Impose a petrol and diesel fuel tax for higher capacity vehicles, says MP Datuk Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz

Fuel_station_ 002

We’ve heard this all before, it’s beginning to sound like a broken record – why don’t we impose a petrol and diesel fuel tax on higher capacity vehicles? This has again been suggested by Raub MP Datuk Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz in his personal blog.

This is in reaction to Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Ahmad Maslan, who defended the Government on Twitter by pointing out that fuel prices in Malaysia remained the lowest in Southeast Asia. He goes as far as praising Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak as the only PM to have reduced fuel prices, referring to the drop from RM2.70 (brought about in the June 2008 hike) to RM1.80 in September 2009.

The “drop” wasn’t exactly a drop, of course, as it was the introduction of RON 95, the new base fuel, that brought about the lower pricing (and at that point, it is worth reminding the Minister that the price of RON 97 had already been brought down, to RM2.05 effective September 1, 2009).

The price of unregulated RON 97 has of course gone up and down since, and is now pegged at RM2.75 per litre as of September 2014. RON 95, meanwhile, has been on a (slow) upward trajectory, settling at RM2.30 after the 20 sen increase last week. Diesel followed the same trend, now at RM2.20 per litre.

Petrol_Subsidy_Sept_ 001

Back to Ariff Sabri’s suggestion, he says that the most “practical solution to the petrol and diesel issue” is for the Government to introduce a fuel tax on all vehicles above 1,600 cc (1.6 litre). This should be done to the benefit of the target groups, as in the lower income people, as well as to “prevent the undeserving ones from benefiting.”

Expanding on the new petrol and diesel tax, the Raub MP says it makes sense to tax the owners of bigger capacity cars and big diesel users. “Poorer people like us drive lower cc cars; the bigger capacity cars, above 1,600 cc are driven by better off owners. So we tax them,” wrote the MP under his Sakmongkol AK47 pseudonym.

Ariff Sabri proposes that a multi-tiered tax band be imposed, which would cover vehicles with capacities ranging from 1,601-2,000 cc, 2,001-2,500 cc, 2,501-3,000 cc, 3,001 cc and above. But instead of paying more at the pumps, the Government could just collect the pre-arranged tax amount at the next road tax renewal. Foreign vehicles would be taxed at customs offices.

What do you think of this suggestion – yay or nay? We say that any notion of taxing solely based on a vehicle’s engine capacity (like how our annual road tax is structured) is overly simplistic and completely outdated, especially with the recent trend of engine downsizing. Here’s a quick example: should a RM210k BMW 316i be taxed less than a RM76k Proton Inspira 2.0 just because it has a smaller engine?

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 001

A more practical (not to mention fair) way is to rate cars depending on their carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions, where if it emits more, you pay more (both road tax and the new fuel tax, if so imposed). For much older cars, a capacity-based system may be relevant. Like, you know, how it’s done all across Europe.

Furthermore, a CO2 emissions specification has been planned for Malaysia’s new Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) scheme, so it’s clear that a precise measurement system has been thought of (or at least will be). The problem is, this would require the introduction of Euro 4 fuel in Malaysia, as our current Euro 2M fuel will result in higher CO2 emissions compared to the same engine running on the higher grade fuel.

The introduction of Euro 4 (or Euro 4M) fuel is still a long while away, judging by how things are progressing – in July, it was reported that oil companies have asked for a postponement in deploying Euro 4 fuel, citing costs, and in any case, Petronas’ Pengerang Integrated Petroleum Complex won’t be online until sometime in 2017 at the earliest, with sources having indicated to us that it could even be longer than 2017.

And while we’re on the subject of EEV, a system based on fuel consumption figures (for any given weight, a la the EEV classifications) would be a good alternative too. There’s already a system in place to measure how efficient a car is in Malaysia, so why not extend it to our archaic road tax structure, and if need be, the new petrol and diesel fuel tax too? What say you?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:06 am

Thats not a solution is it?

The last thing we need is more TAX. We still need to address the elephant in the room, which remains the high car taxes already imposed.

Drop that, and people can change to newer more fuel efficient cars, which also may include those that scoot under whatever this buffoon is proposing.

I would bet my last dollar that no one will complain of the lack of fuel subsidy if the all cars looses its car tax and duties. After all, we are already pre-paying some 10+ years of fuel subsidies in taxes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 219 Thumb down 2
    • Sack him now on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:32 am

MP Datuk Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz

I believe you have vacuum between your ears. The place where people normally have grey matter

In ONE YEAR a 1.3 MVYI driver covers more miles than a person who drives a 6.0 litre Rolls Royce in 5 years.

And in one year, many Myvi probably used up 4000 litres, while the low mileage Roll Royce used less than 1000 litres.

Everyday how many ten or thousands of Myvis are out there burning subsidised fuel, compare to the few Rolls Royce in town?

So please Mr Member of Parliament, how does your proposal help reduce the fuel subsidy by the govt ?

Seriously our MPs need to get proper education before they get elected MPs. Damn Malu when they open their mouth !

Do not make such sweeping statement or it only proves Otak Udang pun lebih besar

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 383 Thumb down 4
      • Ori Same L0rrrr on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:02 pm

I believe the MP & his family is ‘poor’ because they only owned 1.4cc cars, but he forgot to mentioned that the current market prices of their cars are RM100k & above. And his suggestion is ‘very fair’ to his family compared to my father’s 25 years old 2.0cc Volvo that is now priced RM10k.

So, I think the current market value of each of the cars must be considered and not only based on it’s CC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 1
        • There is NOTHING to subsidise! on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:35 pm

How can an unwanted government increase the prices of petrol? Why I say unwanted, simple. BN won ONLY less than 20% of ALL votes. That means 80% of voters DID NOT want the BN government. How BN won was very simple. They concentrated on small seats with only about 1000 voters or less. They probably paid all those 1000 voters handsomely and won that small seat. They won enough small seats to form the government. But all those small seats only represent less than 20% of ALL voters. 80% of the voters don’t want the BN government at all and don’t want an increase in Petrol price.

