Toyota Esquire MPV launched in Japan, sister of Noah

esq1410_24

The Toyota Esquire has been launched in its home country of Japan, with intentions aimed squarely at the domestic market. The Esquire is proposed as a “deluxe” variant of the Toyota Noah – which itself has a sportier version called the Toyota Voxy. All three are essentially the same MPV but with different styling for different tastes.

In Japan, each variant is distributed under a separate dealer network despite being under the same corporate umbrella. Sales of the Noah is handled by Toyota Corolla dealers; the Voxy, by Toyota Netz. The new Toyota Esquire will be sold only at Toyota and Toyopet dealers.

Where the Esquire differs from its siblings is mostly in the looks and interior makeup department. From the front, the bold T-shaped grille consists of vertical slashes within the frame as compared to the less striking design on the Noah and very Vellfire-like front end of the Voxy.

Not to be confused with it being another Toyota Alphard/Vellfire variant, the Esquire is positioned below said models, competing with the Mazda Biante and Nissan Serena instead.

Clockwise from top: Esquire, Noah and Voxy are triplets with different styling – luxury, standard, sporty

The Esquire measures in at 4,695 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,825 mm tall – with the 4WD variant being slightly taller at 1,865 mm. Wheelbase is quoted at 2,850 mm. Powerplant options are identical to the Voxy and Noah with a 2ZR-FXE 1.8 litre Atkinson cycle engine for the hybrid version (the Prius’ drivetrain) and a 3ZR-FAE 2.0 litre engine.

Total power output for the hybrid version is 136 PS with the 2.0 litre option pumping out 152 PS and 193 Nm of torque. The 2.0 is paired to a Super CVT-i gearbox while the hybrid gets the usual eCVT with reduction gear layout.

Two trim levels are on offer with the ‘Xi’ and ‘Gi’ grades. In the latter, synthetic leather covers most of the interior from the seats to the door trim. As with cars of this nature, the highlight lies in its accessibility and comfort. A flat floor design, along with an electronically sliding door aid ingress and egress.

With its rivals – the Mazda Biante and Nissan Serena – on sale locally, one wouldn’t bet against grey importers bringing the Toyota Esquire in as a “budget Alphard“. Do you think it will catch on here?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 6:35 pm

that grille….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 6:39 pm

I prefer the Voxy and Noah design…the Esquire looks is an overkill. I wonder how well would it sell if UMW actually brings it in…but pls no 2 airbags for a family mover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Holy smokes, that is one huge ass grille alright. I can’t imagine the number of birds you may kill on the highway with that large grille.

Anyway, still looks better designed than the current Innova facelift. That is an abomination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Whats NOT better than innova….a hippo looks way sexier…
      that grill looks like it house few prison inmates behind those bars…
      biante n serena hybrid look odd….but this one looks odd AND ugly…beauty is in the eye of the beholder DOES NOT APPLY HERE….
      ooh ,dont forget the customary 2 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • sudonano (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Thou shall not compare a hippo to an Innova. Nothing comes close to the Innova 2014MY’s face problem.

And, oh yes, don’t forget the dash of lack of VSC too!

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Look on the bright side. Once they’re stuck on the grille, fire up the engine and they should be slow barbeque’d by radiating heat. When you arrive at your destination, they should be ready to eat. Just add seasoning.

Definitely better looking than current Innova face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • sudonano (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:41 pm

I’m not sure if roasted pigeons etc is that nice lol.

Though I guess you could strap on a turkey and have it cooked by the time you reach your hometown.

Or heck, portable lemang maker! For use during balik kampung! :D

• Ong Chee Boon on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:20 am

Definitely agree with you on the part better looking than the INNOVA. Innova is definitely ugly, but hey the buyers won’t care about its looks anyway, because they will become passenger vans or second family MPV? (not to mention feeling uncomfortable to be the passenger inside that ugly basic van also)

This esquire although looks too aggressive, but those people who like outspoken badass might love this car. Putting its front grille aside, i am totally in love with the sideline and rear design.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Hahaha the ‘new’ Innova is just eye cancer lah ! And Malaysians know it, because I only ever saw one… he must be blind ( blind Toyota supporter, I mean ).

