Porsche Cayman GT4 variant accidentally confirmed

cayman-gt4-leaked

If the Cayman GTS doesn’t do it for you and you don’t really want to upgrade to a 911, you’ll be happy to know that Porsche will be launching a more hardcore Porsche Cayman GT4 soon.

We’ve seen spyshots of the GT4 for the past year, but now we have confirmation from the horse’s mouth – Porsche has accidentally revealed the GT4’s existence on the Porsche Driving Experience website, though it’s been taken down now. The GT4 will be to the Cayman what the GT3 is to the 911.

Since the Cayman S does 325 hp, 370 Nm and the GTS takes it up to 340 hp, 380 Nm, you can expect a small power boost from the GT4, though we don’t expect it to be by much since the 3.4 litre engine is normally aspirated and squeezing 380 Nm of torque out of it is already quite a lot.

Instead, Porsche will probably set the GT4 apart from the GTS via other hardware upgrades such as suspension, aero and weight reduction.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 1:39 pm

and i can barely afford the cheapest cayman….

• zeek (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:16 pm

seriously doubt Porsche would make the Cayman line faster & more powerful than the 911.

• GT3 (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 3:38 pm

They will never. The fastest and most powerful Cayman will not exceeds the performance of high-end 911 (GT3, GT2, GT3RS, GT2RS).
      Technically, a very nicely-tuned Cayman will surely outperform 911 on track, but we could never see that out from Porsche factory.
      However we could found aftermarket turbocharged and stripped-out Cayman out there, I found one featured in Speedhunters website.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Yummy. A GT4 Cayman would be awesome. Who needs a 911 if the Cayman is this good?

• Go drive/live with a Cayman for a week. Take it to the tracks, go up Bkt Tinggi, drive to Johor etc. Do the same thing with a 911. Doesn’t matter which Cayman you take ie. S, GTS, GT4 and doesn’t matter which 911 you take, C2, C2S, C4S, GT3 etc. You WILL end up choosing the 911 over the Cayman.

Why? Because there are a lot of good mid-engine sports car out there. And like them, the Cayman will handle very neutrally, will be highly predictable, will be great around the tracks etc etc. But there is only one rear engine sports car that has been in production for 50 years. And in those 50 years of continuous refining and improving, Porsche has gotten the 911 to a point where despite the disadvantage of a rear engine vehicle, it is almost as good as a mid-engine car in terms of performance and handling. Unless you are Sabine Schmitz, the rest of us will probably not be able to drive the Cayman around Sepang any faster than the 911 despite it’s argued handing advantages. That’s how small the difference is.

So what’s left is this, the emotional factor. Some call it the soul of the car. And that’s why you will choose the 911 over the Cayman. The incomparable sensation of a rear engine sports car. How it squats when you lay on the power allowing you to place the front wheels exactly where you want it to be down to the millimeter. How predictable the rear is when you power slide it around due to the weight right at the end. Opposite locks and judiciously play with the throttle. No feathering required. Try doing that with an M3 or even the Cayman and you will know the difference.

For most of us who don’t buy a car to go racing on track everyday, that’s what we really want out of a sports car. The sensation of speed, handling, fun, adrenaline. Yes you get that in a Cayman too but the 911 multiplies that by ten-fold and rewards you with silly grins on your face every time you take it out for a nice run!

• Abu Sayur on Oct 29, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Porsche are kings at doing this. First the base Cayman, then the S, then GTS, now GT4 soon it will be GT4 R, GTS RS, S R

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:15 pm

and once you bought the best cayman version money can buy, some guy turns up in a RUF version or Techart version

• zamer on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:00 pm

whatever la..3.4L can churn 380NM?

Volvo T6 keep calm..2.0L can do 400Nm..

malu lah porsche..haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • forced induction bro… mana adil. might as well compare that T6 with the 911 turbo, or better yet the GT2

• sputjam on Oct 30, 2014 at 7:11 am

Volvo turbo charged. I think twin turbo. One for low rev and the other for higher rev. When it comes to power to weight, cannot fight turbo charging. Also torque. That is why in order to comply with lower emissions and reduce carbon footprint, European manufacturers are forced to use smaller and engines with forced induction like turbo. Even latest Honda civir r is turbo charged

• Amber Teh on Oct 30, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I like Iris better, no turbo but cute.