So, how can a government that represents the minority (which is ONLY 20% of the voters) increase oil prices that burden the whole population of Malaysia? And also now propse quota for the rakyat?

Oh yes, to all those fools who believe in the word subsidy. There is no such thig as subsidy lah in the first place. We produce our own oil. There is nothing to subsidise. Look at the Sultan of Brunei. He believes charity begins at home. He gives his rakyat first very cheap petrol, then the rest he sells it overseas at market rates. We have hundred times more oil and reserves than Brunei. Infact, ask many oil consultants, Malaysia has one of the richest reserves of oil in the world! We also produce the highest grade of oil in the world, but that is exported to first world countries. We don’t see it. Infact Petronas discovered the largest oil field int he world last year but that news was quickly covered up. What this means is that, Petronas might be the richest oil company in the world. But of course, the money Petronas makes all goes into crony pockets. Yes, we may have the largest discovery of oil field in the entire world, but we rakyat will NEVER see a cent of it.

So, to all those fools out there who is talking about subsidy, there is no such thing lah. We don’t buy oil. We mine our own oil. What we mine, we cannot subsidise.

This story has been going around a long time to fool the people of Malaysia, especially, the kampung people that petrol need to be subsidised. We don’t need to subsidise any petrol or fuel because Malaysia produces ample oil not only for its rakyat but also for export. So, if you produce your own oil, what is there to subsidise?

If you grow vegetables in your garden to eat, you cannot go around telling people that your vegetables are subsidised. You are growing it. You are producing it. You don’t have to buy it at all from an external source. The same with oil. We produce it. We should be using it first. This is how the Sultan of Brunei thinks. That is why he gives his rakyat very cheap fuel first. Then the balance, he exports it at global prices. For him, rakyat comes first. He gives the rakyat clean and cheap oil because he cares.

I hope our Government can become like Brunei government, think about their rakyat first. Don’t compare with Singapore also. Singaporeans earn 5x more than Malaysians. Their GDP per capita is 5x more than us. That means if you are earning RM5000 in Malaysia, the same Singaporean in the same position is earning RM25,0000. With that kind of purchasing power, even RM5 per litres also is no big deal lah. Please lah people of Malaysia, don’t be stupid and believe the bull the government tells you. They are so clever to publish in the media the prices of oil all over the world. But they fail to tell you, all over the world, they earn far more than what we earn. To make matters worse, our ringgit is so low and our currency is like Japanese Banana money. Singapore dollar now 2.5, expected to hit 2.8 soon. When we travel overseas, Malaysians are like pariah cause our money is nothing globally. Whilst the Singaporean or the Bruneian is having latte in a posh restaurant in Europe, the kutu who goes overseas from Malaysia is having maggi mee in his budget hotel room. Go to overseas and see this yourself. Why? Because our money is so small and have no global meaning.

Which do you think cost more? A Singaporean earning RM25,000 per month but paying RM5 per litre petrol or a Malaysian earning RM5000 per month but paying RM2.30 per litre?

This is the same with all over the world. Malaysia’s petrol is one of the most expensive in the world to what people earn in Malaysia. We earn little compared to other countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 19
          • kzm (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:12 pm

R u sure oni 20%? Where got DUN/Parlimen seat less than 1000 voter..where u got those figure? Even PR said 47% not 20%..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • Fake Motorhead on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:44 pm

A plain stupid RBA at work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
          • Trolak on Oct 07, 2014 at 7:54 pm

what? 20%? 80%?? LOL.. stupid, nothing but stupid.

• explorer (Member) on Oct 11, 2014 at 11:51 am

I cannot help to think that…you are so so clueless on what the heck you are typing…
            Ur opposition leader has been in the gov so long time…in fact in the chair of Ministry of Finance…
            Dont u think he would’ve know it?

p/s : Opposition leader announced the benefits of GST in Budget 1992 (while he in the gov lah)…what happen now?

• Protonist on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:39 pm

It is time to revise the road tax. Road tax is way too cheap that people won’t bother the amount if he/she can afford a RM100k car. That is the reason why so many stupid pickups (like the Sam Loo Hilux) bullying others on the road.

Cars more expensive than RM100k should not allowed for RON 95. If the owner so rich, he/she is not deserved for fuel subsidy.

Then people will realize how good Proton is… Full features, cheap car, cheap fuel, support own country!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 75
          • Low Budget on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Your suggestion does not hold water. Might as well suggest to buy Modenas Motorcycle to support own country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Uncle_Sammy (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:19 pm

The Hon. MP for Raub should keep his fight confined to criticizing BN in his blog since he’s now in DAP and not Umno. He is out of touch with the motoring world if he thinks only rich people drive cars above 1.6cc. He’s probably never heard of Ford 1.1 Ecoboost engines or VW 1.2 TFSi or hybrid 1.5/1.8 engines from Toyota. All these engines reside in cars selling from 100k.
        Lagi mahu tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • Low Budget on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Correct, now a days the engines cc are getting smaller and much more powerful than the older generation of high cc cars due to advancement in technology, and due to that the smaller engine cars are not cheap to buy.
          Some more huh! Plenty of poor people buy big cc old cars due to extremely low 2nd hand value, like that how lah?

• Hellhole on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:20 am

Easier solution. Only those who ride buses should be assisted. Raise price of petrol to RM4 per liter = Those who cannot afford can sell car and take bus = Those who can afford enjoy smoother traffic and less fuel consumption due to smoother traffic = More people take bus more profitable it is for bus company who can then increase frequency of bus service. Since less cars on the road, bus arrives quicker = Money from petrol goes to bus subsidy so more buses

• Blaze (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:49 pm

The current roadtax structure has already “penalized” such big engine car owners. My 4.4 V8 is taxed at 8k+. Another 4.8 v8 SUV is at 4k+. Both are more than 5 years old and their resale value is considered a pittance compared when new.. Now this?!! Other countries has moved forward by using Co2 emmision as a basis for the roadtax., and we still thinking about capacity..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • The point here not to reduced fuel subsidy, but how to channel it wisely.

• rally_fan (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:17 pm

well said!! not forgetting, the 6.0 litre roller is already paying a small fortune in road taxes.