• cendol (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Definitely the car to be chauffered in for gangster boss alike

• old dog on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Toyota Transformers?

• Alex Lim on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Based on design I like Voxy.This Esquire is look more “Grand” feel.Not ugly but different people so different taste.This Esquire if come to Malaysia with CBU the pricing is more than 200k except CKD will around 150k.But no cut spec and will import this car I don’t think UMW will do

• A photo in the gallery:

Left side: Batman?
    Right side: Esquire! (Fun to drive again)

Me: Riight…so,why compare it to Batman? ._.

• kami (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 7:35 pm

3 model for same car. bravo toyota.

• Newcomer on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:30 pm

That grill just look like the mouth of The Black Knight Ghost in Scooby Doo

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 29, 2014 at 8:32 pm

looks like the front of a china van. gonow (make) to be exact.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Wow, what an elegant, classy and rad name… it’s too bad that the car itself is none of the above.

• panjang on Oct 29, 2014 at 9:24 pm

If grey importer brings it in probably they have accessory shop to make a front bumper and grill to make it look like alphard.

Still,being malaysian anything from Toyota will sell.

• Wow is that a dog cage?

• Contender on Oct 29, 2014 at 10:51 pm

UMW Toyota …… wake up !!!!!! When are you guys bringing in the Noah ? Even Indonesia has it …… this should give Serena “Hybrid” which is now CKD and also the CBU Biante a good competition and choices for a brand new mid size MPV !!

• roxas on Oct 30, 2014 at 12:45 am

transformers logo there..

• armandd on Oct 30, 2014 at 12:50 am

Why does thing ugly thing even exist? A hippo looks much better than this.

• Airiz on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:52 am

Its exist because of the demand. Developed nation.

• kl fella on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:34 am

do you really wannna ride a hippo or rather to be in one of these? just for laughs!

• tun mamak on Oct 30, 2014 at 1:23 am

sapa beli benda ni dia bodo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Airiz on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:50 am

Japanese company give the best to their rakyat. Even the same segment car has many options (Voxy, Noah, Esquire).

Unlike Malaysian company. Own rakyat can’t get stability control but foreign market has (yup…Exora). Even signal stick they put on the left side. What a joke.

• MugenRR on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:55 am

Malaysia also got lah! You have myvi, myvi se, myvi extreme, myvi xt, myvi pink edition etc. All the same car!

• It always amazes me how ugly Toyota can make some of its cars.

• ThePolygon on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:09 am

I guess UMW Toyota should have left the Alphard and Estima to the grey importers and bring in this instead.

• 008 Lion (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:09 am

Another shoes box on the wheel :-)

• ganni on Oct 30, 2014 at 9:17 am

nice interior and features but not the exterior…i prefer voxy and it does look like vellfire and i would say that most of the youngster would prefr the voxy design…

• getting uglier

• Sammy_no_value on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:28 am

Such an ugly looking design.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:37 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Jinyiwei22 on Oct 30, 2014 at 10:51 am

Adui.. macam untuk kegunaan kereta keranda.

• Ultraman on Oct 30, 2014 at 11:21 am

Betul betul Ultar Man Van. Fail lar this sushi designer. Wonder which sorhai sam loo fan will import and buy this van !!!

• NISSpengAN on Oct 30, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Nissan Serena still the best !

• Unlike others, I think the design is cool.Front look like a vampire ready to bite. But I feel weird cos usually my opinion is similar with majority @[email protected] UMW gonna bring this in and sell at RM150k?

• hakim89 on Oct 30, 2014 at 4:34 pm

more like Esquare to me.. Rupa over sgt…

• k (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Yet another loaf of bread churn out by Toyota.

• Das Auto on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Damn that is fugly. Just when i thot the innova is the pinnicle of uglyness, toyota outdid itself again. For a moment i thot toyota is into making toasters. You can toast a whole loaf of bread in front. My cornell toaster looks way sleeker than this crap. Please don’t bring in this fugly junk. It will increase eye hospital revenue due to ppl suffering fr eye pain.