SPYSHOTS: New Nissan X-Trail sighted on trailer

NISSAN-XTRAIL-MALAYSIA-SPYSHOT-0003

Malaysian Nissan distributor Edaran Tan Chong Motor announced at its Raya open house this year that the new Nissan X-Trail would be coming to Malaysia by the end of 2014 as a CKD model.

It appears that Tan Chong could be right on track with the SUV’s launch date, as multiple units of the Nissan X-Trail have been spotted being transported together with other Nissan cars on trailers yesterday. We don’t know if these are CBU or CKD units though. Thanks to reader Khen Yong for the spy pix.

The 2014 Nissan X-Trail made its global debut at the 2013 Frankfurt Motor Show. Indonesia and the Philippines were the first ASEAN countries to get the car – it was launched in September 2014 in the two countries, so the fact that Malaysia will be getting it this year is very fast indeed.

The new Nissan X-trail is available as both a five-seater and seven-seater, with the latter having more of a 5+2 arrangement than a full seven-seater, with the third row being mostly for children. You can’t really expect full seven-seat capability from a C-segment vehicle. Prices in Indonesia start at Rp. 383 million (RM103,300) for the 2.0 litre manual, rising to Rp. 413 million (RM111,300) for the CVT-equipped 2.0 litre and Rp. 431.5 million (RM116,900) for the 2.5 litre model.

Two four-cylinder petrol engine choices are available – a Serena S-Hybrid-derived MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected mill developing 144 PS and 200 Nm, as well as a QR25DE 2.5 litre MPI motor from the Teana that produces 171 PS and 233 Nm. Not sure which engines Malaysia will get, but we know for sure we’ll get the automatic gearbox, which is an Xtronic CVT. Other regions like Europe gets diesel engines too of course.

As for safety, EuroNCAP announced today that the European-spec Nissan X-trail has scored five stars in their crash test. It also scored well for child protection – based on dummy readings in the dynamic tests, the new X-Trail scored maximum points for its protection of an 18-month-old infant.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Vader (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:25 am

Not bad, the TC seem improve its speed to bring in new models compare to last time.
    The fuel consumption on this SUV will be our concern as well… ya..

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:15 pm

again…

Price will determine it’s a WINNER or LOSER …

• Jimmy on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Proton has to improve its quality, fit/finish and aftersales, especially if it is to sell vehicles from 170k to 400k.
        If I were a good skillful mechanics/technicians, I will open up my own bengkel or I will work for MBM, and I will not tell customers that there are no problems, what you hear or feel are normal phenomena.
        So for vehicles above 300k, I will recommend Mercedes Benz. Some infanitis, or pseudo-infanitis may look good, and good luck you as a buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
        • cendol (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 2:52 pm

What you talking about?
          Proton? Then jump to MBM , then jump to infant

• Boleh! on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:08 pm

He forgot to take his medicine this morning…

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Nissan X-Trail ??? k

Mitsubishi ASX 2.0 114 K
      Suzuki Vitara 2.0 117 k
      Hyundai Tucson 2.0 129 k
      Mazda CX5 2.0 136 k
      Kia Sportage 2.0 Nu 138 k
      Honda CRV 2.0 143 k
      Ford Kuga 1.6 ecoboost 156 k

Price will determine the sales vlm …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • kenny on Oct 02, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Price is not everthing or else the cheapest ASX at RM114k will be selling hot. The performance, accessories, safety features, the brand name and RV are the factors. AND, please, ASX and VITARA are not the same class as Sportage, Kuga, CRV and CX5.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:25 pm

What’s the differences?

Might share EXT DIM & Wheel Base platform each of them? So we all could have a clear picture.

Thanks.

• Small arse screen on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:47 am

Again TC bring the small arse screen like the ones we see in Teana and Shlphy with no option to upgrade to a bigger screen to Malaysian market. And watch as you fleet gets relegated to Pariah status. You’ll be in the same league as FOrd and even Perodua and Proton had bigger screen.

Read this market wrongly and watch your market share slides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:57 am

well…like finally its here?

• Marieta on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:59 am

Relative to Almera above on of the model, new X-trail size looks too small for a seven seater…so Malaysia got only 5 seater version ?

• ganni on Oct 02, 2014 at 10:59 am

most probably will be in 150k-175k range..just guessing..

• Gargantia on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:00 am

Finally the new SUV have arrive.

Please price it right this time.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:23 am

Hopefully ETCM will bring both 2WD (FWD) and 4WD version of the X-Trail here. Not like current model (2nd Gen) which is available in 2WD only.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Why do thy have cover it??
    Its not that we r the first country in the universe to have it…
    A quick google search will give u all the design u want to see…
    Anyway it looks good though… Anyting is better than the last gen one, which was soooo boring n frankly a lame effort….

• cendol (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 2:53 pm

They don’t want you to see how ‘kosong’ the spec is

• The new X-Trail looks good. Finally Nissan has got the ‘design language’ to rival others including the lightyears-ahead Koreans. It started with the facelifted Grand Livina. Liked that. Good job Nissan.

• keedai on Oct 18, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Finally comes to Malaysia, I have been waiting for it for a year

• I test drive xtrail 2.5 today.Exellent suspension and driving comfort . It is very much better than my new Honda Crv. Hmm…Regret .