• Win Win Solution on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:04 pm

The best solution is this:

a) 20km/Liter car = 75% car excise duty + annual road tax RM75

b) 10km/Liter car or below = 750% car excise duty + annual road tax RM7,500

Benefits:
      1. Promote fuel efficient cars as no.1 choice for car buyers.
      2. Car makers that cannot sell fuel efficient cars should close business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
      • Enthu on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Proton will die if this is implemented

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Let it die lar…!

Who in the right mind would design a fuel-hungry engine and pair to a lousy CVT box…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • Low Budget on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Like that also means all Perodua cars will also die except the Axia model.

• policeman on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:02 pm

The best solution is to tax non local cars.

I say increase the tax on CBUs and CKDs.
        You want to support foreign products, you pay the price for it.

I support local cars. I owned 2, and currently owning another and they have never failed me. All Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 46
        • Low Budget on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:53 pm

What the fcxk? Non local cars already been taxed kau-kau, want some more tax huh? Don’t get me wrong, I own cheapo P2 cars, that does not mean I support taxing foreign made cars more than the locals.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 6:44 pm

I do prefer gov do quota per person with valid license per month to all boleh people eg monthly 300L RM1.90/L. Once they exceed liter allocated monthly pay price match highest price of petrol boleh neighbour..eg if Singapore RM4/Liter so boleh normal price is RM4/Liter..with this boleh can avoid foreigner, tourist, pati n smuggler to buy subsidies fuel. this oso hard to be missuse as 300L is to small to smuggle out n petrol purchase is recorded.
      This look fair to everbody govt, low, mid n high income people. As the govt can balance their subsidies spending. People still get subsidies on fuel n oso people who use to much is penalise by buying fuel without subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • TreeHugger on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:33 am

Kzm thats not entirely fair to penalize based on fuel consumption per month. There are many middle-to-high income people who live nearer to their work place because they can afford to own houses in urban areas hence consume less fuel on the road per month. Compare this to low-to-middle income people who cannot afford to live near to their work place hence they commute over longer distance and consume more fuels in a month compared to the other group. Another example is those pasar malam traders as they consume high amount of fuel to make a living daily. Your suggested system will further burden these low/middle income group.

• kzm (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 9:38 am

don’t u think 300L more than enough? I do base on my saga blm that people said fuel guzzler (~160L/month).. u can use up to 10L per day for 30 days..I don’t think u use 10L per day everyday..the way that I say not penalise anyone except people who use too much petrol..all still got subsidy poor or rich..

• UnpopularOpinion on Oct 10, 2014 at 2:36 am

I think the government must be thinking: *Half-Baked Logic*
      Wow… I can imagine the massive standstill 2 hours jam to work (currently takes 15 minutes) and the sky-rocket-high price of my already expensive season-pass parking (now RM110), the sidewalks will be filled with 4×4 instead of people (because everyone drives), if tax is removed…

Instead they should realise that:
      People will buy car for weekend use and use bikes to go to work because nobody can tahan crazy traffic jams and lack of parking for that long! And if you tell people multi-story parking is expensive to build… People will actually believe! Seriously… they can sell even more vehicles than before and sell more petrol as well and more cronies wins!

That is my UnpopularOpinion…

• Hellhole on Oct 16, 2014 at 3:19 am

They need to tax higher for petrol. Raise price to RM4 per liter = Those who cannot afford can sell car and take bus = Those who can afford enjoy smoother traffic and less fuel consumption due to smoother traffic = More people take bus more profitable it is for bus company who can then increase frequency of bus service. Since less cars on the road, bus arrives quicker = Money from petrol goes to bus subsidy, so even more frequent buses with bigger coverage

• Sam's Best Friend on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:07 am

Consumption tax.

Use more fuel, = you better be economically productive, as you will spend more on fuel.

Plan your day ahead and minimise your trips and unneccesary detours. Time to be efficient
    plus. grab a credit card that rebates 5% or more for fuel charges. eg citibank shell card… being one that was seen recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • WTF... Joke on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:09 am

Another low life act from the G. What you mean by the lowest in SEA? Forgotten Brunei? Same kind of people but the governing pattern is totally opposite.

And what a joke by saying poor people drives 1.6cc and below? 1.6cc is very low please. if u wanna tax, please tax 3.5litre and above where most found in luxury or supercars and mostly driven by rich cronies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 5
    • BN member on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:35 pm

You Cakap banyak buat ape? Brunei minyak murah you pindahlah pgi sana la, masih duduk sini bising ape…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 84
      • lu boleh blah sekali. ingat tanah nh u n bn members je yg punya. Stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Anti-Establishment on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Please check the ratio of consumption vs production for Brunei & Malaysia.

You’ll find that Brunei have a higher surplus for export compared to Malaysia, hence why they can afford to have lower fuels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • dude, we also got surplus exports…. did u forget our hasil negara..??? getah, sawit, kelapa, and so on…???

• Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:09 am

Just remove 100% of the subsidy.

Now ..Everyone get back to work for a more productive nation

Stop bickering

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 3
    • Sack him now on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:21 am

MP Datuk Ariff Sabri Abdul Aziz

I believe you have vacuum between your ears. The place where people normally have grey matter

In ONE YEAR a 1.3 MVYI drive covers more miles than a person who drives a 6.0 litre rolls Royce Royce in 5 years.

So please Mr Member of Parliament, how does your proposal help reduce the fuel subsidy by the govt ?

Seriously our MPs need to get proper education before they can be elected MPs. Damn Malu when they open their mouth !

Otak Udang pun lebih besar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:09 am

si bodoh ini…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:13 am

Hafriz, a system based on CO2 will be good. But it will not fly here.

Proton has yet to produce a good low CO2 engine. The lack of modern rated diesel and petrol at the pumps wont do this any favours.

So a car which produces no CO2 will have no tax??? Can I register a privately own electric car or bike? Last recalled, JPJ had some issues with properly categorizing electric transport? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • sudonano (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Co2 based taxation will not work in Malaysia, for 2 reasons.

