MAI to build around 150 EV charging stations by 2017

ev charge

Beginning next year, and with the cooperation of several other parties, the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI) will construct between 125 and 150 electric vehicle (EV) charging stations by 2017, according to a Berita Harian report.

Locations include the North-South and East-West highways, KL city centre and other areas of focus in line with making Malaysia an EV-friendly country, MAI CEO Madani Sahari revealed to the daily. He added that the RM150 million fund under the latest National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) will be used for this purpose.

“(Translated) MAI estimates costs of RM50,000 per charging station. Therefore, with NAP 2014’s RM150 million fund, we can in fact build even more charging stations around the country by 2020,” BH quoted him as saying.

Meanwhile, more details on the locally-assembled E-Bus – Madani told BH that the first prototype is due in August 2015. The electric bus will have a 70% local parts content to start with and will be produced by a local company that’s currently in the process of expanding its production facility.

The MAI CEO also said that SME Bank’s RM70 million Sustainable Mobility Fund recently announced in Budget 2015 will accelerate EV growth in Malaysia, including production and construction of infrastructure.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Kaya la first energy networks

• Vader (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:53 am

Amboi, another way to masuk pocket kah???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Madani Pls Don't Bluff on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Madani talk koke talk so much about EEV and all that but Najib just threw shit on his face this Budget by not even mentioning anything about EEV.

So who to believe? Madani or Najib?

Madani are you sure you know what you talking about?

Do you really have the authority to contruct the charging stations or you main tembak only?

So far, everything MAI has said the past few years are all goreng and does not come into reality.

MAI just pandai cakap besar. That is all. Pandai keliru the people of Malaysia.

Absolutely nothing has materialised since MAI started giving press releases since the last few NAPs.

So, why should we believe MAI now? Top most man Najib also did not say anything in the Budget, small fry here promising the world to the rakyat.

This will never happen la. Proton has not even come out with a production hybrid also, 2017 we gonna have charging stations all over the country. Proton Hybrid need at least a few years of teething before it can be trusted by the rakyat.

Madani, please don’t waste the rakyat’s money. I think most likely it is Madani’s family member is th one gonna get the contract to build this EEV stations.

Use the RM150 million wisely. It is our money from LHDN. It belongs to the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Where is Najib's 30% Promise? on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:23 pm

No point talking about EEV. What is MOST important is where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up!

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us?

Madani, please stop kipas your boss Najib and wait in expectation for your datukship. Please ask him what happened to his promise of price reduction?

Otherwise, this charging station will also be another lie just to make more money from the rakyat.

• Bodoh MAI on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:23 pm

It is so high risk to buy a electric car. Unless they give 20 year warranty, anything small rosak with the electric parts, its no less than RM10,000 to repair.

Even the Toyota Prius, eventhough Hybrid, anything goes wrong with the electric parts, its about RM10,000 to RM20,000 to repair a small part.

Bodoh Madani. Whatever you save on petrol will just go down the drain.

MAI already can see people are scared of Hybrid cars, whatmore electric cars. Lagi takut.

Just want to make money. 150 million used. All stations maybe Rm80 million. Other 70 million masuk pocket.

You will see the MAI guys driving S class soon.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:08 am

How much you think the crony constructor can dig from each RM50,000 charging stations (total RM0.75 mil)??

It is not about environmental friendliness, Proton technology advancement, cheaper transportation cost for rakyat but ALL about MONEY!!!

I bet you when these charging stations are completed, Proton still far from launching their EV. You can quote my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • Gebeng on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:12 am

Same L0rrr on Oct 14, 2014 at 5:13 pm

They claim the Lynas also meet standard. Interested to stay in Gopeng?

Don’t forget this is BOLEHLAND.
        Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        Gebeng on Oct 14, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Same L0rr,

Mana Lynas? Are you Malaysian. Only talk RV that’s all you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
        • Ah Beng supporter on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:29 am

Can you stop replying shit to shitty Shameloo? Both of you are rubbish. He don’t know where is Lynas is so much of your business?? You never hear ppl say “Better shut up than talking nonsense”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Gebeng on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Most of the time you also talk rubbish! Your technical knowledge of car is very minimal. Only know how to talk support proton.

You never hear ppl say “Better shut up than talking nonsense”.

• Ah Beng supporter on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Other than copycat, I don’t see a any technical point in your replys also. Sohhai. You don’t appreciate Proton better balik kampung!Just go!

• kzm (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:22 am

I

• MAI estimates costs of RM50,000 per charging station.

