Ford C-MAX and Grand C-MAX – facelifted MPVs debut

New C-MAX Family 01

The Ford C-MAX and its seven-seater sibling, the Ford Grand C-MAX, have been given a facelift ahead of the Paris Motor Show next month where it will be showcased next to the new S-MAX.

The front fascias of both models have been comprehensively rejigged to fit the company’s new One Ford design language. There are sharper headlights, a reshaped bonnet, a cleaner-looking lower air intake, rectangular fog lights and Ford’s current Aston-like grille. The rear of the regular model, meanwhile, has been refreshed with new tail lights and tailgate (the Grand’s rump remains unchanged).

The interior has been given the same sort of customer-driven revisions as the updated Focus. The centre console has been made cleaner and less complicated and much of the controls are now handled by the eight-inch SYNC 2 touchscreen display and an “advanced” voice control system.

There is a new three-spoke steering wheel (now available with heating), doorsill scuff plates, load net fitting points behind the second- and third-row seats, a revised transmission tunnel with an adjustable tray next to the handbrake as well as a new sliding armrest, under which sits a USB port in the upper storage area. Higher-quality trims also feature across the range, and a Kuga-like Hands-Free Tailgate is now available.

Under the bonnet is a new 120 PS 1.5 litre TDCi diesel that offers a 6% improvement in carbon dioxide emissions and 5 PS more than the previous 1.6 diesel. There are also revised versions (all Euro 6-compliant) of existing engines that promise up to a 20% reduction in carbon dioxide emissions. Auto-Start-Stop is now standard on EcoBoost petrol and 2.0 TDCi diesel models.

Ford has worked to improve refinement on the C-MAX, adding thicker side glass, more absorbent seals around the tailgate and rear-view mirror, a new acoustic damping material for the engine bay heat shield and extra acoustic seals for diesel models. There is also a retuned dual-mass flywheel for less vibrations under load as well as new engine mounts for smoother start-stop operation.

New C-MAX interior 01

Safety-wise, the new C-MAX models are now available with Adaptive Cruise Control, automatic perpendicular parking (like the new S-MAX), Cross Traffic Alert and a new Park-Out Assist feature that helps drivers exit parallel parking spots. Active City Stop now works at speeds up to 50 km/h (up from 30 km/h) and there is a new Active Braking system that works at speeds between 8-180 km/h.

An interesting addition is Ford’s MyKey technology. This enables owners, or parents, if you like, to programme a key for younger drivers that restricts the top speed, reduces the maximum volume of the audio system, and can disable the vehicle altogether if driver and passengers are not using their seat belts.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ford user on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Why bother? Not available for Msian market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Obviously (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm

This blog covers some global automotive news as well…it’s not good to be katak di bawah tempurung.

• Vader (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:13 pm

This car look great, but wondering Ford not bring it to bolehland while the S-Max is too expensive.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 17, 2014 at 7:44 pm

So…S-MAX for max sportiness and C-MAX for max comfort or class?

• Model T on Sep 17, 2014 at 8:31 pm

The guys at Ford, can you stop mimicking Aston’s grill. Shame on you for losing your identity. Henry is kicking in his grave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • parkjw on Sep 17, 2014 at 11:53 pm

shame on You! dont you know ford owned aston? It is like your father owns you and it is completely ok for you to look at bit like him. How’d you feel if someone called you mimicking your dad’s smile?

• KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 18, 2014 at 11:01 am

i leled at your comment..how can you compare a car to a human..brainless joke ever..

• Mugilan on Sep 17, 2014 at 9:36 pm

I’ve had it enough of this bullshit ?
    Where’s the Fiesta ST ???!!!