1. Proton and Perodua have poor Co2 emissions compared to competitors. Unlike even the Koreans, Proton’s and Perodua’s recent engines do not even meet EURO 5 standards. What is so ironic is their newest engines, both in the Iriz and the Axia which were launched this year are still on EURO 4 standards and not even close to today’s EURO6. For reference, brands like BMW begin adopting EURO 6 back in 2010, and EURO4 came into effect in 2005…

2. Foreign manufacturers don’t bring in eco friendly models cause we get such crappy fuel. Look at the engines we get, many are detuned a bit because of poor fuel. If I am not mistaken, the Mazda’s SkyActiv line has a slightly lower compression ratio for us, cause of the poor fuel. The VW EA888 2.0 TSi for the Golf R is also slightly detuned if I am not mistaken. Not to mention, we can’t get a proper diesel with peace of mind. The closest we can get are the BMW diesels and the Citroen’s diesel. Not a single “people’s car” be it from the Japs, Koreans, US and Germans that are priced below 100k which are diesels.

Remove the high tax on cars, and remove the subsidies on fuel. Case closed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • mim (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Iriz is actually EURO5 compliant just like CFE, however it was only tuned to EURO4 in local market because our suckass EURO2M fuel. Using EURO5 tuning on our fuel will result in super sluggish engine like early Preve Exec. Go ask anyone in Proton powertrain dept.

• No… Mazda 3 in msia using the high compression 14:1 producing 162bhp
        Fiesta Ecoboost is high tuned
        VW TSI are high tuned. Polo 1.4 GTI 180bhp
        Peugeot RCZ 1.6THP 200bhp is high tuned

High pressure is depending on RON..

EURO standard is depending on CO2 emission..

It is European using detuned engine to reduce CO2 emission.. we dont get Golf 1.4TSI 122bhp here but UK does.. Even Ecoboost has low tuned and high tuned for UK..

I dont know why msians are so “horse power crazed”

• someguyonthenet on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:13 am

Alright fellow rich guys, let us buy the ford EcoSport or ford fiesta EcoBoost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • There is no Ecoboost for EcoSport in msia
      EcoSport is no fuel efficient as it sound

and actually there is no correlation between the 2..
      Ecoboost pronounce as “e”ko
      EcoSport pronounce as “eh”ko

• Stupid idiot on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:22 am

As said in article, it only benefit the turbocharged car owner. Imagine C180 CGI with a tax less than a Inspira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • messi on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:27 am

Well, you don’t need to do those calculations to get more revenue (2 billion) or reduce subsidies. The more you calculate, the more manpower is needed to pay for the bloated civil servant salary thus increases the expenditure. With 2 million Civil servants (including all the GLC) at 7% of the population, this figure is rank No: 1 in the world.

What you need to do is reduce the cronies benefit like the following:-
    1) Abolish the car AP to save 2 billion.
    2) Abolish the Rice AP to save 1 billion.
    3) Abolish the sugar AP to save 500 million.
    4) Open tender to save billions (MRT….etc)
    5) Corruption,
    6) Illicit fund.
    7) Revise the toll rate.
    8) Reduce the IPP subsudies….etc.

Don’t give excuses before you remove the above subsidies.

They dare to make the rakyat suffer and dare not make the cronies earn less.

BN boleh. I wonder why the majority dare not take on the street to protest to fight against cronies and 1st class of elite group of people from U…no.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 9
  • They are all lazy MPs…keep suggesting without think. If you don’t want study … pls ask someone to study…a lot of prof, phd or master student can do!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • keith duckworth on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:31 am

But higher capacity cars are ALREADY being taxed more via higher annual road tax. So now the suggestion is to increase further the road tax for bigger cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Totally agree with Paul.. MY really have a very outdated structure.

Could u imagine that an 200K+ Audi A4, Merc C class are paying the same road tax with inspira/ altis/ civic with is around RM280 per year.

More dramatic is, luxury/ performance car such as 428i, 528i, Audi TT, Audi A6 2.0, E-class are paying less than RM400 raod tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • If using the emission standard, I think a C class actually produce less CO2/KM than the inspira/ altis/ civic. So their road tax would probably be cheaper.

• 8i8i (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:35 am

F20 & F30 is 1.6 litre turbo and one thing is good, we no need to pay expensive road tax.

• Leonard on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:36 am

haiyo, why make things so difficult, open up the market and let it like US where the petrol station fight with each other for customer. All the issue will be solved. haiz…. Simple = rakyat didahulukan, Complex = rakyat diketepikan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • hardy on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:39 am

Y

• Mohd Salim on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:41 am

I think this MP has to step down, as he has given non practical suggestion, ask him why does Proton comes out with 1.6 engine and for lower income ppl?

He need to go to School back and learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Maseratits on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:43 am

Another stupid fellow talking nonsense. A perfect example of the kind of fools that us Malaysians vote for to run the country.
    So by his logic, does this mean that if someone drives a Volkswagen Polo GTI 1.4, he is poor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Jinyiwei22 on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Yes, very poor in cc (only 1.4) but very rich in performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • ganni on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:54 am

no brain comment by the MP..geez

• gaviny on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:54 am

each and every time this broken record gets repeated for maybe 1-2 weeks then all goes back to normal

• MrPoppyplants on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:57 am

I think they are seriously retarded. Malaysians ARE ALREADY BEING TAXED THIS WAY! Our road tax is priced according to our engine sizes!

So after hiking the petrol price, you want to hike the road tax for higher engine capacity cars now?? Unbelievable.

Sh*t for brains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • AVH (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:58 am

So all you happy go lucky who can afford Turbocharged Euro cars, gets to enjoy better fuel price than those poor uncles cruising around in 5 year old High Displacement Camrys and Corollas

GENIUS!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • totti on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Why make life so difficult.

Abolish the car tax and price the petrol according to the Market like Thailand/Indo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • i dont think this is fair, i think those who can afford to buy cars 2.0 and above most probably are paying way more in taxes than those who can only afford to buy myvi’s anf viva’s. Dont u think they may also deserve the subsidies as well knowing that all the prices is shooting up in our country and this may reduce their burden a little. Pls be fair to everyone. Earning RM 10k in our country rite now is not enough at all compared to 10 years ago. They deserve the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • RejimKejamGanas on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Unfortunately, in Malaysia there are a lot of people who rather blame others for their hardship rather than educate themselves better or work hard to improve their livelihoods. They want to continue to survive on their meager salaries while others who earn more than them to take the hit and suffer.