Does it include songlap cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:13 am

u think everybody else is corrupt like u? Why need to give negative view to every da*n gud thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:35 am

Relax Kzm, it is not negative, just being realistic.

Foreign EV, RM160k no one dare to buy.

Proton EV, launched in 2027.

So what is the point of spending RM0.75 mil for these charging station?

Better buy more bus, build more bus/taxi station.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • KZM amboi KZM.. KO ingat rakyat Malaysia suka minda atau pemikiran negatif ka? I taktau apa Islam ajar tapi i rasa Islam pun ajar muslimin&muslimat supaya berfikiran secara positif terhadap orng lain kan? Bukan kami taknak buat sangka baik terhadap MAI. Tapi tu hakikat bahawa Malaysia is one of the most corrupt nation in this world. We have enough stress to go thru everyday, not nice to keep have negative views but somehow when we think og what G offer, sometimes it is inevitable corruption is happening. Peace bro. all Malaysian knows this regardless of race. U ask ur malay community, most educated one will tell u the samething.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Mari Bersyukur on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:12 pm

kzm is your typical Malay who goes around saying that we must “Bersyukur” and be grateful for whatever leftovers the Government give the rakyat.

Does not question. Even Petrol go up, he will bersyukur and say thank you. He cannot think and reason things. He does not ask why nor question. That is why employers don’t like to take people like him.

78.6& of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. But the Government lied to the people we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time. Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 snd below which is Government statistics.

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • kzm otak taik on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Of the many people commenting this past few years, nobody beats kzm in terms of stupidity. Sometimes I wonder whether he is a 12 yr old boy impersonating an adult

• MitchelJohn on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:45 am

Probabilities these infrastructures being targeted by vandalism?

• common sensor on Oct 15, 2014 at 9:47 am

On EV by Proton and now this charging stations .. I think this gentleman is high on drugs ..

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:04 am

One charging station per each location? Still not enuff. Need to have at least 2 station per location. Imagine 2 EV cars need to charge at the PLUS R&R, with one station, the second person needs to wait 30 mins for his turn.

• Ferrari Poor Cousin on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:05 am

Cost of building Fast-charging station (30-minute charging time) is around RM150,000 each.

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 16, 2014 at 11:33 am

Will the EV car owners charge their car for free? If free, then yes, RM150k per charging station not worth it to invest. If they have to pay, then why not just built it lah. You build petrol station oso u need to use your own money first, then only will the money start coming back in.

• wanfumi on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:12 am

We need NUCLEAR

• cendol (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 10:57 am

ANother crony project brought to u by yours truly.
    No bidding process, no accountability, no audit, all is secret under OSA,
    Cannot mention, cannot ask, cannot remind.

• Low Budget on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:59 pm

It is the same as any other projects, build 1st, make some commission, then become white elephant or ‘runtuh’ later.

• Sure? Im afraid they will be some genius stealing electricity from all these. U noe bolehland thieves are all boleh punya. can steal anything from iron crowbar for longkang to Chanel and Prada.

• saigetsu on Oct 15, 2014 at 11:19 am

Proton saga ev vs model s and model d.. come on proton… bankrupt already!

• HaIrI on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Why don’t the ‘G’ introduce whatever Euro grade diesel which is clean and burn less than current petrol/diesel that we use. Yes, I understand EV is the future but the EV Car price is out of reach for ordinary people, with efficient engine I’ll believe there will be more take up rate/support from Malaysian and The G can abolish the unpopular fuel subsidies.

EV is still a long journey at least in Malaysia, in between to achieve EV better we make use of current proven technology first before adopting new technologies that still in baby stage.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 15, 2014 at 12:28 pm

aiya….i din makan from this one

• electric dreams on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Build is easy, who is going to maintain the station ? We will have more spoilt stations than working ones in no time !

• Diesel Power!!! on Oct 15, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Current Brent Crude oil price at us 85+- per barrel, hopefully it will fall further..!!

• 4g63t dsm on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Seriously.. MAI should just solve the small issues first. Whats the point to spend millions putting in infrastructure when your user base is still effectively 0. I mean its not like i can go out and buy an EV now is it?

Why not just lobby the government to legalise electric motorcycles. It doesnt need big range since its for city commute so it doesnt need gigantic battery packs which are expensive and an electric drivetrain is much simpler and maintenance free compared to any petrol burning kapchai. Small battery means quicker to charge so dont need fancy quick charge facility.

Motorcyclist are also used to not having a/c which means your EV doesnt need to burn any electricity to power up the a/c system.

