend to linger at 2500 rpm until higher speeds is achieved.
        Without Eco mode i am able to control the revs better and keep it at around 1500-2000 at low speeds. In long straights without much traffic keeping rpm at 2000 can accelerate all the way to 120km/h thus making it frugal in fuel.
        Unless you have a heavy foot i think keeping Eco mode off is better in my experience.

• Mr.Skywalker on Jul 11, 2014 at 12:03 pm

If you’re thinking who gave you thumbs down, have no doubt. Definitely the haha guy. LOL

• harrypotter on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:44 am

Cerato rm90k. Thumbs up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Bataman on Jul 10, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Cerato KX? Underpowered C Seg with 2 airbags only. And no VSA/ESC. And no resale value. not to mentione suck fuel.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jul 10, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Celaka is C-Segment, Vios, City & Almera is B-Segment.

As usual, sushi B-Segments will make kimchi C & D-segment sorhais pee in their pants

• my husband interested to buy a toyota caldina for our second car and i prefer standart car like vios or lancer….can you live your comments on 3 types of this car….TQ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • I drive a 2012 E-spec Honda City while My wife drives a G-spec 2009 Toyota Vios. Sometimes, we exchange car to drive.
    My wife complainted City power steering is heavier than City (despite both use electric steering). I think this is due to City kerb weight is heavier than Vios. As I am using highway to work, City tends to be sturdier than Vios but when it comes to city driving, Vios is rather lighter on wheel.
    Fuel efficiency wise, both are almost the same when comparing apple to apple, despite City is 5-speeded.
    Vios leather seats are better when it’s cold at night but no go when you park it under hot sun, even you put up sunshade & have windows tinted.
    Boot space, City wins hands down. We always go shopping with City, especially when you have baby/kid stroller to carry along.
    I don’t find any difference in braking as both have 4 disc brakes.
    Speakers sound quality (both same at 6 pieces), both are quite close, depending on music raw source (Vios can play through USB).
    Overall, my wife likes her Vios and I stick to my City, both have their own advantage.
    It’s up to you how you would appreciate it.

• Elchino on Jul 12, 2014 at 12:57 pm

I still like the format used in the shootout between CRV, Kuga and CX5. I get all the necessary info on the 3 cars and there is no unnecessary talk.

• charles on Sep 14, 2014 at 9:07 am

hi , after watching the driven series,i have notice something odd about the fuel efficiency of cars .
    may i know how is it calculated?
    i noticed honda city 1.5 is only 15.1km/l
    , nissan almera 1.5 is 13.5km/l
    , toyota vios 1.5 is 13.2km/l
    but on the other hand SUV having better fuel efficiency with honda CRV 2.0 of 18.3km/l
    , mazda cx5 2.0 of 17.0km/l
    and ford kuga 1.6 with 14.0km/l.
    why is this???

• Eason Chan on Oct 13, 2014 at 11:54 pm

In terms of price, Almera is definitely worthy value for money, the appearance with Impul/ Nismo aerokit is very attractive too… No doubt, City is a lot better than vios which is similarly priced