By the way, the above applies to all races in this country. Open your eyes and look at the people who are whining and you will know it is a general Malaysian problem and is nothing to do with race.

• i totally agree with u thats y i think one of the solution can be remove the subsidies and let the petrol pump fight for the prices at the same time remove the taxes on cars. So the government may lose money on taxes but at the same time they are saving money on subsidies. Not sure how much they make one year on car taxes but i think it may be somewhere close to Rm21 billion which they are spending on subsidies.

• Based on engine capacity but coupled with benchmarking against power/torque and selling price of say typical locally produced plain vanilla 1600cc car, because you can have all sorts of technology(turbocharged etc,), luxurious trim level, CBU that increase car prices, so only those that fall within certain range can emjoy tax free.

Those who look at emission entails usually higher technology contents which normally means higher car prices, no doubt your car can save fuel, but your car prices can be much higher, you benefit frm fuel saving, (u help urself also help with tax) but taxes also need factor in economic status of car buyers.

Those who propose no subsidy, no taxes, (let’s be equal) harbour a not too good intention. Let me ask you a question, fr eg. how often u find a company CEO tell his company general workers, lets work together for the company and we will all get equal pay?

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Let us look at it another way. By taxing people with higher income more and more, what do you think is going to happen? Do you expect them to spend even more? When people with higher income cut down their spending who do you think it will affect the most? When GST comes next year, you will understand what I mean. All this stupid propaganda of attacking people at higher income levels is only going to hurt people at the lower incomes more. This stupid propaganda will also discourage people from seeking higher paying jobs and opportunities because it is not worthwhile once you take into consideration of all the downsides. Why should anyone achieve better education or work harder to earn more when idiots like you don’t want them to enjoy it.

Let me ask you this question to help you understand how stupid is your CEO example: Should a medical doctor/surgeon be paid as low as a construction worker? Why not? There is your answer.

• Hi,
        …discouraging ppl taking higher education/ seeking better opportunities…cutting spending by higher earning group….understandably from typical economic/finance/CFA textbooks.
        Lets have a macro view:
        1st, it is the careful calibration/ degree, no body is talking abt pushing extreme such that the above can happen, keywords are rebalancing/ rationalisation, eg. other income taxes are lowered, fr eg.
        2nd, just to put into pespective (not arguing absolutely), say oil price Rm 2.3 and after tax you pay RM2.8, Lets assume that you suffer that high oil price because you are in income > RM5k, very likely nearing 10k or over, you pay extra 21% per litre, say monthly oil bill originally RM500, now RM105 extra frm RM5k/10k are abt 1 to 2% extra, just for illustration. Of cos, this will matter even more those earning eg RM3k. In some countries, when in bad economic conditions, the income tax can increase from say 25% to 35% fr say some tax group, i agree then that certain ppl (still not all) will be discouraged to work harder.

3rd. on the CEO vs general worker issue, I am not sure but lets guess that CEO earns a multiple of times more than worker, just based on the very very rough quick calculation guide above, how will the CEO/better educated / hard earner be discouraged frm spending ? If you liken the tax bee sting for the better educated, it will be shark’s bite for the worker. and pls remember, if no worker, there will be no CEO.
        Lastly, precisely, a doctor will and shud earn more. So much more multiple that the fuel tax will be so proportionally small/insignificant that he will be spurred to work harder for more pay as the tax is not even an ant’s bite.

Lastly, let me provide you a free education based on goodwill. Like it or not, there will always be inequality in society arising frm ability, etc resulting in earning disparity. There need to exist some form of mechanism to redistribute wealth in society.
        If I follow your method to blow things out of scale, lets look at this magnified scenario, do you think a doctor/ CEO, will have a happy & blissful life , living in society surrounded by ppl with a view of inequality.
        (Obviuously any ppl of economic sense shud understand next year GST is a plus minus approach, not worth answering, pick up relevant economic book to study if unclear)

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Actually the simplest solution is as they always say, the simplest.

1) Drop all car taxes so people can more freely choose that car to buy and use.

2) Drop subsidies, for all that matter, put on GST or whatever fuel tax on it. (now, I realize this will likely not be the most popular notion, and it will be a painful one at that) but bear with me.

3) Drop road tax to a flat yearly flat fee (ie. License Plate Tax – if you may) – I used to only pay about 80.00 per year per car flat fee for any engine size when I had a few cars in Canada. I just throw my insurance around shared with either car during summer car (sports car) or winter car (4WD).

3+1) Let Petrol companies compete for your $$ by opening up pump prices.

Only 3+1 steps.

People can buy as many cars they want and only use those that suits their needs. This is the only true way of self regulating use by demand (by your own wallet). So no more wastages in fuel.

So if I want to burn more fuel in my V8 gas guzzling sports car. I pay for it. No complaints there, and neither should be from anyone else. If I want to be fuel miserly, I drive a small eco hatchback. If I want to ferry my kids in a big safe SUV, so be it. Its my choice.

If I’m a rich bugger that can afford to burn petrol, I shouldn’t need to take flack for wasting subsidies. Neither should I feel to be criticised of trying to be kinder to the environment and save a bit of fuel.

This has an automatic self imposed pressure to reduce consumption and also pressure for automakers to come up with more efficient cars as not having high taxes on cars will also allow people to switch when new technology is available – instead of being stuck on a 20 year old gas guzzling banger. The ROI is more easily achievable.

If the government can do pay per use for highways, why not fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
    • 2 points here :
      a) proposed tax shud be primary more towards economic status of car buyer, your idea to equalise tax for everyone has more of your consideration in mind.
      b) Again, by flattening road tax for all your vehicles fall into the same category as (a) above.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Thats the point no?

Everyone on equal terms. No more tongkat. Tongkats get abused.

Besides, you get tax breaks on new cars, so you can get rid of your old gas guzzler into a new eco car.