Now pray tell how many petrol burning kapchais can the new electric bike potentially replace and you have numbers you need. Expensive infrastructure can come later. In fact im sure many enterprising business owners will be able to support kapchai charging at flats and apartments since the infrastructure is cheaper.

• pearjai on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Ev car can save cost of fuel consumption but who dare to buy with their superbomb cost of maintainance….even hybrid car battery replacement can cost a lot ….ev car make their owner safe owner for some thousand rm but clearly not practical ….who buy these car will surely regret lor !but if proton can give unlimited milage waranty ……but if only …..! Kih,kih,kih….to good to be true….maybe kzm will buy these car ! Or reward by our g as their cybertroper men….

• Cybertrooper Free Car on Oct 15, 2014 at 2:49 pm

kzm sure get one free car. He works in MAI as a cybertrooper. Confirm.

• CCB Ayam on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:24 am

Professional Cyber trooper spotted.

Hired under Armno, Barang Naik, Parkasa, MAII, JBJ.. they are well paid to say below.

Listen, Listen, Listen…..
        Be positive la, GST will make things cheaper.
        Car will cheaper 30 %
        Petrol will not price up.
        Promote EEV industry.
        Promote CKD hybrid

Boleh, nak cakap ape pun boleh!
        Anyway, Barang Naik!

• i am not going politics on this topic. But i have to say its about time to start building these stations. Personally i dont care who making money from these stations, i only care when those electric cars are going to be launched in Malaysia. I hope Tesla will be launching their model soon.

• CCB Ayam on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:32 am

No Tesla if politic issue unsolved.
      you are encouraged to buy Sagasla, Suprimasla, Prevesla, Personasla, Irizsla, Exorasla,Axiasla,Myvisla, Alzasla etc.

Sorry to say, cronism policy ruin our car market.
      Sacrifice our living standard, safety, Money, dignity.

Who made these politic automotive industry?
      Semi Value selling in triple value!

• Vincent Hong on Oct 15, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Can I know how long it will take to recharge a car to full charge?

Let’s say a Nissan Leaf.

I travel a lot in the Klang Valley.

What about if I travel to Kuantan? Can I recharge in Kuantan and come home? How long will one full charge last? If I cannot reach home to KL from Kuantan, in one charge, what will I dio at halfway point.

Kindly assist, anybody.

Thank you very much.

• CCB Ayam on Oct 16, 2014 at 9:53 am

Nissan leaf designed for city commuter.
      you may refer to Top gear challenge on EV..

If you want EV to drive Kuantan to KL with Nissan Leaf. you need prepare.

1. Tow truck phone number
      2. Sleeping bag.

IMHO, So far , long lasting EV is Tesla..
      But it’s impossible for us to get in reasonable price.
      Unless, you make Ayam and Pig MIA

• Can charge my Nokia pone with the station?

• InsaneGuy on Oct 15, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I dont seem to be charged up on this MAI story, maybe he did not mentions about how the economy of scale, statistics to show growth of EV vehicles by top 3 automakers in this country, M’sian Budget 2015 disregards EV, and goods news of benefits for EV buyers.

So i take this MIA story as symptom battery recharge cycle problem don’t you think so? And I believe going Green is the future but on the wrong hands of people to politicise it.

• MAI.. Since MAI existence, years to years Malaysian Automotive Industry keep sinking & not in the list of foreign manufacturer anymore… MAI Big Time Failure… MAI should closed down…

• Diesel Power!!! on Oct 15, 2014 at 7:22 pm

i think the first organisation that need to implement EV is gment organisation such as Police, DBKL, etc. Coz they can easily recharge their vehicles in their own station. And also save gment more money since no need to pay for their petrol.

• transformer on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:34 pm

As a malaysian, i’m quite sad of malaysian vandalism culture that destroyed almost all telephone booths until every rakyat need to have a nokia. Some destroyed for fun, some for coins and some for metal/copper. Toilet also faced the same vandalism issue. I think its wrong “culture” had been teach to them. I hope Edu Ministry can make a topic on vandalism. Maybe, topic on corruption too!

Open tender for this project! (where’s transparency?)
    Lets pray for these Charging stations…..

• U noe why la. Who is our Edu minister? Bare in mind, most vandalism being done are teens from kampung. If u have the chance to go Terengganu, Fuiyoh. Nothing is not being vandalized. The vandalism culture has been rooted in their blood. KL are better as they received better education.

• darkermarker on Oct 15, 2014 at 8:37 pm

there are more and more leaders in Malaysia that are really jokers…..

I am sure other nations are seeing Malaysia a country that is a big blardy joke.