Toyota Camry Hybrid facelift unveiled in Japan

toyota-camry-hybrid-facelift-japan-0005

The Toyota Camry Hybrid facelift has been launched in Japan, shortly after the regular Camry facelift made its world debut at the 2014 Moscow Motor Show.

Visually, there’s not much separating the regular Camry from the Camry Hybrid, other than Hybrid Synergy Drive badging on the rear, a Hybrid badge on the front wings, and a blue glow on the Toyota logos.

toyota-camry-hybrid-facelift-japan-0024

The engine continues to be the 2.5 litre combustion engine version of Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive II system (the Prius uses a 1.8 litre combustion engine system), found also in Lexus cars such as the ES 300h.

The system’s 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle four cylinder can do 160 PS and 213 Nm on its own, but in the THS II system it’s coupled with an electric motor combo that can produce 143 PS and 270Nm of torque. The combined output that can be generated by both power sources via the torque split device is 205 PS.

toyota-camry-hybrid-facelift-japan-0017

In the facelift car, fuel economy has improved from 23.4 km/L (JC08 cycle) to 25.4 km/L, but this is only for the base model which has fuel economy strategies such as smaller 16 inch alloy wheels. The higher end variants use larger 17 inch wheels and keep the same 23.4 km/L economy rating.

The Camry Hybrid facelift gains the Camry facelift’s new instrument cluster as well, so the new colour multi-info display can display the Hybrid Synergy Drive system’s status in a more interesting way since it’s in colour, as opposed to a simple low resolution monochrome in the pre-facelift car.

toyota-camry-hybrid-facelift-japan-0014

According to our sources, the Camry Hybrid’s introduction in Malaysia as a CKD hybrid with tax exemption has been pushed to 2015, instead of the original target launch time of by the end of this year.

Thus, we might be getting the Camry Hybrid in facelift form instead of the pre-facelift model that we’ve already seen at JPJ and driving around public roads with a registered number plate. UMW Toyota previously indicated a price tag of close to RM200k.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7sbty8H5iLg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7sbty8H5iLg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 14, 2014 at 11:58 pm

meanwhile in malaysia….no airbags to be found..ok la got 2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:05 am

Same to Honda, Ford, Nissan all other foreign brands…

THanks to Proton and its tax protection… Malaysians have to pay much more, so that Proton could survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 42
      • Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 9:07 am

Samm Loor bodoh.

KIA got full specs for all high end, and some even low-end.

Even Proton has 6 airbags for the top specs. This crap Japanaese sushi only 2-airbags for top specs??? What rubbish!!! And you still blaming Proton for Toyota’s stingeness. Go fark off lah sohai.

And that rear…looks straight out from the 80’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
        • Obviously (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

4 airbags for top spec. Only cause of UMW in Malaysia, though. Don’t say UMW has no say in what is put into the local cars. It’s their product planners that ask for the specs.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Alphard, Prius and Prius C all have 7 airbags.

If you didn’t have enough knowledge of Toyota cars, better don’t bullshit around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • Goh Jeng on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Yeah Sam L0rr has an extended knowledge about Toyol cars. He also knows that Toyol got better RV than gold. Lulz.

• Bataman on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Discussion of Camry suddenly diverted to other cars. Such failure to communicate…no wonder your sales so bad..people come to you wanna buy Vios and you ask them buy Alphard.
            Btw, do you want to talk about Vios with 2 airbags?? Since you are so good at talking about something else!!

• kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:15 am

most foreign brand now 6 airbag at least new launching cars

• kangkong on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Nissan Sylphy, Nissan Teana all 6 airbags, VSC, EBD, ABS for all variants.

• RM180k only 4airbags for full spec Camry???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 15, 2014 at 12:02 am

Bee Anne too away the balance airbags.

Even the Thai version has 6 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:25 am

dont be retarded using my account

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
      • kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:15 am

register la..

• Vader (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Cannot, else later on he hard to cover and no excuse for what he had said.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Registered member also ask ppl go die, get out of Malaysia, go to hell… They are not any nobler than we do.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Do I ever said that to you?..u the feel the heat bcoz of ur way of commenting full of -ve aura n hatred

• Same L0rrr on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Relax, I didn’t said you did.

Why do i have to be -ve aura and hatred? I do wish Proton can make remarkable car from the bottom of my heart.

But now… They didn’t make any good car, instead generation of Malaysians suffer.

Why? Whole country at the expenses of a car company?

• The front modifications is much better, but the rear seems to have finished off in a hurry ..

• Maybe cheapskate UMW might just throw 4 additional plastic bags this time?

• Heng Lee on Sep 15, 2014 at 5:42 am

‘improved from 23.4 km/L (JC08 cycle) to 25.4 km/l’

BTW: The top speed of the JC08 cycle is 82km/h only…

• TheDean on Sep 15, 2014 at 8:22 am

Toyota has managed the make an utterly uninteresting design a ‘classic’ by giving the same look newer upgrade names for many, many years.

• Burong on Sep 15, 2014 at 10:42 am

Camry is projected to be less appealing to my taste. If I have only 180K, I will opt for other, and not this feel.

• Let us be peace. Up to customers to choose what car they want. Making yourself a limit for 2nd right only is not necessary. Honestly in market now, all cars almost the same value. I got a friend who try to trade his well maintained & protected, a year old 2.5G hilux, the car dealer ask for RM60K. He cancelled & keep.
    Every car has it’s own capabilities. If you drive all mazda 6, teana, camry or other types of vehicles, you have satisfactory in different sector. The driving pleasure are much different.

Go & test it out. Buy something that suit you well. Don’t follow people’s suggestions always. Peace & happy everybody.

• Alvin on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:12 am

Still ugly owaiiii…

• Malaysians that don’t know how to appreciate a car and claims Korean cars are better.

What a wasted people.
    No wonder Malaysia is so out-of-date, because everyone supports Korea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Lol at all the basher…in paultan you’ll see basher of toyota and proton…worship hyundai and kia

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 11:56 am

Not really also…every brand has their bashers. Just population difference. Even people that are trying to be objective kena bash. aih

• cendol (Member) on Sep 15, 2014 at 1:57 pm

How bout those who just bought Camry G XXX???
    I think it was less than 6 months ago it happened.

• Don’t blame the Toyota la… want to blame..UMW is the one…how come a camry selling at Thailand r more cheaper then the accord with the same range..maybe just a few thousand n in our country is upside down.. n the different is a huge…just for the price only…

• sonyman on Sep 16, 2014 at 1:47 pm

why sell so cheap? UMW you must sell the camry hybrid more than 250K so that uncle will think the car equivalent to BMW 320d, otherwise uncle will feel the car too cheap, not up to standard.

Plus if you sell at RM 250K, some buyers who dont want to buy C class, 3 series, A4, can come buy camry mah, as long as the price is the same.

For the airbag, i think not important lah. cause uncle dont mind airbags, they say, for so many years they drive the car. never before they use the airbag, so no need to give so many, 2 just to satisfy JPJ only enough loh. Save the money, increase the price.