As it stands there are many more people with little consumption that could use cheaper cars and not being bothered about high road tax.

Think retiries. People living rural areas. They are not the ones getting the bulk of the subsidies anyway.

I understand your concept of “economic status”. I believe its simpler just to do without that, as it would prove almost impossible to police and implement, besides, we still have INCOME TAX. Putting on other taxes would be just double taxing someone.

If, say my dad, a retiree, which don’t drive much and uses very little petrol but wish to enjoy a nice car to drive when he wants to, why should he be paying so much road tax and car taxes?

Flattening road tax is precisely what I had intended. the COST ON DEMAND concept is to tax the heavy users and make it cheaper for the light users. Right now, light users are unfairly “taxed”.

Yes, it may be hughly more expensive for heavy users, but that just serves as motivation to get more eco cars, or as the case of many heavy users (ie. sales people), they can file thier petrol on company claims or business expense anyway.

• Painter on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:01 am

But…
          Are we not paying in RM as opposed to maybe Canadian Dollar?

You get paid in CAD 2000 as a fresh grad executive as opposed to MYR 2000 in Malaysia.

CAD 20k buys you a decent saloon car whilst MYR 20k buys us a secondhand myvi.

Same reason why 70% of medicine in government hospitals are of generic types (like wearing ciplak jersey from Thailand, but for medicine) despite spending more than 20 billion on medical bills!!

The purchasing power is simply not there because of the unfavorable currency exchange rate.

End of day, cars still cost 3 times as much, fuel costs double. Gaji tak naik. How to survive?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 08, 2014 at 10:54 am

Thats the point.

In order for this to work, car prices MUST come down. Malaysians currently spends a significant amount of thier disposable income on a car, while only a small group of users can be considered “heavy users”. Currently the majority of Malaysians suffer high prices, but do not enjoy the bulk of the subsidies.

Having expensive fuel wont work unless Malaysians have a viable alternative to switch to a new car.

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Please explain your points. I firmly believe the suggestions by 4G63T DSM is fair.

• noname on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:00 pm

1. This would definitely hurts the income for government as they are getting massive income from excise and import tax. Remember, they are only thinking ways to increase the tax revenue. Any minister who propose a solution which going against this would be send to face the firing squad.

2. Same as point #1, GST implementation main objective is to increase tax revenue. Tax rationalization is only an excuse for government to achieve their objectives. In short, they would still comes out with a highly effective GST mechanism, but no way they would remove the other tax – Excise tax, import duty, road tax, fuel tax, etcs.

3. Still same as above, if you understand what is their main objective, you know that this Mr Minister’s suggestion is well loved by the rest of the government.

Yes, it suxs. It’s never people benefits to begin with.

• Henry on Oct 23, 2014 at 7:28 pm

They are only interested to do what is popular to win votes and not what is right.

• syahmi on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Our road tax already quite high for high cc engine. i drove 7 years old 3.5l engine cost me RM4000++/year. which is so ridiculous. and my friend 10 years old 5.0l car cost him RM11k.

the only things i see to impose more tax base on carbon foot print. Road tax to reflect carbon emissions vs CC. Old engine which is produce more emission will get high road tax on same cc. old car with euro 2 or euro 3 engine will get higher road tax compare to euro 4 or euro 5 engine.

This is what most modern country did. This is how we can save our environment for our next generation. Not to impose more road tax on higher cc engine when it is already too high.

• yes, luckly im driving a200. poor pun poor lah..

• Extra Fuel Tax based on Price of Vehicles on Oct 07, 2014 at 12:44 pm

I think the additional tax should be solely based on the car price, so the gomen can come up with different categories of vehicles to be tax extra for fuel such as category 1, cars below 70K – no tax, category 2, cars below 70K – 120k – small amount of tax, category 3, 120k to 180k, category 4 180k to 250k, category 5 – 250k and above, tax like crazy as this are the rich cronies buying up !!

I believe this would fit in the scheme of identifying which class of vehicles should be tax extra for fuel as compared to going by engine cc.

• roxas on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:03 pm

wat kind of idea is tis. seriously many ppl here thinks better thn this MP. so under educated.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Abolish the subsidy – make people pay fuel at the full price. BUT reduce taxes & duties on cars. Quite simple solution. Gomen don’t lose any money. As loss of revenue from taxes & duties is made up by not requiring subsidies on fuel. So, cars are “relavitely” cheap to buy, but more costly to own & operate. This will teach people to drive only when needed, which will reduce carbon emissions and probably lead to a healthier lifestyle by walking for short distances rather than driving. This will also solve problem of foreign cars buying our cheap fuel.

However, one major problem: prices of 2nd hand cars, and the one you currently own will drop a lot. And then petrol price is way high. Not good for those who have no money to buy a new car and have to make do with whatever car they already have, for example those who have retired. So, maybe can give BR1M to them.

• We should follow developed countries and make running a car more expensive not buying it expensive. And before anyone says this will hurt the poor look at this calculation :
    Perodua Axia 1.0 (A) : Excise Tax, Sales Tax etc ~ RM 4k
    RON 95 subsidy : RM 0.47/litre
    That means the Axia buyer pays the equivalent of 8,510 litres of RON 95 subsidy when he buys the car!
    Based on 15 km/l, he pays fuel subsidy equivalent to 127,660 km!
    Which is cheaper? Charging up front and having to pay interest to the bank (part of car loan) or paying as you drive??
    The government should reduce excise tax on cars and fuel subsidies progressively. Then we can get to the point of no fuel subsidy but lower car prices.

• smokey on Oct 07, 2014 at 1:37 pm

y they always like to talk without using their brain?

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:03 pm

The current roadtax structure should be changed to reflect actual engine output in terms of hp instead of perceived engine capacity (in cc). This way, a car with higher hp and small displacement will be taxed more than a car with the same displacement but lower hp. But as with all things in MY, the relevant dept. surely will not implement this since they are just a bunch of lazy @$$3$ …

• But what is the logic?

Proton Preve Turbo has more horsepower than Audi A3 1.4TFSI..

Iriz has more horsepower than Polo TSI..

• All these are cronies rubbish policies …toll price will up next!

• lol168 on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:11 pm

i am laughing because my new eclass road tax is cheaper than my friend’s 2.4 camry.

• Maserati(Official) on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Economist here.

The best solution for this whole fuel fiasco is this:

1. Eligible Malaysian claims back a capped amount of taxes from the money they spent on fuel. This will be fixed rate.

2. To categorize the eligibility of petrol/diesel subsidy is plain short sighted and does not reflect the affordability and spending power of car owners. Not all >1600 cc cars are considered luxury, and vice versa. They would categorize by the price of the car.

3. Being an economist for the last 20 years, I have been an advocate for market prices for the fuel as long as the car prices stays free of these unnecessary taxes which are sucking off every penny from the rakyat.

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:32 pm

What are your thoughts on burdening the higher income groups with more and more taxes? Is it beneficial for the economy? Does it actually help the poor?

• Baja Lapis Seng on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Awwww hell nawww

[WTS] Ford Ranger 3.2XLT (Manual). Condition tip top Neelofa.

• More like “We need to generate more income! Why not implement more taxes!”

• I think their real problem troubling them is how do ‘I’ (government officials) make more money out of this, ‘I’ really need to do some calculations.

• rosli on Oct 07, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Pegi mampos la Sakmongkol AK47…. puuui!!!!

• Urgh.. on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:19 pm

This doesn’t make any logical sense at all… It’s down right stupid too.. Charge higher taxes for bigger capacity cars?? In other words, in their eyes, only the rich drives cars with bigger engines? Come on… How bout this as an example. Lexus GS250 and BMW520.. They are both luxury cars. around the same price range. But one is a 2.5 natural aspirated engine and the other is a 2.0 turbo charged engine. They both consume roughly about the same amount of petrol and co2 emissions are not too far apart as well. (Don’t get me started with GS450h which uses a 3.5 liter engine but still manages to emit around 120g of co2 but doesn’t get tax exemptions during that period but the not so Eco friendly Audi A6 hybrid 2.0 gets tax exemptions)

These people really need to educate themselves on how all these.. Do they still believe bigger CC cars are more damaging to the “road” compared to smaller CC cars? Car road tax should not be based on the CC of the cars anymore.. It should be based on how efficient and how much co2 it emits.. That way, Car companies will continue to create new technologies to better the environment.

• Urgh.. on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Oh speaking about 1.6 liter and lower to prevent the undeserving to benefit, Audi A3 1.6.. Isn’t it a luxury car for the more well to do? So if we drive a luxury car but the engine is 1.6 and smaller, we get the benefits? Makes so much sense..

• Audi A3 Sedan is just 1.4L..
        So to our dearest MP, Inspira 2.0 is driven by Rich, and the Poor drive an Audi A3, Golf, Jetta, 316i, CLA200.. lol

• Urgh.. on Oct 07, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Wow.. even lower than what i thought.. You’re right! the poor drives Audi A3.. The rich drives Proton Inspira and the medium class drives Proton Saga 1.6/ Proton Iriz 1.6 and BMW 316i..

Their logic level over 9000…

• ben yap on Oct 07, 2014 at 3:40 pm

“Poorer people like us drive lower cc cars; the bigger capacity cars, above 1,600 cc are driven by better off owners. So we tax them,” wrote the MP under his Sakmongkol AK47 pseudonym.

Those people driving VW scirroco or BMW 316i is poor ar?

Nowadays a lot of luxury car downsize their engine. u stay in Raub sure katak bawah tempurung.

• michaelooi on Oct 07, 2014 at 4:03 pm

How to tax more on the rich and tax less on the poor?
    Income tax. The government has been doing that already and they already have the mechanism.
    This? Is just some ridiculous rambling off an ill informed simpleton.

• Gilbert on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:21 pm

how about H/P? u see now a day mostly imported cars have supercharge or turbocharge. small in cc but big in H/P.

• No… more housepower doesnt mean anything…

A Lexus 200CTh use less fuel than than a Persona..
      Fiesta Ecoboost is more fuel efficient than a Proton Saga..
      A Jetta 1.4 TSI is much more fuel efficient than a Preve..
      All these more powerful cars are actually more fuel efficient than their rivals.. so why punish those who is doing good for the environment?

Look at UK, they are imposing Tax base on CO2 emission, this give rise to green car competition among manufacturers.. Britain have all the latest cars with the latest technology.. so good..

OPPS.. we cant do the same in Msia.. bcos PROTON gas guzzlers cannot compete with its foreign rivals.. and G need to protect them.. muahahhaha

• VOOSH (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:31 pm

I hope government won’t be taking his suggestions? If the government does, then the next question is what this DAP MP is thinking? He’s helping the people or the party that he is suppose to oppose…

• kemosabe on Oct 07, 2014 at 5:33 pm

The fuel subsidy the government has been saying they are paying to the petrol companies are actually Taxes not Collected.
    Its not actual money paid to the companies.
    So the latest is the people are paying extra 20cents for every litre of petrol to the government.
    There is no reduction in subsidy paid out, but rather extra taxes earned by the government.

The current government is hell bent on doing business with the citizens.

A government should be acting as a provider to its citizens, not as a business entity.

• carfan on Oct 07, 2014 at 6:38 pm

I am under the impression the biggest portion of the subsidy is for diesel and LPG (where we signed away long term supply contracts to attract heavy industiries)- Better we find out the REAL costs of subsidy of petrol, diesel and LPG before trying to solve the problem

• Soonbin on Oct 07, 2014 at 6:54 pm

All the suggestion still won’t solve the fundamental issue. The price of crude oil is taking a big hit and is now trading at an all time low. That’s why RON 97 price goes down.
    The lost of revenue / tax from Petronas to the Government is very huge from when crude oil was trading at USD120/barrel.
    To make up for the huge loss of revenue, the Government has to take from all you gullible rakyats by increasing the petrol price and later implementing GST.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Oct 07, 2014 at 6:55 pm

I doubt the butt-hole who suggested this is driving any car <1.6CC. He should be the only 1 exempted from this subsidy.

• Trolak on Oct 07, 2014 at 7:52 pm

stupid DAP’s MP… full stop.

• Trolak on Oct 07, 2014 at 7:58 pm

for now, i working my ass off to become rich without the help from cronies what so ever.. some of you guys r just batu api.. BAAAATUUUU APIIII!

• dont work hard …

be like other Malaysians … so we get more subsidy and taxed less..

• Durian Runtuh on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Why work hard? Everything is given to you free. Just continue to rely on the tongkat. No need to work. Everything also durian runtuh.

• Trolak on Oct 07, 2014 at 8:00 pm

but i like the ideas from bro KZM and also 4G63T DSM.. good ideas bros!

• old dog on Oct 07, 2014 at 9:42 pm

do we have any politicians that every make normal human logic sense?

• Our country will not grow if we still operate under quota system, fake subsidies (offset by car price), cronyism, poor business execution (MAS, Proton, wastage of money reported in AG, and endless list of poor performing companies), primitive education system and many more… We are just not competitive as other countries anymore. Remember these kind of things takes decades to change for better. Any wrong governance takes a few years to be identified.

• pisangGoreng on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:41 pm

This kind of goverment only make people piss off… better the whole nation get lazier… see how u collect tax frm rakyat…

• pisangGoreng on Oct 07, 2014 at 10:44 pm

No wonder some said it’s the end of world after next election… all the rakyat have been suck dried and can’t fight for the country…

• Painter on Oct 07, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Get everyone to start with a minimum monthly quota. Work their way up with rewards.

Pay more tax, earn more subsidy quota. Apply to company and individual.

Abolish traffic fine and replace with community service, consultation and jail term for repeat offenders and removed subsidy. BUT for clean drivers, give them bonus fuel subsidy.

This may be an administrative nightmare, but it is necessary to avoid pesky Thais and Singaporeans from coming in and sucking our hard earned tax money into their pick-up trucks and mercedes.

Not perfect, but everyone deserves to be rewarded for their effort.

Oh, and don’t forget to significantly reduce the excise and import duties.

• latacc (Member) on Oct 08, 2014 at 12:58 am

Careful what you wish.

Before motorists must be made to tighten their belts, I believe it is the duty of the govt to really improve the sad state of our public transportation system.

Once a concerted effort has been made to improve bus, rail and taxi systems, then only a more progressive means of taxation can be applied to premium or high horsepower vehicles, while rewarding clean and efficient ones.

• FreeMarket on Oct 08, 2014 at 1:06 am

Just remove all fuel subsidies and float the prices. Let the oil companies compete for our RM. Rather then this little increments with amplify price hikes in other goods and services.

• FreeMarket on Oct 08, 2014 at 1:06 am

Just remove all fuel subsidies and float the prices. Let the oil companies compete for our RM. Rather then this little increments with amplify price hikes in other goods and services.

• hadi75 on Oct 08, 2014 at 6:21 am

The easiest and win win solution for me would be….just float the fuel price la….no subsidies to the consumers just for industries…plus must reduce taxes on cars to the most minimum…the government dont have to pening2 about subsidies and seludup diesel…..can give euro5 spec fuel….the rakyat no need to pay car loan for 7/9 years but just control their fuel consumption …..

• syahril on Oct 08, 2014 at 11:21 am

Really amuse and shock with the statement made by the Raub MP on the taxation on fuel especially for higher cc / capacity vehicles. More people now understand the importance of the economic of scale rather than capital expenditure. Not all high capacity vehicles are expensive. The importance is the consumption of fuel and maintenance cost. Diesel vehicles such as 4X4, tend to use less fuel than petrol cars and the cc of most of the 4X4 vehicles in the market are 2.0 and above.
    Furthermore, most of the 4X4 vehicles users nowadays are for personal use. Not commercial, due to durability and low consumption of fuel.
    Then, the mechanism to manage the subsidy of fuel must look in totality. Not target segment.

• in fact the most easiest way to determine road tax is the CO2 level which most of the countries do so…if smaller capacity the CO2 would be lesser compared bigger capacity however due to the shortage of the inhouse car manufacturers and their engines haven’t fulfill this…

• ang dhud on Oct 10, 2014 at 8:29 am

Trouble in asia is we tax diesel engines upon importayion, and then use the tax to subsidized diesel fuel at the pump price, that is wht in asia we hwve cheap diesel fehicles soldcovetpricef, and then the comfort if you want to say it, is less price at the pump, versus petrol. Solution, remove the tariff on diesel engine import to bring down to the level of those cheap diesrl, then reimpose tax on diesel fuel. Make it unbearable to own cheap diesel vehicles by imposing anti pollution laws, which almost all diesel engines out thete will fail. Wake up asian kid, euro will be implementing lev 6 in an attempt to rid diesel polluting engines in their land, while morons in asia are still imposing antiquated lev 2.

• High capacity engine vehicles are already taxed. It is taxed in the form of super high roadtax.

• We are the only country to tax (punish) the clever and rich and subsidize (reward) the lazy and poor

• All this issues regarding cars, roads and fuel could be alleviated if the govt gets sincere about improving public transport. Improve LRT and komuter systems for the KV and build new ones for all the other major towns. So far no one in power has the brains to figure out how to make commuting safer, cheaper and more convenient. Seems like they want to keep us hooked on high-costing cars, highways, tolls and fuel.

• Rokuth on Oct 12, 2014 at 7:17 pm

You know the simplest solution is to implement the 6% GST on petrol & diesel. Everybody pays equally on the amount of fuel they use.

As for this not being fair for lower income people, well how fair is it for the middle income and higher income folks? As the Minister himself said, lower income means smaller cars, which means smaller engines, which means less petrol used, which means they are impacted the least.

And, if they want to save money, remove the fuel subsidies and allow free market competition. Let the Oil Companies compete for our money.

• Bslee on Oct 16, 2014 at 7:41 am

We have too many mentally unsound politicians all this while. I can’t say about this fellow.
    Big cars owners had already paid massive one time tax at the point of purchasing the vehicle now you want to impose on petrol tax? And on what criteria that you categories “big cars”? Now we can have expensive But low CC cars.